NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

DOCKET NO. 991427-WS

RULE TITLE:

RULE NO.:

Records and Reports; Annual Reports 25-30.110

PURPOSE AND EFFECT: The Class A, B, and C water and wastewater utility annual report forms are being revised to incorporate a more recent version of the NARUC Uniform System of Accounts; combine the three forms into one; eliminate numerous unnecessary and obsolete requirements; clarify other requirements; and add some requirements.

SUMMARY: Rule 25-30.110 is being amended to revise the annual report forms for Class A, B, and C water and wastewater utilities.

SUMMARY OF STATEMENT OF ESTIMATED REGULATORY COST: Revision of the annual report forms will result in a one-time cost to the utilities to convert to the new forms. In addition, there may be an additional cost for Class A and B utilities to calculate or estimate the non-used and useful facilities, and to calculate working capital. The costs to Class C utilities should be minimal because their reporting form was substantially revised in 1996, and there are relatively minor changes being recommended in this revision.

Any person who wishes to provide information regarding the statement of estimated regulatory costs, or to provide a proposal

DOCUMENT NUMBER-DATE

12042 OCT-68

FPSC-RECORDS/REPORTING

AFA
APP
CAF
CMU
CTR
EAG
LEG
MAS
OPC
PAI
SEC
WAW
OTH

for a lower cost regulatory alternative must do so in writing within 21 days of this notice.

SPECIFIC AUTHORITY: 350.127(2), 367.121, FS.

LAW IMPLEMENTED: 367.121(1)(c), 367.121(1)(g), 367.121(1)(i), 367.121(1)(k), 367.156(1), 367.161, FS.

WRITTEN COMMENTS OR SUGGESTIONS ON THE PROPOSED RULE MAY BE SUBMITTED TO THE FPSC, DIVISION OF RECORDS AND REPORTING, WITHIN 21 DAYS OF THE DATE OF THIS NOTICE FOR INCLUSION IN THE RECORD OF THE PROCEEDING.

IF REQUESTED WITHIN 21 DAYS OF THE DATE OF THIS NOTICE, A HEARING WILL BE SCHEDULED AND ANNOUNCED IN THE FAW.

THE PERSON TO BE CONTACTED REGARDING THE PROPOSED RULE IS:

Director of Appeals, Florida Public Service Commission, 2540

Shumard Oak Blvd., Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0862, (850) 413-6245.

THE FULL TEXT OF THE PROPOSED RULE IS:

25-30.110 Records and Reports; Annual Reports.

- (1) (3) No Change.
- (4) ANNUAL REPORTS; CONTENTS. The appropriate annual report form required from each utility shall be determined by using the same three classes of utilities used by the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners for publishing its system of accounts: Class A (those having annual water or wastewater operating revenues of \$1,000,000 \$750,000 or more); Class B (those having annual water or wastewater revenues of \$200,000 or

more but less than \$1,000,000 \$150,000 to \$749,999); Class C (annual water or wastewater revenues of less than \$200,000 \$150,000). The class to which a utility belongs shall be determined by using the higher of the average of its annual water or wastewater operating revenues for each of the last three preceding years.

(a) Class A and B utilities shall file the annual report on Commission Form PSC/WAW 3 (__/_), entitled "Water and/or Wastewater Utilities (Gross Revenues of \$200,000 or more \$750,000 and Over)", which is incorporated by reference into this rule.

required by Commission Form PSC/WAS 4 (Rev. 12/86), which was effective on December 22, 1986.

(b) Class B utilities shall file the annual report entitled
"Water and/or wastewater Utilities (Gross Revenues of \$150,000 or
more But Less Than \$750,000 Each)" required by Commission Form
PSC/WAS 5 (Rev. 12/86) which was effective on December 22, 1986.

(b) (c) Class C utilities shall file the annual report on Commission Form PSC/WAW 6 (/), entitled "Water and/or Wastewater Utilities (Gross Revenues of less than \$200,000 \$150,000 each), which in incorporated by reference into this rule. required by Commission Form PSC/WAS 6 (Rev. 5/96).

(d) Class A or B utilities that have multiple systems under one consolidated company should file the Consolidated Annual Report (Form PSC/WAS 3 (3/91)) in lieu of separate annual reports for each system. Any questions regarding the annual report form

to be filed should be directed to the Division of Water and Wastewater, Bureau of Accounting.

(c) (e) The foregoing forms can be obtained from the Commission's Division of Water and Wastewater.

- (5) (7) No Change.
- (8) INCOMPLETE REPORTS.
- (a) No Change.
- (b) A report is incomplete if any of the schedules required by the following forms of this rule are not completed:
- 1. Form PSC/WA<u>WS</u> 3 (/) 4 (Rev. 12/86) for Class A and B utilities;
- 2. Form PSC/WAS 5 (Rev. 12/86) for Class B utilities;

 3. Form PSC/WAS 3 (Rev. 03/91) for Class A or B utilities that have multiple systems; and
 - $\underline{24}$. Form PSC/WAWS 6 ($\underline{\hspace{0.2cm}}/\hspace{0.2cm}$ Rev. $\underline{5/96}$) for Class C utilities.
 - (c) No Change.
 - (9) (11) No change.

Specific Authority: 350.127(2), 367.121, F.S.

Law Implemented: 367.121(1)(c), 367.121(1)(g), 367.121(1)(i),

367.121(1)(k), 367.156(1), 367.161, F.S.

History--Amended 09-12-74, 01-18-83, 02-24-85, 10-27-85, formerly

25-10.25, Transferred from 25-10.025 11-09-86, Amended 12-22-86,

03-11-91, 11-13-95, 05-01-96,

NAME OF PERSON ORIGINATING PROPOSED RULE: Tricia Merchant

NAME OF SUPERVISOR OR PERSONS WHO APPROVED THE PROPOSED RULE:

Florida Public Service Commission.

DATE PROPOSED RULE APPROVED: October 5, 1999

DATE NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE DEVELOPMENT PUBLISHED IN FAW: Volume 24, Number 42, October 16, 1998

If any person decides to appeal any decision of the Commission with respect to any matter considered at the rulemaking hearing, if held, a record of the hearing is necessary. The appellant must ensure that a verbatim record, including testimony and evidence forming the basis of the appeal is made. The Commission usually makes a verbatim record of rulemaking hearings.

Any person requiring some accommodation at the hearing because of a physical impairment should call the Division of Records and Reporting at (850) 413-6770 at least 48 hours prior to the hearing. Any person who is hearing or speech impaired should contact the Florida Public Service Commission by using the Florida Relay Service, which can be reached at: 1-800-955-8771 (TDD).