
State of Florida 

DATE: 

TO: 

FROM: 

RE: 

October 7, 2014 

Jluhltt~~ ctrlllltltthminn 
CAPITAL CIRCLE O FFICE CE~TER • 2540 SHUMARD O AK B OULEVARD 

T LLAIIA EE, FLORIDA 32399-0850 

-M-E-M -0-R-A-N-D-U-M-

Carlotta S. Stau~efLCo1mmission Clerk, Office of Commission Clerk 

Kathryn Cowder~ce of the General Counsel 

DocketNo. 140131-EU 

Please file the attached rule certification packet for Rule 25-6.058, in the docket file listed above. 

Thank you. 
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COMMISSIONERS: 
ART GRAHAM, CHAIRMAN 
LISA POLAK EDGAR 
RONALD A. BRISE 
EDUARDO E. BALB!S 
JULIE I. BROWN 

STATE OF FLORIDA 
GENERAL COUNSEL 
S. CURTIS K ISER 
(850) 413-6199 

W'uhlir~.er&ir.e illommizzion 
October 7, 20 14 

Ms. Liz Cloud 
-1 
:C• '-

VIA HAND DELIVE~-
Florida Department of State 
Administrative Code and Register Section 
Room 701 , the Capitol 
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0250 

Re: Rule Certification Packet for Rule 25-6.058, Florida Administrative Code 

Dear Ms. Cloud: 
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Enclosed for filing is a complete rule certification packet for Rule 25-6.058, F.A.C., 
consisting of: 

(I) One compact disc containing the coded text of the rule; 

(2) There are no materials incorporated by reference into this rule. 

(3) One original and two copies of the signed rule certification form; 
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( 4) One original and two copies of the coded text of the rule, including the legal citations 
and history notes; 

(5) One original and two copies of the summary of the rule; 

(6) One original and two copies of the detailed written statement of the facts and 
circumstances justifying the rule; and 

(7) One original and two copies of the summary of the hearings held on the rule. 

CAPITAL C ffiCLE OFFICE CENTER • 2540 SHUMARD OAK BOULEY ARD • TALLAHASSEE, FL 32399-0850 
An Affirmative Action I Equal Opporlunity Ernploye.r 

PSC Website: http://www.noridapsc.com Internet E-mail: contact@psc.state.n.us 
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Please let me know if you have any questions. The contact name and information for this rule 
are Kathryn G. W. Cowdery, Florida Public Service Commission, Office of General Counsel, 2540 
Shumard Oak Blvd., Tallahassee, FL 32399-0250, (850) 413-6216, kcowdery@psc.state.fl.us. 

Enclosures 



I hereby certify: 

CERTJFICA TION OF FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 

ADMINlSTRA TIVE RULES FILED WITH THE DEPARTMENT OF STATE 

[X] (I) That all statutory rulemaking requirements of Chapter 120, F.S., and all rulemaking requirements of 

the Department of State have been complied with; and 

[X] (2) That there is no administrative determination under Section 120.56(2), F.S., pending on any rule 

covered by this certification; and 

[X] (3) All rules covered by this certification are filed within the prescribed time limitations of Section 

I20.54(3)(e), F.S. They are filed not less than 28 days after the notice required by Section 120.54(3)(a), F.S.; and 

[X] (a) Are filed not more than 90 days after the notice; or 

[](b) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but not more than 60 days after the administrative law 

judge files the final order with the clerk or until 60 days after subsequent judicial review is complete; or 

[)(c) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but not less than 21 days nor more than 45 days from the 

date of publication of the notice of change; or 

[](d) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but not less than 14 nor more than 45 days after the 

adjournment of the final public hearing on the rule; or 

[) (e) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but within 21 days after the date of receipt of all 

material authorized to be submitted at the hearing; or 

[] (t) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but within 2 1 days after the date the transcript was 

received by this agency; or 

[](g) Are filed not more than 90 days after the notice, not including days the adoption of the rule was 

postponed following notification from the Joint Administrative Procedures Committee that an objection to the rule 

was being considered; or 

[ ] (h) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but within 21 days after a good faith written proposal 

for a lower cost regulatory alternative to a proposed rule is submitted which substantially accomplishes the 

objectives of the law being implemented; or 

[ ] (i) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but within 21 days after a regulatory alternative is 

offered by the Small Business Regulatory Advisory Committee. 



Attached are the original and two copies of each rule covered by this certi tication. The rules are hereby adopted by 

the undersigned agency by and upon their filing with the Department of State. 

Rule Nos. 

25-6.058 

Under the provision of Section 120.54(3)(e)6., F.S., the rules take effect 20 days from the date filed with the 

Department of State or a later date as set out below: 

Effective: ----------
(month) (day) (year) 

Commission Clerk 

Title-2, 



25-6.058 Determination of Average Meter Registra tion Error. 

(I) Average Meter Registration Error for Watthour Registers. 

(a) If the metering installation is used to measure a load which has practically constant characteristics, such as a 

street-lighting load, the meter shall be tested under similar conditions of load and the registration error of the meter 

"as found" shall be considered as the average meter error. 

(b) If a single-phase metering installation is used on a varying load, the average registration error shall be 

determined by one of the following methods. The utility shall select the method that best fits the customer's usage 

pattern . 

I. The weighted algebraic average of the error at approximately I 0 percent and at I 00 percent of the rated test 

amperes for the meter, the latter being given a weight of four times the former; 

2. The simple average of the error at approximately I 0 percent and at approximately I 00 percent of the rated test 

amperes of the meter, each being given an equal weight; or 

3. A single point, when calculating the error of an electronic meter, and the single point is an accurate representation 

of the error over the load range of the meter. 

(c) If a polyphase metering installation is used on a varying load, the average registration error shall be determined 

by one of the following methods. The utility shall select the method that best fits the customer's usage pattern. 

I. The weighted algebraic average of its error at light load (approximately I 0 percent rated test amperes) given a 

weight of two eRe, its error at heavy load (approximately I 00 percent rated test amperes) and I 00 percent power 

factor given a weight of four, and at heavy load (approximately I 00 percent rated test amperes) and 50 percent 

lagging power factor given a weight of one twe; or 

2. A single point, when calculating the error of an electronic meter, and the single point is an accurate representation 

of the error over the load range of the meter. 

(2) Average Meter Registration Error for Demand Registers. 

(a) For mechanical or lagged demand meters, registration error shall be determined by testing the meter at both 40 

percent and 80 percent of its full -scale vaJue, as read on the reference or standard meter, or as near to these two 

points as practicable. The following two formulas shall be used to estimate the kilowatt error of the meter at 25 

percent of full scale and at I 00 percent of full scale: 

E2s = [Eso - E4o)/[Rso - ~o]*[R2s- ~o] + E4o 



Etoo = [Eso- E4o)/[Rso- ~o)*[Rtoo - ~o] + E4o 

where: 

R25 and R100 denote the kilowatt readings on the reference meter at 25 percent and 100 percent of the full scale value 

of the meter being tested, respectively; 

~0 and Rso denote the kilowatt readings on the reference meter at 40 percent and 80 percent of the full scale value 

of the meter being tested, respectively; 

E4o is the difference in kilowatts between the reference reading (~0) and the reading on the meter being tested; 

E80 is the difference in kilowatts between the reference reading (R80) and the reading on the meter being tested; 

E25 is the estimated kilowatt error corresponding to R25; and 

E 100 is the estimated kilowatt error corresponding to R100. 

The greater of these two estimated kilowatt errors, E25 or £ 100, shall be expressed as a percentage of the full-scale 

value of the meter being tested to determine if the meter meets the accuracy requirement of paragraph 25-

6.052(3Xa), F.A.C. 

(b) For electronic demand meters, demand registration need not be separately tested provided the meter has been 

inspected to contain the correct demand algorithm whenever watthour registration is tested. 

Specific Authority 366.05(/) FS. Law Implemented 366.05(3) FS. History-New 7-29-69, Formerly 25-6.58, 

Amended 5-/9-97, 7-3-06, _ _ __ . 



SUMMARY OF THE RULE 

The rule describes how average meter registration error for watthour and demand registers is to be 

determined by investor-owned electric utilities. 

WRJTI"EN STATEMENT OF THE FACTS AND CIRCUMSTANCES JUSTIFYfNG THE RULE 

The existing rule language contains an inadvertent numerical error in the description of one of the two 

methods a utility may use to determine the average meter registration error if a polyphase metering installation is 

used on a varying load. The proposed amendment corrects this error to conform the rule language to the equation 

contained in the current American National Standard for Electric Meters, Codes for Electric Metering. 

SUMMARY OF ANY HEARJNGS HELD ON THE RULE 

No timely request for a hearing was received by the agency, and no hearing was held. 




