BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In re: Cancellation by Florida Public Service Commission of Pay Telephone Certificate No. 5395 issued to Walk-In Phone Centers, Inc. for violation of Rule 25-4.0161, F.A.C., Regulatory Assessment Fees; Telecommunications Companies. DOCKET NO. 991144-TC ORDER NO. PSC-00-0191-AS-TC ISSUED: January 25, 2000

The following Commissioners participated in the disposition of this matter:

JOE GARCIA, Chairman J. TERRY DEASON SUSAN F. CLARK E. LEON JACOBS, JR.

ORDER APPROVING SETTLEMENT

BY THE COMMISSION:

Walk-In Phone Centers, Inc. (Walk-In Phone) currently holds Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity No. 5395, issued by the Commission on July 25, 1997, authorizing the provision of Pay Telephone service. The Division of Administration advised our staff by memorandum that Walk-In Phone had not paid the 1998 Regulatory Assessment Fees (RAFs). Also, accrued statutory penalties and interest charges for late RAFs payments for the year 1998 had not been paid. RAFs are required by Section 364.336, Florida Statutes, and Rule 25-4.0161, Florida Administrative Code.

All entities that apply for certification receive a copy of our rules governing Pay Telephone service. All applicants must attest that these rules have been received and understood by the applicant and an affidavit must be attached to the application in order for the application to be processed.

Pursuant to Section 364.336, Florida Statutes, certificate holders must pay a minimum annual RAF of \$50 if the certificate was active during any portion of the calendar year. The RAFs form was mailed to Walk-In Phone for the period of January 1, 1998, through December 31, 1998, on December 10, 1998. Pursuant to Rule 25-

01056 JAN 258

ORDER NO. PSC-00-0191-AS-TC DOCKET NO. 991144-TC PAGE 2

4.0161(2), Florida Administrative Code, the form and applicable fees are due to the Florida Public Service Commission by January 30 of the subsequent year. However, pursuant to Section 350.113(4), Florida Statutes, the Commission shall provide at least a 45 days notice of the date the payment is due prior to the due date. Walk-In Phone was scheduled to remit its RAFs by February 1, 1999.

By Order No. PSC-99-2206-PAA-TC, issued November 9, 1999, we proposed to impose a \$500 fine or cancel Walk-In Phone's certificate. On November 17, 1999, Mr. John Mann, Walk-In Phone's CPA, contacted our staff and advised that Walk-In Phone would pay the past due amount and would make a settlement offer. On November 24, 1999, we received from Walk-In Phone the 1998 RAFs, including a portion of the statutory penalties and interest charges, a letter proposing to contribute \$100 to the State General Revenue Fund and to pay future RAFs in a timely basis, and a check in the amount of \$100 to satisfy the settlement contribution. We received Walk-In Phone's check for the balance of the 1998 statutory penalties and interest charges on December 14, 1999.

We believe that the terms of the settlement agreement represent a fair and reasonable resolution of this matter. Accordingly, we hereby accept the settlement offer. The contribution will be forwarded to the Office of the Comptroller for deposit in the State General Revenue Fund pursuant to Section 364.285(1), Florida Statutes.

Based on the foregoing, it is

ORDERED by the Florida Public Service Commission that Walk-In Phone Centers, Inc.'s settlement proposal summarized in the body of this Order is hereby approved. It is further

ORDERED that the contribution will be transmitted to the Comptroller for deposit in the State of Florida General Revenue Fund. It is further

ORDERED that this Docket is closed.

ORDER NO. PSC-00-0191-AS-TC DOCKET NO. 991144-TC PAGE 3

By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission this <u>25th</u> day of <u>January</u>, <u>2000</u>.

BLANCA S. BAYÓ, Director

Division of Records and Reporting

(SEAL)

KMP

NOTICE OF FURTHER PROCEEDINGS OR JUDICIAL REVIEW

The Florida Public Service Commission is required by Section 120.569(1), Florida Statutes, to notify parties of any administrative hearing or judicial review of Commission orders that is available under Sections 120.57 or 120.68, Florida Statutes, as well as the procedures and time limits that apply. This notice should not be construed to mean all requests for an administrative hearing or judicial review will be granted or result in the relief sought.

Any party adversely affected by the Commission's final action in this matter may request: 1) reconsideration of the decision by filing a motion for reconsideration with the Director, Division of Records and Reporting, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0850, within fifteen (15) days of the issuance of this order in the form prescribed by Rule 25-22.060, Florida Administrative Code; or 2) judicial review by the Florida Supreme Court in the case of an electric, gas or telephone utility or the First District Court of Appeal in the case of a water and/or wastewater utility by filing a notice of appeal with the Director, Division of Records and reporting and filing a copy of the notice of appeal and the filing fee with the appropriate court. filing must be completed within thirty (30) days after the issuance of this order, pursuant to Rule 9.110, Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure. The notice of appeal must be in the form specified in Rule 9.900(a), Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure.