PSC-COMMISSION CLERK

COMMISSIONERS: MATTHEW M. CARTER II, CHAIRMAN LISA POLAK EDGAR KATRINA J. MCMURRIAN NANCY ARGENZIANO

NATHAN A. SKOP





TIMOTHY DEVLIN, DIRECTOR DIVISION OF ECONOMIC REGULATION (850) 413-6900



January 15, 2009



Mary Smallwood Ruden, McClosky, Smith, Schuster & Russell, P.A. 215 South Monroe Street, Suite 815 Tallahassee, FL 32301

Re: Staff Assisted Rate Case for Hidden Valley SPE LLC d/b/a Orange Lake Utilities in Lake County, Docket No. 080714-WS

Dear Ms. Smallwood:

We have determined eligibility for staff assistance filed by Hidden Valley SPE LLC d/b/a Orange Lake Utilities. We find that the utility is eligible for the staff assisted rate case filing.

The staff engineer has determined the filing fee in this rate case is \$1,500. This fee is based on the capacity of the utility system as provided by Section 367.145(2), Florida Statutes. Staff has noted that a filing fee of \$2,000 has already been paid, therefore, a \$500 refund will be provided.

Section 367.091(2), Florida Statutes, provides:

Upon filing an application for new rates, the utility shall mail a copy of the application to the chief executive officer of the governing body of each county within the service areas included in the rate request. The governing body may petition the commission for leave to intervene in the rate change proceeding and the commission shall grant intervener status to any governing body that files a petition.

Please forward a copy of Hidden Valley's application for a SARC to the Chief Executive Officer of Lake County as required by law, and copy the Commission as proof that an application was forwarded to them. Please forward a copy of Hidden Valley's application for a SARC to the Chief Executive

Ms. Mary Smallwood Page 2 January 15, 2009

Members of Commission staff will contact you to schedule a convenient time for examination of the utility's books and records and physical plant. If you have any questions regarding the rate proceeding, please call Jared Deason at (850) 413-6844.

Sincerely,

Timothy Devlin

Director

TD/jd

cc: Division of Economic Regulation (Deason, Fletcher, Bulecza-Banks, Redemann) Office of General Counsel (Jean Hartman)

Office of Commission Clerk (Docket No. 080714-WS)