Commissioners; Ronald A. Brisé, Chairman Lisa Polak Edgar Art Graham Eduardo E. Balbis Julie I. Brown

STATE OF FLORIDA



GENERAL COUNSEL S. CURTIS KISER (850) 413-6199

Public Service Commission

February 28, 2012

RECEIVED + PSC 12 MAR - 1 AM 10: 30 COMINISSION

Grenelefe Resort, Utility Attn: Mr. Bryon Smith 5601 Windover Drive Orlando, Florida 32819

VIA ELECTRONIC MAIL

Re: Staff-Assisted Rate Case for Grenelefe Resort Utility, Inc. in Polk County, Docket No. 110141-WS

Dear Mr. Smith:

This will confirm that Commission staff will hold a customer meeting at the Grenelefe Resort Golf Clubhouse on Thursday, March 22, 2012, starting at 6:00 p.m. We ask that, if at all possible, you or another knowledgeable representative of the utility attend the meeting in order to answer customer questions. The location of the general meeting will be as follows:

Grenelefe Resort Golf Clubhouse 3200 State Route 544 Haines City, FL 33844

A draft customer meeting notice is enclosed. Please note the date has been left blank so that you can fill in the date that the notice is sent to the customers. As required by Rule 25-22.0407(9)(b), Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.), the utility shall provide, in writing, a customer meeting notice to all customers within its service area no less than 14 days and no more than 30 days prior to the date of a customer meeting. Please furnish me with a copy of the notice, as reproduced at the time it is distributed to your customers, together with a cover letter indicating the exact date(s) on which the notice was mailed or otherwise delivered to the customers.

FPSC-COMMISSION CLERK

PSC Website: http://www.floridapse.com

Internet E-mail: contact@psc.state.fl.us

Mr. Bryon Smith Page 2 February 28, 2012

We will send you two copies of the staff report no later than Wednesday, March 7, 2012. When you receive the staff report, please ensure that a copy of the completed Application for Staff Assistance and the staff report are available for review, pursuant to Rule 25-22.0407(9)(b), F.A.C., by all interested persons at the following location:

Grenelefe Resort Utility, Inc. 3013 Camelot Drive Haines City, FL 33844

For your convenience, I have also enclosed a copy of Rule 25-22.0407, F.A.C. Should you have any questions about any of the matters contained herein, please do not hesitate to contact me at (850) 413-6191. In addition, you may contact Avy Smith at (850) 413-6425, with any questions.

Sineerel 82 Lee Eng Tan Senior Attorney

Enclosures

TLT/as

cc: Division of Economic Regulation (Maurey, Smith, Daniel, Fletcher, Hudson, Simpson)
Office of General Counsel (Teitzman, Tan)
Office of Commission Clerk (Docket No. 110141-WS)

00

BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

NOTICE OF CUSTOMER MEETING

TO THE CUSTOMERS OF GRENELEFE RESORT UTILITY, INC.

AND

ALL OTHER INTERESTED PERSONS

DOCKET NO. 110141-WS

APPLICATION OF GRENELEFE RESORT UTILITY, INC.

FOR A STAFF-ASSISTED RATE CASE IN

POLK COUNTY

Issued:

Notice is hereby given that the staff of the Florida Public Service Commission (Commission) will conduct a customer meeting to discuss the application of Grenelefe Resort Utility, Inc. (Grenelefe or Utility) for a staff-assisted rate case (SARC) in Polk County. The meeting will be held at the following time and place:

6:00 p.m., Thursday March 22, 2012 Grenelefe Resort Golf Clubhouse 3200 State Route 544 Haines City, FL 33844

All persons who wish to comment are urged to be present at the beginning of the meeting, since the meeting may be adjourned early if no customers are present. One or more of the Commissioners of the Commission may attend and participate in this meeting. The meeting will begin as scheduled and will continue until all the customers have been heard.

If a named storm or other disaster requires cancellation of the meeting, Commission staff will attempt to give timely direct notice to the parties. Notice of the cancellation of the meeting will also be provided on the Commission's website (http://www.psc.state.fl.us/) under the Hot Topics link found on the home page. Cancellation can also be confirmed by calling the Commission's Office of the General Counsel at (850) 413-6199.

Any person requiring some accommodation at the customer meeting(s) because of a physical impairment should call the Office of Commission Clerk at (850) 413-6770 at least five calendar days prior to the meeting(s). Any person who is hearing or speech impaired should contact the Commission by using the Florida Relay Service, which can be reached at 1-800-955-8771 (TDD).

PURPOSE

The purpose of this meeting is to give customers and other interested persons an opportunity to offer comments to Commission staff regarding the quality of service the Utility provides, the proposed rate increase, and to ask questions and comment on staff's preliminary rates included in this notice as well as other issues. Staff members will summarize Grenelefe's proposed filing, the preliminary work accomplished, and answer questions to the extent possible. A representative from the Utility has also been invited to respond to questions.

At the beginning of the meeting, procedures will be established for the order of comments. Commission Staff will have sign-up sheets, and customers will be called to speak in the order that they sign up. Staff will be available to coordinate customers' comments and to assist members of the public.

Any person who wishes to comment or provide information to staff may do so at the meetings, orally or in writing. Written comments may also be sent to the Commission at the address given at the end of this notice. Your letter will be placed in the correspondence file of this docket. You may also submit comments through the Commission's toll-free facsimile line at 1-800-511-0809.

BACKGROUND

Grenelefe Resort Utility, Inc. (Grenelefe or Utility) is a Class C utility serving approximately 1,367 water customers and 1,210 wastewater customers in Polk County. The Utility applied for a staff-assisted rate increase on May 10, 2011. The test year for setting rates is the twelve-month period ended March 31, 2011. According to Grenelefe's 2010 annual report, gross revenues were \$301,326 for water and \$169,616 for wastewater, and operating expenses were \$279,614 and \$226,318, respectively.

CURRENT AND PRELIMINARY RATES AND CHARGES

Staff has compiled the following rates and charges for the purpose of discussion at the customer meeting. These rates are preliminary and subject to change based on information gathered at the customer meeting, further staff review, and the final decision by the Commission. The Utility's current, and staff's preliminary rates and charges, are as follows:

GRENELEFE RESORT UTILITY, INC. MONTHLY WATER RATES	ከሰርነ	KET NO 110141 33
	DOCKET NO. 110141-W: UTILITY'S STAFF	
	EXISTING	STAFF RECOMMENDED RATES
	RATES	
Base Facility Charge by Meter Size:	101110	
General Service, Multi-Residential, Potable		
Irrigation for GS		
5/8" X 3/4"	\$5.98	\$6.3
3/4"	N/A	\$9.5
1"	\$14.94	\$15.9
1-1/2"	\$29.88	\$31.9
2"	\$47.80	\$51.0
3"	\$95.60	\$102.0
4" 	\$149.36	\$159.5
6"	\$298.73	\$319.0
General Service Gallonage Charge		
Per 1,000 Gallons	\$0.78	\$2.0
Residential Service		
5/8" X 3/4"	\$5.98	\$6.3
3/4"	N/A	\$9.5
1"	\$14.94	\$15.9
1-1/2"	\$29.88	\$31.9
2"	N/A	\$51.04
3"	N/A	\$102.08
4"	N/A	\$159.50
6"	N/A	\$319.00
Residential Service Gallonage Charge		45 17.00
0 - 10,000 Gallons	\$0.78	\$3.36
10,000 -35,000 Gallons	\$1.56	N/A
35,000+ Gallons	\$2.34	N/A
0 - 5,000 Gallons	N/A	\$1.45
5,000 - 10,000 Gallons	N/A	\$1.86
10,000 - 15,000 Gallons	N/A	\$2.79
15,000+ Gallons	N/A	\$3.72

.

MONTHLY WATER RATES cont.		1	DOCKET NO. 110141-W
	UTILITY'S	STAFF	
	EXISTING	RECOMMENDED	
	RATES	RATES	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
RS Irrigation Service (Potable Water)			
All meter sizes	\$5.98	N/A	
5/8" X 3/4"	N/A	\$6.38	
3/4"	N/A	\$9.57	
1"	N/A	\$15.95	
1-1/2"	N/A	\$31.90	
2"	N/A	\$51.04	
3"	N/A	\$102.08	,
4"	N/A	\$159.50	
6"	N/A	\$319.00	
Irrigation Service Gallonage Charge (Potable V	Vater)		
0 - 25,000 Gallons	\$1.56	N/A	
25,001+ Gallons	\$2.34	N/A	
0 - 5,000 Gallons	N/A	\$1.45	
5,000 - 10,000 Gallons	N/A	\$1.86	
10,000 - 15,000 Gallons	N/A	\$2.79	
15,000+ Gallons	N/A	\$3.72	
Irrigation Service (Non-Potable Water)			
5/8" X 3/4"	\$3.07	\$3.07	
1"	\$7.68	\$7.68	
1-1/2"	\$15.37	\$15.37	
2"	\$24.59	\$24.59	
Staff's recommended rates for Irrigation Ser	_		
Irrigation Service (Non-Potable Water)	Base Rate	<u>Usage \$/Kgals</u>	Inverted Rate
5/8" X 3/4"	\$3.07	\$0.66 to 50 Kgals	\$2.34 > 50Kga
1"	\$7.68	\$0.66 to 125 Kgals	\$2.34 > 125Kga
1-1/2"	\$15.37	\$0.66 to 250 Kgals	\$2.34 > 250Kga
2"	\$24.59	\$0.66 to 400 Kgals	\$2.34 > 400Kga
Typical Residential 5/8" x 3/4" Meter Bill Com	parison		
3,000 Gallons	\$8.32	\$10.73	
5,000 Gallons	\$9.88	\$13.63	
10,000 Gallons	\$13.78	\$22.93	

-4-

GRENELEFE RESORT UTILITY, INC.				
MONTHLY WASTEWATER RATES	DOCI	DOCKET NO. 110141-WS		
	UTILITY'S	STAFF RECOMMENDED RATES		
	EXISTING RATES			
			Residential Service	
Base Facility Charge All Meter Sizes	\$3,54	\$8.35		
Gallonage Charge				
Per 1,000 Gallons (6,000 gallon cap)	\$1.62	\$3,1		
General Service				
Base Facility Charge by Meter Size:				
5/8"X3/4"	\$3.54	\$8.3		
3/4"	\$5.31	\$12.53		
1	\$8.85	\$20.88		
1-1/2"	\$17.70	\$41.75		
2"	\$28.32	\$66.80		
3"	\$56.64	\$133.60		
4"	\$88.50	\$208.7		
6"	\$177.00	\$417.50		
Gallonage Charge per 1,000 gallons	\$1.94	\$3.80		
Typical Residential 5/8" x 3/4" Meter Bill Con	nparison			
3,000 Gallons	\$8.40	\$17.86		
5,000 Gallons	\$11.64	\$24.20		
10,000 Gallons	\$19.74	\$40.05		

STAFF REPORTS AND UTILITY APPLICATION

The results of staff's preliminary investigation are contained in a staff report dated March 7, 2012. Copies of the report may be examined by interested members of the public from 9:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday at the following location:

Grenelefe Resort Utility, Inc. 3013 Camelot Drive Haines City, FL 33844

PROCEDURES AFTER CUSTOMER MEETING

After the customer meeting, Commission staff will prepare a recommendation which is scheduled to be submitted to the Commission on May 10, 2012. The Commission will then vote on staff's recommendation at its May 22, 2012 Commission Conference. The Commission will thereafter issue a proposed agency action (PAA) order containing rates which may be different from those contained in staff's final recommendation. Substantially affected persons have 21 days from the date that the PAA order is issued to protest the Commission's PAA order. Five to ten customers or persons who attend the meeting, and who wish to receive a copy of the recommendation and the order should so indicate at the meeting. Those individuals are expected to distribute the information in the recommendation and the order to other customers. Anyone who is unable to attend and who wishes to obtain a copy of the recommendation or the order may do so in writing to the Commission at the address at the end of this notice.

HOW TO CONTACT THE COMMISSION

Written comments regarding the Utility and the proposed rates, and requests to be placed on the mailing list for this case, may be directed to this address:

> Director, Office of Commission Clerk Florida Public Service Commission 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard Tallahassee, FL 32399-0850

All correspondence should refer to "Docket No. 110141-WS, Grenelefe Resort Utility, Inc." If you wish to contact the Commission regarding complaints about service, you may call the Commission's Division of Service, Safety and Consumer Assistance at the following toll-free number: 1-800-342-3552. This notice was prepared by Commission staff for distribution by the Utility to its customers.

25-22.0407 Notice of and Public Information for General Rate Increase Requests by Water and Wastewater Utilities.

(1) This rule applies to all requests for general rate increases made by water and wastewater utilities.

(2) Upon filing a petition for a general rate increase, the utility shall mail a copy of the petition to the chief executive officer of the governing body of each municipality and county within the service areas included in the rate request. Each copy of the petition shall be accompanied by a statement that a copy of the minimum filing requirements (MFRs) when accepted by the Commission can be obtained from the petitioner upon request.

(3) Within 30 days after the official date of filing established by the Commission, the utility shall place a copy of the petition and the MFRs at its official headquarters and at any business offices it has in the service areas included in the rate request. Such copies shall be available for public inspection during the utility's regular business hours. If the utility does not have a business office in a service area included in its rate request, the utility shall place a copy of the petition and the MFRs at the main county library, the local community center or other appropriate location which is within or most convenient to the service area and which is willing to accept and provide public access to the copies. If the Commission determines that these locations will not provide adequate access, the Commission will require that copies of the petition and MFRs be placed at other specified locations.

(4)(a) Within 30 days after the official date of filing established by the Commission, the utility shall place a copy of its rate case synopsis at all locations where copies of the petition and MFRs were placed.

(b) Within 30 days after the official date of filing established by the Commission, the utility shall mail a copy of its rate case synopsis to the chief executive officer of the governing body of each municipality and county within the service areas included in the rate request.

(c) The utility's rate case synopsis shall be approved by the Commission staff prior to distribution and shall include the following:

1. A summary of the section of the MFRs showing a comparison of the present and proposed rates and charges:

2. A statement of the general reasons for the rate request;

3. A statement of any anticipated major issues involved in the rate case;

4. A description of the ratemaking process and the time schedule established for the rate case; and

5. The locations where complete MFRs are available.

(5)(a) Within 50 days after the official date of filing established by the Commission, the utility shall provide, in writing, an initial customer notice to all customers within the service areas included in the rate request and to all persons in the same service areas who have filed a written request for service or who have been provided a written estimate for service within the 12 calendar months prior to the month the petition is filed.

(b) The initial customer notice shall be approved by Commission staff prior to distribution and shall include the following:

1. The date the notice was issued;

2. A statement that the utility has filed a rate request with the Commission and a statement of the general reasons for the request;

3. A statement of the locations where copies of the MFRs, petition, and rate case synopsis are available for public inspection and the hours and days when inspection may be made;

4. The time schedule established for the case, including the dates, times, and locations of any hearings scheduled;

5. A comparison of current rates and charges and the proposed new rates and charges;

6. The utility's address, telephone number, and business hours;

7. A statement that written comments regarding utility service or the proposed rates and charges should be addressed to the Office of Commission Clerk, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0870, and that such comments should identify the docket number assigned to the proceeding;

8. A statement that complaints regarding service may be made to the Commission's Division of Service, Safety & Consumer Assistance at the following toll-free number: 1(800)342-3552; and

9. If the utility has not requested a change in its service availability charges as part of its rate request, a statement that the Commission will be reviewing the utility's service availability charges in the pending rate case and that the Commission may adjust those charges.

10. The docket number assigned by the Commission's Office of Commission Clerk.

(c) The initial customer notice shall be mailed to the out-of-town address of all customers who have provided the utility with an out-of-town address.

(6)(a) No less than 14 days and no more than 30 days prior to the date of each service hearing, in those cases where the Commission has scheduled a service hearing, the utility shall provide written notice of the date, time, location, and purpose of the service hearing to all customers within service areas designated by the prehearing officer or the Commission staff. The notice shall be approved by the Commission staff prior to distribution. The notice shall be mailed to the out-of-town address of all customers who have provided the utility with an out-of-town address.

