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NOTICE OF ADOPTION OF RULE  
 

BY THE COMMISSION: 
 
 NOTICE is hereby given that the Florida Public Service Commission, pursuant to Section 
120.54, Florida Statutes, has adopted without changes Rules 25-6.093, 25-6.097, 25-6.100, 25-
7.079, 25-7.083 and 25-7.085, Florida Administrative Code.  
 
 The rules were filed with the Department of State on January 12, 2016 and will be 
effective on February 1, 2016.   A copy of the rules as filed with the Department is attached to 
this Notice. 
 
 This docket is closed upon issuance of this Notice. 
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By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission this 12th day of January, 2016. 

PHP 

'~~ Commission Clerk 
Florida Public Service Commission 
2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard 
Tallahassee, Florida 32399 
(850) 413-6770 
www.floridapsc.com 

Copies furnished: A copy of this document is 
provided to the parties of record at the time of 
issuance and, if applicable, interested persons. 
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25-6.093 Information to Customers. 

(1) Each utility shall, upon request of any customer, give such information and assistance as is reasonable, in order 

that the customer may secure safe and efficient service. Upon the customer’s request, the utility shall provide to the 

any customer information as to the method of reading meters and the derivation of billing therefrom, the billing 

cycle and approximate date of monthly meter reading. 

(2) Upon request of the any customer, the utility shall is required to provide to the customer a copy and explanation 

of the utility’s rates and provisions applicable to the type or types of service furnished or to be furnished such 

customer, and to assist the customer in obtaining the rate schedule which is most advantageous to the customer’s 

requirements. 

(3)(a) By paper or electronic bill insert, billing statement, website, electronic notification, or other means agreed to 

by both the customer and the utility appropriate means of communication, the utility shall give to each of its 

customers a summary of all available electrical major rates schedules that which are available to the class of which 

that customer is a member., and 

(b) The utility shall provide the information contained in paragraph (a) to all its customers: 

1. Not later than 60 days after the commencement of service, and 

2. Not less frequently than once each year, and 

3. Not later than 60 days after the utility has received approval of its new rate schedule applicable to such customer. 

(c) In this subsection, “rate schedule” shall mean customer charge, energy charge, and demand charge, as set forth in 

Rule 25-6.100, F.A.C. 

(d) By bill insert, or as a message on the customer bill, on a quarterly basis using the utility’s normal billing cycle, 

each utility shall provide its customers the sources of generation for the most recent 12-month period available prior 

to the billing cycle. The sources of generation shall be stated by fuel type for utility generation and as “purchased 

power” for off-system purchases. The sources of generation are to be set forth as kilowatt-hour percentages of the 

total utility generation and purchased power. 

(4) Upon request of the any customer, but not more frequently than once each calendar year, the utility shall  provide 

to the customer transmit a concise statement of the actual consumption of electric energy by that customer for each 

billing period during the previous 12 months. 
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Rulemaking Authority 366.05(1), 350.127(2) FS. Law Implemented 366.03, 366.04(2)(f), (6), 366.041(1), 366.05(1), 

(3), 366.06(1) FS. History–New 7-29-69, Amended 11-26-80, 6-28-82, 10-15-84, Formerly 25-6.93, Amended 4-18-

99,___________. 

25-6.097 Customer Deposits. 

(1) Deposit required; establishment of credit. Each utility’s company’s tariff shall state the methodology contain 

their specific criteria for determining the amount of the initial deposit charged for existing accounts and new service 

requests.  The methodology shall conform to paragraph 366.05(1)(c), F.S. Each utility may require an applicant for 

service to satisfactorily establish credit, but such establishment of credit shall not relieve the customer from 

complying with the utilities’ rules for prompt payment of bills. Credit will be deemed so established if: 

(a) The applicant for service furnishes a satisfactory guarantor to secure payment of bills for the service requested. 

For residential customers, a satisfactory guarantor shall, at the minimum, be a customer of the utility with a 

satisfactory payment record. For non-residential customers, a satisfactory guarantor need not be a customer of the 

utility. Each utility shall develop minimum financial criteria that a proposed guarantor must meet to qualify as a 

satisfactory guarantor. A copy of the criteria shall be made available to each new non-residential customer upon 

request by the customer. A guarantor’s liability shall be terminated when a residential customer whose payment of 

bills is secured by the guarantor meets the requirements of subsection (2) of this rule. Guarantors providing security 

for payment of residential customers’ bills shall only be liable for bills contracted at the service address contained in 

the contract of guaranty. 

(b) The applicant pays a cash deposit. 

(c) The applicant for service furnishes an irrevocable letter of credit from a bank or a surety bond. 

(2) Each utility may require an applicant for service to satisfactorily establish credit, but such establishment of credit 

shall not relieve the customer from complying with the utility’s rules for payment of bills. Credit will be deemed so 

established if: 

(a) The applicant for service furnishes a satisfactory guarantor to secure payment of bills for the service requested. 

For residential customers, a satisfactory guarantor shall, at a minimum, be a customer of the utility with a 

satisfactory payment record. For non-residential customers, a satisfactory guarantor need not be a customer of the 

utility. Each utility shall develop minimum financial criteria that a proposed guarantor must meet to qualify as a 
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satisfactory guarantor. A copy of the criteria shall be made available to each new non-residential customer upon 

request by the customer. A guarantor’s liability shall be terminated when a residential customer whose payment of 

bills is secured by the guarantor meets the requirements of subsection (3) of this rule. Guarantors providing security 

for payment of residential customers’ bills shall only be liable for bills contracted at the service address contained in 

the contract of guaranty. 

(b) The applicant pays a cash deposit. 

(c) The applicant for service furnishes an irrevocable letter of credit from a bank or a surety bond. 

(3)(2) Refund of deposits. After a customer has established a satisfactory payment record and has had continuous 

service for a period of 23 months, the utility shall refund the residential customer’s deposits and shall, at the utility’s 

its option, either refund or pay the higher rate of interest specified below for nonresidential deposits, providing the 

customer has not, in the preceding 12 months:. 

(a) Made more than one late payment of a bill (after the expiration of 20 days from the date of mailing or delivery by 

the utility). 

(b) Paid with a check refused by a bank. 

(c) Been disconnected for nonpayment, or at any time. 

(d) Tampered with the electric meter, or 

(e) Used service in a fraudulent or unauthorized manner. 

(4)(3) Deposits for existing accounts New or additional deposits. A utility may charge require, upon reasonable 

written notice to the customer of not less than thirty (30) days, a new deposit, where previously waived or returned, 

or additional deposit on an existing account, in order to secure payment of current bills. Such request for a deposit 

shall be separate and apart from any bill for service and shall explain the reason for the such new or additional 

deposit, provided, however, that the total amount of the required deposit shall not exceed an amount equal to twice 

the average charges for actual usage of electric service for the twelve month period immediately prior to the date of 

notice. In the event the customer has had service less than twelve months, then the utility shall base its new or 

additional deposit upon the average actual monthly usage available. The deposit charged must conform to the 

requirements of Section 366.05(1)(c)1., F.S. 

(5)(4) Interest on deposits. 
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(a) Each electric utility which requires deposits to be made by its customers shall pay a minimum interest on such 

deposits of 2 percent per annum. The utility shall pay an interest rate of 3 percent per annum on deposits of 

nonresidential customers qualifying under subsection (3)(2) when the utility elects not to refund such deposit after 

23 months. Such interest rates shall be applied within 45 days of the effective date of the rule. 

(b) The deposit interest shall be simple interest in all cases and settlement shall be made annually, either in cash or 

by credit on the current bill. This does not prohibit any utility paying a higher rate of interest than required by this 

rule. No customer depositor shall be entitled to receive interest on a his deposit until and unless a customer 

relationship and the deposit have been in existence for a continuous period of six months, then the customer he shall 

be entitled to receive interest from the day of the commencement of the customer relationship and the placement of 

deposit. Nothing in this rule shall prohibit a utility from refunding at any time a deposit with any accrued interest. 

(6)(5) Record of deposits. Each utility having on hand deposits from a customer or hereafter receiving deposits from 

them shall keep records to show: 

(a) The name of each customer making the deposit; 

(b) The premises for which the deposit applies occupied by the customer; 

(c) The date and amount of deposit; and 

(d) Each transaction concerning the deposits such as interest payments, interest credited or similar transactions. 

(7)(6) Receipt for deposit. The utility shall provide a receipt to the customer for any deposit received from the 

customer A non-transferable certificate of deposit shall be issued to each customer and means provided so that the 

customer may claim the deposit if the certificate is lost. Where a new or additional deposit is required under 

subsection (3) of this rule, a customer’s cancelled check or validated bill coupon may serve as a deposit receipt. 

(8)(7) Refund of deposit when service is discontinued. Upon termination of service, the deposit and accrued interest 

may be credited against the final account and the balance, if any, shall be returned promptly to the customer but in 

no event later than fifteen (15) days after service is discontinued. 

Rulemaking Authority 366.05(1), 350.127(2) FS. Law Implemented 366.03, 366.041(1), 366.05(1), 366.06(1) FS. 

History–New 7-29-69, Amended 5-9-76, 7-8-79, 6-10-80, 10-17-83, 1-31-84, Formerly 25-6.97, Amended 10-13-88, 

4-25-94, 3-14-99, 7-26-12, ___________. 
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25-6.100 Customer Billings. 

(1) Bills shall be rendered monthly and as promptly as possible following the reading of meters. 

(2) By January 1, 1983, Eeach customer’s bill shall show at least the following information: 

(a) The meter reading and the date the meter is read, in addition to the meter reading for the previous period. If the 

meter reading is estimated, the word “estimated” shall be prominently displayed on the bill. 

(b)1. Kilowatt-hours (KWH) consumed including on and off peak if customer is time-of-day metered. 

2. Kilowatt (KW) demand, if applicable, including on and off peak if customer is time-of-day metered. 

(c) The dollar amount of the bill, including separately: 

1. Customer, Base or Basic Service charge. 

2. Energy (KWH) charges, exclusive of fuel, in cents per KWH, including amounts for on and off peak if the 

customer is time-of-day metered, and applicable cost recovery clause charges energy conservation costs . 

3. Demand (KW) charges, exclusive of fuel, in dollar cost per KW, if applicable, for any demand charges included 

in the utility’s rate structure and applicable cost recovery clause charges including amounts for on and off peak if the 

customer is time-of-day metered. 

4. Fuel (KWH) charges cost in cents per KWH (no fuel costs shall be included in the Energy or Demand base 

charges for demand or energy). 

5. Total electric cost which, at a minimum, is the sum of the customer charge, total fuel cost, total energy cost, and 

total demand cost. charges 1 through 4 above but can include other line item charges (e.g.,  Florida Gross Receipts 

Tax, etc.). 

6. Franchise fees, if applicable. 

7. Taxes, as applicable on purchases of electricity by the customer. 

8. Any discount or penalty, if applicable. 

9. Past due balances shown separately. 

10. The gross and net billing, if applicable. 

11. The rate and amount of the “Asset Securitization Charge,” pursuant to paragraph 366.95(4)(b), F.S., if 

applicable. 

(d) Identification of the applicable rate schedule. 
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(e) The date by which payment must be made in order to benefit from any discount or avoid any penalty, if 

applicable. 

(f) The average daily KWH consumption for the current period and for the same period in the previous year, for the 

same customer at the same location. 

(g) The delinquent date or the date after which the bill becomes past due. 

(h) Any conversion factors which can be used by customers to convert from meter reading units to billing units. 

Where metering complexity makes this requirement impractical, a statement must be on the bill advising where and 

how that such information may be obtained from by contacting the utility’s local business office. 

(i) Where budget billing is used, the bill shall contain the current month’s actual consumption and charges should be 

shown separately from budgeted amounts. 

(j) If applicable, the information required by subsection 366.8260(4), F.S., and subsection 366.95(4), F.S. 

(k)(j) The name and address of the utility and plus the telephone toll-free number(s) and web address where 

customers can receive information about their bill as well as locations where the customers can pay their utility bill. 

Such information must identify those locations where no surcharge is incurred. 

(3) When there is sufficient cause, estimated bills may be submitted provided that with the third consecutive 

estimated bill the company shall contact the customer explaining the reason for the estimated billing and who to 

contact in order to obtain an actual meter reading. An actual meter reading must be taken at least once every six 

months. If an estimated bill appears to be abnormal when a subsequent reading is obtained, the bill for the entire 

period shall be computed at a rate which contemplates the use of service during the entire period and the estimated 

bill shall be deducted. If there is reasonable evidence that such use occurred during only one billing period, the bill 

shall be computed. 

(4) The advancement or postponement of tThe regular meter reading date is governed by subsection 366.05(1)(b), 

F.S. may be advanced or postponed not more than five days without a pro-ration of the billing for the period. 

(5) Whenever the period of service for which an initial or opening bill is rendered is less than the normal billing 

period, the charges applicable to such service, including minimum charges, shall be prorated pro-rated except that 

initial or opening bills need not be rendered but the energy used during such period may be carried over to and 

included in the next regular monthly billing. 
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(6) The practices employed by each utility regarding customer billing shall have uniform application to all 

customers on the same rate schedule. 

(7) Franchise Fees. 

(a) When a municipality charges a utility any franchise fee, the utility may collect that fee only from its customers 

receiving service within that municipality. When a county charges a utility any franchise fee, the utility may collect 

that fee only from its customers receiving service within that county. 

(b) A utility may not incorporate any franchise fee into its other rates for service. 

(c) For the purposes of this subsection, the term “utility” shall mean any electric utility, rural electric cooperative, or 

municipal electric utility. 

(d) This subsection shall not be construed as granting a municipality or county the authority to charge a franchise 

fee. This subsection only specifies the method of collection of a franchise fee, if a municipality or county, having 

authority to do so, charges a franchise fee. 

Rulemaking Authority 366.05(1), 366.04(2) FS. Law Implemented 366.03, 366.04(2), 366.041(1), 366.05(1), 

366.051, 366.06(1), 366.8260(4), 366.95(4) FS. History–New 2-25-76, Amended 4-13-80, 12-29-81, 6-28-82, 5-16-

83, 2-4-13,___________. 

25-7.079 Information to Customers. 

(1) Each utility shall, upon request, give its customers such information and assistance as is reasonable, in order that 

the customer may secure safe and efficient service. The utility shall, when requested, by the customer, provide to the 

any customer information as to the method of reading meters and derivation of billing therefrom. 

(2) Upon request of the any customer, it shall be the duty of the utility shall to provide to the customer, a copy 

and/or explanation of the utility’s rates applicable to the type or types of service furnished or to be furnished to the 

such customer, and to assist him in obtaining the rate which is most advantageous for his service requirements. 

Rulemaking Authority 366.05(1) FS. Law Implemented 366.03, 366.05(1), 366.06 FS. History–New 1-8-75, 

Repromulgated 5-4-75, Formerly 25-7.79, Amended ___________. 

25-7.083 Customer Deposits 

(1) Deposit required; establishment of credit. Each utility’s company’s tariff shall state the methodology contain 

their specific criteria for determining the amount of the initial deposit charged for existing accounts and new service 
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requests. The methodology shall conform to Section 366.05(1)(c), F.S. Each utility may require an applicant for 

service to satisfactorily establish credit, but such establishment of credit shall not relieve the customer from 

complying with the utilities’ rules for prompt payment of bills. Credit will be deemed so established if: 

(a) The applicant for service furnishes a satisfactory guarantor to secure payment of bills for the service requested. 

For residential customers, a satisfactory guarantor shall, at the minimum, be a customer of the utility with a 

satisfactory payment record. For non-residential customers, a satisfactory guarantor need not be a customer of the 

utility. Each utility shall develop minimum financial criteria that a proposed guarantor must meet to qualify as a 

satisfactory guarantor. A copy of the criteria shall be made available to each new non-residential customer upon 

request by the customer. A guarantor’s liability shall be terminated when a residential customer whose payment of 

bills is secured by the guarantor meets the requirements of subsection (6) of this rule. Guarantors providing security 

for payment of residential customers’ bills shall only be liable for bills contracted at the service address contained in 

the contract of guaranty. 

(b) The applicant pays a cash deposit. 

(c) The applicant for service furnishes an irrevocable letter of credit from a bank or a surety bond. 

(2) Each utility may require an applicant for service to satisfactorily establish credit, but such establishment of credit 

shall not relieve the customer from complying with the utility’s rules for payment of bills. Credit will be deemed so 

established if: 

(a) The applicant for service furnishes a satisfactory guarantor to secure payment of bills for the service requested. 

For residential customers, a satisfactory guarantor shall, at the minimum, be a customer of the utility with a 

satisfactory payment record. For non-residential customers, a satisfactory guarantor need not be a customer of the 

utility. Each utility shall develop minimum financial criteria that a proposed guarantor must meet to qualify as a 

satisfactory guarantor. A copy of the criteria shall be made available to each new non-residential customer upon 

request by the customer. A guarantor’s liability shall be terminated when a residential customer whose payment of 

bills is secured by the guarantor meets the requirements of subsection (7) of this rule. Guarantors providing security 

for payment of residential customers’ bills shall only be liable for bills contracted at the service address contained in 

the contract of guaranty. 

(b) The applicant pays a cash deposit. 
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(c) The applicant for service furnishes an irrevocable letter of credit from a bank or a surety bond. 

(3)(2) Receipt for deposit. The utility shall provide a receipt to the customer for any deposit received from the 

customer. A non-transferable certificate of deposit shall be issued to each customer and means provided so that the 

customer may claim the deposit if the certificate is lost. When a new or additional deposit is required under 

subsection (3) of this rule a customer’s cancelled check or validated bill coupon may serve as a deposit receipt. 

(4)(3) Deposits for existing accounts New or additional deposits. A utility may charge require, upon reasonable 

written notice to the customer of not less than 30 days, such request or notice being separate and apart from any bill 

for service, a new deposit, where previously waived or returned, or an additional a deposit on an existing account, in 

order to secure payment of current bills; provided, however, that the total amount of the required deposit shall not 

exceed an amount equal to the average actual charges for gas service for two billing periods for the 12-month period 

immediately prior to the date of notice. In the event the customer has had service less than 12 months, then the 

utility shall base its new or additional deposit upon the average actual monthly billing available. Such request for a 

deposit shall be separate and apart from any bill for service and shall explain the reason for the deposit. The deposit 

charged must conform to the requirements of Section 366.05(1)(c)1., F.S. 

(5)(4) Record of deposit. Each utility having on hand deposits from customers or hereafter receiving deposits from 

them shall keep records to show: 

(a) The name of each customer making the deposit; 

(b) The premises for which the deposit applies occupied by the customer; 

(c) The date and amount of deposit; and 

(d) Each transaction concerning the deposit such as interest payments, interest credited or similar transactions. 

(6)(5) Interest on deposits. 

(a) Each gas utility which requests deposits to be made by its customers shall pay a minimum interest on such 

deposits of 2 percent per annum. The utility shall pay a minimum interest rate of 3 percent per annum on deposits of 

nonresidential customers qualifying under subsection (7)(6) below when the utility elects not to refund such a 

deposit after 23 months. Such interest rates shall be applied within 45 days of the effective date of the rule. 

(b) The deposit interest shall be simple interest in all cases and settlement shall be made annually, either in cash or 

by credit on the current bill. This does not prohibit any utility paying a higher rate of interest than required by this 
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rule. No customer depositor shall be entitled to receive interest on a his deposit until and unless a customer 

relationship and the deposit have been in existence for a continuous period of six months, then the customer he shall 

be entitled to receive interest from the day of the commencement of the customer relationship and the placement of 

deposit.  Nothing in this rule shall prohibit a utility from refunding at any time a deposit with any accrued interest. 

(7)(6) Refund of deposit. After a customer has established a satisfactory payment record and has had continuous 

service for a period of 23 months, the utility shall refund the residential customer’s deposits and shall, at the utility’s 

its option, either refund or pay the higher rate of interest specified above for nonresidential deposits, provided the 

customer has not, in the preceding 12 months:  

(a) Made more than one late payment of a bill (after the expiration of 20 days from the date of mailing or delivery by 

the utility);  

(b) Paid with check refused by a bank;  

(c) Been disconnected for nonpayment, or at any time;  

(d) Tampered with the gas meter; or  

(e) Used service in a fraudulent or unauthorized manner. Nothing in this rule shall prohibit the company from 

refunding at any time a deposit with any accrued interest. 

(8)(7) Refund of deposit when service is disconnected. Upon termination of service, the deposit and accrued interest 

may be credited against the final account and the balance, if any, shall be returned promptly to the customer but in 

no event later than fifteen (15) days after service is discontinued. 

Rulemaking Authority 366.05(1), 350.127(2) FS. Law Implemented 366.03, 366.05(1) FS. History–New 1-8-75, 

Amended 6-15-76, 6-10-80, 1-31-84, Formerly 25-7.83, Amended 10-13-88, 4-25-94, 3-14-99, 7-26-12, 

_____________. 

25-7.085 Customer Billing. 

(1) Bills shall be rendered monthly. With the exception of a duplicate bill, each customer’s bill shall show at least 

the following information: 

(a) The meter reading and the date the meter was read plus the meter reading for the previous period. When an 

electronic meter is used, the gas volume consumed for the billing month may be shown. If the gas consumption is 

estimated, the word “estimated” shall prominently appear on the bill. 
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(b) Therms and cubic feet consumed. 

(c) The total dollar amount of the bill, indicating separately: 

1. Customer, Base or Basic Service charge. 

2. Energy (therm) charges exclusive of fuel cost in cents per therm. 

3. Fuel (therm) charges cost in cents per therm (no fuel costs shall be included in the charge for energy). 

4. Total gas cost which at a minimum is the sum of charges 1 through 3 above but can include other line item 

charges (e.g., Florida Gross Receipts Tax) the customer charge, total fuel cost and total energy cost. 

5. Franchise fees, if applicable. 

6. Taxes, as applicable on purchases of gas by the customer. 

7. Any discount or penalty, if applicable. 

8. Past due balances. 

9. The gross and net billing, if applicable. 

(d) Identification of the applicable rate schedule. 

(e) The date by which payment must be made in order to benefit from any discount or avoid any penalty, if 

applicable. 

(f) The average daily therm consumption for the current period and for the same period in the previous year, for the 

same customer at the same location. 

(g) The delinquent date or the date after which the bill becomes past due. 

(h) Any conversion factors which can be used by customers to convert from meter reading units to billing units. 

(i) Where budget billing is used, the bill shall contain the current month’s consumption and charges separately from 

budgeted amounts. 

(j) The name of the utility plus the address, and telephone number(s) and web address of the local office where the 

bill can be paid and questions concerning the bill can be answered. 

(2) All gas utilities shall charge for gas service on a thermal basis instead of on a volume basis. The provisions 

governing customer billing on a thermal basis shall be as follows: 

(a) The unit of service shall be the “Therm.” 

(b) The number of therms which shall have been taken by consumer during a given period shall be determined by 
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multiplying the difference in the meter readings in cubic feet at the beginning and end of the period by the 

conversion factors in paragraph (1)(h) including a heating-value factor which has been determined as prescribed in 

paragraph (c) below. 

(c) The heating-value factor for gas utilities receiving and distributing natural gas shall be the average thermal value 

of the natural gas received and distributed during the preceding month. In case the average heating value during the 

calendar month has been below the standard, then the value to be used in determining the factor shall be the heating 

value standard minus a deduction of one percent (1%) for each one percent (1%) or fraction thereof that the average 

heating value has been below the standard. 

(d) The consumer shall be billed to the nearest one-tenth of a therm. 

(3) Whenever the period of service for which an initial or opening bill would be rendered is less than the normal 

billing period, no bill for that period need be rendered if the volume amount consumed is carried over and included 

in the next regular monthly billing. If, however, a bill for such period is rendered, the applicable charges, including 

minimum charges, shall be prorated. 

(4) When there is sufficient cause, estimated billings may be used by a utility provided that with the customer’s third 

consecutive estimated billing the customer is informed of the reason for the estimation and whom to contact to 

obtain an actual meter reading if one is desired. An actual meter reading must be taken at least once every six 

months. If an estimated bill appears to be abnormal once an actual meter reading is obtained, the bill for the entire 

estimation period shall be computed at a rate based on use of service during the entire period and the estimated bill 

shall be deducted. If there is substantial evidence that such use occurred during only one billing period, the bill shall 

be computed. 

(5) The advancement or postponement of  rRegular meter reading dates is governed by subsection 366.05(1)(b), F.S. 

may be advanced or postponed not more than five days without a proration of the billing for the period. 

(6) The practices employed by each utility regarding customer billing shall have uniform application to all 

customers on the same rate schedule. 

(7) Franchise Fees. 

(a) When a municipality charges a utility any franchise fee, the utility may collect that fee only from its customers 

receiving service within that municipality. When a county charges a utility any franchise fee, the county may collect 
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that fee only from its customers receiving service within that county. 

(b) A utility company may not incorporate any franchise fee into its other rates for service. 

(c) This subsection shall not be construed as granting a municipality or county the authority to charge a franchise 

fee. This subsection only specifies the method of collection of a franchise fee, if a municipality or county, having 

authority to do so, charges a franchise fee. 

Rulemaking Authority 366.05(1) FS. Law Implemented 366.05(1), 366.06(1) FS. History–New 12-15-73, 

Repromulgated 1-8-75, Amended 5-4-75, 11-21-82, 12-26-82, Formerly 25-7.85, Amended 10-10-95, 7-3-96, 

______________. 

 




