BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In Re: Initiation of show cause) proceedings for violation of Rule) 25-4.0161(2) - Regulatory Assessment Fee Filing Requirement)) DOCKET NO. 920453-TC FLORIDA TELESYSTEMS, INC.) DOCKET NO. 920455-TC GARY P. LAMAN) DOCKET NO. 920457-TC GRODIN TELEPHONE COMPANY, INC.) DOCKET NO. 920467-TC HAZEN GLENN LANCASTER, JR. HILLSBOROUGH COMMUNICATIONS CORP.) DOCKET NO. 920468-TC) DOCKET NO. 920470-TC HYCO ELECTRONICS, INC.) DOCKET NO. 920479-TC JOLLANO, INC.) DOCKET NO. 920482-TC KEVIN BURKE) ORDER NO. PSC-92-0842-FOF-TC) ISSUED: 08/20/92

The following Commissioners participated in the disposition of this matter:

THOMAS M. BEARD, Chairman
J. TERRY DEASON
BETTY EASLEY
LUIS J. LAUREDO

ORDER TO SHOW CAUSE WHY A FINE SHOULD NOT BE IMPOSED FOR VIOLATION OF RULE 25-4.0161(2), F.A.C.

Each of the companies or individuals cited in the caption of this Order is a certified pay telephone service (PATS) provider. As a certificated PATS provider each is subject to our jurisdiction pursuant to Chapter 364, Florida Statutes.

In December 1991, Regulatory Assessment Fee (RAF) Returns for the period July 1, 1992 through December 30, 1992 were mailed to all certificated PATS providers. These forms were recently designed to serve as both the RAF Return and as the Annual Report required by Rule 25-24.520, Florida Administrative Code. The forms were due in the Bureau for Fiscal Services so as to comply with Rule 25-4.0161(2), Florida Administrative Code.

Rule 25-4.0161(2) provides:

Regulatory assessment fees and the applicable regulatory assessment fee return form are due each January 30 for the preceding period or any part of the period from July 1 to December 31, and on July 30 for the preceding period or any part of the period from January 1 until June 30....From PSC/CMU 26, entitled "Pay Telephone Service Provider Regulatory Assessment Fee Return." Each company shall have up to and including the due date in which to submit the applicable form and:

COCUMENT NUMBER-DATE

09442 AUG 20 1997

- (a) Remit the total amount of its fee, or
- (b) Remit an amount which the company estimates is its full fee, or
- (c) Seek and receive from the Commission a 30-day extension of its due date.

The current form is also designed to conform with the annual report requirements of 25-24.520. Previously these requirements consisted of two separated forms, which were merged to facilitate the process for small PATS providers.

The PATS provers listed below failed to timely file a RAF return, have not paid a RAF fee amount for the period between July 1, 1991 through December 31, 1992, nor did they request an extension of time in order to comply.

Docket No.	Company Certificat	te No.
920453-TC	FLORIDA TELESYSTEMS, INC.	2412
920455-TC	GARY P. LAMAN	1926
920457-TC	GRODIN TELEPHONE COMPANY, INC	2510
920467-TC	HAZEN GLENN LANCASTER, JR.	2348
920468-TC	HILLSBOROUGH COMMUNICATIONS CORPORATION	2457
920470-TC	HYCO ELECTRONICS, INC.	2749
920479-TC	JOLLANO, INC.	2744
920482-TC	KEVIN BURKE	873

Pursuant to Section 364.285, Florida Statutes, this Commission is authorized to levy a fine of up to \$25,000 for each violation of a statute, rule or order subject to the Commission's jurisdiction or to revoke a certificate of public convenience and necessity. Accordingly, we find it appropriate to require each PATS company listed above to show cause in writing why it should not be fined \$250, or in the alternative, have its certificate revoked for failure to file its 1992 RAF Return as required by Rule 25-4.0161(2). All responses to this Order to Show Cause shall be filed in conformance with Rules 25-22.036(7)(a) and 25-22.037(1), Florida Administrative Code. Each Company's response shall contain specific statements as to fact and law.

