BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In re: Proposed Rules 25-7.100, F.A.C., Annual Reports; and 25-7.101, F.A.C., Regulatory Assessment Fees for Natural Gas Transmission Companies DOCKET NO. 971444-GU ORDER NO. PSC-98-1163-FOF-GU ISSUED: August 26, 1998

The following Commissioners participated in the disposition of this matter:

JULIA L. JOHNSON, Chairman J. TERRY DEASON SUSAN F. CLARK JOE GARCIA E. LEON JACOBS, JR.

NOTICE OF ADOPTION OF RULES

NOTICE is hereby given that the Florida Public Service Commission, pursuant to Section 120.54, Florida Statutes, has adopted Rule 25-7.100 without changes and Rule 25-7.101, Florida Administrative Code, relating to regulatory assessment fees for natural gas transmission companies with changes.

The rules were filed with the Department of State on August 24, 1998 and will be effective on September 14, 1998. A copy of the rule as filed with the Secretary of State is attached to this Notice.

This docket is closed upon issuance of this notice.

COCUMENT NO.

....

By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission, this <u>26th</u> day of <u>August</u>, <u>1998</u>.

.

-

BLANCA S. BAYÓ, Director Division of Records & Reporting

Kay Flynn, Chief

...

Kay Flynn, Chref Bureau of Records

(SEAL)

RCB

2

.

25-7.100 Annual Report

÷

(1) Each natural gas transmission company shall annually file the following information with the Commission on a calendar year basis:

(a) Comparative Balance Sheet for the reporting year and the prior year

(b) Comparative Statement of Income for the reporting year and the prior year

(c) Statement of Retained Earnings for the reporting year.

(2) The report shall be due on or before April 30 for the preceding calendar year.

(3) A company may file a written request for an extension of time with the Division of Auditing and Financial Analysis no later than April 30. One extension of 31 days will be granted upon request. A request for a longer extension must be accompanied by a statement of good cause and shall specify the date by which the report will be filed.

(4) The company shall file an original and three copies of the information required in subsection (1).

Specific Authority: 368.104, F.S.

Law Implemented: 368.104, F.S.

History - 09/14/98.

25-7.101 Regulatory Assessment Fees

١

(1) As provided in s. 368.109, F.S., each natural gas transmission company shall pay a regulatory assessment fee. The regulatory assessment fee shall be 0.25 percent annually of the natural gas transmission company's gross operating revenue derived from intrastate business, excluding sales of gas for resale to natural gas transmission companies, public utilities that supply gas, municipal gas utilities and gas districts.

(2) Regulatory assessment fees are due each January 30 for the preceding 6 month period or any part of the period from July 1 until December 31, and on July 30 for the preceding 6 month period or any part of the period from January 1 until June 30.

(3) If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, the due date is extended to the next business day. If the fees are sent by registered mail, the date of the registration is the United States Postal Service's postmark date. If the fees are sent by certified mail and the receipt is postmarked by a postal employee, the date on the receipt is the United States Postal Service's postmark date. The postmarked certified mail receipt is evidence that the fees were delivered. Regulatory assessment fees are considered paid on the date they are postmarked by the United States Postal Service or received and logged in by the Commission's Division of Administration in Tallahassee. Fees are considered

timely paid if properly addressed, with sufficient postage, and postmarked no later than the due date.

(4) Commission Form PSC/ADM 244 (2/98), entitled "Natural Gas Transmission Pipeline Company Regulatory Assessment Fee Return" is incorporated into this rule by reference an may be obtained from the Commission's Division of Administration. The failure of a utility to receive a return form shall not excuse the utility from its obligation to timely remit the regulatory assessment fees.

(5) Each natural gas transmission company shall have up to and including the due date in which to remit the total amount of its fee.

(6) The delinquency of any amount due to the Commission from the company, pursuant to the provisions of s. 368.109, F.S. and this rule, begins with the first calendar day after any date established as the due date by operation of this rule.

(7) <u>A Regulatory Assessment Fee Return must be completed, signed,</u> and filed even if there are no revenues to report.

Specific Authority: 368.104, F.S.

Law Implemented: 368.109, F.S., 368.111, F.S.

<u>History - 09/14/98.</u>