FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

VOTE SHEET

NOVEMBER 4, 1997

RE: DOCKET NO. 971287-TC - Cancellation by Florida Public Service Commission of Pay Telephone Certificate No. 3839 issued to Roderick D. Richards for violation of Rule 25-4.0161, F.A.C., Regulatory Assessment Fees.

Issue 1: Should the Commission impose a \$500 fine or cancel Richards' Pay Telephone Certificate No. 3839 for apparent violation of Rule 25-4.0161, Florida Administrative Code, Regulatory Assessment Fees?

Recommendation: Yes. The Commission should impose a \$500 fine or cancel his certificate if the fine and the regulatory assessment fees, including statutory penalties and interest, are not received by the Commission within 5 business days after the conclusion of the 21-day protest period. The fine should be paid to the Florida Public Service Commission and forwarded to the Office of the Comptroller for deposit in the State General Revenue Fund pursuant to Section 364.285(1), Florida Statutes. If the Commission's Order is not protested and the fine and the regulatory assessment fees, including statutory penalties and interest, are not received, certificate number 3839 should be canceled.

APPROVED

COMMISSIONERS ASSIGNED: Full Commission

REMARKS/DISSENTING COMMENTS:

MAJORITY	DISSENTING
Dusan & Clark	
JA Min	
And Sund	

COMMISSIONERS' SIGNATURES

DOCUMENT NUMBER-DATE

11418 NOV-55

FPSC-RECORDS/REPORTING

NOTE SHEET

NOVEMBER 4, 1997

DOCKET NO. 971287-TC - Cancellation by Florida Public Service Commission of Pay Telephone Certificate No. 3839 issued to Roderick D. Richards for violation of Rule 25-4.0161, F.A.C., Regulatory Assessment Fees.

(Continued from previous page)

Issue 2: Should the Commission order all certificated local exchange companies (LECs) to discontinue providing service to Richards if certificate number 3839 is canceled?

Recommendation: Yes. The Commission should order all certificated local exchange companies to discontinue providing service to Richards if Richards' certificate is canceled at the conclusion of the protest period for failure to submit the delinquent regulatory assessment fees and pay the fines required in Issue 1. The Order should state that any LEC providing service to Richards must contact the Commission at the conclusion of the protest period set forth in the Order to determine whether the certificate has been canceled.

APPROVED

<u>Issue 3</u>: Should this docket be closed? <u>Recommendation</u>: If no person whose substantial interests are affected files a protest within 21 days of the issuance date of the Order, the Order will become final. Upon payment of the fines and fees, or cancellation of the certificate, this docket should be closed.

APPROVED