If any PATS company fails to respond to this show cause in the form and within the time limits prescribed, the facts alleged in this Order shall be deemed true and shall constitute an admission of guilt of the violation of Rule 25-24.0161(2) and waiver of the right to a hearing. If no response is received from a company, we find it appropriate that no fine be imposed and that the company's certificate is hereby cancelled.

Any company desiring to avoid the potential of either a fine or revocation of its certificate as a result of this show cause

order may request voluntary cancellation of its certificate. If a company requests cancellation of its certificate, this show cause order is withdrawn as to that party. A request for cancellation pursuant to this Order shall be filed within the time limits set forth herein. A request for cancellation of a certificate must include (a) a statement of intent and date to pay Regulatory Assessment Fee and (b) a statement of why the certificate is proposed to be cancelled. Payment of fine or a written request to cancel a certificate should be mailed to:

Director of Records and Reporting Florida Public Service Commission 101 East Gaines Street Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0850.

Therefore, based on the foregoing, it is

ORDERED by the Florida Public Service Commission that each company listed in the caption of this Order shall show cause in writing why it should not be fined \$250 or, in the alternative, have its certificate revoked for failure to file the Regulatory Assessment Fee Return required by Rule 25-4.0161(2), Florida Administrative Code, or return a written request that its certificate be cancelled and the docket will be administratively closed. It is further

ORDERED that any response filed by any company described in the body of this Order must contain specific statements as to fact and law. It is further

ORDERED that a response or a request for cancellation shall be filed within 20 days of the date of this Order. It is further

ORDERED that upon receipt of a response as outlined above, and upon a Company's request for a hearing, further proceedings will be scheduled by the Commission, at which time the Company will have an opportunity to contest the violations alleged above. It is further

ORDERED that any Company's failure to respond in the form and within the prescribed time will constitute an admission of the violations alleged above and a waiver of the right to a hearing. It is further

ORDERED that if any Company described herein elects to pay the \$250 fine within 20 days of the date of this Order, this docket shall be closed. It is further

ORDERED that if no timely response to this Order is filed by a Company described herein, that Company's certificate is hereby revoked as set forth in the body of this Order.

By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission this 20th day of August, 1992.

STEVE TRIBBLE, Director Division of Records and Reporting

(SEAL)

JKA

by: Kay Humo Chief, Burdau of Records

NOTICE OF FURTHER PROCEEDINGS OR JUDICIAL REVIEW

The Florida Public Service Commission is required by Section 120.59(4), Florida Statutes, to notify parties of any administrative hearing or judicial review of Commission orders that is available under Sections 120.57 or 120.68, Florida Statutes, as well as the procedures and time limits that apply. This notice should not be construed to mean all requests for an administrative hearing or judicial review will be granted or result in the relief sought.

This order is preliminary, procedural or intermediate in nature. Any person whose substantial interests are affected by the action proposed by this order may file a petition for a formal proceeding, as provided by Rule 25-22.037(1), Florida Administrative Code, in the form provided by Rule 25-22.036(7)(a) and (f), Florida Administrative Code. This petition must be received by the Director, Division of Records and Reporting, at his office at 101 East Gaines Street, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0870, by the close of business on September 9, 1992.

Failure to respond within the time set forth above shall constitute an admission of all facts and a waiver of the right to a hearing pursuant to Rule 25-22.037(3), Florida Administrative Code, and a default pursuant to Rule 25-22.037(4), Florida Administrative Code. Such default shall be effective on the day subsequent to the above date.

If an adversely affected person fails to respond to this order within the time prescribed above, that party may request judicial review by the Florida Supreme Court in the case of any electric, gas or telephone utility or by the First District Court of Appeal in the case of a water or wastewater utility by filing a notice of appeal with the Director, Division of Records and Reporting, and filing a copy of the notice of appeal and the filing fee with the appropriate court. This filing must be completed within thirty (30) days of the effective date of this order, pursuant to Rule 9.110, Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure.