
 
 

BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 
 

 
In re: Application for NSF and late payment 
charges in Charlotte, Highlands, Lake, Lee, 
Marion, Orange, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, and 
Seminole Counties by Utilities Inc. of Florida. 

DOCKET NO. 160104-WS 
ORDER NO. PSC-16-0253-TRF-WS 
ISSUED: June 29, 2016 

 
 

The following Commissioners participated in the disposition of this matter: 
 

JULIE I. BROWN, Chairman 
LISA POLAK EDGAR 

ART GRAHAM 
RONALD A. BRISÉ 
JIMMY PATRONIS 

 
ORDER APPROVING LATE PAYMENT CHARGE 

AND NON-SUFFICIENT FUNDS CHARGE  
 

BY THE COMMISSION: 
Background 

Utilities, Inc. of Florida (UIF or utility) is a Class A water and wastewater utility serving 
approximately 33,193 water and 26,450 wastewater utility customers in Charlotte, Highlands, 
Lake, Lee, Marion, Orange, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, and Seminole Counties.  

Following the consolidation of the utility’s systems in Docket No. 150235-WS, the utility 
requested a revision of its non-sufficient funds (NSF) charges and late payment charges so that 
the charges would be consistent across all systems. On April 20, 2016, UIF filed an application 
for approval of NSF charges and late payment charges for those systems in Charlotte, Highlands, 
Lake, Lee, Marion, Orange, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, and Seminole Counties that do not currently 
have those approved charges. UIF currently has only two systems, formerly known as Lake 
Placid Utilities, Inc. and Cypress Lakes Utilities, Inc., that have an approved late payment 
charge. Additionally, UIF has only three systems, formerly known as Utilities, Inc. of 
Sandalhaven, Tierra Verde Utilities, Inc., and Utilities, Inc. of Eagle Ridge, that do not have an 
approved NSF charge. This Order addresses UIF’s requests. We have jurisdiction to consider this 
matter pursuant to Section 367.091(6), Florida Statutes (F.S.). 

 
Decision 

 
Late Payment Charge 
 

Section 367.091(6), F.S., authorizes this Commission to establish, increase, or change a 
rate or charge other than monthly rates or service availability charges. The utility requested a 
$5.25 late payment charge for those systems that do not currently have an approved late payment 
charge to recover the cost of supplies and labor associated with processing late payment notices. 
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The utility’s request for a late payment charge was accompanied by its reason for requesting the 
charge, as well as the cost justification required by Section 367.091(6), F.S. 

 
Approximately 1.61 percent or 960 (1.61% x 59,642) of UIF’s bills are delinquent on a 

monthly basis. The utility’s requested charge is based on an aggregate of all UIF systems. The 
utility indicated that it processes six late payment charges an hour. UIF’s combined employees’ 
salary is $44.68 per hour and at six transactions an hour results in a labor cost of $7.45 
($44.68/6). UIF provided a cost justification for a late payment charge of $8.14. The cost basis 
for the late payment charge, including labor, is shown in Table 1.  

 
Table 1 

Cost Basis for Late Payment Charge 
Labor $7.45

Printing 0.20

Postage 0.49

Total $8.14

 

For administrative efficiency, the utility would like to have a unified late payment charge 
for all UIF systems. Therefore, the utility only requested a charge of $5.25, which is the 
previously approved charge for two UIF systems, formerly known as Lake Placid Utilities, Inc. 
and Cypress Lakes Utilities, Inc.1 We find that the cost justification provided by the utility 
indicates that the requested late payment charge of $5.25 for the remaining UIF systems is 
reasonable.  

Based on Commission staff’s research, since the late 1990s, this Commission has 
approved late payment charges ranging from $2.00 to $7.00.2  The purpose of this charge is not 
only to provide an incentive for customers to make timely payment, thereby reducing the number 
of delinquent accounts, but also to place the cost burden of processing delinquent accounts solely 
upon those who are cost-causers. 

                                                 
1 See Order Nos. PSC-14-0335-PAA-WS, in Docket No. 130243-WS, issued June 30, 2014, In re: Application for 
staff-assisted rate case in Highlands County by Lake Placid Utilities Inc.; PSC-14-0283-PAA-WS, in Docket No. 
130212-WS, issued May 30, 2014, In re: Application for increase in water/wastewater rates in Polk County by 
Cypress Lakes Utilities, Inc. 
2 See Order Nos. PSC-14-0335-PAA-WS, in Docket No. 130243-WS, issued June 30, 2014, In re: Application for 
staff-assisted rate case in Highlands County by Lake Placid Utilities Inc.; PSC-14-0105-TRF-WS, in Docket No. 
130288-WS, issued February 20, 2014, In re: Request for approval of late payment charge in Brevard County by 
Aquarina Utilities, Inc.; PSC-13-0177-PAA-WU, in Docket No. 130052-WU, issued April 29, 2013, In re: 
Application for grandfather certificate to operate water utility in Charlotte County by Little Gasparilla Water Utility, 
Inc.; PSC-10-0257-TRF-WU, in Docket No. 090429-WU, issued April 26, 2010, In re: Request for approval of 
imposition of miscellaneous service charges, delinquent payment charge and meter tampering charge in Lake 
County, by Pine Harbour Water Utilities, LLC.; and  PSC-11-0204-TRF-SU, in Docket No. 100413-SU, issued 
April 25, 2011, In re: Request for approval of tariff amendment to include a late fee of $14.00 in Polk County by 
West Lakeland Wastewater. 
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Based on the above, this Commission finds that UIF’s request to uniformly implement a 
late payment charge of $5.25 shall be approved. UIF shall be required to file a proposed 
customer notice to reflect the Commission-approved charge for those systems where the charge 
is not currently approved. The approved charge shall be effective for services rendered on or 
after the stamped approval date on the tariff sheets pursuant to Rule 25-30.475(1), Florida 
Administrative Code (F.A.C.). In addition, the approved charge shall not be implemented until 
Commission staff has approved the proposed customer notice. The utility shall provide proof of 
the date notice was given within ten days after the date of the notice. 

Non-Sufficient Funds Charge (NSF Charge) 

Section 367.091, F.S., requires rates, charges, and customer service policies to be 
approved by this Commission. We have authority to establish, increase, or change a rate or 
charge.  

Three of UIF’s wastewater systems, formerly known as Utilities, Inc. of Sandalhaven, 
Tierra Verde Utilities, Inc., and Utilities, Inc. of Eagle Ridge, do not currently have an approved 
NSF charge. This Commission finds that UIF shall be authorized to collect NSF charges 
consistent with Section 68.065, F.S., which allows for the assessment of charges for the 
collection of worthless checks, drafts, or orders of payment. As currently set forth in Section 
68.065(2), F.S., the following NSF charges may be assessed: 

(1) $25, if the face value does not exceed $50,   

(2) $30, if the face value exceeds $50 but does not exceed $300, 

(3) $40, if the face value exceeds $300, 

(4) or five percent of the face amount of the check, whichever is greater.  

Approval of NSF charges is consistent with prior Commission decisions.3 Furthermore, 
NSF charges place the cost on the cost-causer, rather than requiring that the costs associated with 
the return of the NSF checks be spread across the general body of ratepayers. As such, UIF’s 
request to uniformly implement a NSF charge shall be approved. UIF shall revise its tariffs to 
reflect the NSF charges currently set forth in Section 68.065, F.S. UIF shall be required to file a 
proposed customer notice to reflect the Commission-approved charge for those systems where 
the charge is not currently approved. The NSF charges shall be effective on or after the stamped 
approval date on the tariff sheets pursuant to Rule 25-30.475(1), F.A.C. Furthermore, the charges 
shall not be implemented until Commission staff has approved the proposed customer notice. 
The utility shall provide proof of the date the notice was given within 10 days of the date of the 
notice.  

                                                 
3Order Nos. PSC-14-0198-TRF-SU, issued May 2, 2014, in Docket No. 140030-SU, In re: Request for approval to 
amend Miscellaneous Service charges to include all NSF charges by Environmental Protection Systems of Pine 
Island, Inc.; and PSC-13-0646-PAA-WU, issued December 5, 2013, in Docket No. 130025-WU, In re: Application 
for increase in water rates in Highlands County by Placid Lakes Utilities, Inc. 
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 Based on the foregoing, it is 
 
 ORDERED by the Florida Public Service Commission that Utilities, Inc. of Florida’s 
request to uniformly implement a late payment charge is hereby granted.  It is further 
 
 ORDERED that Utilities, Inc. of Florida’s request to uniformly implement a non-
sufficient funds charge is hereby granted.  It is further 
 
 ORDERED that Utilities, Inc. of Florida shall file revised tariff sheets consistent with our 
vote.  It is further 
 
 ORDERED that Utilities, Inc. of Florida shall be required to file a proposed customer 
notice to reflect the Commission-approved charges.  It is further 
 
 ORDERED that all approved charges in the Order shall be effective on or after the 
stamped approval date on the tariff sheets, pursuant to Rule 25-30.475(1), F.A.C.  It is further 
 
 ORDERED that all approved charges shall not be implemented until Commission staff 
has approved the proposed customer notice.  It is further 
 
 ORDERED that Utilities, Inc. of Florida shall provide proof of the date notice was given 
within 10 days after the date of the notice.  It is further 
 
 ORDERED that if no timely protest is filed, this docket shall remain open for staff’s 
verification that the revised tariff sheets and customer notice have been filed by the utility and 
approved by staff.  If a protest is filed within 21 days of the issuance date of the Order, the tariff 
sheets shall remain in effect with all charges held subject to refund pending resolution of the 
protest.  If no timely protest is filed, a consummating order shall be issued and, once staff 
verifies that the notice of the charges has been given to customers, the docket shall be 
administratively closed. 
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By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission this 29th day of June, 2016. 

MAL 

Commission Clerk 
Florida Public Service Commission 
2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard 
Tallahassee, Florida 32399 
(850) 413-6770 
W\VW. tloridapsc.com 

Copies furnished: A copy of this document is 
provided to the parties of record at the time of 
issuance and, if applicable, interested persons. 

OTICE OF FURTHER PROCEEDI OS 

The Florida Public crvice Commission is required by Section 120.569(1 ), Florida 

tatutes, to notify parties of any administrative hearing or judicial review of Commission orders 

that is avai lable under Sections 120.57 or 120.68, Florida Statutes, as well as the procedures and 

time limits that apply. This notice should not be construed to mean all requests for an 

administrative hearing or judicial review will be granted or result in the relief sought. 

Mediation may be avai lable on a case-by-case basis. If mediation is conducted, it does 

not affect a substantially interested person's right to a hearing. 

The Commission's decision on this tari ff is interim in nature and will become final, unless 

a person whose substantial interests are affected by the proposed action files a petition for a 

formal proceeding. in the form provided by Rule 28-1 06.20 I, Florida Administrative Code. This 

petition must be received by the Office of Commission Clerk, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, 

Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0850, by the close of business on July 20. 2016. 

In the absence of such a petition. this Order shall become final and effective upon the 

issuance of a Consummating Order. 

Any objection or protest filed in this docket before the issuance date of this order is 

considered abandoned unless it satisfies the foregoing conditions and is renewed within the 

specified protest period. 




