State of Florida



Public Service Commission

CAPITAL CIRCLE OFFICE CENTER • 2540 SHUMARD OAK BOULEVARD TALLAHASSEE, FLORIDA 32399-0850

-M-E-M-O-R-A-N-D-U-M-

DATE:

May 2, 2012

TO:

Ann Cole, Commission Clerk, Office of Commission Clerk

FROM:

Rosann Gervasi, Senior Attorney, Office of the General Counsel

RE:

Docket No. 120043-TP



Please file the attached rule certification packet for Rule 25-4.160, F.A.C., in the docket file listed above.

Thank you.

Attachment

COOLWENT ALMBER -DATE

02813 MAY-22

22-18H 2 1870

COMMISSIONERS: RONALD A. BRISÉ, CHAIRMAN LISA POLAK EDGAR ART GRAHAM EDUARDO E. BALBIS JULIE I. BROWN





GENERAL COUNSEL S. CURTIS KISER : (850) 413-6199

VIA HAND DELIVERY

Hublic Service Commission

May 2, 2012

Ms. Liz Cloud Florida Department of State Administrative Code and Weekly Section R. A. Gray Bldg., Suite 101 Tallahassee, FL 32399-0250

Re: Rule Certification Packet for Rule 25-4.160, F.A.C.

Dear Ms. Cloud:

Enclosed for filing is a complete rule certification packet for Rule 25-4.160, F.A.C., consisting of:

- (1) One compact disc containing the coded text of the rule;
- (2) There are no materials incorporated by reference into this rule;
- (3) One original and two copies of the signed rule certification form;
- One original and two copies of the coded text of the rule, including the legal citations and history notes;
- (5) One original and two copies of the summary of the rule;
- (6) One original and two copies of the detailed written statement of the facts and circumstances justifying the rule; and
- (7) One original and two copies of the summary of the hearings held on the rule.

02813 MAY-2 2

Ms. Liz Cloud May 2, 2012 Page 2

Please let me know if you have any questions. The contact name and information for this rule are Rosanne Gervasi, Florida Public Service Commission, Office of General Counsel, 2540 Shumard Oak Blvd., Tallahassee, FL 32399-0850, 413-6224, rgervasi@psc.state.fl.us.

Sincerely,

Rosanne Gervasi Senior Attorney

Enclosures

CERTIFICATION OF FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION ADMINISTRATIVE RULES FILED WITH THE DEPARTMENT OF STATE

I hereby certify:

- [X] (1) That all statutory rulemaking requirements of Chapter 120, F.S., and all rulemaking requirements of the Department of State have been complied with; and
- [X] (2) That there is no administrative determination under Section 120.56(2), F.S., pending on any rule covered by this certification; and
- [X] (3) All rules covered by this certification are filed within the prescribed time limitations of Section 120.54(3)(e), F.S. They are filed not less than 28 days after the notice required by Section 120.54(3)(a), F.S.; and
 - [X] (a) Are filed not more than 90 days after the notice; or
- [] (b) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but not more than 60 days after the administrative law judge files the final order with the clerk or until 60 days after subsequent judicial review is complete; or
- [] (c) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but not less than 21 days nor more than 45 days from the date of publication of the notice of change; or
- [] (d) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but not less than 14 nor more than 45 days after the adjournment of the final public hearing on the rule; or
- [] (e) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but within 21 days after the date of receipt of all material authorized to be submitted at the hearing; or
- [] (f) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but within 21 days after the date the transcript was received by this agency; or
- [] (g) Are filed not more than 90 days after the notice, not including days the adoption of the rule was postponed following notification from the Joint Administrative Procedures Committee that an objection to the rule was being considered; or
- [] (h) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but within 21 days after a good faith written proposal for a lower cost regulatory alternative to a proposed rule is submitted which substantially accomplishes the objectives of the law being implemented; or
- [] (i) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but within 21 days after a regulatory alternative is offered by the Small Business Regulatory Advisory Committee.

Attached are the original and two copies of each rule covered by this certification. The rules are hereby adopted by the undersigned agency by and upon their filing with the Department of State.

