STATE OF FLORIDA

Commissioners: J. TERRY DEASON, CHAIRMAN E. LEON JACOBS, JR. LILA A. JABER BRAULIO L. BAEZ



DIVISION OF COMPETITIVE SERVICES WALTER D'HAESELEER DIRECTOR (850) 413-6600

Public Service Commission

November 13, 2000

Mr. Tim Biggio, General Counsel SandStream Communications & Entertainment, Inc. 1955 Lakeway Drive, Bldg. B, Suite 230 Lewisville, TX 75067-6435

Re: Docket No. 001480-TX

Dear Mr. Biggio:

This is a follow up to our telephone conversation concerning the above docket. The regulatory assessment fee (RAF) is due each year by January 30 for the previous year, unless the 30th falls on a weekend, then the due date is the next working day. For example, the 1999 fee was due January 31, 2000.

Commission records show that as of this date, the 1999 RAF has not been paid. The 1999 RAF return is attached. Please complete and return it along with your check for the past due amount in full. The RAF is .0015% of your total Florida gross revenues, or \$50.00, whichever is greater. However, if you owe only the minimum amount and if it is postmarked by November 26, 2000, the 1999 total is \$67.50 (\$50.00 fee, \$12.50 penalty, and \$5.00 interest). If your check is postmarked between November 27 and December 26, 2000, the interest increases to \$5.50, or a total minimum amount of \$68.00. The 2000 form is also attached. The minimum amount on it is \$50.00 (no penalty and interest apply).

Since the Commissioners have not yet voted on this docket, you have three options.

APP	(1)	Cancel the certificate voluntarily - Pay all past due charges in full, pay	the
MP		current year's RAF or provide a date certain that it will be paid (such as 30 c	days
COM		from the date of the Commission Order cancelling your certificate), and wri	ite_a
CTR		letter requesting cancellation. A copy of our rule is attached.	1
ECR			<u> </u>
EG	(2)	Do nothing - In this case, your certificate will be cancelled on the Commission	orf's

own motion. All outstanding RAFs, including penalty and interest charges, will be turned over to the Comptroller's Office for collection.

PAI

RGO SEC

Mr. Tim Biggio, General Counsel Page 2 November 13, 2000

- (3) Propose a settlement There is normally a \$500 fine imposed for this rule violation. It should be noted that just paying the past due amount will not prevent your certificate from being cancelled. You need to write the Commission a settlement letter that must include the following:
- Docket number;
- A check for the past due amount in full;
- A statement that it has taken steps to prevent future late payments of the regulatory assessment fees and what those steps are; and
- Make a specific monetary settlement.

Any settlement offer should be addressed to Ms. Blanca Bayó, Director, Division of Records and Reporting, Florida Public Service Commission, 2540 Shumard Oak Blvd., Tallahassee, FL 32399-0850. The proposed settlement amount should <u>not</u> be paid at this time, instead only the past due regulatory assessment fee, plus penalty and interest charges should be paid. The settlement amount, if approved by the Commission, must be paid within 10 business days after the Commission Order is issued.

Please let me know what your decision is by November 28, 2000. If you have any questions, just let me know. I can be reached at (850) 413-6502-voice, (850) 413-6503-fax, and by internet e-mail at pisler@psc.state.fl.us.

Sincerely,

Paula J. Isler, Research Assistant

Minia J. Asin

Bureau of Service Evaluation & Compliance

Enclosures

cc:

Docket No. 001480-TX

Division of Legal Services (K. Peña)

TO AVOID PENALTY AND INTEREST CHARGES, THE SULATORY ASSESSMENT FEE RETURN MUST BE FILED OF SEFORE 01/31/2000 Alternative Local Exchange Company Regulatory Assessment Fee Return

STATUS:		Florida Public Service Commission (See Filing Instructions on Back of Form)		FOR PSC USE ONLY Check#	
Actual Return Estimated Return Amended Return PERIOD COVERED: 12/02/1999 TO 12/31/1999		TX354 SandStream Communications & Entertainment, Inc. Building B, Suite #230 1955 Lakeway Drive Lewisville, TX 75067-6435		\$060300 00300 \$P 0603000 00401	
				\$1 Postmark Date Initials of Preparer	
		Please Complete Below If	f Official Mailing Address Has Changed		
(N	ame of Company)		(Address)	(City/State) (Zip)	
2. Long 3. Acces 4. Private 5. Leasee 6. Misce 7. TOTA 8. LESS 9. Net In 10. Regula 11. Penalt 12. Interes 13. TOTA	Local Services Distance Services (Intra s Services e Line Services d Facilities & Circuits S dlaneous Services L REVENUES Amounts Paid to Othe strastate Operating Reve atory Assessment Fee D y for Late Payment (see st for Late Payment (see	Services er Telecommunications Companie inue for Regulatory Assessment F Due (Multiply Line 9 by 0.0015) e "3. Failure to File by Due Date' e "3. Failure to File by Due Date' and must be verifiable. sted on the Interexchange Regulate	ee Calculation (Line 7 less Line 8) " on back) " on back)	\$\$ \$	
() Facilities-Based Provider () I			T COMPANY STATUS ller r:		
Complete below if b	illing agent if other that		NG INFORMATION (Address: City/State/Zip)	(<u>)</u> (Telephone)	
	(Name)	CONTRA		(Telephone)	
If YES, who do you		? () YES () NO	NY INFORMATION		
s a true and correct st	atement. I am aware tha	above-named company, have read t pursuant to Section 837.06, Flor er duty shall be guilty of a misder	I the foregoing and declare that to the best of my rida Starutes, whoever knowingly makes a false s meanor of the second degree.	knowledge and belief the above information tratement in writing with the intent to mislead	
(Signature of Company Official)			(Title)	(Date)	
(Preparer of Form - Please Print Name)			Telephone Number () F.E.I. No		

1. WHEN TO FILE: For companies which owed a total of \$10,000 or more of assessment fee for the preceding calendar year, Regulatory Assessment Fee Return and payment must be filed or postmarked:

On or before July 30 for the six-month period January 1 through June 30, AND On or before January 30 for the six-month period July 1 through December 31.

For companies which owed a total of less than \$10,000 of assessment fee for the preceding calendar year, this Regulatory Assessm Fee Return and payment must be filed or postmarked:

On or before January 30 for the prior twelve-month period January 1 through December 31.

However, when July 30 or January 30 falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday, the Regulatory Assessment Fee Return may be fi or postmarked on the next business day, without penalty or interest.

2. FEES: Each company shall pay 0.0015 of its gross operating revenues derived from intrastate business, as referenced in Rule 3. 4.0161(1), F.A.C. Gross Operating Revenues are defined as the total revenues before expenses. Gross Intrastate Operating Revenuare defined as revenues from calls originating and terminating within Florida. Do not deduct any expenses, taxes, or uncollectib from these amounts.

On Line 8, deduct any amounts paid to another telecommunications company for the use of any telecommunications network to proviservice to its customers. <u>Do not deduct</u> any taxes, federal subscriber line charges, interstate long distance access charges, or amount paid for nonregulated services such as voice mail, inside wire maintenance, or equipment purchases/rentals. DEDUCTIONS MUST BE INTRASTATE ONLY AND MUST BE VERIFIABLE.

3. FAILURE TO FILE BY DUE DATE: Failure to file a return by the established due date will result in a penalty being added to t amount of fee due, 5% for each 30 days or fraction thereof, not to exceed a total penalty of 25% (Line 11). In addition, interest ship be added in the amount of 1% for each 30 days or fraction thereof, not to exceed a total of 12% per year (Line 12). A Regulator Assessment Fee Return must be completed, signed, and filed even if there are no revenues to report or if the minimum amount is due

When a company fails to timely file a Regulatory Assessment Fee Return, the Commission has the authority to order the company to pay a penalty and/or cancel the company's certificate. The company will have an opportunity to respond to any proposed Commission action.

4. EXTENSION: A request for an extension of time up to 30 days may be made by filing the enclosed Request for Extension to Fi Regulatory Assessment Fee Return form (PSC/ADM-124), two weeks prior to the filing date. When an extension is granted, a charg shall be added to the amount due:

0.75% of the fee to be remitted for an extension of 15 days or less, or 1.5% of the fee for an extension of 16 to 30 days.

In lieu of paying the charges outlined above, a company may file a return and remit payment based upon estimated gross operatin revenues. If such return is filed by the normal due date, the company shall be granted a 30-day extension period in which to file an remit the actual fee due without paying the above charges, provided the estimated fee payment remitted is at least 90% of the actual fee due for the period. An automatic 30-day extension to file an actual return may be obtained by checking the "Estimated Return space in the top left-hand corner on the reverse side.

- 5. FEE ADJUSTMENTS: You will be notified as to the amount and reason for any fee adjustment. Penalty and interest charges ma be applicable to additional amounts owed the Commission by reason of the adjustment. The company may file a written request fo a refund of any overpayments. The request should be directed to Fiscal Services at the below-referenced address.
- 6. MAILING INSTRUCTIONS: Please complete this form, make a copy for your files, and return the original in the enclosed preaddressed envelope. Use of this envelope should assure a more accurate and expeditious recording of your payment. Make you check payable to the Florida Public Service Commission. If you are unable to use the envelope, please address your remittance a follows:

Florida Public Service Commission 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard Tallahassee, FL 32399-0850

ATTENTION: Fiscal Services

7. ADDITIONAL ASSISTANCE: If you need additional assistance in preparing your Regulatory Assessment Fee Return or regarding telecommunications facilities, please contact the Division of Competitive Services at (850) 413-6600. This division may be contacted at the above-referenced address, directing correspondence to the attention of the division.

TO AVOID PENALTY AND INTEREST CHARGES, TO GULATORY ASSESSMENT FEE RETURN MUST BE FILED & BEFORE 01/30/2001 Alternative Local Exchange Company Regulatory Assessment Fee Return

	:	Florida Public Service Commission (See Filing Instructions on Back of Form)		FOR PSC USE ONLY Check#	
Actual Return Estimated Return		TX354	nications & Entertainment, Inc.	\$06030C 0030C \$	
A	Amended Return	Building B, Suite #23 1955 Lakeway Drive	i i	060300 00401	
	COVERED: 2000 TO 12/31/2000	Lewisville, TX 7506	57-6435	Postmark Date	
		Please Complete Below I	f Official Mailing Address Has Changed	Initials of Preparer	
	(Name of Company)		(Address)	(City/State) (Zip)	
	A GOOLING.	GI A SOUTH CARTON	FLORIDA		
LINE NO.		CLASSIFICATION	GROSS OPERATING REVENUE	INTRASTATE REVENUE	
1.	Basic Local Services	T. 100.	\$	\$	
2.	Long Distance Services (Intra	LATA only)**			
3.	Access Services				
4.	Private Line Services				
5 .	Leased Facilities & Circuits S	Services			
6.	Miscellaneous Services				
7.	TOTAL REVENUES			\$	
8.		er Telecommunications Companie	es* (see "2 Fees" on back)		
9.			Fee Calculation (Line 7 less Line 8)		
	•	the (Multiply Line 9 by 0.0015)	ce Calculation (Line / less Line 8)		
10.			" an haale)		
11.	•	e "3. Failure to File by Due Date			
12.	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	: "3. Failure to File by Due Date	on back)		
13.	TOTAL AMOUNT DUE			\$	
* These an		ted on the Interexchange Regular	RIDA STATUTES, THE MINIMUM ANN	UAL FEE IS \$50	
		CURREN	T COMPANY STATUS		
() Facilitie	s-Based Provider	() Rese			
		() Othe	r:		
2	low if billing agent if other than		NG INFORMATION	** ***********************************	
Complete dei	low it blitting agent it odiet dias	i yourseir.			
(Name)			(Address: City/State/Zip)	(Telephone)	
		COMPA			
		COMPA	NY INFORMATION		
	e telecommunications' facilities? do you lease these facilities fro	() YES () NO	ANY INFORMATION		
f YES, who	do you lease these facilities fro	() YES () NO			
Address: I, the und s a true and c	do you lease these facilities from	() YES () NO om? Name: above-named company, have reac	if the foregoing and declare that to the best of my kind Statutes, whoever knowingly makes a false state	nowledge and belief the above information	
Address: I, the und s a true and c	dersigned owner/officer of the a correct statement. I am aware that ant in the performance of his/he	Nom? Name: Above-named company, have react pursuant to Section 837.06, Florer duty shall be guilty of a misde	if the foregoing and declare that to the best of my kind Statutes, whoever knowingly makes a false state	nowledge and belief the above information tement in writing with the intent to mislead	
Address: I, the und s a true and c	do you lease these facilities from	Nom? Name: Above-named company, have react pursuant to Section 837.06, Florer duty shall be guilty of a misde	if the foregoing and declare that to the best of my k rida Statutes, whoever knowingly makes a false stat meanor of the second degree. (Title)	nowledge and belief the above information tement in writing with the intent to mislead (Date)	
Address: I, the und s a true and c public serva	dersigned owner/officer of the a correct statement. I am aware that ant in the performance of his/he	bove-named company, have read pursuant to Section 837.06, Florer duty shall be guilty of a misde	if the foregoing and declare that to the best of my k rida Statutes, whoever knowingly makes a false star meanor of the second degree.	nowledge and belief the above information tement in writing with the intent to mislead (Date)	

1. WHEN TO FILE: For companies which owed a total of \$10,000 or more of assessment fee for the preceding calendar year, Regulatory Assessment Fee Return and payment must be filed or postmarked:

On or before July 30 for the six-month period January 1 through June 30, AND On or before January 30 for the six-month period July 1 through December 31.

