## BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In re: Petition to initiate rulemaking to amend | DOCKET NO. 060476-TL Rules 25-24.630(1) and 25-24.516(1), F.A.C., by BellSouth Telecommunications, Inc.

ORDER NO. PSC-09-0789-FOF-TL ISSUED: November 30, 2009

The following Commissioners participated in the disposition of this matter:

MATTHEW M. CARTER II, Chairman LISA POLAK EDGAR NANCY ARGENZIANO NATHAN A. SKOP

BY THE COMMISSION:

## NOTICE OF ADOPTION OF RULES

NOTICE is hereby given that the Florida Public Service Commission, pursuant to Section 120.54, Florida Statutes, has adopted, without changes, the amendments to Rules 25-24.630 and 25-24.516, Florida Administrative Code, relating to pay telephone rate caps and rate and billing requirements.

The rules were filed with the Department of State on November 25, 2009 and will be effective on December 15, 2009. A copy of the rules as filed with the Department is attached to this Notice.

This docket is closed upon issuance of this notice.

By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission this 30th day of November, 2009.

Commission Clerk

(SEAL)

**RCB** 

DOCUMENT ALMBER (DATE 11592 NOV 30 8

FPSC-COMMISSION CLERE

- 25-24.516 Pay Telephone Operator Services Rate Caps.
- (1) Rates charged any end user by a pay telephone provider, providing operator-service within the pay telephone premises' equipment, shall not exceed the following:
  - (a) Local coin calls—the rate posted at the pay telephone station.
  - (b) Extended area service (EAS) coin calls—a rate equivalent to the local coin call rate.
  - (c) Extended calling scope (ECS) calls—the rate equivalent to the local coin rate.
- (d) 0+ toll non-person to-person a maximum rate of \$0.30 per minute, plus a \$1.75 charge.
  - (e) 0+ toll person to person a maximum rate of \$.30 per minute, plus a \$3.25 charge.
- (f) 0+ non-person to-person local—a rate equivalent to the local coin rate, plus a \$1.75 charge.
- (g) 0+ person to-person local a rate equivalent to the local coin rate, plus a \$3.25 charge.
- (2) A pay telephone provider shall not obtain services from an interexchange carrier or an operator service provider unless such carrier or provider has registered with or has obtained a certificate of public convenience and necessity from the Commission.

Rulemaking Specific Authority 350.127(2) FS. Law Implemented 364.03, 364.3375(4), (5), 364.3376 FS. History–New 9-5-95, Amended 2-1-99, 9-7-04.

25-24.630 Rate and Billing Requirements.

(1) Services charged and billed to any end user by an operator services provider for an intrastate 0+ or 0- call made from a pay telephone or in a call aggregator context shall not exceed the rates in the company's published schedules. a rate of \$.30 per minute plus the applicable charges for the following types of telephone calls:

ORDER NO. PSC-09-0789-FOF-TL DOCKET NO. 060476-TL PAGE 3

- (a) A person to person call—a charge of \$3.25;
- (b) A call that is not a person to person call—a charge of \$1.75.
- (2) An operator services provider shall have current rate information readily available and provide this information orally to end users upon request prior to connection.
- (3) An operator services provider shall require that its certificated <u>or registered</u> name appear on any telecommunications company's bill for regulated charges.
- (4) An operator services provider shall require all calls to be individually identified on each bill from a telecommunications company on an end user's bill, including the date and start time of the call, call duration, origin and destination (by city or exchange name and telephone number), and type of call.
- (5) An operator services provider shall provide a toll-free number for customer inquiries on the bill and maintain procedures adequate to allow the company to promptly receive and respond to such inquiries.
- (6) An operator services provider shall charge only for conversation time as rounded according to company <u>published</u> schedules tariffs.
  - (7) An operator services provider shall not:
- (a) Bill or charge for uncompleted calls in areas where answer supervision is available or knowingly bill or charge for uncompleted calls in areas where answer supervision is not available.
- (b) Bill for any collect call that has not been affirmatively accepted by a person receiving the call regardless of whether the call was processed by a live or automated operator.
- (c) Bill for calls in increments greater than one minute except for <u>pay telephone</u> coin calls that may be in increments no greater than three minutes.

ORDER NO. PSC-09-0789-FOF-TL DOCKET NO. 060476-TL PAGE 4

(d) Bill or collect a surcharge levied by any entity, either directly or through its billing agent, except Commission approved charges for pay telephone providers.

Rulemaking Specific Authority 350.127(2) FS. Law Implemented 364.01, 364.3376 FS. History–New 9-6-93, Amended 2-1-9, 9-7-04.