BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In re: Proposed repeal of Rule 25-30.470, F.A.C., Calculation of Rate Reduction After Rate Case Expense is Amortized.

DOCKET NO. 001062-WS ORDER NO. PSC-00-1647-NOR-WS ISSUED: September 15, 2000

The following Commissioners participated in the disposition of this matter:

J. TERRY DEASON, Chairman
E. LEON JACOBS, JR.
LILA A. JABER
BRAULIO L. BAEZ

NOTICE OF RULEMAKING

NOTICE is hereby given that the Florida Public Service Commission, pursuant to Section 120.54, Florida Statutes, has initiated rulemaking to repeal Rule 25-30.470, Florida Administrative Code, relating to calculation of rate reduction after rate case expense is amortized.

The attached Notice of Rulemaking will appear in the September 22, 2000, edition of the Florida Administrative Weekly.

If timely requested, a hearing will be held at a time and place to be announced in a future notice.

Written requests for hearing and written comments or suggestions on the rule must be received by the Director, Division of Records and Reporting, Florida Public Service Commission, 2540 Shumard Oak Blvd., Tallahassee, FL 32399-0862, no later than October 13, 2000.

By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission, this $\underline{15th}$ day of $\underline{September}$, $\underline{2000}$.

BLANCA S. BAYÓ, Dixector

Division of Records & Reporting

(SEAL) MAH

DOCUMENT NUMBER-DATE

ORDER NO. PSC-00-1647-NOR-WS DOCKET NO. 001062-WS PAGE 2

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING

FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

DOCKET NO. 001062-WS

RULE TITLE:

RULE NO.:

Calculation of Rate Reduction After Rate Case

25-30.470

Expense is Amortized

PURPOSE AND EFFECT: To repeal Rule 25-30.470.

SUMMARY: The rule establishes the methodology for reducing rates at the end of the four-year amortization period for rate case expense.

SUMMARY OF STATEMENT OF ESTIMATED REGULATORY COST: No SERC was prepared.

Any person who wishes to provide information regarding the statement of estimated regulatory costs, or to provide a proposal for a lower cost regulatory alternative must do so in writing within 21 days of this notice.

SPECIFIC AUTHORITY: 350.127(2), 367.121, FS

LAW IMPLEMENTED: 367.0816, 367.121, FS

WRITTEN COMMENTS OR SUGGESTIONS ON THE PROPOSED RULE MAY BE SUBMITTED TO THE FPSC, DIVISION OF RECORDS AND REPORTING, WITHIN 21 DAYS OF THE DATE OF THIS NOTICE FOR INCLUSION IN THE RECORD OF THE PROCEEDING.

ORDER NO. PSC-00-1647-NOR-WS DOCKET NO. 001062-WS PAGE 3

IF REQUESTED WITHIN 21 DAYS OF THE DATE OF THIS NOTICE, A HEARING WILL BE SCHEDULED AND ANNOUNCED IN THE FAW.

THE PERSON TO BE CONTACTED REGARDING THE PROPOSED RULE IS:
Director of Appeals, Florida Public Service Commission, 2540
Shumard Oak Blvd., Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0862, (850) 413-6245.
THE FULL TEXT OF THE PROPOSED RULE IS:

25-30.470 Calculation of Rate Reduction After Rate Case Expense is Amortized.

To calculate the rate reduction to be made 4 years after a rate case as required by section 367.0816, F.S., the following methodology shall be used. The annual amount of rate case expense, which is equal to one-fourth of the total allowed rate case expense, shall be divided by the regulatory assessment fee gross up factor. The resulting number shall then be divided by the revenue requirement to determine the percentage of the rate reduction. The percentage is then multiplied against the new rates to determine the amount of the future rate reduction. Revised tariff sheets implementing the reduction shall be filed no later than 1 month before the end of the fourth year.

Specific Authority 350.127(2), 367.121, FS

Law Implemented 367.0816, 367.121, FS

History New 11/30/93, Repealed .

ORDER NO. PSC-00-1647-NOR-WS DOCKET NO. 001062-WS PAGE 4

NAME OF PERSON ORIGINATING PROPOSED RULE: John Williams, Division of Policy Analysis and Intergovernmental Liaison.

NAME OF SUPERVISOR OR PERSONS WHO APPROVED THE PROPOSED RULE: Florida Public Service Commission.

DATE PROPOSED RULE APPROVED: September 5, 2000.

DATE NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE DEVELOPMENT PUBLISHED IN FAW:

Volume 26, Number 9, March 3, 2000.

If any person decides to appeal any decision of the Commission with respect to any matter considered at the rulemaking hearing, if held, a record of the hearing is necessary. The appellant must ensure that a verbatim record, including testimony and evidence forming the basis of the appeal is made. The Commission usually makes a verbatim record of rulemaking hearings.

Any person requiring some accommodation at this hearing because of a physical impairment should call the Division of Records and Reporting at (850) 413-6770 at least 48 hours prior to the hearing. Any person who is hearing or speech impaired should contact the Florida Public Service Commission by using the Florida Relay Service, which can be reached at: 1-800-955-8771 (TDD).