
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING 
FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 

DOCKET NO. 050378-TP 

RULE TITLE: RULE NO.: 

Regulatory Assessment Fees; Telecommunications Companies 25-4.01 61 

PURPOSE AND EFFECT: The purpose of the rule amendment is to streamline the process of 

Regulatory Assessment Fee (W) collections by codifying the penalty amount and defining 

when a penalty will be imposed upon a certificated or registered telecommunications company 

that fails to pay RAF. The changes should reduce the Commission’s cost of collecting RAFs and 

ensure all certificated and registered companies are treated consistently. 

SUMMARY: The rule amendment codifies the procedures to be followed and the penalty 

amounts to be imposed for a telecommunications company’s filing of a regulatory assessment 

fee return after the due date and after the company has received a delinquency notice. 

SUMMARY OF STATEMENT OF ESTIMATED REGULATORY COST: It is anticipated that 

implementation of the rule will result in a decrease in enforcement costs for collection of 

delinquent RAFs. Any person who wishes to provide information regarding the statement of 

estimated regulatory costs, or to provide a proposal for a lower cost regulatory alternative must 

dMP do so in writing within 21 days of this notice. 

.----SPECIFIC AUTHORITY: 350.127(2), FS 
cm. __ __ 

ECR _ _  LAW IMPLEMENTED: 350.1 13,364.285,364.336, FS 

.... a T T E N  COMMENTS OR SUGGESTIONS ON THE PROPOSED RULE MAY BE 

l_l___l_ 

SUBMITTED TO THE FPSC, DIVISION OF THE COMMISSION CLERK AND 
~~~~ 

c.4 -~ ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES, WITHIN 21 DAYS OF THE DATE OF THIS NOTICE FOR 

SCR ------INCLUSION IN THE RECORD OF THE PROCEEDING, 
SEC I 
cm-l I__. 



IF REQUESTED WITHIN 21 DAYS OF THE DATE OF THIS NOTICE, A HEARING WILL 

BE SCHEDULED AND ANNOUNCED IN THE FAW. 

THE PERSON TO BE CONTACTED REGARDING THE THESE PROPOSED RULE(S) IS: 

Christiana T. Moore, Florida Public Service Commission, 2540 Shumard Oak Blvd., 

Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0862, (850) 41 3-6245, cmoore@psc.state.fl.us. 

THE FULL TEXT OF THE PROPOSED RULE IS: 

25-4.01 61 Regulatory Assessment Fees; Telecommunications Companies. 

(1) thru (8) No change. 

J9) The Division of the Commission Clerk and Administrative Services shall send by 

certified mail a re'wlatory assessment fee delinquency notice to any company that fails to file a 

regulatory assessment fee return and that fails to pay the regulatory assessment fee by the date 

specified in subsection (2), unless the company has met the requirements of subsections (6) and 

0 
(10) If a company fails to pay the regulatory assessment fee within 15 days after 

receiving a delinquency notice, the Division of the Commission Clerk and Administrative 

Services, in cooperation with the Division of Competitive Markets and Enforcement and the 

Office of General Counsel, will establish a docket and administratively issue a Notice of 

Proposed Agency Action Order Imposing Penalties and Collection Costs, and Requiring 

Payment of Delinquent Regulatory Assessment Fees, or Cancelling Certificates or Removing 

From the Register for Violation of Rule 25-4.01 61, Florida Administrative Code, and Section 

364.336, Florida Statutes. The company must pay the past due regulatory assessment fees, the 

penalty and interest for late payment as provided in Section 350.1 13, Florida Statutes, and as 



. 

stated in subsection (8) above, and must also pay the applicable penalty stated in subsection (1 1) 

for failure to file the regulatory assessment fee return. 

(1 1) Pursuant to Section 364.285, Florida Statutes, the Commission has the authority to 

impose a penalty or cancel a certificate or registration if a company refuses to comply with 

Commission rules, orders, or Florida Statutes. The penalty, which will include collection costs, 

for failure to file the regulatory assessment fee return by the date stated in the delinquency notice 

shall be as follows: 

la) First violation - $500 

(b) Second violation - $1,000 

(c) Third violation - $2,000 

Failure of the company to pay the full amount due and stated in the Notice of Proposed Agency 

Action will result in the cancellation of the company’s Certificate of Public Convenience and 

Necessity, or will result in the cancellation of the company’s tariff and removal of its name from 

the Commission’s register, whichever is applicable. 

l12) For a company’s fourth failure to pay the regulatory assessment fee after being sent 

a delinquency notice, Commission staff shall file a recommendation to the Commission for 

M h e r  action. 

113) A company that reapplies for a Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity, or 

refiles for registration, must pay all prior unpaid regulatory assessment fees, plus the penalty and 

interest defined in subsection (8), and any prior unpaid penalty assessed in accordance with 

subsection (1 0). 

Specific Authority 350.127(2) FS. 

Law Implemented 350.1 13, 364.285,364.336 FS. 



History-New 5-18-83, Formerly 25-4.161, Amended 10-19-86, 1-1-91, 12-29-91, 1-8-95, 12-26- 

95,7-7-96, 11-1 1-99,12-7-04 , 

NAME OF PERSON ORIGINATING PROPOSED RULE: Ray Kennedy 

NAME OF SUPERVISOR OR PERSONS WHO APPROVED THE PROPOSED RULE: 

Florida Public Service Commission. 

DATE PROPOSED RULE APPROVED: July 19,2005. 

DATE NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE DEVELOPMENT PUBLISHED IN FAW: Volume 3 1 , 

Number 1 1 , March 18,2005 

If any person decides to appeal any decision of the Commission with respect to any matter 

considered at the rulemaking hearing, if held, a record of the hearing is necessary. The appellant 

must ensure that a verbatim record, including testimony and evidence forming the basis of the 

appeal is made. The Commission usually makes a verbatim record of rulemaking hearings. 

Any person requiring some accommodation at this hearing because of a physical impairment 

should call the Division of the Commission Clerk and Administrative Services at (850) 413-6770 

at least 48 hours prior to the hearing. Any person who is hearing or speech impaired should 

contact the Florida Public Service Commission by using the Florida Relay Service, which can be 

reached at: 1-800-955-8771 (TDD). 
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