Florida’s Public Service Commission (PSC) today set recovery charges beginning in January 2015 for Duke Energy Florida (DEF).
By Florida Statute and established Commission policy, electric utilities may recover certain expenses from customers through cost recovery charges adjusted annually by the PSC. Cost recovery is allowed on fuel and purchased power, capacity (including nuclear), conservation, and environmental requirements. Utilities may not, however, earn a profit on fuel charges.
The majority of the charges approved today for DEF are related to fuel and are included in the fuel charge on customers’ bills. All other approved charges are included in the energy charge, which also includes the utilities’ base rate charge.
Including base rate changes, DEF’s January 2015 monthly bill for a residential customer using 1,000 kilowatt hours (kWh) is $125.13, a reduction of $.16 from the $125.29 current bill. Recovery amounts include: fuel and purchased power $43.23, capacity $16.19 ($5.45 nuclear charge included), conservation $2.70, environmental $1.38, and Gross Receipts Tax $3.13.
Florida’s four other investor-owned electric utilities’ recovery charges were decided at the PSC’s Special Commission Conference on October 22.
For additional information, visit www.floridapsc.com.
Follow the PSC on Twitter, @floridapsc.