SOUTHEASTERN SERVICES, INC.

P.O. BOX 365 MACCLENNY, FLORIDA 32063 904-259-1300 FAX-904-259-7606

November 1, 2000

THIS LETTER MODIFIES THE LETTER DATED OCTOBER 25, 2000(SEE ATTACHED)

Ms. Blanca Bayo, Director Division of Records and Reporting Florida Public Service Commission 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard Tallahassee, Fl. 32399-0850

RE: DOCKET NO. 001471-TX - SETTLEMENT LETTER

Dear Ms. Bayo:

1

This is in response to a notification of possible cancellation of Southeastern Services, Inc. certification due to non-payment of our 1999 Regulatory Assessment Fee covering January 1, 1999 through December 31, 1999.

We mailed the Alternative Local Exchange Company Regulatory Assessment Fee Return on March 9, 2000, but did not include the \$50.00 fee. We determined, from the attached instructions we received from the FPSC, that no money was due, since there was no revenue for November and December of 1999. We were a new CLEC at the time and made all efforts to complete the form according to the instructions we received from Mr. Frank Harrison.

Future late payments of the regulatory assessment fees will be avoided since we now have the correct information necessary to complete the form and submit the correct amount due.

We request leniency by the Commission regarding the fine, due to the fact this was our first filing as a new CLEC and the fact we did not understand there was a minimum fee due with the return. Since it is clearly our error, we are proposing a settlement of \$100.00.

We attached a check for \$67.00 with the original letter dated October 23, 2000. Please be assured that in the future, this fee will be paid when due.

Sincerely,

Mark h

F. Done 11/18/00

Mark Woods President

Attachments

-14277-00 DOCUMENT NUMBER-DATE NOV -38 FPSC-RECORDS/REPORTING

ORIGINAL

CAF CMP COM CTR ECR CTR LEG COPC PAI SEC SER COPC

APP

SOUTHEASTERN SERVICES, INC.

P.O. BOX 365 MACCLENNY, FLORIDA 32063 904-259-1300 FAX-904-259-7606

OCTOBER 25, 2000

Ms. Blanca Bayo, Director Division of Records and Reporting Florida Public Service Commission 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard Tallahassee, Fl. 32399-0850

RE: DOCKET NO. 001471-TX

Dear Ms. Bayo:

This is in response to a notification of possible cancellation of Southeastern Services, Inc. certification due to non-payment of our 1999 Regulatory Assessment Fee covering January 1, 1999 through December 31, 1999.

We mailed the Alternative Local Exchange Company Regulatory Assessment Fee Return on March 9, 2000, but did not include the \$50.00 fee. We determined, from the attached instructions we received from the FPSC, that no money was due, since there was no revenue for November and December of 1999. We were a new CLEC at the time and made all efforts to complete the form according to the instructions we received from Mr. Frank Harrison.

Future late payments of the regulatory assessment fees will be avoided since we now have the correct information necessary to complete the form and submit the correct amount due.

We request leniency by the Commission regarding the fine, due to the fact this was our first filing as a new CLEC and the fact we did not understand there was a minimum fee due with the return. Since it is clearly our error, we will pay whatever fine the commission deems as fair and equitable.

We have attached a check for \$67.00. Please be assured that in the future, this fee will be paid when due.

Sincerely,

Marke Wood

Mark Woods President

Attachments

PAGE 02

O AVOID PENÄLTY AND INTEREST CHARGES, THE REGULAT SSESSMENT FEE RETURN MUST BE FILED ON OR BEPO/ 31/2000 Alternative Local Exchange Company Regulatory Assessment Fee Return

ATUS: Florida Public Service Commission (See Filing Instructions on Back of Form)			FOR PSC USE ONLY Check	
Actual Return Estimated Return Amended Return	TX301 Southeastern Services, Inc. P. O. Box 365 Macclenny, FL 32063-0365		\$0603006 \$P 0603006 0603006 004011 \$1	
07/01/1999 TO 12/31/199	19		Postmark Date	
	Please Complete Below If	Official Mailing Address Has Changed		
(Name of Company)		(Address)	(City/State) (Zip)	
		FLORIDA		
 Basic Local Services Long Distance Services (I. Access Services Private Line Services Private Line Services Leased Facilities & Circuities Miscellaneous Services TOTAL REVENUES LESS: Amounts Paid to 0 Net Intrastate Operating R Regulatory Assessment Fe Fenalty for Late Payment TOTAL AMOUNT DUE These amounts must be intrastate on Other long distance revenue must be 	its Services Other Telecommunications Companies tevenue for Regulatory Assessment Fe te Due (Multiply Line 9 by 0.0015) (see "3. Failure to File by Due Date" (see "3. Failure to File by Due Date" () Regulator (see CURRENT (see 1) Reset (see 1) Other BILLIN	e Calculation (Line 7 less Line 8) on back) on back) Hy Assessment Fee Return. RIDA STATUTES, THE MINIMUM A COMPANY STATUS ller	s6	
(Name)		(Address: City/State/Zip)	(
	COMP	ANY INFORMATION		
Do you lease telecommunications' facili If YES, who do you lease these facilitie	ities? () YES () NO			
Address:				
I, the undersigned owner/offloer of the a true and correct statement. I am aware public servant in the performance of h	e that pursuant to Section 837.06. Flor	rida Statutes, whoever knowingly makes a fal-	y knowledge and belief the above information se statement in writing with the intent to misle	
Mark Ul		President	3-9-00	
(Signature of Con Satat J. (Preparer of Form - Ple	Bruant		(Date) 1300 Fax Number (914) 259-760	
PSC/CMU-7 (Rev. 11/11/99)		F.E.I. No.		

1. WHEN TO FILE: For companies which owed a total of \$10,000 or more of assessment fee for the preceding calendar year, this Regulatory Assessment Fee Return and payment must be filed or postmarked:

On or before July 30 for the six-month period January 1 through June 30, AND On or before January 30 for the six-month period July 1 through December 31.

For companies which owed a total of less than \$10,000 of assessment fee for the preceding calendar year, this Regulatory Assessment Fee Return and payment must be filed or postmarked:

On or before January 30 for the prior twelve-month period January 1 through December 31.

However, when July 30 or January 30 falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday, the Regulatory Assessment Fee Return may be filed or postmarked on the next business day, without penalty or interest.

2. FEES: Each company shall pay 0.0015 of its gross operating revenues derived from intrastate business, as referenced in Rule 25-4.0161(1), F.A.C. Gross Operating Revenues are defined as the total revenues before expenses. Gross Intrastate Operating Revenues are defined as revenues from calls originating and terminating within Florida. Do not deduct any expenses, taxes, or uncollectibles from these amounts.

On Line 8, deduct any amounts paid to another telecommunications company for the use of any telecommunications network to provide service to its customers. <u>Do not deduct</u> any taxes, federal subscriber line charges, interstate long distance access charges, or amounts paid for nonregulated services such as voice mail, inside wire maintenance, or equipment purchases/rentals. DEDUCTIONS MUST BE <u>INTRASTATE ONLY</u> AND MUST BE VERIFIABLE.

3. FAILURE TO FILE BY DUE DATE: Failure to file a return by the established due date will result in a penalty being added to the amount of fee due, 5% for each 30 days or fraction thereof, not to exceed a total penalty of 25% (Line 11). In addition, interest shall be added in the amount of 1% for each 30 days or fraction thereof, not to exceed a total of 12% per year (Line 12). A Regulatory Assessment Fee Return must be completed, signed, and filed even if there are no revenues to report or if the minimum amount is due.

When a company fails to timely file a Regulatory Assessment Fee Return, the Commission has the authority to order the company to pay a penalty and/or cancel the company's certificate. The company will have an opportunity to respond to any proposed Commission action.

4. EXTENSION: A request for an extension of time up to 30 days may be made by filing the enclosed Request for Extension to File Regulatory Assessment Fee Return form (PSC/ADM-124), two weeks prior to the filing date. When an extension is granted, a charge shall be added to the amount due:

0.75% of the fee to be remitted for an extension of 15 days or less, or 1.5% of the fee for an extension of 16 to 30 days.

In lieu of paying the charges outlined above, a company may file a return and remit payment based upon estimated gross operating revenues. If such return is filed by the normal due date, the company shall be granted a 30-day extension period in which to file and remit the actual fee due without paying the above charges, provided the estimated fee payment remitted is at least 90% of the actual fee due for the period. An automatic 30-day extension to file an actual return may be obtained by checking the "Estimated Return" space in the top left-hand corner on the reverse side.

- 5. FEE ADJUSTMENTS: You will be notified as to the amount and reason for any fee adjustment. Penalty and interest charges may be applicable to additional amounts owed the Commission by reason of the adjustment. The company may file a written request for a refund of any overpayments. The request should be directed to Fiscal Services at the below-referenced address.
- 6. MAILING INSTRUCTIONS: Please complete this form, make a copy for your files, and return the original in the enclosed preaddressed envelope. Use of this envelope should assure a more accurate and expeditious recording of your payment. <u>Make your check payable to the Florida Public Service Commission</u>. If you are unable to use the envelope, please address your remittance as follows:

Florida Public Service Commission

2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard

Tallahassee, FL 32399-0850

ATTENTION: Fiscal Services

7. ADDITIONAL ASSISTANCE: If you need additional assistance in preparing your Regulatory Assessment Fee Return, please contact the Division of Auditing and Financial Analysis at (850) 413-6480.

For assistance regarding telecommunications facilities, please contact the Division of Communications at (850) 413-6502.

Both divisions may be contacted at the above-referenced address, directing correspondence to the attention of the division.