STATE OF FLORIDA

Commissioners: E. LEON JACOBS, JR., CHAIRMAN J. TERRY DEASON LILA A. JABER BRAULIO L. BAEZ MICHAEL A. PALECKI



DIVISION OF COMPETITIVE SERVICES WALTER D'HAESELEER DIRECTOR (850) 413-6600

Public Service Commission

April 24, 2001

Via Facsimile

Ms. Diane Stanyon Quality Phone Service of Florida 1960 Blackfoot Trail St. Cloud, FL 34771-7942

Re: Docket No. 010458-TC

Dear Ms. Stanyon:

This is a follow up to our telephone conversation concerning the above docket. The regulatory assessment fee (RAF) is due each year by January 30 for the previous year, unless the 30th falls on a weekend, then the due date is the next working day. For example, the 1999 fee was due January 31, 2000 and the 2000 fee was due by January 30, 2001.

Commission records show that as of this date, the 2000 RAF has not been paid. The 2000 RAF return is attached. Please complete and return it along with payment for the past due amount in full. The RAF is .0015% of the company's total Florida gross revenues, or \$50.00, whichever is greater. However, since you stated in our conversation that you do not have any pay telephones in operation, the company owes only the minimum amount. If payment is postmarked by April 30, 2001, the 2000 total is \$59.00 (\$50.00 fee, \$7.50 penalty, and \$1.50 interest). If payment is postmarked between May 1 and May 30, 2001, the penalty and interest charges increase to \$10.00 and \$2.00, respectively, or a total minimum amount for 2000 of \$62.00. Our records show that the 1995 RAF payment was mailed after the due date of January 30, 1996, therefore, the company owes an additional \$3.00 penalty and interest.

You stated that Quality has not had any payphones in operation for several years and that the certificate was being kept active only in case you decided to get back in the payphone business. You may want to consider requesting cancellation of this certificate, then reapply at a future date if you decide to get back in the business. For the Commission to grant Quality a voluntary cancellation of its certificate, which means Quality is in good standing with the Commission, all past due charges should be paid in full. In addition, Quality should also pay the 2001 RAF or provide a date certain that it will be paid (such as 30 days from the date of the Commission Order cancelling the certificate), and write a letter requesting cancellation. A copy of our rule is attached. Also attached

APR 24

Ms. Diane Stanyon Page 2 April 24, 2001

is the 2001 RAF return, which should be completed and returned at this time only if you choose this option.

Another option, if you wish to keep the certificate active, would be to propose a settlement. If you choose this option, there is normally a \$500 fine imposed for this rule violation. It should be noted that just paying the past due amount will not prevent the company's certificate from being cancelled. You need to write the Commission a settlement letter that must include the following elements:

- Docket number;
- A check for the past due amount in full;
- A statement that the company has taken steps to prevent future late payments of the regulatory assessment fees and what those steps are;
- A waiver of objection to the administrative cancellation of your certificate in the event your offer is accepted and you fail to comply with the terms which you have offered; and
- Make a specific monetary settlement.

Any settlement offer should be addressed to Ms. Blanca Bayó, Director, Division of Records and Reporting, Florida Public Service Commission, 2540 Shumard Oak Blvd., Tallahassee, FL 32399-0850. The proposed settlement amount should <u>not</u> be paid at this time, instead only the past due regulatory assessment fee, plus penalty and interest charges should be paid. The settlement amount, if approved by the Commission, must be paid within 10 business days after the Commission Order is issued.

The final option is to do nothing. In this case, the Commission will cancel the company's certificate on its own motion and any unpaid RAFs, including penalty and interest charges will be turned over to the Comptroller's Office for further collection efforts. In addition, Rule 25-24.511(5), F.A.C., states that "Only one certificate per applicant will be granted. A new certificate will not be granted to any applicant who has previously had a certificate involuntarily cancelled." This means that if you choose this option, you could not reapply for a new certificate at a later date.

Please let me know what your decision is by May 9, 2001. If you wish to discuss this or have any questions, just let me know. I can be reached at (850) 413-6502-voice, (850) 413-6503-fax, and by internet e-mail at pisler@psc.state.fl.us.

Ms. Diane Stanyon Page 3 April 24, 2001

. .

Sincerely,

Paula J. Jahr

.

