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NOTICE OF ADOPTION OF RULES 
 
BY THE COMMISSION: 
 
 NOTICE is hereby given that pursuant to Section 120.54, Florida Statutes, the Florida 
Public Service Commission has adopted Rule 25-30.455, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.), 
Staff Assistance in Rate Cases, Rule 25-30.456, F.A.C., Staff Assistance in Alternative Rate 
Setting, and Rule 25-30.457, F.A.C., Limited Alternative Rate Increase. 
 
 The rules were filed with the Department of State on July 21, 2014, and will be effective 
on August 10, 2014.   A copy of the rules as filed with the Department is attached to this Notice. 
 
 This docket is closed upon issuance of this Notice. 
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By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission this 23rd day of b:!ly, 2014. 
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25-30.455 Staff Assistance in Rate Cases. 

(1) Water and wastewater utilities whose total gross annual operating revenues are $275,000 $250,000 or less for 

water service or $275,000 $250,000 or less for wastewater service, or $550,000 $500,000 or less on a combined 

basis, may petition the Commission for staff assistance in rate applications by submitting a completed staff assisted 

rate case application. In accordance with Section 367.0814(4), F.S., a utility that requests staff assistance waives its 

right to protest by agreeing to accept the final rates and charges approved by the Commission unless the final rates 

and charges would produce less revenue than the existing rates and charges. If a utility that chooses to utilize the 

staff assistance option employs outside experts to assist in developing information for staff or to assist in evaluating 

staff’s schedules and conclusions, the reasonable and prudent expense will be recoverable through the rates 

developed by staff. A utility that chooses not to exercise the option of staff assistance may file for a rate increase 

under the provisions of Rule 25-30.443, F.A.C. 

(2) The appropriate application form, Commission Form PSC/AFD 2-W (11/86) (Rev. 06/14), entitled “Application 

for a Staff Assisted Rate Case,” is incorporated into this rule by reference and is available at: 

http://www.flrules.org/Gateway/reference.asp?No=Ref-04415. Upon request, the Division of Accounting and 

Finance shall provide the potential applicant with the appropriate application form, Commission Form PSC/AFD 2-

W (Rev. 11/86), “Application for Staff Assisted Rate Case”, which is incorporated by reference in this rule, and a 

copy of Rule 25-30.455, F.A.C., governing staff assisted rate cases. The form may also be obtained from the 

Commission’s Division of Accounting and Finance, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-

0850. 

(3) Upon completion of the form, the applicant shall file it with petitioner may return it to the Office of Commission 

Clerk, Florida Public Service Commission, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0870. 

(4) Upon receipt of a completed application, the Office of Commission Clerk shall acknowledge its receipt, assign a 

docket number for identification, and shall forward the application to a committee comprised of one member each of 

the Commission’s Divisions of Accounting and Finance, Office of Auditing and Performance Analysis, and Office 

of General Counsel. 

(4)(5) Within 30 days of receipt of the completed application, the Commission will committee shall evaluate the 

application and determine the applicant’s petitioner’s eligibility for staff assistance. 
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(a) If the Commission has received four or more applications in the previous 30 days; or, if the Commission has 20 

or more docketed staff assisted rate cases in active status on the date the application is received, the Commission 

will shall deny initial evaluation of an application for staff assistance and close the docket. When an application is 

denied under the provisions of this paragraph subsection, the Commission will notify the applicant shall be notified 

of the date on which the application may be resubmitted. 

(b) Initially, determinations of eligibility will may be conditional, pending an actual examination of the condition of 

the applicant’s petitioner’s books and records. After an initial determination of eligibility, the Office of Auditing and 

Performance Analysis committee shall examine the books and records of the utility before making a final 

determination of eligibility. 

(c) All recommendations of ineligibility shall be in writing and shall state the deficiencies in the application with 

reference to guidelines set out in subsection (8) of this rule. 

(5)(6) Upon making its final determination of eligibility, the Commission will notify the applicant in writing as to 

whether the application is officially accepted or denied.  Upon reaching a decision to officially accept or deny the 

application, the Deputy Executive Director, Technical shall notify the petitioner by letter and initiate staff assistance 

for the accepted applicant.  If the application is accepted, a staff assisted rate case will be initiated.  If the application 

is denied, the notification of application denial will state the deficiencies in the application with reference to the 

criteria set out in subsection (7) of this rule. 

(6)(7)The official date of filing will be 30 days after the date of the written notification to letter notifying the 

applicant of the Commission’s official acceptance of the application by the Commission. 

(7)(8) In determining arriving at a recommendation whether to grant or deny the application petition, the 

Commission will consider the following criteria: following shall be considered:  

(a) Whether the applicant petitioner qualifies for staff assistance pursuant to subsection (1) of this rule; 

(b) Whether the applicant’s petitioner’s books and records are organized consistent with Rule 25-30.110, F.A.C., so 

as to allow Ccommission personnel to verify costs and other relevant factors within the 30-day time frame set out in 

this rule; 

(c) Whether the applicant petitioner has filed annual reports; 

(d) Whether the applicant petitioner has paid applicable regulatory assessment fees; 
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(e) Whether the applicant petitioner has at least one year of 1 year’s actual experience in utility operation; 

(f) Whether the applicant petitioner has filed additional relevant information in support of eligibility, together with 

reasons why the information should be considered; and 

(g) Whether the utility was granted a rate case increase within the 2-year period prior to the receipt of the application 

under review. Whether the petitioner has complied in a timely manner with all Commission decisions and requests 

affecting water and wastewater utilities for 2 years prior to the filing of the application under review; 

(h) Whether the utility has applied for a staff assisted rate case within the 2-year period prior to the receipt of the 

application under review. 

(8)(9) The Commission will deny the application if the a utility does not remit the filing fee, as provided by Section 

367.145, F.S., and Rule paragraph 25-30.020(2)(f), F.A.C., within 30 days after official acceptance. 

(9)(10) An aggrieved applicant petitioner may request reconsideration of the application denial, which will shall be 

decided by the full Commission. 

(10)(11) A substantially affected person may file a petition to protest the Commission’s proposed agency action in a 

staff assisted rate case within 21 days of issuance of the Notice of Proposed Agency Action Order, as set forth in 

Rule 28-106.111 25-22.036, F.A.C. 

(11) A petition to protest the Commission’s proposed agency action shall conform to Rule 28-106.201, F.A.C. 

(12) In the event of a protest of the Commission’s Notice of Proposed Agency Action Order (PAA Order) in a staff 

assisted rate case, the utility shall: 

(a) Provide prefiled direct testimony in accordance with the Order Establishing Procedure procedural order issued in 

the case. At a minimum, that testimony shall adopt the Commission’s Proposed Agency Action PAA Order in the 

case; 

(b) Sponsor a witness to support source documentation provided to the Commission staff in its preparation of the 

staff audit, the staff engineering and accounting report and the staff proposed agency action PAA recommendation 

in the case; 

(c) Include in its testimony the necessary factual information to support its position on any issue that it chooses to 

take a position different than that contained in the Commission’s Proposed Agency Action PAA Order; and 

(d) Meet all other requirements of the Oorder Eestablishing Pprocedures. 
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(13) Failure to comply with the dates established in the Order Establishing Procedure procedural order, or to file 

timely file a request for extension of time for good cause shown, may result in dismissal of the staff assisted rate 

case and closure of the docket. 

(14) In the event of a protest of the Commission’s Proposed Agency Action PAA Order in a staff assisted rate case, 

the Commission staff shall: 

(a) File prefiled direct testimony to explain its analysis in the staff proposed agency action PAA recommendation. In 

the event the staff wishes to alter its PAA position on any issue, it shall provide factual testimony to support its 

changed position;. 

(b) Meet all other requirements of the Oorder Eestablishing Pprocedures; and 

(c) Provide to the utility materials to assist the utility in the preparation of its testimony and exhibits. This material 

shall consist of an example of testimony filed by a utility in another case, an example of testimony that would 

support the Proposed Agency Action PAA Order in this case, an example of an exhibit filed in another case, and 

examples of prehearing statements and briefs filed in other cases. 

Rulemaking Authority 350.127(2),367.0814 371.0814, 367.121 FS. Law Implemented 367.0814 FS. History–New 

12-8-80, Formerly 25-10.180, Amended 11-10-86, 8-26-91, 11-30-93, 1-31-00, 12-16-08,                               . 

25-30.456 Staff Assistance in Alternative Rate Setting. 

(1) As an alternative to a staff assisted rate case as described in Rule 25-30.455, F.A.C., water and wastewater 

utilities whose total gross annual operating revenues are $275,000 $250,000 or less for water service or $275,000 

$250,000 or less for wastewater service, or $550,000 $500,000 or less on a combined basis, may petition the 

Commission for staff assistance in alternative rate setting by submitting a completed staff assisted application for 

alternative rate setting. 

(2) The appropriate application form, Commission Form PSC/AFD 25 (11/93) (Rev. 06/14), entitled “Application 

for Staff Assistance for Alternative Rate Setting,” is incorporated into this rule by reference and is available at: 

http://www.flrules.org/Gateway/reference.asp?No=Ref-04414. Upon request, the Division of Accounting and 

Finance shall provide the potential applicant with the application form, PSC/AFD 25 (11/93), titled “Application for 

Staff Assistance for Alternative Rate Setting” which is incorporated by reference in this rule, and a copy of the rules 

governing Staff Assistance in Alternative Rate Setting. The form may also be obtained from the Commission’s 
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Division of Accounting and Finance, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0850. 

(3) Upon completion of the form, the applicant shall file it with may return it to the Office of Commission Clerk, 

Florida Public Service Commission, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0870. 

(4) Upon receipt of an application, the Office of Commission Clerk shall acknowledge its receipt, assign a docket 

number for identification, and shall forward the application to the Commission’s Division of Accounting and 

Finance. 

(4)(5) Within 30 days of receipt of the completed application, the Commission will Division of Accounting and 

Finance shall evaluate the application and determine the applicant’s petitioner’s eligibility for staff assistance. 

(a) If the Commission has received four or more alternative rate setting applications in the previous 30 days; or, if 

the Commission has 20 or more docketed staff assisted rate cases in active status on the date the application is 

received, the Commission will shall deny initial evaluation of an application for staff assistance and close the 

docket. When an application is denied under the provisions of this paragraph subsection, the Commission will notify 

the applicant shall be notified of the date on which the application may be resubmitted. 

(b) Determinations of eligibility will may be conditional, pending an actual examination of the condition of the 

applicant’s petitioner’s books and records. 

(c) All recommendations of ineligibility shall be in writing and shall state the deficiencies in the application with 

reference to guidelines set out in subsection (8) of this rule. 

(5)(6) Upon making its final determination of eligibility, the Commission will notify the applicant in writing as to 

whether the application is officially accepted or denied. Upon reaching a decision to officially accept or deny the 

application, the Deputy Executive Director, Technical shall notify the applicant by letter and initiate staff assistance 

for the accepted applicant.  If the application is accepted, staff assistance in alternative rate setting will be initiated.  

If the application is denied, the notification of application denial will state the deficiencies in the application with 

reference to the criteria set out in subsection (7) of this rule. 

(6)(7) The official date of filing will be 30 days after the date of the written notification to the applicant of the 

Commission’s official acceptance of the application by the Commission. 

(7)(8) In determining deciding whether to grant or deny the application, the Commission will consider the following 

criteria: following shall be considered: 
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(a) Whether the applicant qualifies for staff assistance pursuant to subsection (1) of this rule; 

(b) Whether the applicant’s books and records are organized consistent with Rule 25-30.110, F.A.C., so as to allow 

Commission personnel to verify costs and other relevant factors within the 30-day time frame set out in this rule; 

(c)(b) Whether the applicant has filed annual reports; 

(d)(c) Whether the applicant has paid applicable regulatory assessment fees; 

(e)(d) Whether the applicant has at least one year of 1 year’s actual experience in utility operation; 

(f)(e) Whether the applicant has filed additional relevant information in support of eligibility, together with reasons 

why the information should be considered; and 

(f) Whether the applicant has made a good faith effort in a timely manner to comply with all Commission decisions 

and requests affecting water and wastewater utilities for 2 years prior to the filing of the application under review; 

(g) Whether the utility was has been granted a rate case increase staff assisted rate case or alternative rate setting 

within the 2-year period prior to the receipt of the application under review. 

(8)(9) The Commission will shall deny the application if the a utility does not remit the filing fee, as provided by 

Section 367.145, F.S., and paragraph Rule 25-30.020(2)(f), F.A.C., within 30 days after official acceptance.  

(9)(10) An aggrieved applicant may request reconsideration of the application denial, which will shall be decided by 

the full Commission. 

(10)(11) The Commission will shall, for the purposes of determining the amount of rate increase, if any, compare the 

operation and maintenance expenses (O & M) of the utility to test year operating revenues. The Commission will 

shall consider an allowance for return on working capital using the one-eighth of O & M formula approach. 

(11)(12) The Commission will shall limit the maximum increase in operating revenues to 50 percent of test year 

operating revenues. 

(12)(13) The Commission will shall vote on a proposed agency action (PAA) recommendation establishing rates no 

later than 90 days from the official filing date as established in subsection (6) of this rule. 25-30.455(7), F.A.C. 

(13)(14) A substantially affected person may file a petition to protest the Commission’s Proposed Agency Action 

PAA Order regarding a staff assisted alternative rate setting application within 21 days of issuance of the Notice of 

Proposed Agency Action Order, as set forth in Rule 28-106.111 28-106.201, F.A.C. 

(14)  A petition to protest the Commission’s proposed agency action shall conform to Rule 28-106.201, F.A.C. 
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(15) In the event of protest of the Proposed Agency Action PAA Order by a substantially affected person party, the 

rates established in the Proposed Agency Action PAA Order may be implemented on a temporary basis, subject to 

refund with interest in accordance with Rule 25-30.360, F.A.C. At that time, the utility may elect to pursue rates set 

pursuant to the rate base determination provisions of Rule 25-30.455, F.A.C. 

(16) In the event of a protest, the maximum increase established in subsection (11) of this rule (13) above shall no 

longer apply. 

(17) In the event of a protest of the Commission’s Proposed Agency Action PAA Order in a staff assisted alternative 

rate setting application, the utility shall: 

(a) Provide prefiled direct testimony in accordance with the Order Establishing Procedure procedural order issued in 

the case. At a minimum, that testimony shall adopt the Commission’s Proposed Agency Action PAA Order in the 

case; 

(b) Sponsor a witness to support source documentation provided to the Commission staff in its preparation of the 

staff engineering and accounting analysis and the staff proposed agency action PAA recommendation in the case; 

(c) Include in its testimony the necessary factual information to support its position on any issue that it chooses to 

take a position different than that contained in the Commission’s Proposed Agency Action PAA Order; and 

(d) Meet all other requirements of the Oorder Eestablishing Pprocedures. 

(18) Failure to comply with the dates established in the Order Establishing Procedure procedural order, or to timely 

file a request for extension of time for good cause shown, may result in dismissal of the staff assisted alternative rate 

setting application and closure of the docket. 

(19) In the event of protest of the Commission’s Proposed Agency Action PAA Order in a staff assisted alternative 

rate setting application, the Commission staff shall: 

(a) File prefiled direct testimony to explain its analysis in the proposed agency action PAA recommendation. In the 

event the staff wishes to alter its PAA position on any issue, it shall provide factual testimony to support its changed 

position; . 

(b) Meet all other requirements of the Oorder Eestablishing Pprocedures; and 

(c) Provide to the utility materials to assist the utility in the preparation of its testimony and exhibits. This material 

shall consist of an example of testimony filed by a utility in another case, a sample of testimony that would support 



ORDER NO. PSC-14-0383-FOF-WS 
DOCKET NO. 140093-WS 
PAGE 10 
 
the Proposed Agency Action PAA Order in this case, an example of an exhibit filed in another case, and examples 

of prehearing statements and briefs filed in other cases. 

Rulemaking Authority 350.127(2), 367.0814, 367.121 FS. Law Implemented 367.0814 FS. History–New 11-30-93, 

Amended 1-31-00, 12-16-08,                                 . 

25-30.457 Limited Alternative Rate Increase. 

(1) As an alternative to a staff assisted rate case as described in Rules 25-30.455, F.A.C., or to staff assistance in 

alternative rate setting as described in Rule and 25-30.456, F.A.C., water utilities whose total gross annual operating 

revenues are $275,000 $250,000 or less for water service and wastewater utilities whose total gross annual operating 

revenues are $275,000 $250,000 or less for wastewater service may petition the Commission for a limited 

alternative rate increase of up to 20 percent applied to metered or flat recurring rates of all classes of service by 

filing with the Office of Commission Clerk submitting a completed application that includes the information 

required by subsections (7), (8) and (9) of this rule. In accordance with Section 367.0814(6), F.S., a utility that 

requests staff assistance waives its right to protest by agreeing to accept the final rates and charges approved by the 

Commission unless the final rates and charges would produce less revenue than the existing rates and charges. The 

original and two copies of the application shall be filed with the Office of Commission Clerk. 

(2) Upon filing a petition for a limited alternative rate increase, the utility shall mail a copy of the petition to the 

chief executive officer of the governing body of each municipality and county within the service areas included in 

the rate request and retain a copy at the utility’s business office. 

(2)(3) Within 30 days of receipt of the completed petition application, the Commission will Division of Accounting 

and Finance shall evaluate the petition application and determine the petitioner’s eligibility for a limited alternative 

rate increase. 

(3) The Commission will notify the petitioner in writing as to whether the petition is accepted or denied. If the 

petition is accepted, staff assistance in alternative rate setting will be initiated.  If the petition is denied, the 

notification of petition denial will state the deficiencies in the petition with reference to the criteria set out in 

subsection (5) of this rule.  

(4) Upon reaching a decision to officially accept or deny the application, the Deputy Executive Director, Technical 

shall notify the petitioner by letter. If the application is accepted, the Director will initiate limited alternative rate 
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setting. If the application is denied, the letter shall state the reasons for denial. 

(4)(5) The official date of filing will be 30 days after the date of the written notification to the petitioner of the 

Commission’s official acceptance of the petition application by the Commission. 

(5) In determining whether to grant or deny the petition, the Commission will consider the following criteria: 

(a) Whether the petitioner qualifies for staff assistance pursuant to subsection (1) of this rule; 

(b) Whether the petitioners’ books and records are organized consistent with Rule 25-30.110, F.A.C, so as to allow 

Commission personnel to verify costs and other relevant factors within the 30-day time frame set out in this rule; 

(c) Whether the petitioner has filed annual reports; 

(d) Whether the petitioner has paid applicable regulatory assessment fees; 

(e) Whether the petitioner has at least one year of experience in utility operation; 

(f) Whether the petitioner has filed additional relevant information in support of eligibility together with reasons 

why the information should be considered; 

(g) Whether the utility was granted a rate case increase within the 2-year period prior to the receipt of the petition 

under review; 

(h) Whether a final order in a rate proceeding that established the utility’s rate base, capital structure, annual 

operating expenses and revenues has been issued for the utility within the 7-year period prior to the receipt of the 

petition under review. 

(6) A utility described in subsection (1) will qualify for limited alternative rate setting if it satisfies the following 

criteria: 

(a) The petitioner has filed all annual reports required by subsection 25-30.110(3), F.A.C.; 

(b) The petitioner has paid applicable regulatory assessment fees as required by Rule 25-30.120, F.A.C.; 

(c) The petitioner has at least 1 year’s actual experience in utility operation; 

(d) The petitioner has complied in a timely manner with all Commission decisions affecting water and wastewater 

utilities for 2 years prior to the filing of the application under review; 

(e) The utility has not been granted a staff assisted rate case pursuant to Rule 25-30.455, F.A.C., or a staff assisted 

alternative rate setting pursuant to Rule 25-30.456, F.A.C., within the 2-year period prior to the receipt of the 

application under review; 
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(f) The utility has not been granted a limited alternative rate increase pursuant to this rule within the 3-year period 

prior to the receipt of the application under review; 

(g) The utility is currently in compliance with any applicable water management district permit conditions 

concerning rate structure; and 

(h) A final order in a rate proceeding that established the utility’s rate base, capital structure, annual operating 

expenses and revenues has been issued for the utility within the 7-year period prior to the receipt of the application 

under review. 

(6)(7) The Commission will shall deny the petition application if the a petitioner does not remit the filing fee, as 

provided by Section 367.145, F.S., and paragraph Rule 25-30.020(2)(f), F.A.C., within 30 days after official 

acceptance of the petition application. 

(7)(8) Each petitioner for limited alternative rate increase shall provide the following general information to the 

Commission: 

(a) The name of the utility as it appears on the utility’s certificate and the address of the utility’s principal place of 

business; and 

(b) The type of business organization under which the utility’s operations are conducted:  if the petitioner is a 

corporation, the date of incorporation and the names and addresses of all persons who own 5 percent or more of the 

petitioner’s stock; if the petitioner is not a corporation, the names and addresses of the owners of the business. 

1. If the petitioner is a corporation, the date of incorporation and the names and addresses of all persons who own 

five percent or more of the petitioner’s stock; or 

2. If the petitioner is not a corporation, the names and addresses of the owners of the business. 

(8)(9) The petitioner shall provide a schedule showing: 

(a) Annualized revenues by customer class and meter size for the most recent 12-month period using the rates in 

effect at the time the utility files its petition application; and 

(b) Current and proposed rates for all classes of customers.  

(9)(10) The petitioner shall provide a statement that the figures and calculations upon which the change in rates is 

based are accurate and that the change will not cause the utility to exceed its last authorized rate of return on equity. 

(10)(11) A financial or engineering audit of the utility’s financial or engineering books and records shall not be 



ORDER NO. PSC-14-0383-FOF-WS 
DOCKET NO. 140093-WS 
PAGE 13 
 
required in conjunction with the petition application under review. 

(11)(12) The petition application will be approved, denied, or approved with modifications within 90 days from the 

official filing date as established in subsection (4) of this rule (5) above. 

(12)(13) In consideration of subsections (11) and (12), the utility agrees to hold Aany revenue increase granted 

under the provisions of this rule shall be held subject to refund with interest in accordance with Rule 25-30.360, 

F.A.C., for a period of 15 months after the filing of the utility’s annual report required by Rule 25-30.110, F.A.C., 

Section 367.121, F.S., for the year the adjustment in rates was implemented. 

(13)(14) To insure overearnings will not occur due to the implementation of this rate increase, the Commission will 

conduct an earnings review of the utility’s annual report to determine any potential overearnings for the year the 

adjustment in rates was implemented.  

(14)(15) If, within 15 months after the filing of a utility’s annual report required by Section 367.121, F.S., the 

Commission finds that the utility exceeded the range of its last authorized rate of return on equity after an 

adjustment in rates, as authorized by this rule, was implemented within the year for which the report was filed, such 

overearnings, up to the amount held subject to refund, with interest, shall be disposed of for the benefit of the 

customers. as provided in Section 367.081(4)(d), F.S. 

(15)(16) In the event of a protest of the Pproposed Aagency Aaction (PAA) Oorder pursuant to Rule 28-106.111 

28.106.201, F.A.C., by a substantially affected person other than the utility, unless the Proposed Agency Action 

PAA Order proposes a rate reduction, the utility may implement the rates established in the Proposed Agency 

Action PAA Order on a temporary basis subject to refund with interest in accordance with Rule 25-30.360, F.A.C., 

upon the utility filing a staff assisted rate case application pursuant to Rule 25-30.455, F.A.C., within 21 days of the 

date the protest is filed.  

(16)(17) In the event of a protest, the limit on the maximum increase provided in subsection (1) of this rule above 

shall no longer apply. 

(17)(18) If the utility fails to file a staff assisted rate case application within 21 days in the event of there is a protest, 

the petition application for a limited alternative rate increase will be deemed withdrawn. 

Rulemaking Authority 350.127(2), 367.0814, 367.121 FS. Law Implemented 367.0814 FS. History–New 3-15-05, 

Amended 12-16-08,                                . 




