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Jetcom, Inc. obtained ALEC Certificate No. 4829 on 04/02/97.
The Division of Administration sent the 1997 regulatory assessment
fee (RAF) notice by certified mail. The United States Postal
Service (USPS) returned the receipt, which showed the RAF notice
was signed for and delivered on December 15, 1997. The Division of
Administration notified staff by memorandum that this company did

not pay its 1997 RAFs, plus statutory penalty and interest
for the year 1997.

charges

on January 12, 1999, Mr. Joseph Pierre, the company’s
president, called staff and advised he would pay the the past due
amount and make a settlement offer. As of February 25, 1999, the
company has not paid the past due amount or filed a settlement
offer. Staff called the telephone number listed in the Master
Commission Directory and received a recording that the number had
been disconnected. Staff then called Directory Assistance and was
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advised that there was no listing for Jetcom. Staff then searched
the internet for Jetcom and Mr. Pierre, but no matches were found.

Staff believes the following recommerdations are appropriate.

RISCUSSION OF IESURS

ISSUE 1: Should the Commission impose a $500 fine or cancel
Jetcom, Inc.’s certificate for apparent violation of Rule 25-
4.0161, Florida Administrative Code, Regulatory Assessment Fees;
Telecommunications Companies?

RECOMMENDATION: Yes. The Commission should impose a §500 fine or
cancel the company’s certificate if the fine and the regulatory
assessment fees, including statutory penalties and interest, are
not received by the Commission within five business days after the
conclusion of the 21 day protest period. The fine should be paid
to the Florida Public Service Commission and forwarded to the
Office of the Comptroller for deposit in the State General Revenue
Fund pursuant to Section 364.285(1), Florida Statutes. If the
Commission’s Order is not protested and the fine and regulatory
assessment fees, including statutory penalties and interest, are
not received, ALEC Certificate No. 4829 should be canceled with an
effective date of December 31, 1998. (Isler)

STAFF AMALYSIS: Rule 25-4.0161, Florida Administrative Code,
requires the payment of regulatory assessment fees by January 30 of
the subsequent year for telecommunications companies, and provides
for penalties and interest as outlined in Section 350.113, Florida
Statutes, for any delinquent amounts.

staff was notified by the Division of Administration that the
company had not paid its 1997 regulatory assessment fees, plus
statutory penalties and interest. Therefore, the company has
failed to comply with Tule 25-4.0161, Florida Administrative Code,
Regulatory Assessment Fees; Telecommunications Companies.

On January 12, 1999, Mr. Jcseph Pierre, the company’'s
president, called staff and advised he would pay the the past due
amount and make a settlement offer. As of February 25, 19939, the
company has not paid the past due amount or filed a settlement
offer. Staff called the telephone number listed in the Master
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Commission Directory and received a recording that the number had
been disconnected. Staff then called Directory Assistance and was
advised that there was no listing for Jetcom. Staff then searched
the internet for Jetcom and Mr. Pierre, but no matches were found.

Accordingly, staff recommends that the Commission assess a
$500 fine for failure to comply with the Commission rules or cancel
the company’s certificate if the fine and the regulatory assessment
fees, along with statutory penalty and interest charges, are not
paid within five business days after the conclusion of the 21 day
protest period. The fine should be paid to the Florida Public
Service Commission and forwarded to the Office of the Comptroller
for deposit in the State General Revenue Fund pursuant to Section
364.285(1), Florida Statutes. If the Commission’s Order is not
protested and the fine and regulatory assessment fees, including
statutory penalty and interest charges, e not received, the
company’s certificate should be canceled with an effective date of
December 31, 1998.

ISSUE 2: Should this docket be closed?

RECOMMENDATION: Yes, if no person whose substantial interests are
affected files a protest within 21 days of the issuance date of the
Order, the Order will become final. Upon payment of the fine and
fees, or cancellation of the certificate, this docket should be

closed. (Bedell)

STAFF ANALYSIS: Whether staff's recommendation on Issue 1 is
approved or denied, the result will be a proposed agency action
order. If no timely protest to the proposed agency action is filed
within 21 days of the date of issuance of the Order, this docket
should be closed upon payment of the fine and fees, or upon
cancellation of the certificate.
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