REQUEST TO ESTABLISH DOCKET
(PLEASE TYPE)

Date__ March 5, 2001 Docket No. O / 0 -Q 37 L{ "7Z

1. Division Name/Staff Name__ Competitive Services/Isler

2. OPR___Competitive Services/Isler

3. OCR___lLegal Services

4. Suggested Docket Title Cancellation by Florida Public Service Commission of Pay Telephone Certificate

No. 4326 Issued to Maria Elena Medina for Violation of Rule 25-4.0161, F.A.C., Regulatory Assessment Fees;

Telecommunications Companies

5. Suggested Docket Mailing List (attach separate sheet if necessary)

A. Provide NAMES ONLY for regulated companies or ACRONYMS ONLY regulated industries,
as shown in Rule 25-22.104, F.A.C.

B. Provide COMPLETE name and address for all others. (Match representatives to clients.)

1. Parties and their representatives (if any)

Maria Elena_Medina

2. Interested Persons and their representatives (if any)

6. Check one:
XX_ Documentation is attached.

Documentation will be provided with recommendation.
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STATE OF FLORIDA

Commissioners:

E. LEON JACOBS, JR., CHAIRMAN
J. TERRY DEASON
LILA A. JABER
BRAULIO L. BAEZ
MICHAEL A. PALECKI

DrviSION OF COMPETTTIVE SERVICES
WALTER D'HAESELEER
DIRECTOR

(850) 413-6600

- Public Serbice Commission

January 17, 2001

Ms. Maria Elena Medina
8554 NW 165 Street
Miami Lakes, FL 33016-6134

Re: Maria Elena Medina
Certificate No. 4326

Dear Ms. Medina:

The Commission received your 2000 Regulatory Assessment Fee return with what appears to
be a request for cancellation of your certificate. The 2000 return did not include a check for at least
the minimum. The form had a hand-written note which stated “Company was closed.”

There are two types of cancellation. The first is voluntary and is requested by the certificate
holder. The Commission grants voluntary cancellations if a company is in good standing and has
no outstanding balance of the Regulatory Assessment Fee. The other is involuntary. This is where
the Commission cancels a certificate for a rule violation, such as not paying the Regulatory
Assessment Fee. If the Commission cancels a certificate involuntarily, any unpaid fees, including
penalty and interest charges, are forwarded to the Comptroller’s Office for collection attempts. I'm
enclosing a copy of Rule 25-24.514, Florida Administrative Code, for your review.

The Regulatory Assessment Fee is owed if a certificate is active for any day during a calendar
year. Since we received your request for cancellation in December 2000, I will make December
31, 2000 the effective date of the cancellation. However, you must first write the Commission a
letter specifically requesting cancellation of your certificate, if that is what you want, and include
payment for at least the $50 fee. Your letter and payment must be postmarked by January 30, 2001
to receive an effective date in 2000. If your payment is postmarked after January 30, penalty and
interest charges will apply. In addition, our records show that you have a $3.00 penaity and interest
balance for the 1996 fee and $2.50 balance for the 1997 fee. These balances must also be paid in
full to be granted a voluntary cancellation.

Please let me know by January 30 how you wish to proceed. If you have any questions, just
let me know. I can be reached at (850) 413-6502-voice, (850) 413-6503-fax, and by internet e-mail
at pisler@psc.state.fl.us.

CAPITAL CIRCLE OFFICE CENTER * 2540 SHUMARD QAK BOULEVARD ® TALLAHASSEE, FL 32399-0850
An Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer
PSC Website: http://www.floridapsc.com Internet E-mail: contact@psc.state.fl.us



Ms. Maria Elena Medina
Page 2
January 17, 2001

Sincerely,

Apida /Y

Paula J. Isler, Research Assistant
Bureau of Service Evaluation & Compliance

Enclosures



25-24.514 Cancellation of a Certificate,

(1) The Commission may cancel a company’s certificate for any of the following reasons:
(a) Violation of the terms and conditions under which the authority was originally granted;
(b) Violation of Commission rules or orders;

(c) Violation of Florida Statutes; or,

(d) Failure to provide service for a period of six (6) months.

(2) If a certificated company desires to cancel its certificate, it shall request cancellation from
the Commission in writing and shall provide the following with its request.

(a) Statement of intent and date to pay Regulatory Assessment Fee.

(b) Statement of why the certificate is proposed to be cancelled.

(3) Cancellation of a certificate shall be ordered subject to the holder providing the
information required by subsection (2).

Specific Authority 350.127(2) FS.
Law Implemented 350.113, 350.127(1), 364.03, 364.285, 364.337, 364.345 FS.
History~New 1-5-87.



F

TQ AVO(D PENALTY AND INTEREST CHARGES. THE REGULATORY ASSESSMENT FEE RETURN MUST BE FILED ON OR BEFORE 01/30/2001

Pay Telephone Service Provider Regulatory Assessment Fee Return

Florida Public Service Corhmission FOR PSC USE ONLY
STATUS: (See Filing Inatructions on Back of Form) Checks
Actual Return TF492 s 0&30@
Estimated Returm Maria Elena Medina $ g%
Amended Retum 8554 N.W. 165th Street ossan
Miami Lakes, FL 33016-6134 5 I
PERIOD COVERED:
01/01/2000 TO Postmark Date
12/31/2000 Initials of Preparer
Please Compiete Below If Official Mailing Address Has Changed
(Name of Company) (Address) (City/State) (Zip)
LINE
NO. ACCOUNT CLASSIFICATION AMOUNT
1. Gross Operating Revenue (Florida) $ O
2. Gross Intrastate Revenue -
3. LESS: Amounts Paid to Other Telecommunications Companies* o - )
(see "2. Fees" on back)-
4, TOTAL REVENUES for Regulatory Assessment Fee Calculation $ S
(Line 2 less Line 3)
5. Regulatory Assessment Fee Due - (Multiply Line 4 by 0.0015) —
6. Penaity for Late Payment (see "3. Failure to File by Due Date" on back) -
7. Interest for Late Payment (see "3. Failure to File by Due Date” on back) °
8. TOTAL AMOUNT DUE s —©O—

AS PROVIDED IN SECTION 364.336 FLORIDA STATUTES, THE MINIMUM ANNUAL FEE IS $50
THIS FORM MUST BE COMPLETED AND RETURNED REGARDLESS OF THE AMOUNT OF REVENUES REPORTED

——

9. Number of pay telephones in operation at close of period covered
by this Return

*  These amounts must be intrastate only and must be venfiable.

I, the undersigned owner/officer of the above-named company, bave read the foregoing and declare that to the best of my knowledge and belief the abx
information is a true and correct s [ am aware that pursuant to Section 837.06, Florida Statutes, whoever knowingly makes a false statement in wnting v

the intent islead a public sel in the performance uf his official duty shall be ty of a misd of the second degree.
ﬁmr@:& m bany wao J:I&O 12/19 o
(Signature of} Company Official) (Tide)  / ' (Dais)
Telephone Number f 4 ax_Number ( )
(Preparer of Form - Please Print Name) 2
F.E.I. No. 7 3 CP

PSC/CMU-26 (Rev.11/11/9%
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