Paula J. Isler, Research Assistant Bureau of Service Evaluation & Compliance

Enclosures

cc: Docket No. 010458-TC Division of Legal Services (K. Peña)

•

TO AVOID PENALTY AND INTEREST CHARGES, THE REGULATORY ASSESSMENT FEE RETURN MUST BE FILED ON OR BEFORE 01/30/2001 Pay Telephone Service Provider Regulatory Assessment Fee Return

STATUS:	Florida Public Service Commission (See Filing Instructions on Back of Form)	FOR PSC USE ONLY Check#
Actual Return Estimated Return Amended Return	TF483 Quality Phone Service of Florida 1960 Blackfoot Trail St. Cloud, FL 34771-7942	\$0603002 003001 \$P 0603002 004011
PERIOD COVERED: 01/01/2000 TO 12/31/2000		Postmark Date 1 Initials of Preparer

Please Complete Below If Official Mailing Address Has Changed

	(Name of Company)	(Address)	(City/State)	(Zip)
LINE <u>NO.</u>	ACCO	UNT CLASSIFICATION	AM	OUNT
1.	Gross Operating Revenue (Flo	rida)	\$	
2.	Gross Intrastate Revenue			
3.	LESS: Amounts Paid to Othe (see "2. Fees" on back)	r Telecommunications Companies*	<u>(</u>)
4.	TOTAL REVENUES for Rep (Line 2 less Line 3)	gulatory Assessment Fee Calculation	\$	
5.	Regulatory Assessment Fee D	ue — (Multiply Line 4 by 0.0015)		
6.	Penalty for Late Payment (see	"3. Failure to File by Due Date" on back)		
7.	Interest for Late Payment (see	"3. Failure to File by Due Date" on back)		
8.	TOTAL AMOUNT DUE		\$	••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

AS PROVIDED IN SECTION 364.336 FLORIDA STATUTES, THE MINIMUM ANNUAL FEE IS \$50

THIS FORM MUST BE COMPLETED AND RETURNED REGARDLESS OF THE AMOUNT OF REVENUES REPORTED

9. Number of pay telephones in operation at close of period covered by this Return

These amounts must be intrastate only and must be verifiable.

I, the undersigned owner/officer of the above-named company, have read the foregoing and declare that to the best of my knowledge and belief the above information is a true and correct statement. I am aware that pursuant to Section 837.06, Florida Statutes, whoever knowingly makes a false statement in writing with the intent to mislead a public servant in the performance of his official duty shall be guilty of a misdemeanor of the second degree.

(Signature of Company Official)	(Title)	(Date)
(Preparer of Form - Please Print Name)	Telephone Number () Fax Number (F.E.I. No.	

1. WHEN TO FILE: For companies which owed a total of \$10,000 or more of assessment fee for the preceding calendar year, this Regulatory Assessment Fee Return and payment must be filed or postmarked:

On or before July 30 for the six-month period January 1 through June 30, AND On or before January 30 for the six-month period July 1 through December 31.

For companies which owed a total of less than \$10,000 of assessment fee for the preceding calendar year, this Regulatory Assessment Fee Return and payment must be filed or postmarked:

On or before January 30 for the prior twelve-month period January 1 through December 31.

However, if July 30 or January 30 falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday, the Regulatory Assessment Fee may be filed or postmarked on the next business day, without penalty.

2. FEES: Each company shall pay 0.0015 of its gross operating revenues derived from intrastate business, as referenced in Rule 25-4.0161(1), F.A.C. Gross Operating Revenues are defined as the total revenues before expenses. Gross Intrastate Operating Revenues are defined as revenues from calls orginating and terminating within Florida. Do not deduct any expenses, taxes, or uncollectibles from these amounts other than the amount on Line 3.

On Line 3, deduct any amount paid to another telecommunications company for the use of any telecommunications network (including installation charges) to provide service to its customers. <u>Do not deduct</u> any taxes, federal subscriber line charges, interstate long distance access charges, or amounts paid for nonregulated services such as voice mail, inside wire maintenance, or equipment purchases/rentals. DEDUCTIONS MUST BE INTRASTATE ONLY AND MUST BE VERIFIABLE.

3. FAILURE TO FILE BY DUE DATE: Failure to file a return by the established due date will result in a penalty being added to the amount of fee due, 5% for each 30 days or fraction thereof, not to exceed a total penalty of 25% (Line 6). In addition, interest shall be added in the amount of 1% for each 30 days or fraction thereof, not to exceed a total of 12% per year (Line 7). A Regulatory Assessment Fee Return must be completed, signed, and filed even if there are no revenues to report or if the minimum amount is due.

When a company fails to timely file a Regulatory Assessment Fee Return, the Commission has the authority to order the company to pay a penalty and/or cancel the company's certificate. The company will have an opportunity to respond to any proposed Commission action.

4. EXTENSION: A request for an extension of time up to 30 days may be made by filing the enclosed Request for Extension to File Regulatory Assessment Fee Return form (PSC/ADM-124), two weeks prior to the filing date. When an extension is granted, a charge shall be added to the amount due:

0.75% of the fee to be remitted for an extension of 15 days or less, or 1.5% of the fee for an extension of 16 to 30 days.

In lieu of paying the charges outlined above, a company may file a return and remit payment based upon estimated gross operating revenues. If such return is filed by the normal due date, the company shall be granted a 30-day extension period in which to file and remit the actual fee due without paying the above charges, provided the estimated fee payment remitted is at least 90% of the actual fee due for the period. An automatic 30-day extension to file an actual return may be obtained by checking the "Estimated Return" space in the top left-hand corner on the reverse side.

- 5. FEE ADJUSTMENTS: You will be notified as to the amount and reason for any adjustment. Penalty and interest charges may be applicable to additional amounts owed the Commission by reason of the adjustment. The company may file a written request for a refund of any overpayments. The request should be directed to Fiscal Services at the below-referenced address.
- 6. MAILING INSTRUCTIONS: Please complete this form, make a copy for your records, and return the original in the enclosed preaddressed envelope. Use of this envelope should assure a more accurate and expeditious recording of your payment. <u>Make your check payable to the Florida Public Service Commission.</u> If you are unable to use the envelope, please address your remittance as follows:

Florida Public Service Commission 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard Tallahassee, FL 32399-0850

ATTENTION: Fiscal Services

7. ADDITIONAL ASSISTANCE: If you need additional information or assistance in preparing your Regulatory Assessment Fee Return or regarding telecommunications facilities, please contact the Division of Competitive Services at (850) 413-6600. This division may be contacted at the above-referenced address, directing correspondence to the attention of the division. TO AVOID PENALTY AND INTEREST CHARGES, THE REGULATORY ASSESSMENT FEE RETURN MUST BE FILED ON OR BEFORE 01/30/2002 Pay Telephone Service Provider Regulatory Assessment Fee Return

STATUS:	Florida Public Service Commission (See Filing Instructions on Back of Form)	FOR PSC USE ONLY Check#	
Actual Return Estimated Return Amended Return	TF483 Quality Phone Service of Florida 1960 Blackfoot Trail St. Cloud, FL 34771-7942	\$0603002 003001 \$P 0603002 004011	
PERIOD COVERED: 01/01/2001 TO 12/31/2001		Postmark Date Initials of Preparer	
Please Complete Below If Official Mailing Address Has Changed			

JNT
)
-

AS PROVIDED IN SECTION 364.336 FLORIDA STATUTES, THE MINIMUM ANNUAL FEE IS \$50

THIS FORM MUST BE COMPLETED AND RETURNED REGARDLESS OF THE AMOUNT OF REVENUES REPORTED

9. Number of pay telephones in operation at close of period covered by this Return

* These amounts must be intrastate only and must be verifiable.

I, the undersigned owner/officer of the above-named company, have read the foregoing and declare that to the best of my knowledge and belief the above information is a true and correct statement. I am aware that pursuant to Section 837.06, Florida Statutes, whoever knowingly makes a false statement in writing with the intent to mislead a public servant in the performance of his official duty shall be guilty of a misdemeanor of the second degree.

(Signature of Company Official)	(Title))	(Date)
(Preparer of Form - Please Print Name)	Telephone Number ()	Fax Number ()
	F.E.I. No		•

PSC/CMU-26 (Rev.11/11/99)

1. WHEN TO FILE: For companies which owed a total of \$10,000 or more of assessment fee for the preceding calendar year, this Regulatory Assessment Fee Return and payment must be filed or postmarked:

On or before July 30 for the six-month period January 1 through June 30, AND On or before January 30 for the six-month period July 1 through December 31.

For companies which owed a total of less than \$10,000 of assessment fee for the preceding calendar year, this Regulatory Assessment Fee Return and payment must be filed or postmarked:

On or before January 30 for the prior twelve-month period January 1 through December 31.

However, if July 30 or January 30 falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday, the Regulatory Assessment Fee may be filed or postmarked on the next business day, without penalty.

