BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

IN RE: Adoption of Rule 25-30.060, DOCKET NO. 910919-WS F.A.C., Application for Exemption ORDER NO. 25504 ISSUED: 12/18/91

NOTICE OF ADOPTION OF RULE

NOTICE is hereby given that the Commission, pursuant to section 120.54, Florida Statutes, has adopted Rule 25-30.060, F.A.C., relating to application for exemption from regulation as a water and wastewater utility or nonjurisdictional finding.

The rule was filed with the Department of State on December 16, 1991 and will be effective on January 5, 1992. A copy of the relevant portions of the certification filed with the Secretary of State is attached to this Notice.

This docket is closed upon issuance of this notice.

By direction of the Florida Public Service Commission, this 18th day of ____DECEMBER_____, 1991

STEVE TRIBBLE, Director Division of Records & Reporting

(SEAL)

CTM adp91919.ctm chief, Bureau of Records

330_{ORDER NO. 25504}
DOCKET NO. 910919-WS
PAGE 2

CERTIFICATION OF

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

FILED WITH THE

DEPARTMENT OF STATE

I do hereby certify:

- /X/ (1) The time limitations prescribed by paragraph 120.54(11)(a), F.S., have been complied with; and
- IX/ (2) There is no administrative determination under section 120.54(4), F.S., pending on any rule covered by this certification; and
- /X/ (3) All rules covered by this certification are filed within the prescribed time limitations of paragraph 120.54(11)(b), F.S. They are filed not less than 28 days after the notice required by subsection 120.54(1), F.S., and;
- /X/ (a) And are filed not more than 90 days after the notice; or
- (b) Are filed not more than 90 days after the notice not including days an administrative determination was pending; or
- L/ (c) Are filed within 21 days after the adjournment of the final public hearing on the rule; or
- L/ (d) Are filed within 21 days after the date of receipt of all material authorized to be submitted at the hearing; or
- (e) Are filed within 21 days after the date the transcript was received by this agency.

Attached are the original and two copies of each rule covered by this certification. The rules are hereby adopted by the

undersigned agency by and upon their filing with the Department of State.

Rulemaking Implemented, Interpreted or Made Specific

25-30.060 367.121(1) 367.022, 367.031

Under the provisions of paragraph 120.54(13)(a), F.S., the rules take effect 20 days from the date filed with the Department of State or a later date as set out below:

Effective:

(month)

(day)

(year)

Steve Tribble

Director, Division of Records & Reporting Title

Number of Pages Certified

(SEAL)

CTM

> Rule 25-30.060 Docket No. 910919-WS

SUMMARY OF RULE

Rule 25-30.060 prescribes the requirements for application for exemption from regulation for the provision of certain water and wastewater services or for a finding by the Commission that a water or wastewater activity is not subject to its jurisdiction.

SUMMARY OF HEARINGS ON THE RULE

No hearing was requested and none was held.

FACTS AND CIRCUMSTANCES JUSTIFYING THE RULE

It is necessary to adopt a rule codifying the Public Service Commission's (Commission) practice and orders that implement the provisions of sections 367.021(12), 367.022, and 367.031, Florida Statutes. Section 367.022 lists nine water or wastewater services that are exempt from regulation by the Commission, and, under the definition of "utility" in section 367.021(12), a water or wastewater system that provides service without compensation is not subject to regulation by the Commission. Although not subject to PSC regulation, some of these systems must obtain permits from the Department of Environmental Regulation (DER). Section 367.031, DER requires them to provide evidence that they are not F.S. subject to Commission regulation as a utility, or that they have a Commission order recognizing that they are exempt from regulation, or that they have a certificate of authorization from the Commission.

The Commission has developed a procedure for systems to apply for an exemption under section 367.022 or a finding that they are "nonjurisdictional" under section 367.021(12). Recommended Rule 25-30.060 requires applicants to file the information needed by the Commission to determine whether a water or wastewater system is exempt from regulation or is nonjurisdictional. The proposed filing requirements are the ones currently being utilized to review requests for exemption.

25

ORDER NO. 25504 DOCKET NO. 910919-WS PAGE 6

1	25-30.060 Application for Exemption from Regulation or
2	Nonjurisdictional Finding.
3	(1) Each application for an exemption shall be filed in
4	original and two copies, except that applications filed under
5	Section 367.022(7), Florida Statutes, shall be filed in original
6	and 15 copies, with the Director, Division of Records and
7	Reporting, 101 East Gaines Street, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-
8	0870. Sample application forms may be obtained from the Division
9	of Water and Sewer, Bureau of Certification, 101 East Gaines
10	Street, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0873.
11	(2) Each application for an exemption from regulation shall
12	contain the following information:
13	(a) The name of the system owner;
14	(b) The physical address of the system;
15	(c) The mailing address of the applicant, if different from
16	the system address;
17	(d) The name, address, and phone number of the primary
18	contact person for the exemption request;
19	(e) The nature of the applicant's business organization,
20	e.g., corporation, partnership, limited partnership, sole
21	proprietorship, association; and
22	(f) A statement that the applicant is aware that pursuant
23	to Section 837.06, Florida Statutes, whoever knowingly makes a
	and the state of t

CODING: Words underlined are additions; words in struck through type are deletions from existing law.

servant in the performance of his official duty shall be quilty

of a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.

- (3) Each application must specifically state which type of exemption is being applied for and contain one of the following:
- (a) For an exemption pursuant to Section 367.022(1),

 Florida Statutes, a statement from the owner of the system that
 the system is used solely to provide bottled water and that water
 is not provided to customers through a water main or service
 pipe;
- (b) For an exemption pursuant to Section 367.022(2), Florida Statutes, a statement from the governmental authority specifying the statutory authority for the governmental authority; that the system is owned, operated, managed, or controlled by the governmental authority; stating whether it provides water service, wastewater service or both; and specifying the service area. The applicant shall describe with particularity the nature of the ownership, operation, management, and control of the system;
- (c) For an exemption pursuant to Section 367.022(3),

 Florida Statutes, a statement from the manufacturer that service
 is provided solely in connection with its operations; stating
 whether it provides water service, wastewater service or both;
 and specifying the service area;
- (d) For an exemption pursuant to Section 367.022(4), Florida Statutes, a statement from the public lodging

CODING: Words underlined are additions; words in struck through type are deletions from existing law.

ORDER NO. 25504 DOCKET NO. 910919-WS PAGE 8

establishment that service is provided solely in connection with service to its quests; stating whether it provides water service, wastewater service or both; and specifying the service area;

(e) For an exemption pursuant to Section 367.022(5),

Florida Statutes, a statement from the landlord that it provides service solely to tenants; that charges for service are non-specifically contained in rental charges; stating whether it provides water service, wastewater service or both; and specifying the service area. A copy of the landlord's most recent version of a standard lease or rental agreement, stating that there is no separate charge for water service, wastewater service, or both, shall be submitted with the application;

(f) For an exemption pursuant to Section 367.022(6), Florida Statutes, a statement from the owner of the system that the system has or will have the capacity to serve 100 or fewer persons; stating whether it provides water service, wastewater service or both; and specifying the service area. The applicant shall submit documentation verifying the capacity of the system(s). For a wastewater system, the capacity of both the treatment and disposal facilities shall be documented;

(g) For an exemption pursuant to Section 367.022(7),

Florida Statutes, a statement from the corporation, association,
or cooperative that it is nonprofit; that it provides service

solely to members who own and control it; stating whether it
provides water service, wastewater service or both; specifying

CODING: Words underlined are additions; words in struck through type are deletions from existing law.

2

3

4

5

6 7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16 17

18

19

20

21 22

23 24

25

who will do the billing for such service; and specifying the 1 service area. The applicant must submit its articles of incorporation as filed with the Secretary of State and its bylaws, which documents must clearly show the requirements for membership, that the members' voting rights are one vote per unit of ownership, and the circumstances under which control of the corporation passes to the non-developer members. Control of the corporation must pass: 1) at 51 percent ownership by the nondeveloper members or, 2) at some greater percentage delimited by a time period not to exceed 5 years from the date of incorporation. The applicant must provide proof of its ownership of the utility facilities and the land upon which the facilities will be located or other proof of its right to continued use of the land, such as a 99-year lease;

(h) For an exemption pursuant to Section 367.022(8), Florida Statutes, a statement from the reseller that service is provided at a rate or charge that does not exceed the actual purchase price; stating that the reseller is aware of the requirements of Rule 25-30.111, Florida Administrative Code; stating whether it provides water service, wastewater service or both; and specifying the service area. The reseller must also provide the name of the utility providing service to it and that utility's current rates and charges. The reseller must submit a schedule of all of its proposed rates and charges, an explanation of the proposed method of billing customers, separately, for both

CODING: Words underlined are additions; words in struck through type are deletions from existing law.

1	water and wastewater, and a schedule showing that the amount
2	billed will not exceed the amount paid for water, wastewater, or
3	both;
4	(i) For an exemption pursuant to Section 367.022(9),
5	Florida Statutes, a statement from the owner of the wastewater
6	system that the system is primarily for the treatment of
7	wastewater other than domestic wastewater, such as runoff and
8	leachate from areas that receive pollutants associated with
9	industrial or commercial storage, handling or processing;
10	identifying the principal source or nature of such wastewater;
11	and specifying the service area;
12	(j) For a nonjurisdictional finding pursuant to Section
13	367.021(12), Florida Statutes, a statement from the system owner
14	stating that it does not charge for providing utility service;
15	specifying how operational costs of providing service are treated
16	or recovered; stating whether it provides water service,
17	wastewater service, or both; and specifying the service area.

Specific Authority: 367.121(1), F.S.

History: New,

Law Implemented: 367.021(12), 367.022, 367.031, F.S.

21

18

19

20