#### BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In Re: Request for approval of tariff filing to offer a 1-800-CALLATT promotion from 5/19/94 to 6/30/94 by AT&T COMMUNICATIONS OF THE SOUTHERN STATES, INC. (T-94-219 FILED 4/19/94)

) DOCKET NO. 940429-TI ) ORDER NO. PSC-94-0607-FOF-TI ) ISSUED: May 23, 1994

The following Commissioners participated in the disposition of this matter:

### J. TERRY DEASON, Chairman SUSAN F. CLARK JULIA L. JOHNSON DIANE K. KIESLING

# ORDER APPROVING TARIFF FILING TO OFFER PROMOTION AND GRANTING WAIVER OF RULE 25-24.485(1)(1)

BY THE COMMISSION:

On April 19, 1994, AT&T Communications of the Southern States (ATT-C) filed a tariff to offer a 1-800-CALLATT promotion from May 19, 1994 to June 30, 1994. ATT-C further requested a waiver of Rule 25-24.485(1)(i).

The promotion allows users to receive a discount of at least 25% off ATT-C's basic rates for collect station (station-tostation) can collect person (person-to-person with the charges reversed) calls. A similar promotion by ATT-C, was offered previously and ran from February 10, 1994 to April 30, 1994. This filing would extend the promotion beyond 90 days within a single year period.

The Commission's Rule 25-24.485(1)(i) restricts promotional offerings to 90 days during any one year period. Since the two promotions would exceed the time limit specified in this Rule, and since the Commission has determined that the program benefits customers by providing lower rates, Rule 25-24.485(1)(i) is hereby waived.

> DOCUMENT NUMBER-DATE 04979 HAY 23 S FPSC-RECORDS/REPORTING

ORDER NO. PSC-94-0607-FOF-TI DOCKET NO. 940429-TI PAGE 2

### Based on the foregoing, it is

ORDERED that the tariff filing by AT&T Communications of the Southern States for the promotion specified above is approved. It is further

ORDERED that Rule 25-24.485(1)(i) is waived for the duration of this promotion. It is further

ORDERED that this tariff becomes effective on May 19, 1994. It is further

ORDERED that, if a timely protest is filed, this tariff should remain in effect with any revenues held subject to refund pending resolution of the protest.

By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission, this 23rd day of May, 1994.

BLANCA S. BAYO, Director Division of Records and Reporting

(SEAL)

SHS

ORDER NO. PSC-94-0607-FOF-TI DOCKET NO. 940429-TI PAGE 3

# NOTICE OF FURTHER PROCEEDINGS OR JUDICIAL REVIEW

The Florida Public Service Commission is required by Section 120.59(4), Florida Statutes, to notify parties of any administrative hearing or judicial review of Commission orders that is available under Sections 120.57 or 120.68, Florida Statutes, as well as the procedures and time limits that apply. This notice should not be construed to mean all requests for an administrative hearing or judicial review will be granted or result in the relief sought.

The Commission's decision on this tariff is interim in nature and will become final, unless a person whose substantial interests are affected by the action proposed files a petition for a formal proceeding, as provided by Rule 25-22.036(4), Florida Administrative Code, by in the form provided Rule 25-22.036(7)(a)(d) and (e), Florida Administrative Code. This petition must be received by the Director, Division of Records and Reporting at his office at 101 East Gaines Street, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0870, by the close of business on June 13, 1994.

In the absence of such a petition, this order shall become final on the day subsequent to the above date.

Any objection or protest filed in this docket before the issuance date of this Order is considered abandoned unless it satisfies the foregoing conditions and is renewed within the specified protest period.

If this Order becomes final on the date described above, any party adversely affected may request judicial review by the Florida Supreme Court in the case of an electric, gas or telephone utility or by the First District Court of Appeal in the case of a water or wastewater utility by filing a notice of appeal with the Director, Division of Records and Reporting and filing a copy of the notice of appeal and the filing fee with the appropriate court. This filing must be completed within thirty (30) days of the date this Order becomes final, pursuant to Rule 9.110, Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure. The notice of appeal must be in the form specified in Rule 9.900(a), Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure.