My Florida Florida Public Service Commission
Quick Search:   Advanced Search


Site Map
Interactive Site Map Close
Site Map | Site Index
Home Page > Florida Public Service Commission News Releases

NewsLink
Florida State Seal State of Florida
Public Service Commission


NEWS RELEASE


01/26/2011 Contact: 850-413-6482

PSC Sets FPL's 2011 Fuel Charges


TALLAHASSEE — Florida’s Public Service Commission (PSC) today set Florida Power & Light Company’s (FPL) fuel cost recovery charges for 2011.  The Commission voted after considering FPL’s 2011 projected costs for fuel and purchased power, as well as actual costs for 2009 and 2010.

By law, Florida’s five investor-owned utilities are allowed to recover the prudently incurred fuel and purchased power costs necessary to meet customer demand but may not earn a profit on fuel purchases.  The fuel charge appears as a separate line item on customer bills.

FPL’s conservation and environmental recovery costs were also determined today.  These costs, along with capacity costs, are included in the energy charge and are not listed separately on customer bills.

Beginning in March through May, final monthly bill charges for FPL’s residential customers using 1,000 kilowatt hours (kWh) will be $96.44.  From June through December, the charge for 1,000 kWh will be $96.61.  The current charge is $95.01.

Fuel and other cost recovery charges for the state’s four other investor-owned utilities, Gulf Power Company, Florida Public Utilities Company, Progress Energy Florida, Inc., and Tampa Electric Company, were determined in November 2010.

The PSC facilitates safe and reliable utility services at fair prices for Florida's consumers.  Primary responsibilities include setting fair rates, encouraging competition, and monitoring for safety and reliability.

For additional information, visit www.floridapsc.com.



###