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STATE OF FLoRIDA 
CoMMISSIONERS: GENERAL COUNSEL 
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ART GRAHAM 
EDUARDO E. BALBIS 
JULIE I. BROWN 

'uhlic~.erfrice QIommizzinn 
January IS, 2013 

Ms. Liz Cloud VIA HAND DELIVERY 
Florida Department of State 
Administrative Code and "Weekly Section 
Room 701, the Capitol 
Tallahassee, FL 32399·02S0 

Re: Rule Certification Packet for Rules 25-6.050 and 25-6.100, F.A.C. 

o6:::3Dear Ms. Cloud: 
::;:Q: "'l~; (]1 

::::~ 	 U1 
Enclosed for filing is a complete rule certification packet for Rules 2S-6.0S0"and 2S-6.100, 

F.A.C., consisting of: 

(1) 	 One compact disc containing the coded text ofthe rules; 

(2) 	 There are no materials incorporated by reference into these rules; 

(3) 	 One original and two copies ofthe signed rule certification form; 

(4) 	 One original and two copies ofthe coded text ofthe rules, including the legal citations 
and history notes; 

(S) 	 One original and two copies ofthe summary ofthe rules; 

(6) 	 One original and two copies of the detailed written statement of the facts and 
circumstances justifying the rules; and 

(7) 	 One original and two copies ofthe summary ofthe hearings held on the rules. 
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Please let me know if you have any qu~stions. The contact name and infonnation for these 
rules are Cindy Miller, Florida Public Service Commission, Office of General Counsel, 2540 
Shumard Oak Blvd., Tallahassee, FL 32399-0250, (850) 413-6082, cmiller@Psc.state.fl.us. 

Sincerely, 

4~ 

Cindy Miller 
Senior Attorney 

Enclosures 

mailto:cmiller@Psc.state.fl.us


CERTIFICATION OF FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 


ADMINISTRATIVE RULES FILED WITH THE DEPARTMENT OF STATE 


I hereby certify: 

[xl (1) That all statutory rulemaking requirements of Chapter 120, F.S., and all rule making requirements of 

the Department of State have been complied with; and 

[x] (2) That there is no administrative determination under Section 120.56(2), F.S., pending on any rule 

covered by this certification; and 

[xl (3) All rules covered by this certification are filed within the prescribed time limitations of Section 

120.54(3)(e), F.S. They are filed not less than 28 days after the notice required by Section 120.54(3)(a), F.S.; and 

[xl (a) Are filed not more than 90 days after the notice; or 

[ ] (b) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but not more than 60 days after the administrative law 

judge files the fmal order with the clerk or until 60 days after subsequent judicial review is complete; or 

[ ] (c) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but not less than 21 days nor more than 45 days from the 

date of publication of the notice ofchange; or 

[ 1 (d) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but not less than 14 nor more than 45 days after the 

adjournment of the final public hearing on the rule; or 

[ 1 (e) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but within 21 days after the date ofreceipt of all 

material authorized to be submitted at the hearing; or 

[ 1 (f) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but within 21 days after the date the transcript was 

received by this agency; or 

[ 1 (g) Are filed not more than 90 days after the notice, not including days the adoption of the rule was 

postponed following notification from the Joint Administrative Procedures Committee that an objection to the rule 

was being considered; or 

[ ] (h) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but within 21 days after a good faith written proposal 

for a lower cost regulatory alternative to a proposed rule is submitted which substantially accomplishes the 

objectives of the law being implemented; or 

[] (i) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but within 21 days after a regulatory alternative is 

offered by the Small Business Regulatory Advisory Committee. 



---------------------

Attached are the original and tWo copies of each rule covered by this certification. The rules are hereby adopted by 

the undersigned agency by and upon their filing with the Department of State. 

Rule Nos. 

25-6.050 

25-6.100 

Under the provision of Section 120.54(3)(e)6., F.S., the rules take effect 20 days from the date filed with the 

Department of State or a later date as set out below: 

Effective: _~_~:-:--:-:_-:--__ 

~@~W) 

ANN COLE 

Commission Clerk 
Title 

Number of Pages Certified 



25-6.050 Location of Meters. 

The utility shall designate to an applicant or its customers the location for meter placement. Locations of 

meters shall sI!:eHlEl-be easily accessible for reading, testing, and making necessary adjustments and repairs. 

If an applicant requests a different location for meter placement from that designated by the utility on initial 

application for service and the utility agrees that the different meter location is acceptable to the utility, the 

applicant shall pay the incremental cost of installing the meter at the different location. Ifan existing 

customer reguests relocation of an existing installed meter and the utility agrees that the different meter 

location is acceptable to the utility. the existing customer shall pay the incremental cost ofrelocating the 

meter at the different location. 

Specific Authority 366.05(1) FS. Law Implemented 366.05(1) FS. History-New 7-29-69, Amended 

Formerly 25-6.50. 

25-6.100 Customer Billings. 

(1) Bills shall be rendered monthly and as promptly as possible following the reading of meters. 

(2) By January 1, 1983, each customer's bill shall show at least the following information: 

(a) The meter reading and the date the meter is read, in addition to the meter reading for the previous 

period. Ifthe meter reading is estimated, the word "estimated" shall be prominently displayed on the bill. 

(b) 1. Kilowatt-hours (KWH) consumed including on and off peak if customer is time-of-day metered. 

2. Kilowatt (KW) demand, if applicable, including on and off peak ifcustomer is time-of-day metered. 

(c) The dollar amount of the bill, including separately: 

1. Customer charge. 

2. Energy (KWH) charge, exclusive of fuel, in cents per KWH, including amounts for on and offpeak if the 

customer is time-of-day metered, and energy conservation costs. 

3. Demand (KW) charge, exclusive of fuel, in dollar cost per KW, if applicable, including amounts for on 

and off peak if the customer is time-of-day metered. 

4. Fuel cost in cents per KWH (no fuel costs shall be included in the base charge for demand or energy). 

5. Total electric cost which is the sum of the customer charge, total fuel cost, total energy cost, and total 

demand cost. 

6. Franchise fees, if applicable. 



7. Taxes, as applicable on purchases of electricity by the customer. 

S. Any discount or penalty, if applicable. 

9. Past due balances shown separately. 

10. The gross and net billing, if applicable. 

(d) Identification of the applicable rate schedule. 

(e) The date by which payment must be made in order to benefit from any discount or avoid any penalty, if 

applicable. 

(f) The average daily KWH consumption for the current period and for the same period in the previous 

year) for the same customer at the same location. 

(g) The delinquent date or the date after which the bill becomes past due. 

(h) Any conversion factors which can be used by customers to convert from meter reading units to billing 

units. Where metering complexity makes this requirement impractical, a statement must be on the bill 

advising that such information may be obtained by contacting the utility's local business office. 

(i) Where budget billing is used, the bill shall contain the current month's consumption and charges 

separately from budgeted amounts. 

(j) The name and address of the utility plus the toll-free number(s) where customers can receive 

information about their bill as well as locations where the customers can pay their utility bill. Such 

information must identify those locations where no surcharge is incurred. eadfess ana telephoae m:tmber of 

the leea! effie, where the bill ean be paia and any qaestieas aeeat the bill ean be answered. 

(3) When there is sufficient cause, estimated bills may be submitted provided that with the third 

consecutive estimated bill the company shall contact the customer explaining the reason for the estimated 

billing and who to contact in order to obtain an actual meter reading. An actual meter reading must be taken 

at least once every six inonths. If an estimated bill appears to be abnormal when a subsequent reading is 

obtained, the bill for the entire period shall be computed at a rate which contemplates the use of service 

during the entire period and the estimated bill shall be deducted. If there is reasonable evidence that such 

use occurred during only one billing period, the bill shall be computed. 

(4) The regular meter reading date may be advanced or postponed not more than five days without a pro­

ration of the billing for the period. 



(5) Whenever the period of service for which an initial or opening bill is rendered is less than the normal 

billing period, the charges applicable to such service, including minimum charges, shall be pro-rated except 

that initial or opening bills need not be rendered but the energy used during such period may be carried 

over to and included in the next regular monthly billing. 

(6) The practices employed by each utility regarding customer billing shall have uniform application to all 

customers on the same rate schedule. 

(7) Franchise Fees. 

(a) When a municipality charges a utility any franchise fee, the utility may collect that fee only from its 

customers receiving service within that municipality. When a county charges a utility any franchise fee, the 

utility may collect that fee only from its customers receiving service within that county. 

(b) A utility may not incorporate any franchise fee into its other rates for service. 

(c) For the purposes of this subsection, the term "utility" shall mean any electric utility, rural electric 

cooperative, or municipal electric utility. 

(d) This subsection shall not be construed as granting a municipality or county the authority to charge a 

franchise fee. This subsection only specifies the method of collection of a franchise fee, if a municipality or 

county, having authority to do so, charges a franchise fee. 

Specific Authority 366.05(1), 366.04(2) FS. Law Implemented 366.03, 366.04(2), 366.041(1), 366.051, 

366.06(1) FS. History-New 2-25-76, Amended 4-13-80, 12-29-81,6-28-82,5-16-83......____ 



SUMMARY OF THE RULE 


Rule 25-6.050, Location of Meters, clarifies that applicants for electric service who request a different 

meter location than that designated by the utility must pay the incremental cost of the meter installation. Rule 25­

6.100, Customer Billing, requires the utilities to provide a toll free number where customers may receive 

information about their bill and about locations where customers may pay their bills. 

WRITTEN STATEMENT OF THE FACTS AND CIRCUMSTANCES JUSTIFYING THE RULE 

Rule 25-6.050, F.A.C., is amended to address circumstances when a customer requests a different location 

of a utility meter. Also, Rule 25-6.100, F.A.C., regarding customer billing, refers to local offices where a customer 

may receive information about a bill. However, those offices are being phased out. Instead, a toll free number is 

provided for information. 

SUMMARY OF ANY HEARINGS HELD ON THE RULE 

No timely request for a hearing was received by the agency, and no hearing was held. 


