TO AVOID PENALTY AND INTEREST CHARGES, THE REGULATORY ASSESSMENT FEE RETURN MUST BE FILED ON OR BEFORE 02/01/1999 Alternative Local Exchange Company Regulatory Assessment Fee Return

791968-72

	×.	Florida Public Service Commission (See Filing Instructions on Rack of Form) TX140 Axsys, Inc./Tel PublicPOSIT DATE P. O. Box 850158 Mobile, AL 36685-2158 2 43 JAN 2 5 2000		FOR PSC USE ONLY Check# 0.387 5.50.00 0603006 5.12.50 003001 5.12.50 P (603006 003001 5.12.50 P (603006 004011 5.00 I Postmark Date $1/21/00$ Initials of Preparer 2770	
	Actual Return Estimated Return				
		Please Complete Below If Official h	Aailing Address Has Changed	L	
	(Name of Congrany)	ibA)	dress)	(City/Sum) (Zip)	
<u>LINE NO.</u> 1. 2. 3. 4. 5.	ACCOUNT CL. Basic Local Services Long Distance Services Access Services Private Line Services Leased Facilities & Circuits	BILLING	GROSS OPERATING REVENUE \$ 19, 21833	INTRASTATE REVENUE	
		tegulatory Assessment Fee Calculation Due (Multiply Line 7 by 0.0015)	15er	s 19,318.33 50 00 MIS	
10. 11.	Interest for Law Payment TOTAL AMOUNT DUE AS PROVIDE	ED IN SECTION 364.336, FLORIDA ST	ATUTES, THE MINIMUM ANNUAL	S <u>68050</u> . FEE IS \$50	
1		CURRENT COMP	ANY STATUS		
() Facili	ities-Based Provider	() Reseller			
Contraction of Contraction		() Other:			
		BILLING INFO	DRMATION		
AX AX	SYS, INC. D.I.P.		UNION PLANTERS BANK, NA MOBILE, AL 36685	038	
P.O.	BOX 850158 BILE, AL 36685-0158		85-295/653		
P.O.	BOX 850158 BILE, AL 36685-0158		85-295/653		
P.O. MOE	BILE, AL 36685-0158	C SERVICE COMMISSION		\$ **68.50	
AY TO THE J	BILE, AL 36685-0158	<u>C SERVICE COMMISSION</u>	4	\$ **68.50	
VY TO THE 1 DER OF 1 Sixty-Eigh FL 254	BILE, AL 36685-0158 FLORIDA PUBLIC	**************************************	4	\$ **68.50	

21220-022-022-027-#



SERVICE COMMISSION 00 JAN 25 AM 8:35

MAILROOM

JANUARY 19, 2000

MS. BLANCA BAYO, DIRECTOR DIVISION OF RECORDS AND REPORTING FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 1540 SHUMARD OAK BLVD. TALLAHASSEE, FL 32399-0850

DEAR MS BAYO:

MS. ISLER OF YOUR STAFF WAS VERY HELPFUL IN EXPLAINING OUR PROBEMS AND FORWARDING TO ME THE CORRECT FORMS. I AM ENCLOSING OUR CHECK AS PER HER CALCULATION AS WELL AS THE APPROPRIATE FORM

I ALSO WISH TO REQUEST CONSIDERATION AS MY LATENESS WAS DUE TO HEALTH PROBLEMS I SPENT THE BETTER PART OF EARLY LAST YEAR IN THE HOSPITAL, TWO HEART ATTACKS AND THE RECOVERY FROM A PREVIOUS STROKE. AS THIS IS A SMALL COMPANY THERE WAS NOBODY TO HANDLE TAXES DURING MR EXTENDED ABSENCE. I WOULD GREATLY APPRECIATE IT IF THE PENALTY COULD BE LOWERED UNDER THE CIRCUMSTANCES. WE ARE JUST COMING OUT OF BANKRUPTCY WHICH WAS CAUSED IN PART BY MY ILLNESS AND ABSENCE.

VERY TRULY YOURS,

RICHARD L. REINER

PRESIDENT-TREAS.

RLR/JEL

3

POST OFFICE BOX 850158 • MOBILE, AL 36685 • (334) 634-8085 FAX (334) 634-8086

State of Florida



Public Service Commission

2540 Shumard Oak Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32399-0850

FOR YOUR INFORMATION

DATE:	January 19, 2000
TO:	Dick Reiner, (334) 634-8086-fax
FROM: }	Paula Isler, (850) 413-6502-voice; 413-6503-fax; internet address is: pisler@psc.state.fl.us
1	pisler@psc.state.fl.us
RE:	Docket No. 991968-TX - Axsys, Inc. d/b/a Axsys, Inc./Tel Ptns.

This is a follow up to our telephone conversation concerning the past due regulatory assessment fees (RAFs), including statutory penalty and interest charges. If the company wants to keep its ALEC certificate active, it must pay the past due amount in full. According to Commission records, the 1998 RAFs have not yet been paid. The amount due is based on intrastate revenues; however, the <u>minimum</u> due is the \$50.00 fee, \$12.50 penalty, and \$6.00 interest, for a total of \$68.50 if the payment is postmarked in January 2000. The 1998 form is attached. If you owe more than the minimum, the penalty is 25% of the amount due and the interest is 12% of the amount due. If the 1998 payment is postmarked in February 2000, the interest increases to 13%, or \$6.50 on the minimum amount due.

In addition to paying the past due amount, along with the accrued penalty and interest charges, the company needs to make a settlement offer to resolve this docket. In other cases dealing with this rule violation, the Commission has accepted a \$100 settlement in lieu of the \$500 fine normally imposed. The settlement letter needs to include the following:

- Docket number;
- Statement that it has taken steps to prevent future late payments of the regulatory assessment fees;
- Make a specific monetary settlement;
- Enclose a check for the past due amount.

Any settlement offer should be addressed to Ms. Blanca Bayó, Director, Division of Records and Reporting, Florida Public Service Commission, at the above address. As information, the proposed settlement amount should <u>not</u> be paid at this time. It will become due after the Commissioners vote on this issue.