### FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

#### VOTE SHEET

#### NOVEMBER 16, 1999

RE: DOCKET NO. 991471-TC - Initiation of show cause proceedings against J and L Communications for violation of Rules 25-4.043, F.A.C., Response to Commission Staff Inquiries, and 25-24.515(9)(a), (12), and (18), F.A.C., Pay Telephone Service.

Issue 1: Should the Commission order J and L Communications to show cause why it should not be fined \$3,000 or have Certificate No. 3353 canceled for apparent violation of Rule 25-24.515(9)(a), (12), and (18), Florida Administrative Code, Pay Telephone Service?

Recommendation: Yes, the Commission should order J and L to show cause in writing within 21 days of issuance of the Commission's Order why it should not have its certificate canceled or be fined \$3,000 for apparent violation of Rule 25-24.515(9)(a), (12), and (18), F.A.C. The company's response should contain specific allegations of fact or law. If J and L fails to respond to the show cause order and the fine is not paid within 10 business

COMMISSIONERS ASSIGNED: Full Commission

COMMISSIONERS'	SIGNAT
MAJORITY	
Jusan I Clark	
The Jacou	
J. Jens Deas	
5-4.8	
1 ato	
REMARKS/DISSENTING COMMENTS:	

URES

DOCUMENT NUMBER-DATE

DISSENTING

9

4 30 NOV 18 8

FPSC-RECORDS/REPORTING

 VOTE SHEET
NOVEMBER 16, 1999
DOCKET NO. 991471-TC - Initiation of show cause proceedings against J and L Communications for violation of Rules 25-4.043, F.A.C., Response to Commission Staff Inquiries, and 25-24.515(9)(a), (12), and (18), F.A.C., Pay Telephone Service.

(Continued from previous page)

. . .

<u>Issue 3</u>: Should this docket be closed?

<u>Recommendation</u>: If staff's recommendation in Issue 1 is approved, then J and L will have 21 days from the issuance of the Commission's show cause order to respond in writing why it should not be fined in the amount proposed or have its certificate canceled. If staff's recommendation in Issue 2 is approved, then J and L will have 21 days from the issuance of the Commission's show cause order to respond in writing why it should not be fined in the amount proposed. If J and L timely responds to the show cause order, this docket should remain open pending resolution of the show cause proceeding. If J and L does not respond to the show cause order, and the fines are not received within 10 business days after the expiration of the show cause response period, then J and L's certificate should be canceled for the violations cited in Issue 1 and the fine in Issue 2 should be imposed for the violation cited in Issue 2 and forwarded to the Comptroller's Office for collection. This docket can then be closed.

## APPROVED

VOTE SHEET NOVEMBER 16, 1999 DOCKET NO. 991471-TC - Initiation of show cause proceedings against J and L Communications for violation of Rules 25-4.043, F.A.C., Response to Commission Staff Inquiries, and 25-24.515(9)(a), (12), and (18), F.A.C., Pay Telephone Service.

(Continued from previous page)

days after the 21-day show cause period, Certificate No. 3353 should be canceled. If the fine is paid, it should be remitted to the Commission to be forwarded to the Office of the Comptroller for deposit in the State General Revenue Fund, pursuant to Section 364.285, Florida Statutes.

## APPROVED

<u>Issue 2</u>: Should the Commission order J and L Communications to show cause why it should not be fined \$10,000 for apparent violation of Rule 25-4.043, Florida Administrative Code, Response to Commission Staff Inquiries? <u>Recommendation</u>: Yes. The Commission should order J and L to show cause in writing within 21 days of issuance of the Commission's Order why it should not be fined \$10,000 for apparent violation of Rule 25-4.043, F.A.C., Response to Commission Staff Inquiries. The company's response should contain specific allegations of fact or law. If J and L fails to respond to the show cause order, the fine should be deemed assessed. If the fine is not paid within 10 business days after the 21-day show cause period, it should be forwarded to the Office of the Comptroller for collection. If the fine is paid, it should be remitted by the Commission to the Office of Comptroller for deposit in the State General Revenue Fund, pursuant to Section 364.285, Florida Statutes.

# APPROVED