BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In Re: Request for Exemption ) DOCKET NO. 921227-SU
From Florida Public Service ) ORDER NO. PSC-93-1321-FOF-SU
Commission Regulation for ) ISSUED: September 9, 1993

Provision of Wastewater Service )
in St. Lucie County by PORT ST. )
LUCIE ASSOCIATES. )

)

ORDER INDICATING EXEMPT STATUS
OF PORT ST. LUCIE ASSOCIATES

Port St. Lucie Associates (PSLA or utility), a partnership,
provides wastewater service to St. Lucie Square Shopping Center
(St. Lucie Square), located at 6666 U. S. Highway #1, Port St.
Lucie, Florida 32952, as a reseller of wastewater services.
Previously, on December 12, 1992, St. Lucie Square Wastewater
Treatment Plant filed an application for exemption from Commission
regulation pursuant to Section 367.022(5), Florida Statutes, as a
landlord providing service to its tenants without compensation.
Upon review of the application, we discovered that service was
provided for compensation and informed the applicant that it did
not qualify for exemption pursuant to Section 367.022(5), Florida

Statutes.

Oon July 7, 1993, a new application for exemption covering the
same service territory was filed by Port St. Lucie Associates
(PSLA). PSLA filed its application pursuant to Section 367.022(8),
Florida Statutes, as a reseller of wastewater services. The
primary contact person for PSLA is Bob Peck. Mr. Peck's address is
5426 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, FL 32821. Mr. William A.
Freeman, as Managing General Partner, filed the application on
behalf of the utility. The application included a statement from
Mr. Freeman, that PSLA will provide wastewater service at a rate or
charge which does not exceed the actual purchase price from SLS
Utilities, Inc., the provider of wastewater service to PSLA.

Section 367.022(8), Florida Statutes, indicates exempt status
for:

any person who resells water or wastewater at a rate or
charge which does not exceed the actual purchase price
thereof, if such person files at least annually with the
Commission 1list of charges and rates for all wate.
services sold, the source and actual purchase price
thereof, and any other information required by the
Commission to justify the exemption.
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Included with the application was a schedule of all the
proposed rates and charges, an explanation of the proposed method
of billing customers and a schedule showing that the amount billed
would not exceed the amount paid for wastewater service.

PSLA proposes to pass along the cost of wastewater service
based on the customer's water consumption. Water is furnished to
each tenant of St. Lucie Square by St. Lucie County Utilities
through an independently metered service line for each space.
After the customer's water consumption is determined, that amount
is used to determine the pro rata share use of the wastewater
treatment plant. Once the pro rata share use of the wastewater
treatment plant is determined, that amount is applied against the
total costs for operating the wastewater treatment plant. For
example if a customer's pro rata share use of the wastewater
treatment plant was 1/4 of the total gallons used and the cost of
operating the wastewater treatment plant was $100, that customer
would be billed $25.

The revised application contained a signed document which
acknowledged the reporting requirement in Rule 25-30.111, Florida
Administrative Code. Lastly, the applicant acknowledged Section
837.06, Florida Statutes, which details the penalty for making
false statements within the application.

Based on the facts as represented, we find PSLA exempt from
Commission regulation pursuant to Section 367.022 (8), Florida
Statutes. In the event of any change of circumstances or method of
operation, PSLA or its successor(s) in interest, shall notify the
Commission within thirty days of such change so that its exempt
status may be reevaluated.

Based on the foregoing, it is, therefore,

ORDERED by the Florida Public Service Commission that based
upon the facts as represented, Pt. St. Lucie Associates located at
c/o Mr. Bob Peck, 5426 Central Florida Parkway, Orlando, Florida
32821, is hereby exempt from Commission regulation pursuant to the
terms of Section 367.022(8), Florida Statutes. It is further

ORDERED that PSLA shall comply with the filing requirements of
Rule 25-30.111, Florida Administrative Code. It is further
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ORDERED that should there be any changes in the method of
operation or billing procedure of PSLA in the course of its
providing water and wastewater service, the owner(s), or any
successor in interest, shall inform this Commission within 30 days
of such change. It is further

ORDERED by the Florida Public Service Commission that this
docket be closed.

By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission this 9th day
of September, 1993.

Division of ords and Reporting

(SEAL)

SLE
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NOTICE OF FURTHER PROCEEDINGS OR JUDICIAL REVIEW

The Florida Public Service Commission is required by Section
120.59(4), Florida Statutes, to notify  parties of any
administrative hearing or judicial review of Commission orders that
is available under Sections 120.57 or 120.68, Florida Statutes, as
well as the procedures and time limits that apply. This notice
should not be construed to mean all requests for an administrative
hearing or judicial review will be granted or result in the relief

sought.

Any party adversely affected by the Commission's final action
in this matter may request: 1) reconsideration of the decision by
filing a motion for reconsideration with the Director, Division of
Records and Reporting within fifteen (15) days of the issuance of
this order in the form prescribed by Rule 25-22.060, Florida
Administrative Code; or 2) judicial review by the Florida Supreme
Court in the case of an electric, gas or telephone utility or the
First District Court of Appeal in the case of a water or sewer
utility by filing a notice of appeal with the Director, Division of
Records and Reporting and filing a copy of the notice of appeal and
the filing fee with the appropriate court. This filing must be
completed within thirty (30) days after the issuance of this order,
pursuant to Rule 9.110, Florida Rules of Civil Procedure. The
notice of appeal must be in the form specified in Rule 9.900 (a),
Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure.
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