BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In re: Cancellation by Florida Public Service Commission of Interexchange Telecommunications Certificate No. 4090 issued to Northwest Communications, Inc. for violation of Rule 25-4.0161, F.A.C., Regulatory Assessment Fees. DOCKET NO. 970977-TI ORDER NO. PSC-97-1115-FOF-TI ISSUED: September 24, 1997

The following Commissioners participated in the disposition of this matter:

JULIA L. JOHNSON, Chairman J. TERRY DEASON SUSAN F. CLARK DIANE K. KIESLING JOE GARCIA

NOTICE OF PROPOSED AGENCY ACTION ORDER IMPOSING
FINE AND REQUIRING PAYMENT OF REGULATORY ASSESSMENT
FEES OR CANCELING INTEREXCHANGE TELECOMMUNICATIONS
CERTIFICATE AND DIRECTING CERTIFICATED INTEREXCHANGE
TELECOMMUNICATIONS PROVIDERS
TO DISCONTINUE SERVICE

BY THE COMMISSION:

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN by the Florida Public Service Commission that the action discussed herein is preliminary in nature and will become final unless a person whose interests are substantially affected files a petition for a formal proceeding, pursuant to Rule 25-22.029, Florida Administrative Code.

Northwest Communications, Inc. (Northwest or the company), an interexchange telecommunications carrier (IXC), currently holds certificate of public convenience and necessity number 4090, issued by the Commission on May 7, 1996, authorizing the provision of interexchange telecommunications service. Northwest has not paid

DOCUMENT NUMBER-DATE

FPSC-RECORDS/REPORTING

the regulatory assessment fees required by Section 364.336, Florida Statutes, and Rule 25-4.0161, Florida Administrative Code, for the year 1996. The regulatory assessment fee form was mailed to Northwest in December, 1996, for the period of January 1, 1996, through December 31, 1996. Pursuant to Rule 25-4.0161(2), Florida Administrative Code, the form and applicable fees are due to the Florida Public Service Commission by January 30 of the subsequent year. Northwest was notified of its delinquency on June 3, 1997. The company has been given adequate opportunity to pay. To date, the Commission's correspondence regarding the regulatory assessment fees has been returned by the post office, and Northwest has not paid the required fees.

For the reason described above, pursuant to Rule 25-24.474(1)(b) and (c), Florida Administrative Code, we find it appropriate to cancel Northwest's certificate, unless the company pays a \$500 fine for failure to comply with Section 364.336, Florida Statutes, and Rule 25-4.0161, Florida Administrative Code, and remits all past due regulatory assessment fees, along with statutory penalties and interest charges, to the Florida Public Service Commission. Northwest must comply with these requirements within 5 business days from the date this Order becomes final. The fine will be remitted to the Comptroller for deposit in the State of Florida General Revenue Fund, pursuant to Section 364.516, Florida Statutes.

When the appropriate fees, statutory penalties, interest charges, and fine is received, this docket shall be closed. Should Northwest fail to comply with this Order within 5 business days from the date this Order becomes final, Northwest shall have its certificate canceled and the docket will be closed. The cancellation of the certificate and the closing of the docket in no way diminishes Northwest's obligation to pay applicable delinquent regulatory assessment fees, statutory penalties, and interest charges.

Should Northwest's certificate be canceled, all certificated interexchange carriers in the State of Florida are instructed to discontinue service to Northwest, pursuant to Rule 25-24.4701(3), Florida Administrative Code, Provision of Regulated Telecommunications Service to Uncertificated Resellers Prohibited. Any certificated interexchange carriers providing service to Northwest must contact the Commission at the conclusion of the response period indicated herein in order to determine if Northwest's certificate has been canceled.

Based on the foregoing, it is

ORDERED by the Florida Public Service Commission that Northwest Communications, Inc. must pay the past due regulatory assessment fees, statutory penalties, interest charges, and a \$500 fine to the Florida Public Service Commission for failure to comply with Section 364.336, Florida Statutes, and Rule 25-4.0161, Florida Administrative Code, within 5 business days from the date this Order becomes final. The fine will be transmitted to the Comptroller for deposit in the State of Florida General Revenue Fund. It is further

ORDERED that should Northwest Communications, Inc. fail to comply with this Order, Northwest Communications, Inc.'s certificate shall be canceled, and the docket shall be closed. It is further

ORDERED that the cancellation of the certificate and the closing of the docket in no way diminishes Northwest Communications, Inc.'s obligation to pay applicable delinquent regulatory assessment fees, statutory penalties, and interest charges. It is further

ORDERED that all certificated interexchange telecommunications providers shall discontinue service to Northwest Communications, Inc. upon verification of the cancellation of the certificate at the conclusion of the response period set forth in this Order. It is further

ORDERED that the provisions of this Order, issued as proposed agency action, shall become final and effective unless an appropriate petition, in the form provided by Rule 25-22.036, Florida Administrative Code, is received by the Director, Division of Records and Reporting, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0850, by the close of business on the date set forth in the "Notice of Further Proceedings or Judicial Review" attached hereto. It is further

ORDERED that in the event this Order becomes final, this Docket shall be closed upon payment of the fines, and fees or upon cancellation of the certificate.

By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission, this $\underline{24th}$ day of September, 1997.

> BLANCA S. BAYÓ, Director Division of Records and Reporting

Bureau of Records

(SEAL)

KMP

NOTICE OF FURTHER PROCEEDINGS OR JUDICIAL REVIEW

The Florida Public Service Commission is required by Section 120.569(1), Florida Statutes, to notify parties of any administrative hearing or judicial review of Commission orders that is available under Sections 120.57 or 120.68, Florida Statutes, as well as the procedures and time limits that apply. This notice should not be construed to mean all requests for an administrative hearing or judicial review will be granted or result in the relief sought.

Mediation may be available on a case-by-case basis. If mediation is conducted, it does not affect a substantially interested person's right to a hearing.

The action proposed herein is preliminary in nature and will not become effective or final, except as provided by Rule 25-22.029, Florida Administrative Code. Any person whose substantial interests are affected by the action proposed by this order may file a petition for a formal proceeding, as provided by Rule 25-22.029(4), Florida Administrative Code, in the form provided by Rule 25-22.036(7)(a) and (f), Florida Administrative Code. This petition must be received by the Director, Division of Records and Reporting, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0850, by the close of business on October 15, 1997.

In the absence of such a petition, this order shall become effective on the day subsequent to the above date as provided by Rule 25-22.029(6), Florida Administrative Code.

Any objection or protest filed in this docket before the issuance date of this order is considered abandoned unless it satisfies the foregoing conditions and is renewed within the specified protest period.

If this order becomes final and effective on the date described above, any party substantially affected may request judicial review by the Florida Supreme Court in the case of an electric, gas or telephone utility or by the First District Court of Appeal in the case of a water or wastewater utility by filing a notice of appeal with the Director, Division of Records and Reporting and filing a copy of the notice of appeal and the filing fee with the appropriate court. This filing must be completed within thirty (30) days of the effective date of this order, pursuant to Rule 9.110, Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure. The

notice of appeal must be in the form specified in Rule $9.900\,(a)$, Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure.