## BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In re: Cancellation by Florida Public Service Commission of Pay Telephone Certificate No. 3238 issued to First Tele Communications Services, Inc. for violation of Rules 25-4.0161, F.A.C., Regulatory Assessment Fees; Telecommunications Companies, and 25-24.520, F.A.C., Reporting Requirements.

DOCKET NO. 000917-TC
ORDER NO. PSC-00-1721-PAA-TC
ISSUED: September 25, 2000

The following Commissioners participated in the disposition of this matter:

J. TERRY DEASON, Chairman
E. LEON JACOBS, JR.
LILA A. JABER
BRAULIO L. BAEZ

## NOTICE OF PROPOSED AGENCY ACTION ORDER IMPOSING FINE, REQUIRING PAYMENT OF REGULATORY ASSESSMENT FEES AND REQUIRING INFORMATION IN ACCORDANCE WITH RULE 25-24.520, FLORIDA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE, OR CANCELING PAY TELEPHONE CERTIFICATE

BY THE COMMISSION:

NOTICE is hereby given by the Florida Public Service Commission that the action discussed herein is preliminary in nature and will become final unless a person whose interests are substantially affected files a petition for a formal proceeding, pursuant to Rule 25-22.029, Florida Administrative Code.

First Tele Communications Services, Inc. (First Tele) currently holds Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity No. 3238, issued by the Commission on December 24, 1992, authorizing the provision of Pay Telephone service (PATS). The Division of Administration advised our staff by memorandum that First Tele had not paid the Regulatory Assessment Fees (RAFs) required by Section 364.336, Florida Statutes, and Rule 25-4.0161,



Florida Administrative Code, for the years 1998 and 1999. Also, accrued statutory penalties and interest charges for late RAFs payments for the years 1998 and 1999 had not been paid.

Pursuant to Section 364.336, Florida Statutes, certificate holders must pay a minimum annual RAF of \$50 if the certificate was active during any portion of the calendar year. Pursuant to Rule 25-4.0161 (2), Florida Administrative Code, the form and applicable fees are due to the Florida Public Service Commission by January 30 of the subsequent year. All entities that apply for certification receive a copy of our rules governing PATS service. All applicants must attest that these rules have been received and understood by the applicant and an affidavit must be attached to the application in order for the application to be processed.

Pursuant to Section 350.113(4), Florida Statutes, the RAFs forms, for the period of January 1, through December 31, are mailed to the entities at least 45 days prior to the date that payment of the fee is due. First Tele has been given adequate opportunity to pay. The Commission's correspondence regarding the RAFs was returned by the United States Postal Service. As of the date of this vote, First Tele has not paid the required fees.

The return of these materials indicates that First Tele may have violated Rule 25-24.520, Florida Administrative Code, which requires the reporting to the Commission of an address change and/or a change in the name, title, or telephone number of the individual responsible for Commission contacts, within ten (10) days of its effectiveness. It has been well over 10 days and First Tele has not provided the information required by Rule 25-24.520, Florida Administrative Code, nor has it requested cancellation of its certificate in compliance with Rule 25-24.514, Florida Administrative Code.

For the reasons described above, pursuant to Rule 25-24.514(1)(b) and (c), Florida Administrative Code, we find it appropriate to cancel First Tele's certificate for failure to comply with Section 364.336, Florida Statutes, and Rule 25-4.0161, Florida Administrative Code, unless First Tele pays a \$500 fine and remits all past due RAFs, along with statutory penalties and interest charges, to the Florida Public Service Commission. We also find it appropriate to cancel First Tele's certificate for failure to comply with Rule 25-24.520, Florida Administrative Code, unless First Tele pays a \$500 fine and provides the information required by Rule 25-24.520, Florida Administrative Code, to the

Florida Public Service Commission. First Tele must comply with these requirements within five business days after the issuance of the Consummating Order. The two fines, totaling \$1,000, will be remitted to the Comptroller for deposit in the State of Florida General Revenue Fund, pursuant to Section 364.516, Florida Statutes.

As the appropriate fees, statutory penalties, interest charges, required information, and fines are received, this Docket shall be closed. Should First Tele fail to comply with this Order within five business days after the issuance of the Consummating Order, First Tele shall have its certificate canceled and the Docket shall be closed. The cancellation of the certificate and the closing of the Docket in no way diminishes First Tele's obligation to pay applicable delinquent RAFs, statutory penalties, and interest charges.

Based on the foregoing, it is

ORDERED by the Florida Public Service Commission that First Tele Communications Services, Inc. must pay the past due Regulatory Assessment Fees, statutory penalties, interest charges, and a \$500 fine to the Florida Public Service Commission for failure to comply with Section 364.336, Florida Statutes, and Rule 25-4.0161, Florida Administrative Code, within five business days after the issuance of the Consummating Order. The fine will be transmitted to the Comptroller for deposit in the State of Florida General Revenue Fund. It is further

ORDERED that First Tele Communications Services, Inc. must provide the correct mailing address, liaison information, and other information in accordance with Rule 25-24.520, Florida Administrative Code, and pay a \$500 fine to the Florida Public Service Commission for failure to comply with Rule 25-24.520, Florida Administrative Code, within five business days after the issuance of the Consummating Order. The fine will be transmitted to the Comptroller for deposit in the State of Florida General Revenue Fund. It is further

ORDERED that should First Tele Communications Services, Inc. fail to comply with this Order, First Tele Communications Services, Inc.'s Certificate No. 3238 shall be canceled administratively, and this Docket shall be closed. It is further

ORDERED that the cancellation of the certificate and the closing of the docket in no way diminishes First Tele Communications Services, Inc.'s obligation to pay applicable delinquent Regulatory Assessment Fees, statutory penalties, and interest charges. It is further

ORDERED that the provisions of this Order, issued as proposed agency action, shall become final and effective upon the issuance of a Consummating Order unless an appropriate petition, in the form provided by Rule 28-106.201, Florida Administrative Code, is received by the Director, Division of Records and Reporting, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0850, by the close of business on the date set forth in the "Notice of Further Proceedings" attached hereto. It is further

ORDERED that in the event this Order becomes final, this Docket shall be closed upon payment of the fines, and fees, or upon cancellation of the certificate.

By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission this  $\underline{25th}$  day of  $\underline{September}$ ,  $\underline{2000}$ .

BLANCA S. BAYÓ, Director Division of Records and Reporting

Bv:

ay Flynn, Chief

Bureau of Records

(SEAL)

FRB

## NOTICE OF FURTHER PROCEEDINGS OR JUDICIAL REVIEW

The Florida Public Service Commission is required by Section 120.569(1), Florida Statutes, to notify parties of any administrative hearing that is available under Section 120.57, Florida Statutes, as well as the procedures and time limits that apply. This notice should not be construed to mean all requests for an administrative hearing will be granted or result in the relief sought.

Mediation may be available on a case-by-case basis. If mediation is conducted, it does not affect a substantially interested person's right to a hearing.

The action proposed herein is preliminary in nature. Any person whose substantial interests are affected by the action proposed by this order may file a petition for a formal proceeding, in the form provided by Rule 28-106.201, Florida Administrative Code. This petition must be received by the Director, Division of Records and Reporting, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0850, by the close of business on October 16, 2000.

In the absence of such a petition, this order shall become final and effective upon the issuance of a Consummating Order.

Any objection or protest filed in this docket before the issuance date of this order is considered abandoned unless it satisfies the foregoing conditions and is renewed within the specified protest period.