BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In re: Investigation and " DOCKET NO. 992037-TI
determination of appropriate ORDER NO. PSC-01-1141-PAA-TI
methed for refunding interest ISSUED: May 21, 2001

and overcharges on intrastate 0+
calls made from pay telephones
and in a call aggregator context
by AT&T Communications of the
Southern Statesg, Inc. d/b/a
Connect ‘N Save and d/b/a Lucky
Dog Phone Co. and d/b/a ACC
Business. :

The following Commissioners participated in the disposition of
this matter:

E. LEON JACOBS, JR., Chairman
J. TERRY DEASON
LILA A. JABER
BRAULIO L. BAEZ
MICHAEL A. PALECKI

NOTICE OF PROPOSED AGENCY ACTION
ORDER DECLINING TQ REQUIRE REFUNDS

BY THE COMMISSION:

NOTICE is hereby given by the Florida Public Service
Commission that the action discussed herein is preliminary in
nature and will become final unless a person whose interests are
substantially affected files a petition for a formal proceeding,
pursuant to Rule 25-22.029, Florida Administrative Code.

BACKGROUND

On September 20, 1996, the Federal Communications Commission
(FCC) released a Report and Order (FCC 96-388) detailing the
implementation of the pay telephone reclassification and
compensation provisions of the Telecommunications Act of 1996. The
FCC’s per-call compensation rule, 47 CFR §64.1300, became effective
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October 7, 1997. In response, on November 1, 1997, AT&T
Communications of the Southern States, Inc. (AT&T) updated its

General Services Tariff to include a $.30 payphone surcharge.

In the meantime, we amended Rule 25-24.630, Florida
Administrative Code, on February 1, 1999, to cap rates for
intrastate 0+ and 0- calls made from pay telephones or in a call
aggregator context to $.30 per minute plus $3.25 for a person-to-
person. call and $1.75 for a non person-to-person call. We have
jurisdiction over operator service surcharges pursuant to Section
364 .3376, Florida Statutes.

Since we amended Rule 25-24.630, Florida Administrative Code,
AT&T updated its Custom Network Services Tariff to include a
payphone surcharge of $.28 on February 1, 1999. In addition, AT&T
implemented a non-subscriber surcharge of $2.50 on February 26,
1999, that was applied to calls made from payphones that terminated
to an end user who was not presubscribed to AT&T. AT&T updated its
Custom Network Services Tariff on August 1, 1999, to reduce the
payphone surcharge to $.26.

On August 19, 1999, our staff informed AT&T that a review of
AT&T’'s tariffs indicated that AT&T may have overcharged end usgers
for intrastate 0+ or 0- calls since February 1, 1999, when we
implemented the rate cap. Commission staff requested AT&T to look
into the situation. This docket was opened on December 30, 1999,
to investigate and determine the appropriate method for refunding
any apparent overcharges. AT&T responded that there were two
surcharges that may be charged in connection with certain operator-
handled calls--a non-subscriber surcharge and a payphone surcharge.
Another docket, Docket No. 010364-TI was opened to regolve any
issues surrounding the $2.50 non-subscriber surcharge, which AT&T
ultimately agreed to remove from its tariff. However, concernihg
the payphone surcharge, which is at issue in this docket, AT&T
argued that it should be allowed to keep the payphone surcharge
over and above the existing operator service rate caps established
in Rule 25-24.630, Florida Administrative Code.

AT&T filed a petition with the FCC on February 5, 2001,
requesting the FCC to issue a declaratory ruling that states may
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not foreclose carriers from establishing cost recovery mechanisms
to recoup from payphone users the costs of operating payphones and
forbidding state commissions from limiting or otherwise regulating
AT&T's right to establish a payphone surcharge for any category of
calls placed from a payphone. We sent comments to the FCC
addressing AT&T’s petition on March 22, 2001, in which we urged the
FCC to hold AT&T's petition in abeyance to allow us time to address
the payphone surcharge issue.

The Florida Legislature required us to establish maximum rates
and charges for operator services. Section 364.3376(3), Florida
Statutes. We did so in Rule 25-24.630(1), Florida Administrative
Code, which provides:

Services charged and billed to any end user by an
operator services provider for an intrastate 0+ or O0-
call made from a pay telephone or in a call aggregator
context shall not exceed a rate of $.30 per minute plus
the applicable charges for the following types of
telephone calls:

(a) A person-to-person call -- a charge of $3.25;

(b) A call that is not a person-to-person call -- a
charge of $1.75.

Operator services are defined in Section 364.02(9), Florida
Statutes, which states:

“"Operator service” includes, but is not limited to,
billing or completion of third-party, person-to-person,
collect, or calling card or credit card calls through the
use of a live operator or automated equipment.

AT&T admits that it is a provider of operator services and subject
to the requirements of our rules governing operator service
providers, including Rule 25-24.630, Florida Administrative Code.

When Commission staff compared AT&T's tariff for operator
service rates and charges to the rate caps established in Rule 25-
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24.630, Florida Administrative Code, it appeared that AT&T’'s
tariffed rates exceeded the rate cap because AT&T adds a payphone
surcharge to intrastate 0+ calls made from a payphone. AT&T admits
that it charges a payphone surcharge in excess of the rate cap
listed in Rule 25-24.630(1), Florida Administrative Code. However,
AT&T maintains that our rate cap was not intended to cover the
payphone surcharge. AT&T argues that it has lawfully collected a
payphone surcharge of $.28 from February 1 to July 31, 1999, and of
$.26 since August 1, 1999, under its Custom Network Service Tariff.
In addition, AT&T has had a payphone surcharge of $.30 in effect
under its General Services Tariff since November 1997. From
February 1, 1999 through March 31, 2000, AT&T estimates it has
collected $760,000 from these payphone surcharges.

AT&T also argues that we are preempted by the FCC from
prohibiting payphone surcharges. AT&T contends that we do not have
jurisdiction over payphone charges and thus do not have
jurisdiction over the payphone surcharge currently collected by the
company. AT&T argues that our rate cap applies only to operator
service charges, and thus it should be allowed to collect the
payphone surcharge over and above the current rate cap. Our staff
‘'responds that the payphone surcharge is the fee that AT&Tlpays the
payphone owner when AT&T acts as the operator service provider.
According to staff, simply designating a charge as a payphone
surcharge does not preempt our jurisdiction.

In addition, AT&T argues that when we last amended Rule 25-
24.630, Florida Administrative Code, at no time during the
rulemaking proceeding did AT&T understand that the operator service
provider rate cap was intended to limit charges approved by another
jurisdiction. AT&T believes that Rule 25-24.630 applies only to
operator service provider surcharges and not payphone surcharges.
Our staff disagrees. They contend that the plain language of Rule
25-24.630 prohibits AT&T from collecting the pay phone surcharge.

We find that based on Rule 25-24.630's rulemaking record,
there is ambiguity concerning the question whether our intent was
to prochibit an operator service provider from collecting other
surcharges above the maximum operator service surcharges set out in
the rule. Accordingly, we decline to require AT&T to refund the
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monies collected from its payphone surcharge. Instead, we direct
our staff to initiate rulemaking to look into whether Rule 25-
24.630, Florida Administrative Code, should specifically prohibit
operator service providers from charging any other types of
surcharges over and above the operator service provider surcharges
established in the rule.

In addition, we find that we clearly have jurisdiction over
operator service provider charges. Since we are not requiring AT&T
to refund the payphone surcharges already collected, we need not
address any federal preemption concerns raised by the company.

Finally, we find that this docket shall be closed.
Based on the foregoing, it is

ORDERED by the Florida Public Service Commission that AT&T
Communications of the Southern States, Inc. shall not be required
to refund payphone surcharges in excess of the rate cap, at this
time. It is further

ORDERED that the Commission staff shall initiate rulemaking to
look into whether Rule 25-24.630, Florida Administrative Code,
should specifically prohibit operator service providers from
charging any other types of surcharges over and above the operator
service provider surcharges established in the rule. It is further

ORDERED that the provisions of this Order, issued as proposed
agency action, shall become final and effective upon the issuance
of a Consummating Order unless an appropriate petition, in the form
provided by Rule 28-106.201, Florida Administrative Code, 1is
received by the Director, Division of Records and Reporting, 2540
Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0850, by the
close of business on the date set forth in the “Notice of Further
Proceedings” attached hereto. It is further

ORDERED that in the event this Order becomes final, this
docket shall be closed.
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By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission this 21st
day of May, 2001.

BLANCA S. BAYO, Director
Division of Records and Reporting

By: ﬁ’ajt}\;LLA’rvuf
Kay Flyﬂh, Chidf
Bureau of Records

(S EAL)

JKF /MAH

Chairman Jacobs dissented from the Commission’s decision.

Commissioner Jaber dissented from the Commission’s decision with
the following opinion:

The plain language of Rule 25-24.630(1), Florida
Administrative Code, provides:

Services charged and billed to any end user by an
operator services provider for an intrastate 0+ or O0-
call made from a pay telephone or in a call aggregator
context shall not exceed a rate of $.30 per minute plus
the applicable charges for the following types of
telephone calls:

(a) A person-to-person call -- a charge of $3.25;

(b) A call that is not a person-to-person call -- a
charge of $1.75.
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(Emphasis added) In my opinion, there is no ambiguity that Rule 25-
24.630, on its face, requires operator service providers to charge
end users no more than the cap established by our rule.

AT&T is an operator service provider subject to the rate cap
established by our rule. The payphone surcharge as described by
AT&T, in my opinion, is being applied to an operator service. AS
such, I believe AT&T should be required to stop collecting the
payphone surcharge and to refund the payphone surcharges collected
since we implemented the operator service provider surcharge rate
cap.

For these reasons, I dissent.

NOTICE OF FURTHER PROCEEDINGS OR JUDICIAL REVIEW

The Florida Public Service Commission is reqguired by Section
120.569 (1), Florida Statutes, to notify parties of any
administrative hearing that is available under Section 120.57,
Florida Statutes, as well as the procedures and time limits that
apply. This notice should not be construed to mean all requests
for an administrative hearing will be granted or result in the
relief sought.

Mediation may be available on a case-by-case basis. If
mediation 1is conducted, it does not affect a substantially
interested person’s right to a hearing.

The action proposed herein is preliminary in nature. Any
person whose substantial interests are affected by the action
proposed by this order may file a petition for a formal proceeding,
in the form provided by Rule 28-106.201, Florida Administrative
Code. This petition must be received by the Director, Division of
Records and Reporting, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee,
Florida 32399-0850, by the close of business on June 11, 2001.
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In the absence of such a petition, this order shall become
final and effective upon the issuance of a Consummating Order.

Any objection or protest filed in this docket before the
issuance date of this order is considered abandoned unless it
satisfies the foregoing conditions and is renewed within the
specified protest period.



