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Charlotte Bay provides wastewater sgservice only to its guests and
there is no separate charge for utility service. The application
also included a copy of a license issued to Charlotte Bay by the
Divieion of Hotels and Restaurants, Department of Business and
Professional Regulation (DBPR]). Watar service is provided by
Charlotte Harbor Water Association.

In addition, pursuant to Section 837.06, Floridu Statutes, and
Rule 25-30.060(2) {d), Florida Administrative Code, anyone knowingly
making a false statement in writing with the intent to mislead is
guilty of a misdemeanor. By signing the application, Ms. Buckles
acknowledged that she is aware of Section 837.06, Florida Statutes,
and the penalties for making falee statements in the application.

Because Charlotte Bay is a time share condominium entity with
different individuals owning the use of a condominium for a period
of time (one week to 30 days) during the year, at £ -st glance, it
doee not strictly comply with the requirements of Section
367.022(4), Florida Statutes. To enable us to ma“e a final
determination as to whether or not Charlotte Bay qualifies for
exemption pursuant to Section 367.022(4), Florida Statutes, we
contacted the Bureau of Time Share Condominiums and the Hotel ard
Restaurant Divieion of DBPR. According to these divisions of DBPR,
time share condominiums are conpidered public lodging
eastablishments because the residents are transient {not staying
more than 30 days).

Based on the facta as represented, we find that Charlotte Bay
is exempt from our regulation pursuant to Section 367.022{4},
Florida Statutes. However, the owner(s) of Charlotte Bay or any
succesgors in interest are put on notice thac if there is any
change in circumstance or method of operation which causes it to no
longer qualify for exemption pursuant to Section 367.022, Florida
Statutes, it should inform the Commiesion within 30 days of such
change so that its status may be reevaluated.

It is, therefore,

CRDERED by the Florida Public Service Commission that, based
upon the facts as represented, Charlctte Bay Resort and Club, Inc.,
23128 Bayshore Road, Charlotte Harbor, Florida 33980, is exempt
from Commission regulation, pursuant to the provieions of Section
367.022(4), Florida Statutes. It is further

ORDERED that this Docket shall remai. open to process
additional applications.
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By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission, this 27th
day of January, 1397.

BLANCA S. BAY0O, Director
Division of Records and Reporting

{ SEAL)

ALC

NOTICE OF FURTHER PROCEEDINGS OR JUDICIAL REVIEW

The Florida Public Service Commission is required by Section
120.569(1), Florida Statutes, to notify parties of any
administrative hearing or judicial review of Commiasion orders that
is available under Sectione 120.57 or 120.68, Florida Statutes, as
well as the procedures and time limite that apply. This notice
should not be construed to mean all requests for an administrative
hearing or judicial review will be granted or result in the relief
scught .

Any party adversely affected by the Commission’s final action
in this matter may request: 1} reconsideration of the decision by
filing a motion for reconsideration with the Director, Division of
Records and Reporting, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee,
Florida 32399-0850, within fifteen (15) days of the issuance of
this order in the form prescribed by Rule 25-22.060, Florida
Administrative Code; or 2) judicial review by the Florida Supreme
Court in the case of an electric, gas or telephone utility or the
First District Court of Appeal in the case of a water and/or
wastewater utility by filing a notice of appeal with the Director,
Division of Records and Reporting and filing a copy of the notice
of appral and the filing fee with the appropriate court. Thizc
filing must be completed within thirty (30) days after the issuance
of this order, pursuant to Rule 9.110, Florida Rules of Appellate
Procedure. The notice of appeal must be in the form specified in
Rule 5.500 (a}, Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure.





