BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In re: PROPOSED REVISION OF WEST FLORIDA) DOCKET NO. 891029-EC ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION, INC. TO) ORDER NO. 21943 RESIDENTIAL TIME-OF-USE TARIFF AND PROPOSED OFFERING OF A LARGE POWER TIME-OF-USE RATE.

9-26-89 ISSUED:

following Commissioners participated in the disposition of this matter:

> MICHAEL McK. WILSON, Chairman THOMAS M. BEARD BETTY EASLEY GERALD L. GUNTER JOHN T. HERNDON

ORDER APPROVING WEST FLORIDA'S PROPOSED REVISION AND PROPOSED OFFERING

BY THE COMMISSION:

On August 9, 1989, West Florida Electric Cooperative Association, Inc. (West Florida) proposed a revision of its residential service time of use rate (RS-T) and proposed an offering of a large power time of use rate (LP-T).

West Florida proposes to increase both the RS-T customer charge and the on peak energy charge; decrease the off-peak energy charge; and the change the time of use on-peak and off-peak periods. The proposed RS-T rate is designed to recover the RS-T rate's cost of service at the system rate of return, 8.04%; the present RS-T rate is earning a 2.4% rate. We find that the proposed RS-T rate, therefore, will result in an improvement of West Florida's rate structure.

The proposed increase in the on-peak charge and the decrease in the off-peak charge reflect purchased power costs incurred by West Florida. Those periods are change to reflect when West Florida's on-peak and off-peak periods loads actually occur. We find the proposed charges to be reasonable and properly recognize the daily and seasonal differences in West Florida's purchased power costs.

West Florida also proposes to offer a large power time of use rate to any customers with a connected load of 200 KVA or greater. The proposed monthly charges for the new LP-T rate

> DOCUMENT NUMBER-DATE 09626 SEP 26 1989 FPSC-RECORDS/REPORTING

ORDER NO. 21943 DOCKET NO. 891029-EC PAGE 2

are: (1) a \$80.89 customer charge; (2) a base demand charge of \$1.49 per KVA of billing demand; (3) a peak demand charge of \$10.32 per KVA of peak demand; and (4) an energy charge of \$.026 per KHW. Both the customer and base demand charge are set to recover West Florida's cost to provide service to large power customers at the system rate of return. The peak demand charge is set to recover West Florida's purchase power demand costs and assumes a 100%; coincidence factor during the substation's peak load periods. The energy charge is set at West Florida's unit cost or Alabama Electric Cooperative's wholesale energy rate. We find that the proposed charges relating to the new LP-T rate are reasonable and properly recognize the daily and seasonable differences in West Florida's purchase power costs. Therfore, it is

ORDERED by the Florida Public Service Commission that West Flroida's proposed revision of its residential service time of use rate, RS-T, is approved. It is further

ORDERED that West Florida's proposed offering of a large power time of use rate, LP-T, is approved. It is further

ORDERED that this docket shall be closed after the time has run in which to file a petition for reconsideration or notice of appeal of such action is not taken.

By ORDER of the Public Service Commission, Florida this 26th day of SEPTEMBER

TRIBBLE, Director

Division of Records and Reporting

(SEAL)

BAB

ORDER NO. 21943 DOCKET NO. 891029-EC PAGE 3

NOTICE OF FURTHER PROCEEDINGS OR JUDICIAL REVIEW

The Florida Public Service Commission is required by Section 120.59(4), Florida Statutes, to notify parties of any administrative hearing or judicial review of Commission orders that is available under Sections 120.57 or 120.68, Florida Statutes, as well as the procedures and time limits that apply. This notice should not be construed to mean all requests for an administrative hearing or judicial review will be granted or result in the relief sought.

Any party adversely affected by the Commission's final action in this matter may request: 1) reconsideration of the decision by filing a motion for reconsideration with the Director, Division of Records and Reporting within fifteen (15) days of the issuance of this order in the form prescribed by Rule 25-22.060, Florida Administrative Code; or 2) judicial review by the Florida Supreme Court in the case of an electric, gas or telephone utility or the First District Court of Appeal in the case of a water or sewer utility by filing a notice of appeal with the Director; Division of Records and Reporting and filing a copy of the notice of appeal and the filing fee with the appropriate court. This filing must be completed within thirty (30) days after the issuance of this order, pursuant to Rule 9.110, Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure. The notice of appeal must be in the form specified in Rule 9.900(a), Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure.