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COMMISSIONERS: 

JULIE I. BROWN, CHAIRMAN 

LISA POLAK EOOAR 

ART GRAHAM 

RONALD A. BRISE 

JIMMYPATRONIS 

STATE OF FLORIDA 
CAPITAL CIRCLE OFFICE CENTER 

2540 SHUMARD OAK BOULEY ARD 

TALLAHASSEE, FL 32399-0850 

Public Service Commission 
January 12, 2016 

Mr. Ernest Reddick 
Florida Department of State 
Administrative Code and Register Section 
Room 701, the Capitol 
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0250 

VIA HAND DELIVERY 

Re: Rule Certification Packet for Rules 25-6.093, 25-6.097 and 25.6.100, F.A.C. 

Dear Mr. Reddick: 

Enclosed for filing is a complete rule certification packet for Rules 25-6.093, 25-6.097 and 25-

6.100, F.A.C., consisting of: 

(1) One compact disc containing the coded text of the rules; 

(2) There are no materials incorporated by reference into these rules; 

(3) One original and two copies of the signed rule certification form; 

(4) One original and two copies ofthe coded text of the rules, including the legal citations 
and history notes; 

(5) One original and two copies of the summary of the rules; 

( 6) One original and two copies of the detailed written statement of the facts and 
circumstances justifying the rules; and 

(7) One original and two copies of the summary of the hearings held on the rules. 

An Affirmative Action I Equal Opportunity Employer 
PSC Website: http://www.floridapsc.com Internet E-mail: contact@psc.state.fl.us 



Please let me know if you have any questions. The contact name and information for this rule 
are Pamela H. Page, Florida Public Service Commission, Office of General Counsel, 2540 Shumard 
Oak Blvd., Tallahassee, FL 32399-0250, (850) 413-6214, php@psc.state.fl.us. 

Enclosures 

Sincerely, 

?~~.-Pu 
Pamela H. Page 
Senior Attorney 



I hereby certify: 

CERTIFICATION OF FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 

ADMINISTRATIVE RULES FILED WITH THE DEPARTMENT OF STATE 

[X] (1) That all statutory rulemaking requirements of Chapter 120, F.S., and all rulemaking requirements of 

the Department of State have been complied with; and 

[X] (2) That there is no administrative determination under Section 120.56(2), F.S., pending on any rule 

covered by this certification; and 

[X] (3) All rules covered by this certification are filed within the prescribed time limitations of Section 

120.54(3)(e), F.S. They are filed not less than 28 days after the notice required by Section 120.54(3)(a), F.S.; and 

[X] (a) Are filed not more than 90 days after the notice; or 

[](b) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but not more than 60 days after the administrative law 

judge files the final order with the clerk or until 60 days after subsequent judicial review is complete; or 

[ ] (c) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but not less than 21 days nor more than 45 days from the 

date of publication of the notice of change; or 

[ ] (d) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but not less than 14 nor more than 45 days after the 

adjournment of the final public hearing on the rule; or 

[ ] (e) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but within 21 days after the date of receipt of all 

material authorized to be submitted at the hearing; or 

[ ] (f) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but within 21 days after the date the transcript was 

received by this agency; or 

[ ] (g) Are filed not more than 90 days after the notice, not including days the adoption of the rule was 

postponed following notification from the Joint Administrative Procedures Committee that an objection to the rule 

was being considered; or 

[](h) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but within 21 days after a good faith written proposal 

for a lower cost regulatory alternative to a proposed rule is submitted which substantially accomplishes the 

objectives of the law being implemented; or 

[ ] (i) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but within 21 days after a regulatory alternative is 

offered by the Small Business Regulatory Advisory Committee. 



Attached are the original and two copies of each rule covered by this certification. The rules are hereby adopted by 

the undersigned agency by and upon their filing with the Department of State. 

Rule Nos. 

25-6.093 

25-6.097 

25-6.100 

Under the provision of Section 120.54(3)(e)6., F.S., the rules take effect 20 days from the date filed with the 

Department of State or a later date as set out below: 

Effective:-----------
(month) (day) (year) 

Commission Clerk 
Title 8 
Number of Pages Certified 



25-6.093 Information to Customers. 

(1) Each utility shall, l:lflSfl request ef all)' c1:1stemer, give s1:1ch infurmatie11 a~~d assistaf!ce as is rease11able, in erder 

that the custemer may secure safe a11d efficieflt service. Upon the customer's request, the utility shall provide to the 

ao:y customer information as to the method of reading meters and the derivation of billing therefrom, the billing 

cycle and approximate date of monthly meter reading. 

(2) Upon request of the ao:y customer, the utility shall is required te provide to the customer a copy and explanation 

ofthe utility's rates and provisions applicable to the type or types of service furnished or to be furnished such 

customer, a~~d te assist the custemer ifl ebtainiBg the rate schedule which is mest advaBtageeus te the custemer's 

requiremeflts. 

(3)(a) By paper or electronic bill insert, billing statement, website, electronic notification, or other means agreed to 

by both the customer and the utility apprepriate meaas ef cemmooicatiefl, the utility shall give to each of its 

customers a summary of all available electrical majer rate2 schedules that which are available to the class of which 

that customer is a member~,...aHEI 

(b) The utility shall provide the information contained in paragraph (a) to all its customers: 

1. Not later than 60 days after the commencement of service, aBd 

2. Not less frequently than once each year, and 

3. Not later than 60 days after the utility has received approval of its new rate schedule applicable to such customer. 

(c) In this subsection, "rate schedule" shall mean customer charge, energy charge, and demand charge, as set forth in 

Rule 25-6.100; F.A.C. 

(d) By bill insert, or as a message on the customer bill, on a quarterly basis using the utility's normal billing cycle, 

each utility shall provide its customers the sources of generation for the most recent 12-month period available prior 

to the billing cycle. The sources of generation shall be stated by fuel type for utility generation and as "purchased 

power" for off-system purchases. The sources of generation are to be set forth as kilowatt-hour percentages of the 

total utility generation and purchased power. 

(4) Uponrequest of the ao:y customer, but not more frequently than once each calendar year, the utility shall provide 

to the customer tra~~smit a concise statement of the actual consumption of electric energy by that customer for each 

billing period during the previous 12 months. 

Rulemaking Authority 366.05(1), 350.127(2) FS. Law Implemented 366.03, 366.04(2)(j), (6), 366.041(1), 366.05(1), 



(3), 366.06(1) FS. History-New 7-29-69, Amended 11-26-80, 6-28-82, 10-15-84, Formerly 25-6.93, Amended 4-18-

99, ____ . 



25-6.097 Customer Deposits. 

(1) Deposit reqHired; establisbment of credit. Each utility's compaay's tariff shall state the methodology eeataifl: 

their specific criteria for determining the amount of the ffiitial deposit charged for existing accounts and new service 

requests. The methodology shall conform to paragraph 366.05(l)(c), F.S. Bach Htility may reqHire aa applicant for 

service to satisfacterily establish credit, but sHch establishment ef credit shall Ret relieve the cHstomer from 

complyiag with the utilities' rules for prempt payment efbills. Credit will be deemed so established if: 

(a) The applicaat fer service fllfflishes a satisfactory gHaraater to secHre payment of bills for the service reqHested. 

For residential eHstomers, a satisfactory gHaraator shall, at the minimHm, be a Clistemer efthe Htility with a 

satisfactory payment recerd. Fer nan residential Clistemers, a satisfactory gHaranter need net be a cHstomer efthe 

utility. Bach lltility shall de¥elep minilllllm financial criteria that a prepesed gHaraHter mHst meet te qHalify as a 

satisfactory gHaraater. A cepy efthe criteria shall be made a¥ailable to each new nan residential cHstomer HpOH 

req1:1est by the e1:1stemer. /•, gHarantor's liability shall be terminated when a residential eHstemer ·.vhese payment ef 

bills is seclifed by the gHaraater meets the reqHiremeHts of SHbseetieH (2) of this rule. GHaranters pre¥iding see1:1rity 

for payment sf residential c1:1stemers' bills shall enly be liable for bills eeHtraeted at the ser¥iee address eentained in 

the coHtract ofgHaraaty. 

(b) The applicant pays a cash depesit. 

(e) The applicant fer service furnishes an irre¥ocable letter of credit from a ba!:lk or a slifety bond. 

(2) Each utility may require an applicant for service to satisfactorily establish credit. but such establishment of credit 

shall not relieve the customer from complying with the utility's rules for payment of bills. Credit will be deemed so 

established if: 

(a) The applicant for service furnishes a satisfactory guarantor to secure payment of bills for the service requested. 

For residential customers, a satisfactory guarantor shall. at a minimum. be a customer of the utility with a 

satisfactory payment record. For non-residential customers. a satisfactory guarantor need not be a customer of the 

utility. Each utility shall develop minimum financial criteria that a proposed guarantor must meet to quality as a 

satisfactory guarantor. A copy of the criteria shall be made available to each new non-residential customer upon 

request by the customer. A guarantor's liability shall be terminated when a residential customer whose payment of 

bills is secured by the guarantor meets the requirements of subsection (3) of this rule. Guarantors providing security 

for payment of residential customers' bills shall only be ·liable for bills contracted at the service address contained in 



the contract of guaranty. 

(b) The applicant pays a cash deposit. 

(c) The applicant for service furnishes an irrevocable letter of credit from a bank or a surety bond. 

Q.)~ Refund of deposits. After a customer has established a satisfactory payment record and has had continuous 

service for a period of23 months, the utility shall refund the residential customer's deposits and shall, at the utility's 

its option, either refund or pay the higher rate of interest specified below for nonresidential deposits, providing the 

customer has not, in the preceding 12 months~~ 

(a) Made more than one late payment of a bill (after the expiration of20 days from the date of mailing or delivery by 

the utility). 

(b) Paid with a check refused by a bank. 

(c) Been disconnected for nonpayment, or at any time. 

(d) Tampered with the electric meter, or 

(e) Used service in a fraudulent or unauthorized manner. 

(~ Deposits for existing accounts New or additional deposits. A utility may charge ~, upon reasonable 

written notice to the customer of not less than thirty (30) days, a new deposit, where pre•1iol:lsly waived or remmed, 

or additional deposit on an existing account, in order to secure payment of emrent bills. Such request for a deposit 

shall be separate and apart from any bill for service and shall explain the reason for the such new or additional 

deposit, provided, hov;ever, that the total amount of the reql:lired deposit shall not e~(ceed an amooot eql:lal to twice 

the average charges for actual usage of electric service for the twel·;e month period immediately prior to the date of 

notice. In the event the customer has had service less than h'lelve months, then the utility shall base its new or 

additional deposit upon the average acrnal monthly usage available. The deposit charged must conform to the 

requirements of Section 366.05(l)(c)l., F.S. 

(~(4-j Interest on deposits. 

(a) Each electric utility which requires deposits to be made by its customers shall pay a minimum interest on such 

deposits of 2 percent per annum. The utility shall pay an interest rate of 3 percent per annum on deposits of 

nonresidential customers qualifying under subsection (~ when the utility elects not to refund such deposit after 

23 months. Sl:lch interest rates shall be applied within 45 days ofthe ef:fi~ctive date oftlle rule. 

(b) The deposit interest shall be simple interest in all cases and settlement shall be made annually, either in cash or 



by credit on the current bill. This does not prohibit any utility paying a higher rate of interest than required by this 

rule. No customer depositor shall be entitled to receive interest on.!!: his deposit until and unless a customer 

relationship and the deposit have been in existence for a continuous period of six months, then the customer he shall 

be entitled to receive interest from the day of the commencement of the customer relationship and the placement of 

deposit. Nothing in this rule shall prohibit a utility from refunding at any time a deposit with any accrued interest. 

(§)~Record of deposits. Each utility' having en hand depesits frem a el:lstemer er hereafter reeeiYing depesits from 

them shall keep records to show: 

(a) The name of each customer making the deposit; 

(b) The premises for which the deposit applies oeel:lpied by the el:lstomer; 

(c) The date and amount of deposit; and 

(d) Each transaction concerning the deposits such as interest payments, interest credited or similar transactions. 

(1)tej Receipt for deposit. The utility shall provide a receipt to the customer for any deposit received from the 

customer A non transferable eertifieate of depesit shall be issl:led te eaeh el:lstomer and means preYided so that the 

el:lstemer may elaim the depesit if the eertifieate is lest. Where a newer additional deposit is reEJ:l:liredl:lnder 

sl:lbseetien (3) efthis mle, a el:lstemer's eaneelled eheek er validated bill eol:lj')eB may ser·re as a deposit reeeipt. 

OOfB Refund of deposit when service is discontinued. Upon termination of service, the deposit and accrued interest 

may be credited against the final account and the balance, if any, shall be returned promptly to the customer but in 

no event later than fifteen ( 15) days after service is discontinued. 

Rulemaking Authority 366.05(1), 350.127(2) FS. Law Implemented 366.03, 366.041 (1), 366.05(1), 366.06(1) FS. 

History-New 7-29-69, Amended 5-9-76, 7-8-79, 6-10-80, 10-17-83, 1-31-84, Formerly 25-6.97, Amended 10-13-88, 

4-25-94, 3-14-99, 7-26-12, ----· 



25-6.100 Customer Billings. 

(1) Bills shall be rendered monthly and as promptly as possible following the reading of meters. 

(2) By Jaooaf)' 1, 1983, _Eeach customer's bill shall show at least the following information: 

(a) The meter reading and the date the meter is read, in addition to the meter reading for the previous period. If the 

meter reading is estimated, the word "estimated" shall be prominently displayed on the bill. 

(b)l. Kilowatt-hours (KWH) consumed including on and off peak if customer is time-of-day metered. 

2. Kilowatt (KW) demand, if applicable, including on and off peak if customer is time-of-day metered. 

(c) The dollar amount of the bill, including separately: 

1. Customer. Base or Basic Service charge. 

2. Energy (KWH) charge1!, exclusive of fuel, in cents per KWH, iReluding arnouRts fer OR asd offpeak ifthe 

eustemer is time of daj' metered, and applicable cost recovery clause charges esergy eoRsef't'atioR eosts . 

3. Demand (KW) charge1!, exclusive of fuel, in dollar cost per KW, if applicable, for any demand charges included 

in the utility's rate structure and applicable cost recovery clause charges iReluding amousts fer OR asd offfJeak ifthe 

eustomer is time of day metered. 

4. Fuel (KWH) charges oost in cents per KWH (no fuel costs shall be included in the Energy or Demand base 

charge~ fer demaRd or eRergy). 

5. Total electric cost which, at a minimum, is the sum of the eustomer eharge, total fuel eost, total eRergy eost, asd 

total demaRd eost. charges 1 through 4 above but can include other line item charges (e.g., Florida Gross Receipts 

Tax. etc.). 

6. Franchise fees, if applicable. 

7. Taxes, as applicable on purchases of electricity by the customer. 

8. Any discount or penalty, if applicable. 

9. Past due balances shown separately. 

10. The gross and net billing, if applicable. 

11. The rate and amount of the "Asset Securitization Charge," pursuant to paragraph 366.95(4)(b), F.S., if 

applicable. 

(d) Identification of the applicable rate schedule. 

(e) The date by which payment must be made in order to benefit from any discount or avoid any penalty, if 



applicable. 

(f) The average daily KWH consumption for the current period and for the same period in the previous year, for the 

same customer at the same location. 

(g) The delinquent date or the date after which the bill becomes past due. 

(h) Any conversion factors which can be used by customers to convert from meter reading units to billing units. 

Where metering complexity makes this requirement impractical, a statement must be on the bill advising where and 

how that such information may be obtained from by ee:ataetiag the utility's leeal business effiee. 

(i) Where budget billing is used, the bill shall ee:atain the current month's actual consumption and charges should be 

shown separately from budgeted amounts. 

(j) If applicable. the information required by subsection 366.8260(4), F.S., and subsection 366.95(4), F.S. 

(k}@ The name and address of the utility and plus the telephone tell free number(s) and web address where 

customers can receive information about their bill as well as locations where the customers can pay their utility bill. 

Such information must identify those locations where no surcharge is incurred. 

(3) When there is sufficient cause, estimated bills may be submitted provided that with the third consecutive 

estimated bill the company shall contact the customer explaining the reason for the estimated billing and who to 

contact in order to obtain an actual meter reading. An actual meter reading must be taken at least once every six 

months. If an estimated bill appears to be abnormal when a subsequent reading is obtained, the bill for the entire 

period shall be computed at a rate which contemplates the use of service during the entire period and the estimated 

bill shall be deducted. If there is reasonable evidence that such use occurred during only one billing period, the bill 

shall be computed. 

(4) The advancement or postponement oft+he regular meter reading date is governed by subsection 366.05(l)(b), 

F.S. may be adyaneed er pestpeaed aet mere than five days vlitheut a pre ratiea efthe billiag fer the peried. 

(5) Whenever the period of service for which an initial or opening bill is rendered is less than the normal billing 

period, the charges applicable to such service, including minimum charges, shall be prorated pre rated except that 

initial or opening bills need not be rendered but the energy used during such period may be carried over to and 

included in the next regular monthly billing. 

(6) The practices employed by each utility regarding customer billing shall have uniform application to all 

customers on the same rate schedule. 



(7) Franchise Fees. 

(a) When a municipality charges a utility any franchise fee, the utility may collect that fee only from its customers 

receiving service within that municipality. When a county charges a utility any franchise fee, the utility may collect 

that fee only from its customers receiving service within that county. 

(b) A utility may not incorporate any franchise fee into its other rates for service. 

(c) For the purposes of this subsection, the term "utility" shall mean any electric utility, rural electric cooperative, or 

municipal electric utility. 

(d) This subsection shall not be construed as granting a municipality or county the authority to charge a franchise 

fee. This subsection only specifies the method of collection of a franchise fee, if a municipality or county, having 

authority to dci so, charges a franchise fee. 

Rulemaking Authority 366.05(1), 366.04(2) FS. Law Implemented 366.03, 366.04(2), 366.041(1), 366.05(1), 

366.051, 366.06(1), 366.8260(4), 366.95(4) FS. History-New 2-25-76, Amended 4-13-80, 12-29-81, 6-28-82, 5-16-

83, 2-4-13, ____ . 



SUMMARY OF THE RULE 

The rule amendments make the rules consistent with recent amendments to Section 366.05, F.S. The rule 

amendments also implement billing notice requirements in Section 366.95, F.S., for electric utilities that have 

obtained a fmancing order for nuclear assets and caused nuclear asset recovery bonds to be issued. 

Rule 25-6.093 - Amendments state that by paper or electronic bill insert, billing statement, website or electronic 

notification, the utility shall give to each of its customers a summary of all available electric rates. The amendments 

also clarify the rule and remove language that is redundant to the implementing statute. 

Rule 25-6.097 - Amendments state that the methodology for determining the amount of customer deposits shall 

conform to paragraph 366.05(1)(c), F.S. The amendments also clarify the rule and remove language that is 

redundant to the implementing statute. 

Rule 25-6.100- Amendments implement paragraph 366.95(4)(b), F.S., where applicable, that the rate and amount 

of the "Asset Securitization Charge" shall be separately itemized on each customer bill. The amendments also 

clarify the rule and remove language that is redundant to the implementing statute. 

WRITTEN STATEMENT OF THE FACTS AND CIRCUMSTANCES JUSTIFYING THE RULE 

The amendments conform the rules to recent amendments to Section 366.05, F.S., and to Section 366.95(4), F.S. 

The amendments also clarify the rules and remove language that is redundant to the implementing statute. 

SUMMARY OF ANY HEARINGS HELD ON THE RULE 

No timely request for a hearing was received by the agency, and no hearing was held. 



COMMISSIONERS: 

JULIE I. BROWN, CHAIRMAN 

LISA POLAK EDGAR 

ART GRAHAM 
RONALD A. BRISE 

JJMMYPATRONIS 

STATE OF FLORIDA 
CAPITAL CIRCLE OFFICE CENTER 

2540 SHUMARD OAK BOULEY ARD 

TALLAHASSEE, FL 32399-0850 

Public Service Commission 
January 12, 2016 

Mr. Ernest Reddick 
Florida Department of State 
Administrative Code and Register Section 
Room 701, the Capitol 
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0250 

VIA HAND DELIVERY 

Re: Rule Certification Packet for Rules 25-7.079,25-7.083 and 25-7.085, F.A.C. 

Dear Mr. Reddick: 

Enclosed for filing is a complete rule certification packet for Rules 25-7.079, 25-7.083 and 25-

7.085, F.A.C., consisting of: 

( 1) One compact disc containing the coded text of the rules; 

(2) There are no materials incorporated by reference into these rules; 

(3) One original and two copies of the signed rule certification form; 

(4) One original and two copies of the coded text of the rules, including the legal citations 
and history notes; 

( 5) One original and two copies of the summary of the rules; 

( 6) One original and two copies of the detailed written statement of the facts and 
circumstances justifying the rules; and 

(7) One original and two copies of the summary of the hearings held on the rules. 

An Affirmative Action I Equal Opportunity Employer 
PSC Website: http://www.floridapsc.com Internet E-mail: contact@psc.state.fl.us 



Please let me know if you have any questions. The contact name and information for this rule 
are Pamela H. Page, Florida Public Service Commission, Office of General Counsel, 2540 Shumard 
Oak Blvd., Tallahassee, FL 32399-0250, (850) 413-6214, php@psc.state.fl.us. 

Enclosures 

Sincerely, 

?~<tt.-Pccr-
Pamela H. Page 
Senior Attorney 



CERTIFICATION OF FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 

ADMINISTRATIVE RULES FILED WITH THE DEPARTMENT OF STATE 

I hereby certify: 

[X] (1) That all statutory rulemaking requirements of Chapter 120, F.S., and all rulemaking requirements of 
' 

the Department of State have been complied with; and 

[X] (2) That there is no administrative determination under Section 120.56(2), F.S., pending on any rule 

covered by this certification; and 

[X] (3) All rules covered by this certification are filed within the prescribed time limitations of Section 

120.54(3)(e), F.S. They are filed not less than 28 days after the notice required by Section 120.54(3)(a), F.S.; and 

[X] (a) Are filed not more than 90 days after the notice; or 

[ ] (b) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but not more than 60 days after the administrative law 

judge files the final order with the clerk or until 60 days after subsequent judicial review is complete; or 

[ ] (c) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but not less than 21 days nor more than 45 days from the 

date of publication of the notice of change; or 

[ ] (d) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but not less than 14 nor more than 45 days after the 

adjournment of the final public hearing on the rule; or 

[] (e) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but within 21 days after the date of receipt of all 

material authorized to be submitted at the hearing; or 

[] (f) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but within 21 days after the date the transcript was 

received by this agency; or 

[ ] (g) Are filed not more than 90 days after the notice, not including days the adoption of the rule was 

postponed following notification from the Joint Administrative Procedures Committee that an objection to the rule 

was being considered; or 

[ ] (h) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but within 21 days after a good faith written proposal 

for a lower cost regulatory alternative to a proposed rule is submitted which substantially accomplishes the 

objectives of the law being implemented; or 

[ ] (i) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but within 21 days after a regulatory alternative is 

offered by the Small Business Regulatory Advisory Committee. 



Attached are the original and two copies of each rule covered by this certification. The rules are hereby adopted by 

the undersigned agency by and upon their filing with the Department of State. 

Rule Nos. 

25-7.079 

25-7.083 

25-7.085 

Under the provision of Section 120.54(3)(e)6., F.S., the rules take effect 20 days from the date filed with the 

Department of State or a later date as set out below: 

Effective:----------
(month) (day) (year) 

Commission Clerk 



25-7,079 Information to Customers. 

( 1) Eaeh l:ltility shall, upon request, give its e1:1stomers sueh information and assistanee as is reasonable, in order that 

the e~:~stomer mllj' see1:1re safe and effieient serviee. The utility shall, ~hen requested, by the customer, provide to the 

any customer information as to the method of reading meters and derivation of billing therefrom. 

(2) Upon request of the any customer, it shall be the duty of the utility shall te provide to the customer, a copy 

and/or explanation of the utility's rates applicable to the type or types of service furnished or to be furnished to the 

SliGh customer, and to assist him in obtaining the rate Vihieh is most advantageous for his serviee requirements. 

Rulemaking Authority 366.05(1) FS. Law Implemented 366.03, 366.05(1), 366.06 FS. History-New 1-8-75, 

Repromulgated 5-4-75, Formerly 25-7.79, Amended ____ _ 



25-7.083 Customer Deposits 

(1) Deposit reEIHired; establishmeRt ef eredit. Each utility's eel'R)3any' s tariff shall state the methodology eeBtain 

their speeifie eriteria for determining the amount of the initial deposit charged for existing accounts and new service 

requests. The methodology shall conform to Section 366.05(l)(c), F.S. Eaeb Htility may req1:1ire an applieant fer 

serviee te satisfaeterily establish eredit, bHt s1:1eh establishment ef eredit shall net relieYe the e1:1stemer frem 

eemplying with the Htilities' mles fer prempt payment efbills. Credit will be deemed sa established if: 

(a) The applieant fer serviee f1:1mishes a satisfaetery gHaranter te seeHFe pa;·meRt efbills fer the serviee req1:1ested. 

Fer residential el:lstemers, a satisfaetery gHaranter shall, at the minim1:1m, be a eHstemer efthe Htility with a 

satisfaetery payment reeerd. Fer nan residential 6Hstemers, a satisfaetery g1:1aranter need net be a e1:1stemer efthe 

Htility. Eaeh Htility shall develop minimHm finaneial eriteria that a prepesed gHaranter m1:1st meet te qHalify as a 

satisfaetery g1:1aranter. A eepy efthe eriteria shall be made available te eaeh new nan residential eHstemer HJ39n 

reqHest by the eHstemer. A gHaranter's liability shall be terminated v.<hen a residential el:lstemer whese payment ef 

bills is seeHFed by the gHaranter meets the re(;):Hirements efsl:lbseetien (6) efthis rule. GHaranters providing seeHFity 

fer payment ef resideRtial 6Hstemers' bills shall enly be liable fer bills eentraeted at the serviee address eentained in 

the eeRtraet efgHaranty. 

(b) The applieant pa;'s a eash deposit. 

(e) The applieant fer serviee furnishes an irre·;eeable letter ef eredit frem a bank er a sHret)· bend. 

(2) Each utility may require an applicant for service to satisfactorily establish credit, but such establishment of credit 

shall not relieve the customer from complying with the utility's rules for payment of bills. Credit will be deemed so 

established if: 

(a) The applicant for service furnishes a satisfactory guarantor to secure payment of bills for the service requested. 

For residential customers. a satisfactory guarantor shall. at the minimum, be a customer of the utility with a 

satisfactory payment record. For non-residential customers. a satisfactory guarantor need not be a customer of the 

utility. Each utility shall develop minimum financial criteria that a proposed guarantor must meet to qualify as a 

satisfactory guarantor. A copy of the criteria shall be made available to each new non-residential customer upon 

request by the customer. A guarantor's liability shall be terminated when a residential customer whose payment of 

bills is secured by the guarantor meets the requirements of subsection (7) of this rule. Guarantors providing security 

for payment of residential customers' bills shall only be liable for bills contracted at the service address contained in 



the contract of guaranty. 

(b) The applicant pays a cash deposit. 

(c) The applicant for service furnishes an irrevocable letter of credit from a bank or a surety bond. 

(J}~ Receipt for deposit. The utility shall provide a receipt to the customer for any deposit received from the 

customer. A non transferable certificate of deposit shall be issued to eaeh customer and means provided so that the 

customer may claim the deposit if the certificate is lost. When a new or additional deposit is required under 

subseetion (3) of this rule a customer's cancelled cheek or validated bill eoupon may ser•re as a deposit receipt. 

(i)~ Deposits for existing accounts.New or additional deposits. A utility may charge reEtffire, upon reasonable 

written notice to the customer of not less than 30 days, sueh request or notice being separate and apart from any bill 

for service, a new deposit, where preyio1:1sly waived or retl:lffied, or an additional ~ deposit on an existing account, in 

order to secure payment of ew:rent bills; pro•rided, however, that the total amo1:1nt of the req1:1ired deposit shall not 

exeeed an amount eq1:1al to the average aet1:1al charges for gas serviee for two billing periods for the 12 month period 

immediately prior to the date ofnotiee. In the event the customer has had serviee less than 12 months, then the 

utility shall base its new or additional deposit upon the average actual monthly billing available. Such request for a 

deposit shall be separate and apart from any bill for service and shall explain the reason for the deposit. The deposit 

charged must conform to the requirements of Section 366.05(l)(c)l., F.S. 

(~81 Record of deposit. Each utility having on hand deposits from eustomers or hereafter receiving deposits from 

them shall keep records to show: 

(a) The name of each customer making the deposit; 

(b) The premises for which the deposit applies oeeupied by the customer; 

(c) The date and amount of deposit; and 

(d) Each transaction concerning the deposit such as interest payments, interest credited or similar transactions. 

(Q}~ Interest on deposits. 

(a) Each gas utility which requests deposits to be made by its customers shall pay a minimum interest on such 

deposits of 2 percent per annum. The utility shall pay a minimum interest rate of 3 percent per annum on deposits of 

nonresidential customers qualifying under subsection (Wj below when the utility elects not to refund such a 

deposit after 23 months. Sueh interest rates shall be applied within 45 days of the effective date ofthe rule. 

(b) The deposit interest shall be simple interest in all cases and settlement shall be made annually, either in cash or 



by credit on the current bill. This does not prohibit any utility paying a higher rate of interest than required by this 

rule. No customer depositor shall be entitled to receive interest on .1! ffis deposit until and unless a customer 

relationship and the deposit have been in existence for a continuous period of six months, then the customer he shall 

be entitled to receive interest from the day of the commencement of the customer relationship and the placement of 

deposit. Nothing in this rule shall prohibit a utility from refunding at any time a deposit with any accrued interest. 

(1)~ Refund of deposit. After a customer has established a satisfactory payment record and has had continuous 

service for a period of23 months, the utility shall refund the residential customer's deposits and shall, at the utility's 

its option, either refund or pay the higher rate of interest specified above for nonresidential deposits, provided the 

customer has not, in the preceding 12 months: 

(a) Made more than one late payment of a bill (after the expiration of20 days from the date of mailing or delivery by 

the utility); 

(b) Paid with check refused by a bank; 

(c) Been disconnected for nonpayment, or at any time; 

(d) Tampered with the gas meter; or 

(e) Used service in a fraudulent or unauthorized manner. Nothieg is this rule shall fJFOhibit the eofAfJaey from 

refuedieg at aey time a deflosit with aey aeerued ieterest. 

(IDfB Refund of deposit when service is disconnected. Upon termination of service, the deposit and accrued interest 

may be credited against the final account and the balance, if any, shall be returned promptly to the customer but in 

no event later than fifteen (15) days after service is discontinued. 

Rulemaking Authority 366.05(1), 350.127(2) FS. Law Implemented 366.03, 366.05(1) FS. History-New 1-8-75, 

Amended 6-15-76, 6-10-80, 1-31-84, Formerly 25-7.83, Amended 10-13-88, 4-25-94, 3-14-99, 7-26-12, 



25-7.085 Customer Billing. 

(1) Bills shall be rendered monthly. With the exception of a duplicate bill, each customer's bill shall show at least 

the following information: 

(a) The meter reading and the date the meter was read plus the meter reading for the previous period. When an 

electronic meter is used, the gas volume consumed for the billing month may be shown. If the gas consumption is 

estimated, the word "estimated" shall prominently appear on the bill. 

(b) Therms and cubic feet consumed. 

(c) The total dollar amount of the bill, indicating separately: 

1. Customer, Base or Basic Service charge. 

2. Energy (therm) charge~ exclusive of fuel cost in cents per therm. 

3. Fuel (therm) charges oost in cents per therm (no fuel costs shall be included in the charge for energy). 

4. Total gas cost which at a minimum is the sum of charges 1 through 3 above but can include other line item 

charges (e.g .. Florida Gross Receipts Tax) the e1:1stemer eharge, tetal fuel eest and tetal eeergy eost. 

5. Franchise fees, if applicable. 

6. Taxes, as applicable on purchases of gas by the customer. 

7. Any discount or penalty, if applicable. 

8. Past due balances. 

9. The gross and net billing, if applicable. 

(d) Identification ofthe applicable rate schedule. 

(e) The date by which payment must be made in order to benefit from any discount or avoid any penalty, if 

applicable. 

(f) The average daily therm consumption for the current period and for the same period in the previous year, for the 

same customer at the same location. 

(g) The delinquent date or the date after which the bill becomes past due. 

(h) Any conversion factors which can be used by customers to convert from meter reading units to billing units. 

(i) Where budget billing is used, the bill shall contain the current month's consumption and charges separately from 

budgeted amounts. 

(j) The name of the utility plus the address. aed telephone number(s) and web address efthe leeal effiee where the 



bill can be paid and questions concerning the bill can be answered. 

(2) All gas utilities shall charge for gas service on a thermal basis instead of on a volume basis. The provisions 

governing customer billing on a thermal basis shall be as follows: 

(a) The unit of service shall be the "Therm." 

(b) The number oftherms which shall have been taken by consumer during a given period shall be determined by 

multiplying the difference in the meter readings in cubic feet at the beginning and end of the period by the 

conversion factors in paragraph (I )(h) including a heating-value factor which has been determined as prescribed in 

paragraph (c) below. 

(c) The heating-value factor for gas utilities receiving and distributing natural gas shall be the average thermal value 

of the natural gas received and distributed during the preceding month. In case the average heating value during the 

calendar month has been below the standard, then the value to be used in determining the factor shall be the heating 

value standard minus a deduction of one percent (I%) for each one percent (I%) or fraction thereof that the average 

heating value has been below the standard. 

(d) The consumer shall be billed to the nearest one-tenth of a therm. 

(3) Whenever the period of service for which an initial or opening bill would be rendered is less than the normal 

billing period, no bill for that period need be rendered if the volume amount consumed is carried over and included 

in the next regular monthly billing. If, however, a bill for such period is rendered, the applicable charges, including 

minimum charges, shall be prorated. 

(4) When there is sufficient cause, estimated billings may be used by a utility provided that with the customer's third 

consecutive estimated billing the customer is informed of the reason for the estimation and whom to contact to 

obtain an actual meter reading if one is desired. An actual meter reading must be taken at least once every six 

months. If an estimated bill appears to be abnormal once an actual meter reading is obtained, the bill for the entire 

estimation period shall be computed at a rate based on use of service during the entire period and the estimated bill 

shall be deducted. Ifthere is substantial evidence that such use occurred during only one billing period, the bill shall 

be computed. 

(5) The advancement or postponement of r:R:egular meter reading dates is governed by subsection 366.05(l)(b), F.S. 

may be advaaeed or postpoaed aot more thaR fiye days withm:1t a proratioa of the billiag for the period. 

(6) The practices employed by each utility regarding customer billing shall have uniform application to all 



customers on the same rate schedule. 

(7) Franchise Fees. 

(a) When a municipality charges a utility any franchise fee, the utility may collect that fee only from its customers 

receiving service within that municipality. When a county charges a utility any franchise fee, the county may collect 

that fee only from its customers receiving service within that county. 

(b) A utility eompaR-)' may not incorporate any franchise fee into its other rates for service. 

(c) This subsection shall not be construed as granting a municipality or county the authority to charge a franchise 

fee. This subsection only specifies the method of collection of a franchise fee, if a municipality or county, having 

authority to do so, charges a franchise fee. 

Rulemaking Authority 366.05(1) FS. Law Implemented 366.05(1), 366.06(1) FS. History-New 12-15-73, 

Repromulgated 1-8-75, Amended 5-4-75, 11-21-82, 12-26-82, Formerly 25-7.85, Amended 10-10-95, 7-3-96, 



SUMMARY OF THE RULE 

The rule amendments conform the rules to recent amendments to Section 366.05, F.S., and clarify and simplify the 

rules and delete unnecessary and redundant rule language. 

Rules 25-7.079- Amendments clarify that upon request of the customer, the utility shall provide to the customer a 

copy and/or explanation of the utility's rates applicable to the type or types of service furnished or to be furnished to 

the customer. The amendments also remove language that is redundant to the implementing statute. 

Rule 25-7.083 - Amendments state that the methodology for determining the amount of customer deposits shall 

conform to paragraph 366.05(1)(c), F.S. The amendments also clarify the rule and remove language that is 

redundant to the implementing statute. 

Rule 25-7.085- Amendments state that the advancement or postponment of regular meter reading dates is governed 

by subsection 366.05(1)(b), F.S. The amendments also clarify the rule. 

WRITTEN STATEMENT OF THE FACTS AND CIRCUMSTANCES JUSTIFYING THE RULE 

The amendments conform the rules to recent amendments to Section 366.05, F.S. The rule amendments also clarify 

the rules and remove language that is redundant to the implementing statute 

SUMMARY OF ANY HEARINGS HELD ON THE RULE 

No timely request for a hearing was received by the agency, and no hearing was held. 




