#### BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In re: Proposed amendment of Rule 25-24.516, DOCKET NO. 040493-TP F.A.C., Pay Telephone Rate Caps, and Rule ORDER NO. PSC-04-0805-FOF-TP F.A.C., Rate and 25-24.630, Requirements.

Billing ISSUED: August 19, 2004

The following Commissioners participated in the disposition of this matter:

BRAULIO L. BAEZ, Chairman J. TERRY DEASON LILA A. JABER **RUDOLPH "RUDY" BRADLEY** CHARLES M. DAVIDSON

### NOTICE OF ADOPTION OF RULE AMENDMENTS

### BY THE COMMISSION:

NOTICE is hereby given that the Florida Public Service Commission, pursuant to Section 120.54, Florida Statutes, has adopted the amendments to Rules 25-24.516 and 25-24.630, Florida Administrative Code, without changes, to eliminate the requirement that the provider of local exchange telecommunications services pay a set use fee of \$0.25 to the pay telephone service provider for completing a 0- local call from a pay telephone station.

The rule amendments were filed with the Department of State on August 18, 2004, and will be effective on September 7, 2004. A copy of the rules as filed with the Department is attached to this Notice.

This docket is closed upon issuance of this notice.

DOCUMENT NUMBER-DATE 09060 AUG 193 **FPSC-COMMISSION CLERK** 

ORDER NO. PSC-04-0805-FOF-TP DOCKET NO. 040493-TP PAGE 2

By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission this 19th day of August, 2004.

BLANCA S. BAYÓ, Director Division of the Commission Clerk and Administrative Services

Kay Juj Kay Flynn, Chief By: Bureau of Records

(SEAL)

SMC

25-24.516 Pay Telephone Rate Caps.

(1) Rates charged any end user by a pay telephone provider, providing operator service within the pay telephone premises' equipment, shall not exceed the following:

(a) Local coin calls – the rate posted at the pay telephone station.

(b) Extended area service (EAS) coin calls – a rate equivalent to the local coin call rate.

(c) Extended calling scope (ECS) calls – the rate equivalent to the local coin rate.

(d) 0+ toll non-person-to-person – a maximum rate of \$0.30 per minute, plus a \$1.75

charge.

(e) 0+ toll person-to-person – a maximum rate of \$.30 per minute, plus a \$3.25 charge.

(f) 0+ non-person-to-person local – a rate equivalent to the local coin rate, plus a \$1.75 charge.

(g) 0+ person-to-person local – a rate equivalent to the local coin rate, plus a \$3.25 charge.

(2) A pay telephone provider shall not obtain services from an interexchange carrier or an operator service provider unless such carrier or provider has obtained a certificate of public convenience and necessity from the Commission.

(3) A set use fee of \$.25 shall apply to all completed 0-local calls placed from pay telephones.

Specific Authority: 350.127(2), FS.

Law Implemented: 364.03, 364.3375(4), (5), FS.

History-New 9-5-95, Amended 2-1-99, 09/07/04.

# ORDER NO. PSC-04-0805-FOF-TP DOCKET NO. 040493-TP PAGE 4

25-24.630 Rate and Billing Requirements.

(1) Services charged and billed to any end user by an operator services provider for an intrastate 0+ or 0- call made from a pay telephone or in a call aggregator context shall not exceed a rate of \$.30 per minute plus the applicable charges for the following types of telephone calls:

(a) A person-to-person call - - a charge of \$3.25;

(b) A call that is not a person-to-person call - - a charge of \$1.75.

(2) For 0- calls from pay telephone stations completed by the provider of local exchange telecommunications services, a set use fee of \$.25 shall apply and shall be remitted by the local exchange company to the pay telephone service provider.

(3) (2) An operator services provider shall have current rate information readily available and provide this information orally to end users upon request prior to connection.

(4) (3) An operator services provider shall require that its certificated name appear on any telecommunications company's bill for regulated charges.

(5) (4) An operator services provider shall require all calls to be individually identified on each bill from a telecommunications company on an end user's bill, including the date and start time of the call, call duration, origin and destination (by city or exchange name and telephone number), and type of call.

(6) (5) An operator services provider shall provide a toll-free number for customer inquiries on the bill and maintain procedures adequate to allow the company to promptly receive and respond to such inquiries.

# ORDER NO. PSC-04-0805-FOF-TP DOCKET NO. 040493-TP PAGE 5

(7) (6) An operator services provider shall charge only for conversation time as rounded according to company tariffs.

(8) (7) An operator services provider shall not:

(a) Bill or charge for uncompleted calls in areas where answer supervision is available or knowingly bill or charge for uncompleted calls in areas where answer supervision is not available.

(b) Bill for any collect call that has not been affirmatively accepted by a person receiving the call regardless of whether the call was processed by a live or automated operator.

(c) Bill for calls in increments greater than one minute except for coin calls that may be in increments no greater than three minutes.

(d) Bill or collect a surcharge levied by any entity, either directly or through its billing agent, except Commission-approved charges for pay telephone providers.

Specific Authority: 350.127(2), FS.

Law Implemented: 364.01, 364.3376, FS.

History-New 9-6-93, Amended 2-1-99, 09/07/04.