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NOTICE OF PROPOSED AGENCY ACTION 
ORDER APPROVING MISCELLANEOUS SERVICE CHARGES, INITIAL CUSTOMER 
DEPOSITS, CONVEN IENCE CHARGE. NON-SUFFICIENT FUNDS CHARGE. METER 
TAMPERING CHARGE, AND LATE CHARGE, ESTABLISHING NET BOOK VALUE, 

AND DECLINING TO MAKE AN ACQUISITION ADJUSTMENT, 
AND ~ 3·14·11"! 

FINAL ORDER APPROVING TRANSFER OF WATER AND WA£TEWATER-<­
CERTIFICATE NO. 288-W 

BY THE COMMISSION: 

NOTICE is hereby given by the Florida Public Service Commission (Commission) that 
the action di scussed herein, except for the transfer of Certificate, is preliminary in nature and will 
become final unless a person whose interests are substantially affected files a petition for a 
formal proceeding, pursuant to Rule 25-22.029, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.). 

BACKGROUND 

On June 6, 2016, Orange Land Utilities, LLC (OLU, Applicant, or Buyer) filed an 
application for the transfer of Certificate No. 288-W from Orangeland Water Supply 
(Orangeland, Utili ty, or Seller) in Pasco County. The service area is located in the Southwest 
Florida Water Management District which has enacted year-round water conservation measures. 
According to the Utility's 2015 Annual Report, it serves approximately 74 water customers with 
operating revenue of $ 16,7 16, wh ich designates it as a Class C utility. Wastewater treatment is 
provided by septic tanks. 

Orangeland has been under Commission jurisdiction since July 11 , 1972, when Pasco 
County transferred jurisdiction to this Commission. On April 28, 1977, the Utility was granted 
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Certificate No. 288-W to operate a water utility.1 There have been no certification actions since 
that time. The rates and charges for utility service were approved by this Commission in 2008.2 

This order addresses the transfer of the water system, the net book value of the water 
system at the time of transfer, the need for an acquisition adjustment, and additional requested 
charges. On October 13, 2016, OLU waived the 60-day statutory timeframe for this 
Commission’s decision on the proposed service charges as set forth in Section 367.091(6), 
Florida Statutes (F.S.).3 This Commission has jurisdiction pursuant to Sections 367.071 and 
367.091, F.S. 

CERTIFICATE TRANSFER 

On June 6, 2016, Orange Land Utilities, LLC, filed an application for the transfer of 
Certificate No. 288-W from Orangeland Water Supply in Pasco County. The application is in 
compliance with Section 367.071, F.S., and Commission rules concerning applications for 
transfer of certificates. The sale occurred on May 1, 2016, contingent upon this Commission’s 
approval, pursuant to Section 367.071(1), F.S.  

Noticing, Territory, and Land Ownership 

On July 6, 2016, Commission staff notified OLU that its application was not in 
compliance with the noticing provisions set forth in Section 367.071, F.S., and Rule 25-30.030, 
F.A.C. The Utility filed a corrected notice on September 9, 2016. No objections to the transfer 
were filed, and the time for doing so has expired. The application also contains a description of 
the water service territory which is appended to this order as Attachment A. The application 
contains a copy of a quit claim deed that was executed on May 6, 2016, as evidence that the 
Applicant owns the land upon which the water treatment facilities are located pursuant to Rule 
25-30.037(2)(q), F.A.C. 

Purchase Agreement and Financing 

Pursuant to Rule 25-30.037(2)(i), and (j), F.A.C., the application contains a statement 
regarding financing and a copy of the purchase agreement, which includes the purchase price, 
terms of payment, and a list of the assets purchased. There are no customer deposits, guaranteed 
revenue contracts, developer agreements, customer advances, leases, or debt of Orangeland that 
must be disposed of with regard to the transfer. According to the purchase agreement, the total 
purchase price for the assets is $8,500. According to the Buyer, the sale took place on May 1, 
2016, subject to Commission approval, pursuant to Section 367.071(1), F.S. 

  

                                                 
1Order No. 7790, issued April 28, 1977, in Docket No. 760763-W, In re: Application of Orangeland Water Supply 
for a certificate to operate a water utility in Pasco County, Florida, pursuant to Section 367.171, Florida Statutes. 
2Order PSC-08-0640-AS-WU, issued October 3, 2008, in Docket No. 070601-WU, In re: Application for staff-
assisted rate case in Pasco County by Orangeland Water Supply. 
3See Document No. 08195-16. 



ORDER NO. PSC-17-0092-PAA-WU 
DOCKET NO. 160144-WU 
PAGE 3 
 
Facility Description and Compliance 

The water treatment system consists of two wells, a steel hydropneumatic ground storage 
tank with a storage capacity of 1,000 gallons, and a liquid chlorination system used for 
disinfection. The last Florida Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) sanitary survey 
was conducted on May 27, 2014, and there were three deficiencies, which have been corrected. 
On July 15, 2015, DEP deemed the Utility to be in compliance; therefore, the system appears to 
be in compliance with DEP rules. 

Technical and Financial Ability 

Pursuant to Rule 25-30.037(2)(l), F.A.C., the application contains statements describing 
the technical and financial ability of the Applicant to provide service to the proposed service 
area. As referenced in the transfer application, the Buyer was appointed to the Citrus County 
Water and Wastewater Authority, the local regulatory body for Citrus County, where he served 
for seven years. The Buyer also served as the "Class C" representative for the Governor’s Study 
Committee for Investor Owned Water and Wastewater Utility Systems in 2013. He attends 
yearly training classes through the Florida Rural Water Association and completed the National 
Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) Utility Rate School in 2001. The 
Buyer owns, is the receiver of, or is the manager of, a total of seven Class C water and 
wastewater facilities that are regulated by this Commission. 

Commission staff reviewed the personal financial statements of the Buyer, as well as the 
financial statements of Florida Utility Services 1, LLC, an unregulated Company owned by the 
Buyer. Based on the above, we find that the Buyer has demonstrated the technical and financial 
ability to provide service to the existing service territory. 

Rates and Charges 

The Utility’s rates and charges were last approved by a settlement in a staff-assisted rate 
case.4 In 2014, the rates were subsequently reduced to reflect the expiration of rate case expense 
amortized in 2008. The Utility’s existing and approved rates and charges are shown on Schedule 
No. 1. Rule 25-9.044(1), F.A.C., provides that, in the case of a change of ownership or control of 
a utility, the rates, classifications, and regulations of the former owner must continue unless 
authorized to change by this Commission. Therefore, the Utility’s existing rates and charges 
shall remain in effect until a change is authorized by this Commission in a subsequent 
proceeding.  

Regulatory Assessment Fees and Annual Reports 

The Seller is current with respect to Annual Reports and RAFs through December 31, 
2015. The Buyer will be responsible for filing Annual Reports and paying RAFs after May 1, 
2016, and all future years. 

                                                 
4Order No. PSC-08-0640-AS-WU, issued October 3, 2008, in Docket No. 070601-WU, In re: Application for staff-
assisted rate case in Pasco County by Orangeland Water Supply 
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Conclusion 

Based on the foregoing, the transfer of the water system and Certificate No. 288-W is in 
the public interest and is hereby approved with the effective the date of this Commission’s vote, 
February 7, 2017. This resultant order will serve as the Buyer’s certificate and retained by the 
Buyer.  

NETBOOK VALUE (NBV) 

Rate base was last established as of June 30, 2007. The purpose of establishing NBV for 
transfers is to determine whether an acquisition adjustment shall be approved. The NBV does not 
include normal ratemaking adjustments for used and useful plant or working capital. The NBV 
has been updated to reflect balances as of May 1, 2016. The NBV, as described below, is shown 
on Schedule No. 3. 

The Seller did not provide its books and records to the Buyer. Commission staff auditors 
were not able to determine if the records were maintained in accordance with the National 
Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners’ Uniform System of Accounts (NARUC 
USOA). Commission staff auditors obtained the beginning balances of the components of NBV 
as of June 30, 2007 (established in Docket No. 070601-WU), traced asset additions to supporting 
documentation and ensured retirements were made when a capital item was removed or replaced. 

Utility Plant in Service (UPIS)  

Commission staff auditors reviewed UPIS additions since the last rate case proceeding 
and calculated a UPIS balance of $47,939. However, in the response to the Commission’s Staff 
Audit Report, OLU stated the UPIS amount shall be $50,816, as of May 1, 2016, to reflect the 
correct retirement amount for a well pump. After recalculating UPIS, we agreed with OLU’s 
balance. Therefore, the UPIS balance as of May 1, 2016, is $50,816. 

Land 

In Order No. PSC-08-0309-PAA-WU, issued May 13, 2008, this Commission established 
the value of the land to be $1,000. There have been no additions to land purchased since that 
order was issued. The land balance, as of May 1, 2016, remains $1,000. 

Accumulated Depreciation 

Based on the UPIS adjustment discussed earlier, Commission staff auditors calculated an 
accumulated depreciation balance of $47,939. However, in the response to the Commission’s 
Staff Audit Report, OLU states the accumulated depreciation amount shall be $45,625. After 
recalculating accumulated depreciation, Commission staff agrees with OLU’s balance. As a 
result, accumulated depreciation shall be $45,625 as of May 1, 2016. 

Contributions-in-Aid-of-Construction (CIAC) and Accumulated Amortization of CIAC 

The Commission staff auditors reviewed CIAC additions and calculated a CIAC balance 
of $7,350. Commission staff auditors also reviewed accumulated amortization of CIAC since the 
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last rate case proceeding and have calculated a balance of $5,936. However, in response to the 
Commission staff’s audit report, OLU stated that the CIAC balance shall be $7,350 and stated 
the accumulated amortization of CIAC shall be $6,117. After recalculating, Commission staff 
agreed with OLU’s accumulated amortization of CIAC balance. Therefore, the CIAC and 
accumulated amortization of CIAC balances are $7,350 and $6,117, respectively, as of May 1, 
2016. 

Net Book Value 

Based on the adjustments described above, the NBV is $4,958 as of May 1, 2016, which 
is shown on Schedule No. 2. 

Acquisition Adjustment 

An acquisition adjustment results when the purchase price differs from the NBV of the 
assets at the time of the acquisition. The assets were purchased for $8,500. The appropriate NBV 
total is $4,958. Pursuant to Rule 25-30.0371, F.A.C., a positive acquisition adjustment may be 
appropriate when the purchase price is greater than the NBV, and a negative acquisition 
adjustment may be appropriate when the purchase price is less than NBV. However, pursuant to 
Rule 25-30.0371(2), F.A.C., a positive acquisition adjustment shall not be included in rate base 
unless there is proof of extraordinary circumstances. The Buyer did not request a positive 
acquisition adjustment. Therefore, no positive acquisition adjustment shall be included in rate 
base. 

Conclusion 

The NBV of the water system for transfer purposes is $4,958 as of May 1, 2016. No 
acquisition adjustment shall be included in rate base. Within 90 days of the date of the final 
order, the Buyer shall be required to notify this Commission, in writing, that it has adjusted its 
books in accordance with this Commission’s decision. The adjustments shall be reflected in the 
2016 Annual Report when filed. 

MISCELLANEOUS SERVICE CHARGES 

 The Utility did not previously have miscellaneous service charges. Section 367.091, F.S., 
authorizes this Commission to approve miscellaneous service charges. During the course of this 
proceeding, the Utility requested $30 each for initial connection, normal reconnection, and 
violation reconnection charges. The Utility also requested a $23 premises visit charge. The 
Utility provided cost justification in support of its requested charges as required by Section 
367.091(6) F.S. The cost justification included a 4.5 percent markup for RAFs that is based on 
the revenues generated by the proposed charges. This Commission has previously approved 
regulatory assessment fees for new miscellaneous service charges.5 In addition, Commission 
staff utilized the hourly salaries provided by the Utility for the administrative employee and the 
                                                 
5Order No. PSC-99-2378-TRF-WU, issued December 6, 1999, in Docket No. 990763-WU, In re: Tariff filing by 
Floralino Properties, Inc. requesting approval of premises visit charge for visits requested by customers in Pasco 
County. 
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field employee who processes and administers miscellaneous service charges. However, 
Commission staff adjusted the time allotment for processing these charges and adjusted the 
amount per mile allowed for transportation consistent with this Commission’s practice.6 The 
approved miscellaneous service charges have been rounded up to the nearest tenth.  

Initial Connection 

The initial connection charge is levied for service initiation at a location where service 
did not exist previously. An OLU representative makes one trip when performing the service of 
an initial connection. Based on labor and transportation to and from the service territory, this 
Commission establishes initial connection charges of $18.60 for normal hours and $21.60 for 
after hours. The calculation of charges is shown below in Table 1. 

Table 1 
Initial Connection Charge Calculation 

Activity 
Normal 

Hours Cost Activity 
After  

Hours Cost 
Labor (Administrative) 
($18.00/hr x1/4hr) $4.50

Labor (Administrative) 
($18.00/hr x1/4hr) $4.50

Labor (Field) 
($17.25/hr x 1/3 hr) $5.75

Labor (Field) 
($25.88/hr x 1/3 hr) $8.63

Transportation  
($0.535/mile x 14 miles-to/from) $7.49

Transportation  
($0.535/mile x 14 miles-to/from) $7.49

Mark up for RAF (4.5%) $0.80 Mark up for RAF (4.5%) $0.93

Total $18.54 Total $21.55
Source: Utility’s cost justification documentation. 
 

Normal Reconnection Charge 

A normal reconnection charge is levied for the transfer of service to a new customer 
account at a previously served location, or reconnection of service subsequent to a customer 
requested disconnection. A normal reconnection requires two trips, which includes one to turn 
service on and the other to turn service off.  

Based on labor and transportation to and from the service territory, the normal 
reconnection charges are set at $29.40 for normal hours and $33.90 for after hours. The normal 
reconnect charge calculations are shown below in Table 2. 

                                                 
6Order No. PSC-16-0583-PAA-WS, issued December 29, 2016, in Docket No. 150010-WS, In re: Application for 
staff-assisted rate case in Brevard County by Aquarina Utilities, Inc. 
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Table 2 
Normal Reconnection Charge Calculation 

Activity 
Normal 

Hours Cost Activity 
After 

 Hours Cost 
Labor (Administrative) 
($18.00/hr x1/4hr) $4.50

Labor (Administrative) 
($18.00/hr x1/4hr) $4.50

Labor (Field) 
($17.25/hr x 1/4 hr x 2) $8.63

Labor (Field) 
 ($25.88/hr x 1/4hr x 2) $12.94

Transportation  
($0.535/mile x 14 miles-to/from x 2) $14.98

Transportation  
($0.535/mile x 14 miles-to/from x 2) $14.98

Mark up for RAF (4.5%) $1.26 Mark up for RAF (4.5%) $1.46
Total $29.37 Total $33.88

Source: Utility’s cost justification documentation 
 

Violation Reconnection Charge 

The violation reconnection charge is levied prior to reconnection of an existing customer 
after discontinuance of service for cause. The service performed for violation reconnection 
requires two trips, which includes one trip to turn off service and a subsequent trip to turn on 
service once the violation has been remedied. Based on labor and transportation to and from the 
service territory, violation reconnection charges are set at $29.40 for normal hours and $33.90 
for after hours. The calculation of this charge is shown below in Table 3. 

Table 3 
Violation Reconnection Charge Calculation 

Activity 
Normal  

Hours Cost Activity 
After  

Hours Cost
Labor (Administrative) 
($18.00/hr x1/4hr) $4.50

Labor (Administrative) 
($18.00/hr x1/4hr) $4.50

Labor (Field) 
($17.25/hr x 1/4 hr x 2) $8.63

Labor (Field) 
($25.88/hr x 1/4 hr x 2) $12.94

Transportation  
($0.535/mile x 14 miles-to/from) x 2 $14.98

Transportation  
($0.535/mile x 14 miles-to/from) x 2 $14.98

Mark up for RAF (4.5%) $1.26 Mark up for RAF (4.5%) $1.46
Total $29.37 Total $33.88

Source: Utility’s cost justification documentation. 
 

Premises Visit 

The premises visit charge is levied when a service representative visits premises at the 
customer’s request for complaint resolution and the problem is found to be the customer’s 
responsibility. In addition, the premises visit can be levied when a service representative visits a 
premises for the purpose of discontinuing service for nonpayment of a due and collectible bill, 
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and does not discontinue service because the customer pays the service representative or 
otherwise makes satisfactory arrangements to pay the bill. A premises visit requires one trip. 

Based on labor and transportation to and from the service territory, the premises visit 
charges are set at $18.60 for normal hours and $22.50 for after hours. The calculations for the 
premises visit charges are shown below in Table 4. 

Table 4 
Premises Visit Charge Calculation 

Activity 
Normal  

Hours Cost Activity 
After  

Hours Cost 
Labor (Administrative) 
($18.00/hr x1/4hr) $4.50

Labor (Administrative) 
($18.00/hr x1/4hr) $4.50

Labor (Field) 
($17.25/hr x 1/3 hr) $5.75

Labor (Field) 
($25.88/hr x 1/3 hr) $8.63

Transportation  
($0.535/mile x 14 miles-to/from) $7.49

Transportation  
($0.535/mile x 14 miles-to/from) $7.49

Mark up for RAF (4.5%) $0.80 Mark up for RAF (4.5%) $1.82
Total $18.54 Total $22.44

Source: Utility’s cost justification documentation. 
 
Below, in Table 5, are the Utility’s requested and our approved miscellaneous service charges.   
 

Table 5 
Miscellaneous Service Charges 

 Utility Requested Commission Approved 
Normal and After 

Hours Normal Hours After Hours 

Initial Connection Charge $30.00 $18.60  $21.60 

Normal Reconnection Charge $30.00 $29.40  $33.90 

Violation Reconnection Charge $30.00 $29.40  $33.90 
Premises Visit  Charge (in lieu of 
Disconnection) 

$23.00 $18.60  $22.50 

 

Conclusion 

OLU’s request to implement miscellaneous service charges is approved, consistent with 
the charges detailed in this order. The charges will be effective on or after the stamped approval 
date on the tariff pursuant to Rule 25-30.475, F.A.C. In addition, the approved charges shall not 
be implemented until Commission staff has approved the proposed customer notice and the 
notice has been received by the customers. The Utility shall provide proof of the date notice was 
given within 10 days of the date of the notice. 
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INITIAL CUSTOMER DEPOSITS 

The initial customer deposit for water service is $42 for the residential 5/8” x 3/4” meter 
size. The initial customer deposits for all other residential meter sizes and all general service 
meter sizes shall be two times the average estimated bill for water service. The approved initial 
customer deposits shall be effective for connections made on or after the stamped approval date 
on the tariff sheet pursuant to Rule 25-30.475, F.A.C.  

Rule 25-30.311, F.A.C., contains the criteria for collecting, administering, and refunding 
customer deposits. Customer deposits are designed to minimize the exposure of bad debt expense 
for a utility and, ultimately, the general body of ratepayers. Historically, this Commission has set 
initial customer deposits equal to two times the average estimated bill.7 Currently, the Utility 
does not have approved initial customer deposits in place. Based on the average water demand, 
the appropriate initial customer deposit would be $42 to reflect an average residential customer 
bill for two months.  

Based on the above, the appropriate water initial customer deposit shall be $42 for the 
residential 5/8” x 3/4” meter size. The initial customer deposits for all other residential meter 
sizes and all general service meter sizes shall be two times the average estimated bill for water 
service. The approved initial customer deposits shall be effective for connections made on or 
after the stamped approval date on the tariff sheet pursuant to Rule 25-30.475, F.A.C. 

NON-SUFFICIENT FUNDS CHARGES (NSF) 

Section 367.091, F.S., requires rates, charges, and customer service policies to be 
approved by this Commission. We have authority to establish, increase, or change a rate or 
charge. OLU shall be authorized to collect NSF charges consistent with Section 68.065, F.S., 
which allows for the assessment of charges for the collection of worthless checks, drafts, or 
orders of payment. As currently set forth in Section 68.065(2), F.S., the following NSF charges 
may be assessed: 

(1) $25, if the face value does not exceed $50,   

(2) $30, if the face value exceeds $50 but does not exceed $300, 

(3) $40, if the face value exceeds $300, 

(4) or five percent of the face amount of the check, whichever is greater.  

                                                 
7Order Nos. PSC-13-0611-PAA-WS, issued November 19, 2013, in Docket No. 130010-WS, In re: Application for 
increase in water rates in Lee County and wastewater rates in Pasco County by Ni Florida, LLC., and PSC-14-0016-
TRF-WU, issued January 6, 2014, in Docket No. 130251-WU, In re: Application for approval of miscellaneous 
service charges in Pasco County, by Crestridge Utility Corporation. 
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Approval of NSF charges is consistent with prior Commission decisions.8 Furthermore, 
NSF charges place the cost on the cost-causer, rather than requiring that the costs associated with 
the return of the NSF checks be spread across the general body of ratepayers. As such, OLU is 
authorized to collect NSF charges for its water system consistent with Section 68.065, F.S., and 
the above mentioned requirements. The NSF charges shall be effective on or after the stamped 
approval date on the tariff sheet pursuant to Rule 25-30.475(1), F.A.C. Furthermore, the NSF 
charges shall not be implemented until Commission staff has approved the proposed customer 
notice. OLU shall provide proof of the date the notice was given within 10 days of the date of the 
notice. 

METER TAMPERING CHARGE 

The Utility requested a $50 charge to recover the cost of changes in piping on equipment 
necessary as a result of meter tampering. Rule 25-30.320(2)(i), F.A.C., provides that a 
customer’s service may be discontinued without notice in the event of tampering with the meter 
or other facilities furnished or owned by the Utility. In addition, Rule 25-30.320(2)(j), F.A.C., 
provides that a customer’s service may be discontinued in the event of an unauthorized or 
fraudulent use of service. The rule allows the Utility to require the customer to reimburse the 
utility an amount reasonably estimated as the deficiency in revenue resulting from the customer’s 
fraudulent use before restoring service. 

Pursuant to Rule 25-30.345, F.A.C., a utility may charge a reasonable fee to defray the 
cost of restoring service that was discontinued for proper cause as specified in Rule 25-30.320, 
F.A.C. We have previously approved a meter tampering charge of $50 for sister utilities of 
OLU.9 OLU provided the appropriate cost justification pursuant to Section 367.091, F.S. This is 
reasonable and consistent with prior Commission decisions and shall be approved. However, the 
charge is appropriate only where an investigation reveals evidence of meter tampering.  

OLU’s request to implement a $50 meter tampering charge is approved. The charge is 
effective for services rendered on or after the stamped approval date on the tariff pursuant to 
Rule 25-30.475, F.A.C. In addition, the approved charge shall not be implemented until 
Commission staff has approved the proposed customer notice and the notice has been received 
by the customers. The Utility shall provide proof of the date notice was given within 10 days of 
the date of the notice. 

 

 

                                                 
8Order Nos. PSC-14-0198-TRF-SU, issued May 2, 2014, in Docket No. 140030-SU, In re: Request for approval to 
amend Miscellaneous Service charges to include all NSF charges by Environmental Protection Systems of Pine 
Island, Inc.; and PSC-13-0646-PAA-WU, issued December 5, 2013, in Docket No. 130025-WU, In re: Application 
for increase in water rates in Highlands County by Placid Lakes Utilities, Inc. 
9Order Nos. PSC-14-0058-FOF-WU, issued January 27, 2014, in Docket No. 130250-WU, In re: Application for 
approval of miscellaneous service charges in Pasco County, by Holiday Gardens Utilities, Inc. and PSC-14-0016-
TRF-WU, issued January 6, 2014, in Docket No. 130251-WU, In re: Application for approval of miscellaneous 
service charges in Pasco County, by Crestridge Utility Corporation. 
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CONVENIENCE CHARGE 

Section 367.091, F.S., authorizes this Commission to establish, increase, or change a rate 
or charge other than monthly rates or service availability charges. The Utility requested a $3.43 
convenience charge and provided cost justification as required by Section 367.091, F.S. The 
Utility’s cost analysis breakdown for its requested charge is shown below in Table 6. 

Table 6 
Convenience Charge Cost Justification 

Activity Cost 
Labor $0.54 
Ink and Paper per Transaction $0.06 
Credit Card Machines $2.83 
Total $3.43 

  Source: Utility’s cost justification documentation. 
 

This Commission recently approved a convenience charge of $3.00 for customers who 
opt to pay their bill with debit or credit cards for Charlie Creek Utilities, LLC, a sister utility.10 
The charge was designed to recover the cost of supplies, administrative labor, and equipment.  
The Utility’s requested charge of a $3.43 convenience charge is reasonable for customers who 
opt to pay their water bill by debit or credit card. The Utility’s requested charge benefits the 
customers by allowing them to expand their payment options. Furthermore, this fee will insure 
the Utility’s remaining customers do not subsidize those customers who choose to pay using this 
option.   

Based on the above, OLU’s request for approval of a convenience charge of $3.43 for 
customers who opt to pay their bill by debit or credit card shall be approved. The convenience 
charge shall be effective on or after the stamped approval date on the tariff pursuant to Rule 25-
30.475, F.A.C. In addition, the approved charge shall not be implemented until Commission staff 
has approved the proposed customer notice and the notice has been received by the customers. 
The Utility shall provide proof of the date notice was given within 10 days of the date of the 
notice. 

LATE PAYMENT CHARGE 

The Utility is requested $5.25 late payment charge to recover the cost of supplies and 
labor associated with processing late payment notices was accompanied by its reason for the 
charge, as well as the cost justification required by Section 367.091, F.S. In its cost justification, 
OLU’s total cost for a late payment charge is $5.28, but OLU has requested this charge to be 
rounded down to $5.25. OLU’s requested late payment charge of $5.25 is appropriate. OLU’s 
labor cost of $4.75 accounts for the office personnel time to search, determine, and process 
delinquent accounts. The provided justification by OLU also included costs for supplies and 

                                                 
10Order No. PSC-16-0043-PAA-WU, issued January 25, 2016, in Docket No. 150186-WU, In re: Application for 
certificate to operate a water utility in Hardee County by Charlie Creek Utilities, LLC. 
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postage for printing and sending out late payment notices. OLU’s cost basis for the late payment 
charge is shown below in Table 7.  

Table 7 
Late Payment Charge Cost Justification 

Activity Cost 

Labor $4.75 

Supplies 0.06  

Postage 0.47  

Total Cost $5.28  
Source: Utility’s cost justification documentation 

 

Since the 1990s, we have approved late payment charges ranging from $2.00 to $7.00.11 
The purpose of this charge is to provide an incentive for customers to make timely payments and 
to place the cost burden of processing delinquent accounts solely upon those who are cost 
causers. 

OLU’s request to implement a $5.25 late payment charge is approved. The Utility shall 
file a proposed customer notice and tariff to reflect the Commission-approved charge. The 
approved charge is effective on or after the stamped approval date on the tariff sheet pursuant to 
Rule 25-30.475(1), F.A.C. In addition, the approved charge shall not be implemented until 
Commission staff has approved the proposed customer notice. The Utility shall provide proof of 
the date notice was given no less than 10 days after the date of the notice.  

 Based on the foregoing, it is 
 
 ORDERED by the Florida Public Service Commission that the transfer of the water 
system and Certificate No. 288-W, in Pasco County, from Orangeland Water Supply, to Orange 
Land Utilities, LLC, is in the public interest and is hereby approved, effective February 7, 2017.  
The resultant order shall serve as the Buyer’s certificate and shall be retained by the Buyer.  It is 
further ordered that 

                                                 
11Order Nos. PSC-01-2101-TRF-WS, issued October 22, 2001, in Docket No. 011122-WS, In re: Tariff filing to 
establish a late payment charge in Highlands County by Damon Utilities, Inc.; PSC-08-0255-PAA-WS, issued April 
24, 2008, in Docket No. 070391-WS, In re:  Application for certificates to provide water and wastewater service in 
Sumter County by Orange Blossom Utilities, Inc.; Order No. PSC-09-0752-PAA-WU, issued November 16, 2009, 
in Docket No. 090185-WU, In re: Application for grandfather certificate to operate water utility in St. Johns County 
by Camachee Island Company, Inc. d/b/a Camachee Cove Yacht Harbor Utility.; Order No. PSC-10-0257-TRF-
WU, issued April 26, 2010, in Docket No. 090429-WU, In re: Request for approval of imposition of miscellaneous 
service charges, delinquent payment charge and meter tampering charge in Lake County, by Pine Harbour Water 
Utilities, LLC.; and Order No. PSC-11-0204-TRF-SU, issued April 25, 2011, in Docket No. 100413-SU, In re: 
Request for approval of tariff amendment to include a late fee of $14.00 in Polk County by West Lakeland 
Wastewater.; Order No. PSC-14-0105-TRF-WS, issued February 20, 2014, in Docket No. 130288-WS, In re: 
Request for approval of late payment charge in Brevard County by Aquarina Utilities, Inc. 
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ORDERED that the existing rates and charges shall remain in effect until a change is 

authorized by this Commission in a subsequent proceeding.  It is further 
 
ORDERED that the tariffs reflecting the transfer shall be effective for services rendered 

or connections made on or after the stamped approval date on the tariffs pursuant to Rule 25-
30.475, F.A.C.  It is further 

 
ORDERED that the Seller is responsible for all Regulatory Assessment Fees (RAFs) 

payable through the date of closing. The Buyer is responsible for filing the 2016 Annual Report 
and all future Annual Reports, and RAFs subsequent to the date of closing (May 1, 2016). It is 
further 