(b) No less than 14 days and no more than 30 days prior to the date of the hearing, in all cases, including those in which the Commission has scheduled a service hearing, the utility shall provide written notice of the date, time, location, and purpose of the hearing to all customers within the service areas included in the rate request. The notice shall be approved by Commission staff prior to distribution. The notice shall be mailed to the out-of-town address of all customers who have provided the utility with an out-of-town address.

(7) No less than 14 days and no more than 30 days prior to the date of each hearing held in or near a utility service area included in the rate request, the utility shall have published in a newspaper of general circulation in the area in which such hearing is to be held a display advertisement stating the date, time, location, and purpose of the hearing. The notice shall be approved by Commission staff prior to publication.

(8) When a utility files for a petition for a general rate increase and requests that its case be processed as proposed agency action in accordance with Section 367.081(8), Florida Statutes, the utility shall comply with the requirements of subsections (2), (3), (4) and (5) of this rule.

(a) No less than 14 days and no more than 30 days prior to the date of a customer meeting conducted by the Commission staff, the utility shall provide written notice of the date, time, location, and purpose of the customer meeting to all customers within service areas designated by the Commission staff. The notice shall be approved by Commission staff prior to distribution. The notice shall be mailed to the out-of-town address of all customers who have provided the utility with an out-of-town address.

(b) If the proposed agency action order issued in the case is protested and any hearings are subsequently held, the utility shall give notice in accordance with subsections (6) and (7) above.

(9) When a utility applies for a staff-assisted rate case in accordance with Section 367.0814, Florida Statutes, and Rule 25-30.455, F.A.C., and staff-assistance is granted, the requirements of subsections (2), (3), (4), and (5) of this rule shall not apply.

(a) Upon receipt of the staff reports, the utility shall place two copies of its application for staff-assistance and the staff reports at any business offices it has in its service area. Such copies shall be available for public inspection during the utility's regular business hours. If the utility does not have a business office in its service area, the utility shall place two copies of its application and the staff reports at the main county library, the local community center or other appropriate location that is within or most convenient to the service area and that is willing to accept and provide public access to the copies.

(b) No less than 14 days and no more than 30 days prior to the date of a customer meeting conducted by the Commission staff, the utility shall provide, in writing, a customer meeting notice to all customers within its service area and to all persons in the same service areas who have filed a written request for service or who have been provided a written estimate for service within the 12 calendar months prior to the month the petition is filed.

(c) The customer meeting notice shall be approved by the Commission staff prior to distribution and shall include the following:

1. The date the notice was issued;

2. The time, date, location, and purpose of the customer meeting;

3. A statement that the utility has applied for a staff-assisted rate case and the general reasons for doing so;

4. A statement of the location where copies of the application and the staff reports are available for public inspection and the times during which inspection may be made;

5. A comparison of current rates and charges and the proposed new rates and charges;

6. The utility's address, telephone number, and business hours;

7. A statement that written comments regarding utility service or the proposed rates and charges should be addressed to the Office of Commission Clerk, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0870, and that such comments should identify the docket number assigned to the proceeding;

8. A statement that complaints regarding service may be made to the Commission's Division of Service, Safety & Consumer Assistance at the following toll-free number: 1(800)342-3552.

9. A statement that the Commission will be reviewing the utility's service availability charges in the pending case and that the Commission may adjust those charges.

10. The docket number assigned by the Commission's Office of Commission Clerk.

(d) The customer meeting notice shall be mailed to the out-of-town address of all customers who have provided the utility with an out-of-town address.

(e) If the proposed agency action order issued in the case is protested and any hearings are subsequently held, the utility shall give notice in accordance with subsections (6) and (7) above.

(10) After the Commission issues an order granting or denying a rate change, the utility shall notify its customers of the order and any revised rates. The customer notification shall be approved by Commission staff and be distributed no later than with the first bill containing any revised rates.

Specific Authority 350.127(2), 367.121(1)(f) FS. Law Implemented 120.569, 120.57, 367.081(2)(a), 367.0814(1), 367.0817, 367.091, 367.121(1)(a) FS. History-New 5-27-93, Amended 5-3-99.