Rule No.

25-4.160, F.A.C.

Pursuant to Section 120.54(3)(e)6., F.S., the rules take effect 20 days from the date filed with the Department of State or a later date as set out below:

Effective:

ANN COLE
Commission Clerk

Number of Pages Certified:

25-4.160 Operation of Telecommunications Relay Service.

- (1) For intrastate toll calls received from the relay service, each local exchange and interexchange telecommunications company billing relay calls shall discount relay service calls by 50 percent off of the otherwise applicable rate for a voice nonrelay call except that where either the calling or called party indicates that either party is both deaf or hard of hearing and visually impaired, the call shall be discounted 60 percent off of the otherwise applicable rate for a voice nonrelay call. The above discounts apply only to time-sensitive elements of a charge for the call and shall not apply to per call charges such as a credit card surcharge. In the case of a tariff which includes either a discount based on number of minutes or the purchase of minutes in blocks, the discount shall be calculated by discounting the minutes of relay use before the tariffed rate is applied.
- (2) When a local exchange telecommunications company passes a call to the Florida relay service provider, it shall also forward the calling party's originating telephone number if the calling party's central office has that capability.
- (3) To fund the telecommunications access system established under Part II of Chapter 427, F.S., all local exchange telecommunications companies shall impose a monthly surcharge on all local exchange telecommunications company subscribers, excluding federal, and state, and county agencies, on an individual access line basis, except that such surcharge shall not be imposed upon more than 25 basic telecommunications access lines per account bill rendered.
- (a) A local exchange telecommunications company shall consider an account bill rendered in a manner consistent with its billing practices for other telecommunications services.
- (b) Except as otherwise provided by law, the surcharge billed by the local exchange telecommunications companies is not subject to any sales, use, franchise, income, municipal utility, gross receipts, or any other tax, fee, or assessment, nor shall it be considered revenue of the local exchange telecommunications companies for any purpose.
- (c) All local exchange telecommunications companies shall include the surcharge as a part of the local service charge that appears on the customer's bill except that the surcharge may be itemized if a company monthly itemizes all local service charges. However, the local exchange telecommunications company shall itemize the surcharge on the initial bill to the subscriber and itemize it at least once annually. The local exchange telecommunications company may deduct and retain 1 percent of the total surcharge amount collected each month to recover the billing, collecting, remitting, and administrative costs attributed to the surcharge. All moneys received by the local exchange telecommunications company, less the authorized amount retained, shall be submitted so as to be received by the

Administrator within fifteen days after the end of the previous month. Each local exchange telecommunications company shall follow the same procedures for collecting this surcharge as for collecting for other regulated telecommunications services.

(4) For purposes of this part, the term "local exchange telecommunications company" shall be defined in Section
427.703(7), F.S. The term shall include shared tenant service providers and competitive local exchange companies
Rulemaking Authority 350.127(2), 427.704(8) FS. Law Implemented 427.704(4),(5) FS. History-New 9-16-92,
Amended 4-8-98,

SUMMARY OF THE RULE

Rule 25-4.160, F.A.C., currently excludes federal and state agencies from paying the Telecommunications Access System Act (TASA) surcharge as set forth in the rule. This rule amendment clarifies that county agencies are also excluded from paying the TASA surcharge. Moreover, the rule currently refers to persons who are hearing impaired. The rule amendment changes that reference to persons who are deaf or hard of hearing.

WRITTEN STATEMENT OF THE FACTS AND CIRCUMSTANCES JUSTIFYING THE RULE

It has come to the Commission's attention that some counties were paying the TASA surcharge as set forth in Rule 25-4.160, F.A.C., and some were not. This rule amendment clarifies that county agencies are excluded from paying the TASA surcharge. The amended rule also refers to persons who are deaf or hard of hearing, as opposed to "hearing impaired." According to the National Association of the Deaf, this terminology is the overwhelming preference of people who are deaf or hard of hearing.

SUMMARY OF ANY HEARINGS HELD ON THE RULE

No timely request for a hearing was received by the agency, and no hearing was held.

2012 MAY - 2 - AH II: 25