BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In Re: Request for Exemption from Florida Public Service Commission regulation for provision of water and wastewater service in St. Lucie County by Miramar Property Owners Association, Inc.) DOCKET NO. 921064-WS) ORDER NO. PSC-93-0377-FOF-WS) ISSUED: 03/11/93

ORDER INDICATING THE EXEMPT STATUS OF MIRAMAR PROPERTY OWNERS ASSOCIATION, INC.

BY THE COMMISSION:

On October 14, 1992, Miramar Property Owners Association, Inc. (Miramar) filed its request for exemption from Commission regulation pursuant to Section 367.022(7), Florida Statutes, as a nonprofit corporation. The contact person is Ms. June Lindsay, Manager, 10000 South Ocean Drive, Jensen Beach, Florida 34957. Anthony Bellino, President of the Association, filed the exemption application. The physical address of the water and wastewater plant is the same as the mailing address. Miramar provides water and wastewater service solely to the residents of Miramar, Miramar II, and Miramar Royale.

Miramar requested that it be found exempt pursuant to Section 367.022(7) of Chapter 367, Florida Statutes. Under this section, "[N]onprofit corporations, associations, or cooperatives" are exempt from Florida Public Service Commission regulation. In addition, Rule 25-30.060 (g) states:

> For an exemption pursuant to Section 367. 022(7), Florida Statutes, a statement from the corporation, association, or cooperative that it is nonprofit; that it provides service solely to members who own and control it; stating whether it provides water service, wastewater service or both; specifying who will do the billing for such service; and specifying the service area. The applicant must submit its articles of incorporation as filed with the Secretary of State and its bylaws, which documents must clearly show the requirements for membership, that the members' voting rights are one vote per unit of ownership, and the circumstances under which control of the corporation passes to the non-

> > DOCUMENT NUMBER-DATE 02707 MAR II & FPSC-RECORDS/REPORTING

ORDER NO. PSC-93-0377-FOF-WS DOCKET NO. 921064-WS PAGE 2

> developer members. Control of the corporation must pass: 1) at 51 percent ownership by the non-developer members or, 2) at some greater percentage delimited by a time period not to exceed 5 years from the date of incorporation. The applicant must provide proof of ownership of the utility facilities and the land upon which the facilities will be located or other proof of its right to continued use of the land, such as a 99-year lease....

In its application, the applicant stated that it is a nonprofit corporation organized pursuant to Chapter 617, Florida Statutes, that it will provide service solely to its members who own and control it, water and wastewater service will be provided to members, the association will do the billing for service provided, and the service area is limited to the Miramar, Miramar II, and the Miramar Royale. The applicant also provided the Articles of Incorporation as filed with the Secretary of State and the Bylaws, which clearly show the requirements for membership and that the members' voting rights are one vote per unit of membership.

The applicant provided proof of ownership of the utility and the utility's site in the form of a recorded warranty deed. The recorded warranty deed conveying the utility and utility site also demonstrated that the developer, Bella Vista, Inc., now bankrupt, conveyed control to the Miramar Property Owners Association, Inc. The applicant also acknowledged Section 837.06, Florida Statutes, regarding false statements.

Section 367.022(7), Florida Statutes, states that nonprofit corporations, associations, or cooperatives providing service solely to members who own and control such nonprofit entities are exempt from Commission regulation. Based on the facts as represented, we find that Miramar is exempt from our regulation under the terms of Section 367.022(7), Florida Statutes. However, should there be any change in circumstances of Miramar, a representative of Miramar must inform the Commission within 30 days of such change, so we may determine whether exempt status is still appropriate. ORDER NO. PSC-93-0377-FOF-WS DOCKET NO. 921064-WS PAGE 3

It is, therefore,

ORDERED by the Florida Public Service Commission that, based on the facts as represented, Miramar Property Owners Association, Inc., located at 10000 South Ocean Drive, Jensen Beach, Florida 34957, with Ms. June Lindsay as the contact person, is hereby exempt from Commission regulation pursuant to the terms of Section 367.022(7), Florida Statutes. It is further

ORDERED that should there be any change in circumstances of Miramar Property Owners Association, Inc., a representative of Miramar Property Owners Association, Inc. shall inform the Commission within 30 days of such change. It is further

ORDERED that this docket is closed.

By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission this <u>11th</u> day of <u>March</u>, <u>1993</u>.

STEVE TRIBBLE, Director Division of Records and Reporting

(SEAL)

KAC

by: Chief, Bureau of Records

ORDER NO. PSC-93-0377-FOF-WS DOCKET NO. 921064-WS PAGE 4

NOTICE OF FURTHER PROCEEDINGS OR JUDICIAL REVIEW

The Florida Public Service Commission is required by Section 120.59(4), Florida Statutes, to notify parties of any administrative hearing or judicial review of Commission orders that is available under Sections 120.57 or 120.68, Florida Statutes, as well as the procedures and time limits that apply. This notice should not be construed to mean all requests for an administrative hearing or judicial review will be granted or result in the relief sought.

Any party adversely affected by the Commission's final action in this matter may request: 1) reconsideration of the decision by filing a motion for reconsideration with the Director, Division of Records and Reporting within fifteen (15) days of the issuance of this order in the form prescribed by Rule 25-22.060, Florida Administrative Code; or 2) judicial review by the Florida Supreme Court in the case of an electric, gas or telephone utility or the First District Court of Appeal in the case of a water or sewer utility by filing a notice of appeal with the Director, Division of Records and Reporting and filing a copy of the notice of appeal and the filing fee with the appropriate court. This filing must be completed within thirty (30) days after the issuance of this order, pursuant to Rule 9.110, Florida Rules of Civil Procedure. The notice of appeal must be in the form specified in Rule 9.900 (a), Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure.