BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In re: Cancellation by Florida
Public Service Commission of
PATS Certificate No. 2704 issued
to Phone Plus, Inc. for
violation of Rule 25-4.0161,
F.A.C., Regulatory Assessment
Fees; Telecommunications
Companies.

DOCKET NO. 020764-TC ORDER NO. PSC-03-0047-FOF-TC ISSUED: January 7, 2003

The following Commissioners participated in the disposition of this matter:

LILA A. JABER, Chairman J. TERRY DEASON BRAULIO L. BAEZ MICHAEL A. PALECKI RUDOLPH "RUDY" BRADLEY

ORDER GRANTING VOLUNTARY CANCELLATION OF PAY TELEPHONE CERTIFICATE

BY THE COMMISSION:

Phone Plus, Inc. (Phone Plus) currently holds Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity No. 2704, issued by the Commission on May 7, 1991, authorizing the provision of Pay Telephone service. The Division of the Commission Clerk and Administrative Services advised our staff that Phone Plus had not paid the Regulatory Assessment Fees (RAFs) required by Section 364.336, Florida Statutes, and Rule 25-4.0161, Florida Administrative Code, for the year 2001. Also, accrued statutory penalties and interest charges for late RAFs payments for the year 2001 had not been paid. Phone Plus was scheduled to remit its RAFs by January 30, 2002.

Pursuant to Section 364.336, Florida Statutes, certificate holders must pay a minimum annual RAF of \$50 if the certificate was active during any portion of the calendar year. Pursuant to Rule 25-4.0161 (2), Florida Administrative Code, the form and applicable fees are due to the Florida Public Service Commission by January 30

DOCUMENT NUMBER - DATE

00172 JAN-78

ORDER NO. PSC-03-0047-FOF-TC DOCKET NO. 020764-TC PAGE 2

of the subsequent year. Pursuant to Section 350.113(4), Florida Statutes, the RAFs forms, for the period of January 1, through December 31, are mailed to entities at least 45 days prior to the date that payment of the fee is due. All entities that apply for certification receive a copy of our rules governing Pay Telephone service.

Phone Plus has since paid the 2001 RAFs, including accrued statutory penalties and interest charges and requested voluntary cancellation of its certificate. Accordingly, we find it appropriate to cancel Pay Telephone Certificate No. 2704, effective November 21, 2002. We are vested with jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to Sections 364.336, 364.285, and 364.335, Florida Statutes.

In addition, under Section 364.336, Florida Statutes, certificate holders must pay a minimum annual RAFs of \$50 if the certificate was active during any portion of the calendar year. Phone Plus has also paid the 2002 RAFs.

Based on the foregoing, it is

ORDERED by the Florida Public Service Commission that Phone Plus, Inc.'s Certificate No. 2704 to provide Pay Telephone services is hereby canceled, effective November 21, 2002. It is further

ORDERED that this Docket is closed.

By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission this 7th Day of January, 2003.

BLANCA S. BAYÓ, Direct

Division of the Commission Clerk

and Administrative Services

(SEAL)

AJT

ORDER NO. PSC-03-0047-FOF-TC DOCKET NO. 020764-TC PAGE 3

NOTICE OF FURTHER PROCEEDINGS OR JUDICIAL REVIEW

The Florida Public Service Commission is required by Section 120.569(1), Florida Statutes, to notify parties of any administrative hearing or judicial review of Commission orders that is available under Sections 120.57 or 120.68, Florida Statutes, as well as the procedures and time limits that apply. This notice should not be construed to mean all requests for an administrative hearing or judicial review will be granted or result in the relief sought.

Any party adversely affected by the Commission's final action in this matter may request: 1) reconsideration of the decision by filing a motion for reconsideration with the Director, Division of the Commission Clerk and Administrative Services, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0850, within fifteen (15) days of the issuance of this order in the form prescribed by Rule 25-22.060, Florida Administrative Code; or 2) judicial review by the Florida Supreme Court in the case of an electric, gas or telephone utility or the First District Court of Appeal in the case of a water and/or wastewater utility by filing a notice of appeal with the Director, Division of the Commission Clerk and Administrative Services and filing a copy of the notice of appeal and the filing fee with the appropriate court. This filing must be completed within thirty (30) days after the issuance of this order, pursuant to Rule 9.110, Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure. The notice of appeal must be in the form specified in Rule 9.900(a), Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure.