CERTIFICATION OF

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

FILED WITH THE

DEPARTMENT OF STATE

I do hereby certify:

RCH __ SEC

VAS _

- /X/ (1) That all statutory rulemaking requirements of Chapter 120, F.S., have been complied with; and
- /X/ (2) There is no administrative determination under subsection 120.56(2), F.S., pending on any rule covered by this sertification; and
- /X/ (3) All rules covered by this certification are filed within the prescribed time limitations of paragraph 120.54(3)(e), F.S. They are filed not less than 28 days after the notice required by paragraph 120.54(3)(a), F.S., and;
- // (a) Are filed not more than 90 days after the notice; or

// (b) Are filed not more than 90 days after the notice

MCK	
A -	not including days an administrative determination was pending;
A	or
С С	// (c) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but
С	not less than 21 days nor more than 45 days from the days of
E ^{r i}	publication of the notice of change; or
Lini	// (d) Are filed more than 90 days after the deficte but
OPC	-not less than 14 nor more than 45 days after the adjournment of

BOCUMENT NUMBER-DATE

99492 JAN 138

the final public hearing on the rule; or

- // (e) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but
 within 21 days after the date of receipt of all material
 authorized to be submitted at the hearing; or
- // (f) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but within 21 days after the date the transcript was received by this agency; or
- /X/ (g) Are filed not more than 90 days after the notice, not including days the adoption of the rule was postponed fo lowing notification from the Joint Administrative Procedures Committee that an objection to the rule was being considered; or
- // (h) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but within 21 days after a good faith written proposal for a lover cost regulatory alternative to a proposed rule is submitted which substantially accomplishes the objectives of the law being implemented; or
- // (i) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but within 21 days after a regulatory alternative is offered by the small business ombudsman.

Attached are the original and two copies of each rule covered by this certification. The rules are hereby adopted by the undersigned agency by and upon their filing with the Department of State.

Rule Nos.

25-24.610

25-24.630

Under the provision of subparagraph 120.54(3)(e)6., F.S., the rules take effect 20 days from the date filed with the Department of State or a later date as set out below:

Effective: February 1, 1999 (month) (day) (year)

BLANCA S. BAYÓ, Director Division of Records & Reporting 1

Number of Pages Certified

(S E A L)

DWC

CODING: Words underlined are additions; words in struck through type are deletions from existing law.

(a) "Call aggregator" is any person or entity

24

25

apply:

telecommunications service to the transient public, in the ordinary
course of its operations, provides telecommunications service to
any end user. Subject to the definition above, "call aggregator"
includes but is not limited to the following:

 Hotel as defined in Section 509.242 (1)(a), Florida Statutes (1995),

6

7

25

- 8 2. Motel as defined in Section 509.242 (1)(b), Florida 9 Statutes (1995),
- 3. Resort condominium as defined in Section 509.242 (1)(c),

 Florida Statutes (1995),
- 4. Transient apartment as defined in Section 509.242 (1)(e),
 13 Florida Statutes (1995),
- 5. Roominghouse as defined in Section 509.242 (1)(f),
 Florida Statutes (1995).
- 6. Resort dwelling as defined in Section 509.242 (1)(g),
 Florida Statutes (1995).
- 7. Schools required to comply with any portion of Chapters
 228 and 246, Florida Statutes (1995), or Section 229.808, Florida
 Statutes (1995),
- 8. Nursing home licensed under Section 400.062, Florida
 Statutes (1995).
- 9. Assisted living facility licensed under Section 400.407,
 Florida Statutes (1995),
 - 10. Hospital licensed under Section 395.003, Florida Statutes

1 | (1995),

11. Timeshare plan as defined in Section 721.05(31), Florida Statutes (1995).

- 12. Continuing care facility certificated under Section 651.023, Florida Statutes (1995), and
- 13. Homes, communities, or facilities funded or insured by the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) under 12 U.S.C.S. § 1701q (Law. Co-op. 1994) that sets forth the National Housing Act program designed to aid the elderly.
- (b) "Conversation time" is the time during which two-way communication is possible between the calling and called party.
- (c) "End user" means a person who initiates or is billed for a telephone call.
- (d) "Person-to-person" is a service whereby the person originating the call specifies to the operator service provider's operator a particular person to be reached.
- (e)(d) "Surcharge" means an amount billed to an end user by a call aggregator that is in excess of the rate information that may be obtained pursuant to Section 364.3376(5), Florida Statutes (1995). "Surcharge" includes any charge billed by a call aggregator that is associated with a call billed by another entity.
- (2) In addition to the above, the following rules are incorporated herein by reference:

24 Portions

25 Section Title Applicable

1	25-4.003 Definitions All
2	25-4.019 Records and Reports All
3	in General
4	25-4.020 Location and Preservation (2) and (3)
5	of Records
6	PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE 02/01/99
7	Specific Authority: 350.127(2), 364.3376(8), F.S.
8	Law Implemented: 364.01, 364.016, 364.3376, F.S.
9	History: New 9-6-93, Amended 9-10-97
10	25-24.630 Rate and Billing Requirements.
11	(1) Services charged and billed to any end user by an Am
L2	operator services provider for an intrastate 0+ or 0- call made
13	from a pay telephone or in a call aggregator context shall not
L4	exceed a rate of \$.30 per minute plus the applicable charges for
15	the following types of telephone calls:
16	(a) A person-to-person call a charge of \$3,25; charge and
.7	bill end users no more than the Commission approved rate for
18	intrastate calls;
.9	(b) A call that is not a person-to-person call a charge of
20	<u>\$1.75.</u>
21	[2] For 0- calls from pay telephone stations completed by the
22	provider of local exchange telecommunications services, a set use
:3	fee of \$.25 shall apply and shall be remitted by the local exchange

CODING: Words underlined are additions; words in struck through type are deletions from existing law.

company to the pay telephone service provider.

24

25

(3) An operator services provider shall have current rate

information readily available and provide this information orally to end users end users upon request prior to connection.

(4) (c) An operator services provider shall require that its certificated name or the name of its certificated billing agent appear on any telecommunications company's bill for regulated charges.

(5)(d) An operator services provider shall require all calls are to be individually identified on each bill from a telecommunications company on to an end user's end user bill, including the date and start time of the call, call duration, origin and destination (by city or exchange name and telephone number), and type of call, and

(6) (e) An operator services provider shall provide a toll-free number for customer inquiries on the bill and maintain procedures adequate to allow the company to promptly receive and respond to such inquiries.

(7)(f) An operator services provider shall charge only for conversation time as rounded according to company tariffs.

(8) (2) An operator services provider shall not:

- (a) Bbill or charge for uncompleted calls in areas where answer supervision is available or knowingly bill or charge for uncompleted calls in areas where answer supervision is not available.
- (b) Bbill for any collect call that has not been affirmatively accepted by a person receiving the call regardless of whether the

1 | call was processed by a live or automated operator. 7 (c) Bbill for calls in increments greater than one minute except for coin calls that may be in increments no greater than three minutes.+ (d) Bbill or collect a surcharge levied by any entity, either directly or through its billing agent, except Commission-approved charges for pay telephone providers. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE 02/01/99 Specific Authority: 350.127(2), F.S. Law Implemented: 364.01, 364.3376, F.S. History: New 9/6/93_____.

Rules 25-24.600, 25-24.610, and 25-24.630 Docket No. 960312-TI

SUBSCARY OF RULE

The proposed amendments remove the exemption for local exchange telecommunications companies providing operator services and extend the provision of the OSP rules to govern every company that provides operator services. The proposed amendments include specific rate caps expressed in dollars and cents that operator service providers must not exceed for various types of calls.

Other technical and conforming changes are made.

SUMMARY OF HEARINGS ON THE RULE

No hearing was requested and none was held.

FACTS AND CIRCUMSTANCES JUSTIFYING THE RULE

The Florida Telecommunications Act of 1995 amended Section 364.3376, Florida Statute, relating to operator services.

Subsection (3) requires the Commission to establish maximum rates and charges for all providers of services. The provisions of the section also allow for all operator service providers to be regulated under the same rules, except for certification.

