## State of Florida -M-E-M-O-R-A-N-D-U-M-



# Public Service Commission

- DATE: July 18, 2000
- TO: Docket File
- FROM: Division of Regulatory Oversight (McCoy/Hoppe) Division of Legal Services (Banks/Keating) FRB (mod
- **RE:** Docket No. 000782-TC Request for Voluntary Cancellation of PATS Certificate No. 5895, effective 12/23/99.

By letter dated December 10, 1999, TelSouth Incorporated of N.C., holder of Pay Telephone Certificate (PATS) of Public Convenience and Necessity No. 5895, has requested the cancellation of PATS Certificate No. 5895. TelSouth Incorporated of N.C. has complied with the provision of Rule 25-24.514(2), Florida Administrative Code, by providing adequate notice in writing of its request for cancellation of its PATS certificate and by submitting its Regulatory Assessment Fees for 1999.

As outlined in Chapter 2.07, Section C.17 of the Administrative Procedures Manual, our review results in our recommendation that the voluntary cancellation should be approved; an administrative order be issued; and the docket be closed.

Attachments

APP CAF CMP COM CTR ECR ECR LEG OPC PAI RGO PAI RGO SEC SER OTH Division of Records & Reporting McCoy-RGO Banks-LEG



ORIGINAL

TO AVOID	PENALTY AND INTEREST CHARGES, TH Pay Telephone	E REGULATORY ASSESSMENT FEE SE .ce Provider	RETURN MUST BE FILED ON OR BEFORE Regulatory Asse ne	01/31/2000 nt Fee Return	
STATU	S:	Florida Public (See Filing	c Service Commission	FOR PSC USE ON Check#	L¥
	Estimate Wentifit Amended Return FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE C DIV. OF TELECOM DIV.	35250 ISouth Incorporated o or Box 655 CATIONS icolnton, NC 28093	99 DEC 23 MA 8: 32 f N.C. MAIL ROGM	S S Postmark Date Initials of Preparer	0603002 003001 P 0603002 004011 I
		Please Complete Below If Offi	cial Mailing Address Has Changed		
	(Name of Company)		(Address)	(City/State)	(Zip)
LINE NO.	ACCOU	NT CLASSIFICATIO	)N	AMOUN	<u>NT</u>
1.	Gross Operating Reven	ue (Florida)		s0	
2.	Gross Intrastate Revenu	ie			<u></u>
3.	LESS: Amounts Paid (see "2.">Fees" on back		nications Companies*	(	)
4.	(Ling 2 less Line 3)		ssment Fee Calculation	s <u>- 0</u>	·=
5.	Regulatory Assessment			·	
6.	Penalty for Late Payme	ent (see "3. Failure t	o File by Due Date" on b	back)	
7.	Interest for Late Payme	ent (see "3. Failure t	o File by Due Date" on I	back)	
8.		Plan to at the f	iNSTALL PAY Ph Resent time, STATUTES, THE MINIMUM		
TI			REGARDLESS OF THE AMOU		TED
9.	Number of pay telepho by this Return	ones in operation at c	lose of period covered	_0	)
* These	amounts must be intrastate only and mu	st be verifiable.			
information the intent	is a true and correct statement. I a	m aware that pursuant to Section erformance of his official duty s	the foregoing and declare that to the 837.06, Florida Statutes, whoever kno- hall be guilty of a misdemeanor of the 4656624 (Title) Telephone Number $(104)$ 736 E.E.L. No. $56-201024$	wingly makes a false statement in v second degree.	writing wit 199 Date)
(* )			F.E.I. No. <u>56-20102</u>	o TG32	

PSC/CMU-26	(Rev ]	171	17991

#### STATE OF FLORIDA

Commissioners: JOE GARCIA, CHAIRMAN J. TERRY DEASON SUSAN F. CLARK E. LEON JACOBS, JR. LILA A. JABER



June 7, 2000

Public Service Comm

Mr. Jeff Huffman, President TelSouth Incorporated of N.C. PO Box 655 Lincolnton, NC 28093

DEPOSIT DATE D 3 1 3 - JUN 2 3 2003

DIVISION OF COMPETITIVE SERVICES

JERVICE WALTER D'HAESELEER

DIRECTOR UN

AM 8: 41

00 IIIN 2(850),413-6600

MAILROOM

5510

CK2756

\$50.00 -R 12.50 -P 2.50 -T 6/19/00

-----

Dear Mr. Huffman:

The Commission's Division of Administration just recently forwarded a copy of your 1999 regulatory assessment fee form, which was received by the Commission on December 23, 1999. You wrote on the form "We do not plan to install payphones in Florida at the present time." This appears to be a request for cancellation of your pay telephone certificate. Your Certificate No. 5895 became active August 4, 1998 and we received your written request for cancellation on December 23, 1999, therefore, I can make the effective date of the cancellation December 23, 1999. However, you must first pay the 1999 regulatory assessment fee.

Rule 25-4.0161, Florida Administrative Code, provides that if a certificate is active for any day during a calendar year, the regulatory assessment fee is applicable even if no business was ever conducted. The amount past due is \$65.00. As soon as we receive your check for that amount, we will proceed with opening a docket to cancel your certificate.

Please respond in writing by June 22, 2000. If you have any questions, just let me know. I can be reached at (850) 413-6502-voice, (850) 413-6503-fax, and by internet e-mail at pisler@psc.state.fl.us.

TELSOUTH INC. OF NC. P.O. BOX 655 LINCOLNTON, NC 28093	LINCOLN BANK LINCOLNTON, NC 28092 66-1165/531	2756 6/19/2000
PAY TO THE ORDER OF FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION Sixty-Five and 00/100*********************************	****	\$ **65.00 DOLLARS
FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 2500 SHUMARD OAK BLVD TALLAHASSEE, FL 32399-0850	Jef	Huffman
MEMO: REGULATORY FEE	<u> </u>	VOID AFTER 90 DAYS
"OO2756" 313311652	: #0038628#	

,	$\frown$	STATE OF FLORII	DA OA	4	1004 1210 100
Commissioners: JOE GARCIA, CHAIRMA J. TERRY DEASON SUSAN F. CLARK E. LEON JACOBS, JR. LILA A. JABER	2000 JUN 23	AM IO: 4 IOF SERVICES SERVICES SERVICES SERVICES June 7, 2000	MAIL ROM	14 8: 4 J 4 -	K2756 50.00 · R 2.50 · P 2.50 · T 6/19/00 MC
Mr. Jeff Huffman, President TelSouth Incorporated of N.C. PO Box 655 Lincolnton, NC 28093 Dear Mr. Huffman;		]	DEPOSIT	DATE JUN 2 3 2003	

The Commission's Division of Administration just recently forwarded a copy of your 1999 regulatory assessment fee form, which was received by the Commission on December 23, 1999. You wrote on the form "We do not plan to install payphones in Florida at the present time." This appears to be a request for cancellation of your pay telephone certificate. Your Certificate No. 5895 became active August 4, 1998 and we received your written request for cancellation on December 23, 1999, therefore, I can make the effective date of the cancellation December 23, 1999. However,

Rule 25-4.0161, Florida Administrative Code, provides that if a certificate is active for any day during a calendar year, the regulatory assessment fee is applicable even if no business was ever conducted. The amount past due is \$65.00. As soon as we receive your check for that amount, we will proceed with opening a docket to cancel your certificate.

Please respond in writing by June 22, 2000. If you have any questions, just let me know. I can be reached at (850) 413-6502-voice, (850) 413-6503-fax, and by internet e-mail at pisler@psc.state.fl.us.

you must first pay the 1999 regulatory assessment fee.

Sincerely,

Paula J. Asle

Paula J. Isler, Research Assistant Bureau of Service Quality & Compliance

ECEIVE JUN 2 6 2000

orida Public Service Commissic Division of Regulatory Oversight

CAPITAL CIRCLE OFFICE CENTER • 2540 SHUMARD OAK BOULEVARD • TALLAHASSEE, FL 32399-0850 An Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer

PSC Website: http://www.floridapsc.com

Internet E-mail: contact@psc.state.fl.us

#### MAILING AND LIAISON INFORMATION

#### AS OF 06/07/2000

#### TelSouth Incorporated of N.C. (TG322)

### Mailing name

TelSouth Incorporated of N.C.

#### Company code

TG322

### Mailing address

TelSouth Incorporated of N.C. P. O. Box 655 Lincolnton, NC 28093

#### Company liaison(s)

Jeff Huffman, President, (704) 735-7800

50917/98

packie -Please have Domeone open a dkt to cance Certificate eggective 12/23/99. Thanks, to cancel the