BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In re: Request for approval to DOCKET NO. 971465-WU
establish a late payment charge ORDER NO. PS5C-98-0172-FOF-WU
for Brendenwood Water System in ISSUED: January 28, 1998

Lake County.

The following Commissioners participated in the disposition of
this matter:

JULIA L. JOHNSON, Chairman
J. TERRY DEACON
SUSAN F. CLARK
E. LEON JACOBS

JOE GARCIA
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BY THE COMMISSION:

Brendenwood Water System (Brendenwood or utility) is a Class
C water-only utility that provides water service to approximately
56 customers in Lake County. According to its 1996 annual report,
the utility recorded revenues of $19,777 and operating expenses of
$21,881, resulting in a net operating loss of $2,383.

Section 367.091, Florida Statutes, allows a utility to file an
application, to establish, increase, or change a rate or charge
other than monthly rates for service or service availability
charges. Such application must be accompanied by cost
justification. On November 7, 1997, pursuant to Section 367.091,
Florida Statutes, Brendenwood filed a proposed tariff requesting
approval of a $3.00 late payment charge. Pursuant to Section
367.091(5), Florida Statutes, Brendenwood also filed cost
justification in support of its request. The utility stated in its
filing that the purpose of this charge is to provide an incentive
for customers to make timely payments and place the cost burden of
processing such delinquent accounts upon those who cause such
costs. The utility adds that the percent of delinquent customers
has varied from 5.4% to 12.5%. Further, the utility adds that
approximately 7% of its “customers base has established the trend
of paying late.”
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We have previously approved late payment charges for other
water service utilities. See Orders Nos. PSC-92-0779-FOF-WS,
issued August 10, 1992, PSC-92-0611-FOF-WS, issued July 7, 1993,
and PSC-96-0987-FOF-WS, issued August 5, 1996. We believe that
customers should have an incentive to pay utility bills in a timely
manner and that those customers who cause the utility to incur
costs to process late payment notices should pay those costs.

Upon reviewing the utility’s application and cost
justification, we believe that the utility’s request is reasonable.
Accordingly, the utility’s request for a late payment fee of $3.00
is approved. The new late payment fee contained in the revised
tariff sheet shall become effective on or after the stamped
approval date on the revised tariff sheet pursuant tc Rule 25-
30.475(1), Florida Administrative Code, provided customers have
received notice.

In the event a protest is filed within 21 days of the issuance
of the Order, this tariff shall remain in effect and all late
payment charges collected should be held subject to refund pending
resolution of the protest. If no timely protest is filed, this
docket shall be closed administratively.

Based on the foregoing, it is

ORDERED by the Florida Public Service Commission that
Brendenwood Water System’s tariff filing to implement a late
payment charge in the amount of $3.00 is approved. It is further

ORDERED that the tariff shall become effective on or after che
stamped approval date on the revised tariff sheet:, provided
customers have received notice. It is further

ORDERED that in the event that a protest is filed within 21
days of the issuance of this Order, this tariff shall remain in
effect and all late payment charges collected should be held
subject to refund pending the resolution of the protest. It is
further

ORDERED that in the event no timely protest is filed, then
this docket shall be closed administratively.
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By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission this 28th
day of January, 1998.

BLANCA S. BAYO, Dir€ctor
Division of Records amd Reporting

(SEAL)
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The Florida Public Service Commission is required by Section
120.569(1), Florida Statutes, to notify parties of any
administrative hearing or judicial review of Commission orders that
is available under Sections 120.57 or 120.68, Florida Statutes, as
well as the procedures and time limits that apply. This notice
should not be construed to mean all requests for an administrative
hearing or judicial review will be granted or result in the relief
sought.

Mediation may be available on a case-by-case basis. If
mediation 1is conducted, it does not affect a substantially
interested person’s right to a hearing.

The Caommission’s decision on this tariff is interim in nature
and will become final, unless a person whose substantial interests
are affected by the action proposed files a petition for a formal
proceeding, as provided by Rule 25-22.036(4), Florida
Administrative Code, in the form provided by Rule 25-
22.036(7) (a) (d) and (e), Florida Administrative Code. This
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petition must be received by the Director, Division of Records and
Reporting, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-

0850, by the close of business on February 18, 1998.

In the absence of such a petition, this Order shall become
final on the day subsequent to the above date.

Any objection or protest filed in this docket before the
issuance date of this order is considered abandoned unless it
satisfies the foregoing conditions and is renewed within the
specified protest period.

If this Order becomes final on the date described above, any
party adversely affected may request judicial review by the Florida
Supreme Court in the case of an electric, gas or telephone utility
or by the First District Court of Appeal in the case of a water or
wastewater utility by filing a notice of appeal with the Director,
Division of Records and Reporting and filing a copy of the notice
of appeal and the filing fee with the appropriate court. This
filing must be completed within thirty (30) days of the date this
Order becomes final, pursuant to Rule 9.110, Florida Rules of
Appellate Procedure. The notice of appeal must be in the form
specified in Rule 9.900(a), Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure.
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