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FLORIDA PUBLIC SBRVICE COMMISSION 
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TO: 

FROM: 

RE: 
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DIVISION OF ADMI!liSTRATION (LAXB) 
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, 

DIVISION OP LEGAL SBRVICBS (COX) (ll. ( "/( 

DOCKET NO. - CANCE.LI..ATION BY FLORIDA PUBLIC 
SBRVICB CXMUSSION OF PAY TEIBPHON'B CBRTIPICATB NO. 4366 
ISSUBD TO FLORIDA BARBELL CLUB, INC. POR VIOLATION OP 
RULB 25-4.0161, FLORIDA AOHINISTRATIVB CODE, REGULATORY 
ASSBSSMBNT PBBS AND RULB 25-24.520, FLORIDA 
ADMINlSTRATIVB CODB, REPORTING R.BQUIRBMBNTS 

01/06/98 RJlGULAR AGJmi)A - PROPOSBD AGENCY ACTION -
INTERBSTBD PRRSONS MAY PARTICIPATB 

CRITICAL DA'l'RS : NONB 

SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS: S:PSC/CMU/MP/971342TC.RCM 

CASB BACJCGROOHI> 

• Florida Barbell Club , Inc. (Florida) obtained Florida Publ1c 
Service Commission Pay Telephone cert i ficate number 4366 on 
January 6, 1996. 

• On June 3, 1997. the Division of Administration mailed a 
certified letter to the addcess listed in the Master 
Commission Directory informing Florida that it was delinquent 
on its regulatory assessment fees for the year 1996. The 
letter was returned by the United States Postal Service 
stamped •Moved, Left No Address• (Attachment A, Page 51 . 

• On December 9, 1997, staff attempted to contact Florida to 
inform it of the pendirg cancellation. The telephone number 
listed in the Master Commission Directory is an incorrect 
number. 

• As of December 9, 1997, the delinquent regulatory assessment 
fees for 1996, a long with statutory penalties and inter est 
charges. have not been submitted by Florida. 
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• 
DOCKET NO. 971342-TC 
DATE: December ~3, 1997 

DIScuSSION OF ISSUES 

• 
ISSQB 1.4 Should the Commission impose a $500 fine or cance l 
Florida's Pay Telephone Certificate No. 43 66 for apparent violation 
of Rule 25-4.0161, Florida Administrative Code, Regulatory 
Assessment Fees? 

BBOOMMBNDATIQH; Yes . The Commission should impose a SSOO fine or 
cancel the company's certificate if the fine and the regulatory 
.assessment fees, including statutory penal ties and interest, are 
not received by the Commission wi thin 5 business days after the 
conclusion of the 21 day protest period. The fine should be paid 
to the Florida Public Service Commission and forwarded to the 
Office of the Comptroller for deposit in the State General Revenue 
Fund pursuant to Section 364.285 ( 1) , Florida Statutes. If the 
Comm.ission's Order is not protested and the fine and the regulatory 
assessment fees, including statutory penalties and interest, are 
not received, certificate number 4366 should be canceled. 
(Biegalski) 

.STAfF AftALXSIS; Rule 25-4.0161, Florida Administrative Code, 
requires the payment of regulatory assessment fees by January 30 of 
the subsequent year for telecommunications companies, and provides 
for penalties and interest as outlined in Section 350.113, Florida 
Statutes, for any delinquent amounts. 

On December 9, 1997, staff learned that Florida had not 
submitted the regulatory assessment fees for the year 1996, along 
with statutory penalties and interest charges. Therefore . it hao 
failed to comply with Rule 25 -4 .0161, Florida Administrative Code. 

Accordingly, staff recommends that the Commission assess a 
$500 fine for failure to comply with Commission rules or cancel 
certificate number 4366 if the fine and the regulatory assessment 
fees, along with statutory penalties and intereet, are not paid 
within the specified time. 
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• 
DOCKET NO. 971342-TC 
DATE: Dece~r 23, 1997 

• 
ISSOB 2: Should the Commission impose a $500 fine or cancel 
Florida's Pay Telephone Certificate No. 4366 for apparent violation 
of Rule 25-24.520, Florida Administrative Code, Reporting 
.Requirements? 

RBCOMMENPATIQN: Yea. The Commission should impose a $500 fine or 
cancel Florida's certificate if the fine and information required 
by Rule 25-24 .520, Florida Administrative Code, are not received by 
the Commission within 5 business days after the conclusion of the 
21 day protest period . 'Ihe fine should be paid to the Florida 
Public Service Commission and forwarded to the Office of the 
Comptroller for deposit in the State General Revenue Fund pursuant 
to Section 364.285 (1), Florida Statutes. If the Commissions Order 
is not protested and the required information and fine are not 
received , certificate number 4366 should be canceled. (Biegalski) 

STAPP AHALYSIS: Pursuant to Section 364.285, Florida Statutes, the 
Commission may impose a f ine or cancel a certificate if a company 
refuses to comply with Commission rules. Rule 25-24.514, Florida 
Administrative Code, establishes the requirements for cancellation 
of a pay telephone company certificate . The r"'e provides for the 
Commission to cancel a certificate on its own motion for violation 
of Commission Rules and Orders. 

Pursuant to Rule 25-24.520, Florida Adminiatrative Code, each 
company is allowed 10 days after a change occurs to file updated 
information i ndicating any changes in the certificate holder• s 
address (including street name and address, post office box, city) • 
telephone number and any change in the name and address of the 
individual who is serving as primary liaison with the Commission. 
Mail sent to Florida was returned to our Division of 
Administration. In addition, the telephone number l~sted in the 
'Master Commission Directory is an incorrect number. It has been 
well over 10 days and staff has not been informed of the provider's 
correct mailing addres.s, phone number, or liaison information, nor 
has it requested cancellation of its certificate in compliance with 
Rule 25-24.514 , Florida Administrative Code. 

Therefore, staff recommends that the Commission assess a $500 
fine for failure to comply with Commission ruleo or cancel 
Florida's certificate if the fine is not paid and the information 
received within the specified time. 
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• 
DOCKET NO. 971342-TC 
DATE: Decemher 23, 1997 

ISSVB 3: Should this docket be closed? 

• 
BECOMMKNPATION; If no person whose substantial interests are 
affected files a protest within 21 days of the issuance date of the 
Order, the Order will become final. Upon payment of the fines and 
fees , and rece ipt of the required information, or cancellation of 
the certificate, this docket should be closed. (Cox) 

STAPP AHALXSIS: If the Commission adopts staff's recommendation i n 
Issue 1 and 2, then Florida will have 21 days from the issuance 
date of the Order to file a timely protest to the Commission's 
Proposed Agency Action. If no protest is filed, the docket should 
be closed upon payment of the fines and fees , and receipt of the 
required informa~ion or upon cancellation of the certificate. 
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AlTACHMENT A 
DOCKET NO. 971342-TC 
DECEMBER 23. 1997 • 
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