2. FEES: Each company shall pay 0.0015 of its gross operating revenues derived from intrastate business, as referenced in Rule 25-4.0161(1), F.A.C. Gross Operating Revenues are defined as the total revenues before expenses. Gross Intrastate Operating Revenues are defined as revenues from calls orginating and terminating within Florida. Do not deduct any expenses, taxes, or uncollectibles from these amounts other than the amount on Line 3.

On Line 3, deduct any amount paid to another telecommunications company for the use of any telecommunications network (including installation charges) to provide service to its customers. <u>Do not deduct</u> any taxes, federal subscriber line charges, interstate long distance access charges, or amounts paid for nonregulated services such as voice mail, inside wire maintenance, or equipment purchases/rentals. DEDUCTIONS MUST BE <u>INTRASTATE ONLY</u> AND MUST BE VERIFIABLE.

3. FAILURE TO FILE BY DUE DATE: Failure to file a return by the established due date will result in a penalty being added to the amount of fee due, 5% for each 30 days or fraction thereof, not to exceed a total penalty of 25% (Line 6). In addition, interest shall be added in the amount of 1% for each 30 days or fraction thereof, not to exceed a total of 12% per year (Line 7). A Regulatory Assessment Fee Return must be completed, signed, and filed even if there are no revenues to report or if the minimum amount is due.

When a company fails to timely file a Regulatory Assessment Fee Return, the Commission has the authority to order the company to pay a penalty and/or cancel the company's certificate. The company will have an opportunity to respond to any proposed Commission action.

4. EXTENSION: A request for an extension of time up to 30 days may be made by filing the enclosed Request for Extension to File Regulatory Assessment Fee Return form (PSC/ADM-124), two weeks prior to the filing date. When an extension is granted, a charge shall be added to the amount due:

0.75% of the fee to be remitted for an extension of 15 days or less, or 1.5% of the fee for an extension of 16 to 30 days.

In lieu of paying the charges outlined above, a company may file a return and remit payment based upon estimated gross operating revenues. If such return is filed by the normal due date, the company shall be granted a 30-day extension period in which to file and remit the actual fee due without paying the above charges, provided the estimated fee payment remitted is at least 90% of the actual fee due for the period. An automatic 30-day extension to file an actual return may be obtained by checking the "Estimated Return" space in the top left-hand corner on the reverse side.

- 5. FEE ADJUSTMENTS: You will be notified as to the amount and reason for any adjustment. Penalty and interest charges may be applicable to additional amounts owed the Commission by reason of the adjustment. The company may file a written request for a refund of any overpayments. The request should be directed to Fiscal Services at the below-referenced address.
- 6. MAILING INSTRUCTIONS: Please complete this form, make a copy for your records, and return the original in the enclosed preaddressed envelope. Use of this envelope should assure a more accurate and expeditious recording of your payment. <u>Make your check payable to the Florida Public Service Commission.</u> If you are unable to use the envelope, please address your remittance as follows:

Florida Public Service Commission 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard Tallahassee, FL 32399-0850 ATTENTION: Fiscal Services

7. ADDITIONAL ASSISTANCE: If you need additional information or assistance in preparing your Regulatory Assessment Fee Return or regarding telecommunications facilities, please contact the Division of Competitive Services at (850) 413-6600. This division may be contacted at the above-referenced address, directing correspondence to the attention of the division.

25-24.514 Cancellation of a Certificate.

(1) The Commission may cancel a company's certificate for any of the following reasons:

(a) Violation of the terms and conditions under which the authority was originally granted;

(b) Violation of Commission rules or orders;

(c) Violation of Florida Statutes; or,

.-

(d) Failure to provide service for a period of six (6) months.

(2) If a certificated company desires to cancel its certificate, it shall request cancellation from the Commission in writing and shall provide the following with its request.

(a) Statement of intent and date to pay Regulatory Assessment Fee.

(b) Statement of why the certificate is proposed to be cancelled.

(3) Cancellation of a certificate shall be ordered subject to the holder providing the information required by subsection (2).

Specific Authority 350.127(2) FS. Law Implemented 350.113, 350.127(1), 364.03, 364.285, 364.337, 364.345 FS. History--New 1-5-87. TRANSMISSION VERIFICATION REPORT

-

•

.

-

•



.

TIME : 04/24/2001 09:02 NAME : FAX : TEL :

.