For companies which owed a total of less than \$10,000 of assessment fee for the preceding calendar year, this Regulatory Assessm Fee Return and payment must be filed or postmarked:

On or before January 30 for the prior twelve-month period January 1 through December 31.

However, when July 30 or January 30 falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday, the Regulatory Assessment Fee Return may be fit or postmarked on the next business day, without penalty or interest.

2. FEES: Each company shall pay 0.0015 of its gross operating revenues derived from intrastate business, as referenced in Rule 2 4.0161(1), F.A.C. Gross Operating Revenues are defined as the total revenues before expenses. Gross Intrastate Operating Revenu are defined as revenues from calls originating and terminating within Florida. Do not deduct any expenses, taxes, or uncollectible from these amounts.

On Line 8, deduct any amounts paid to another telecommunications company for the use of any telecommunications network to provi service to its customers. Do not deduct any taxes, federal subscriber line charges, interstate long distance access charges, or amoun paid for nonregulated services such as voice mail, inside wire maintenance, or equipment purchases/rentals. DEDUCTIONS MUST BE INTRASTATE ONLY AND MUST BE VERIFIABLE.

3. FAILURE TO FILE BY DUE DATE: Failure to file a return by the established due date will result in a penalty being added to the amount of fee due, 5% for each 30 days or fraction thereof, not to exceed a total penalty of 25% (Line 11). In addition, interest shall be added in the amount of 1% for each 30 days or fraction thereof, not to exceed a total of 12% per year (Line 12). A Regulator Assessment Fee Return must be completed, signed, and filed even if there are no revenues to report or if the minimum amount is due

When a company fails to timely file a Regulatory Assessment Fee Return, the Commission has the authority to order the company to pay a penalty and/or cancel the company's certificate. The company will have an opportunity to respond to any proposed Commission action.

4. EXTENSION: A request for an extension of time up to 30 days may be made by filing the enclosed Request for Extension to Fi.

Regulatory Assessment Fee Return form (PSC/ADM-124), two weeks prior to the filing date. When an extension is granted, a charg shall be added to the amount due:

0.75% of the fee to be remitted for an extension of 15 days or less, or 1.5% of the fee for an extension of 16 to 30 days.

In lieu of paying the charges outlined above, a company may file a return and remit payment based upon estimated gross operatin revenues. If such return is filed by the normal due date, the company shall be granted a 30-day extension period in which to file an remit the actual fee due without paying the above charges, provided the estimated fee payment remitted is at least 90% of the actual fee due for the period. An automatic 30-day extension to file an actual return may be obtained by checking the "Estimated Return space in the top left-hand corner on the reverse side.

- 5. FEE ADJUSTMENTS: You will be notified as to the amount and reason for any fee adjustment. Penalty and interest charges may be applicable to additional amounts owed the Commission by reason of the adjustment. The company may file a written request for a refund of any overpayments. The request should be directed to Fiscal Services at the below-referenced address.
- 6. MAILING INSTRUCTIONS: Please complete this form, make a copy for your files, and return the original in the enclosed preaddressed envelope. Use of this envelope should assure a more accurate and expeditious recording of your payment. Make your check payable to the Florida Public Service Commission. If you are unable to use the envelope, please address your remittance as follows:

Florida Public Service Commission

2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard

Tallahassee, FL 32399-0850

ATTENTION: Fiscal Services

7. ADDITIONAL ASSISTANCE: If you need additional assistance in preparing your Regulatory Assessment Fee Return or regarding telecommunications facilities, please contact the Division of Competitive Services at (850) 413-6600. This division may be contacted at the above-referenced address, directing correspondence to the attention of the division.

25-24.820 Revocation of a Certificate.

- (1) The Commission may on its own motion, after notice and opportunity for hearing, revoke a company's certificate for any of the following reasons:
- (a) Violation of a term or condition under which the authority was originally granted;
- (b) Violation of Commission rule or order;
- (c) Violation of Florida Statute; or
- (d) Violation of a price list standard.
- (2) If a certificated company desires to cancel its certificate, it shall request cancellation from the Commission in writing and shall provide the following with its request. Cancellation of a certificate shall be ordered subject to the holder providing the required information.
- (a) A statement of intent and date certain to pay regulatory assessment fee.
- (b) A statement of why the certificate is proposed to be canceled.
- (c) A statement as to how customer deposits and final bills will be handled.
- (d) Proof of individual customer notice regarding discontinuance of service.

Specific Authority 350.127(2) FS. Law Implemented 364.335, 364.345 FS. History--New 12-27-95.