 
ORDERED that the net book value of the water system for transfer purposes is $4,958 as 

of May 1, 2016.  It is further 
 
ORDERED that no acquisition adjustment shall be included in rate base.  It is further 

 
ORDERED that within 90 days of the date of the final order, Orange Land Utilities, LLC 

shall notify this Commission in writing that it has adjusted its books in accordance with this 
Commission’s decision. The adjustments will be reflected in the 2016 Annual Report when filed. 
It is further  

 
ORDERED that Orange Land Utilities, LLC’s request to collect miscellaneous service 

charges, as reflected in Table 5, is hereby granted. It is further  
 
ORDERED that the appropriate initial customer deposits for water and wastewater shall 

be $42.00 for the residential 5/8” x 3/4" meter size. That the deposit for all other residential 
meter sizes and all general service meter sizes shall be two times the average estimated bill. The 
approved initial customer deposits shall be effective for connections made on or after the 
stamped approval date on the tariff sheet pursuant to Rule 25-30.475, F.A.C.  It is further 
 
 ORDERED that the Utility shall revise its tariffs to reflect the non-sufficient funds 
charges currently set forth in Section 68.065, F.S.  It is further  

 
ORDERED that a convenience charge of $3.43 for customers who opt to pay their bill by 

debit or credit card is approved. It is further  

ORDERED that Orange Land Utilities, LLC’s request to implement a $5.25 late payment 
charge is approved. It is further 

ORDERED that all approved charges in this order shall be effective for services rendered 
on or after the stamped approval date on the tariff sheet, pursuant to Rule 25-30.475(1), F.A.C. It 
is further 
 



- ---------------------------------------
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ORDERED that all approved charges shall not be implemented until Commission staff 
has approved the proposed customer notices and notices have been received by the customers. It 
is further. 

ORDERED that the Utility shall provide proof of the date notices were given no less than 
10 days after the date of the notice. It is further 

ORDERED that the provisions of this Order, issued as proposed agency action, shall 
become final and effective upon the issuance of a Consummating Order unless an appropriate 
petition, in the form provided by Rule 28-106.201, Florida Administrative Code, is received by 
the Commission Clerk, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0850, by the 
close of business on the date set forth in the "Notice of Further Proceedings" attached hereto. It 
is further 

ORDERED this docket shall remain open pending Commission staffs verification that 
the revised tariff sheets and customer notice have been filed by Orange Land Utilities, LLC, and 
approved by Commission staff. If a protest is filed within 21 days of the issuance date of the 
Order, the tariff sheets shall remain in effect with the charges held subject to refund pending 
resolution of the protest. If no timely protest is filed, a consummating order shall be issued and, 
once Commission staff verifies that the notice of the charge has been given to customers, the 
docket will be administratively closed. 

WLT 

By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission this 13th day of March, 2017. 

CARLOTTA S. STAUFF 
Commission Clerk 
Florida Public Service Commission 
2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard 
Tallahassee, Florida 32399 
(850) 413-6770 
www.floridapsc.com 

Copies furnished: A copy of this document is 
provided to the parties of record at the time of 
issuance and, if applicable, interested persons. 
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NOTICE OF FURTHER PROCEEDINGS OR JUDICIAL REVIEW 
 

 The Florida Public Service Commission is required by Section 120.569(1), Florida 
Statutes, to notify parties of any administrative hearing or judicial review of Commission orders 
that is available under Sections 120.57 or 120.68, Florida Statutes, as well as the procedures and 
time limits that apply.  This notice should not be construed to mean all requests for an 
administrative hearing or judicial review will be granted or result in the relief sought. 
 
 As identified in the body of this order, our action herein, except for approving the 
certificate transfer, is preliminary in nature.  Any person whose substantial interests are affected 
by the action proposed by this order may file a petition for a formal proceeding, in the form 
provided by Rule 28-106.201, Florida Administrative Code. This petition must be received by 
the Office of Commission Clerk, at 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-
0850, by the close of business on April 3, 2017.  If such a petition is filed, mediation may be 
available on a case-by-case basis.  If mediation is conducted, it does not affect a substantially 
interested person's right to a hearing.  In the absence of such a petition, this order shall become 
effective and final upon the issuance of a Consummating Order. 
 
 Any objection or protest filed in this docket before the issuance date of this order is 
considered abandoned unless it satisfies the foregoing conditions and is renewed within the 
specified protest period. 
 
 Any party adversely affected by the Commission's final action in this matter may request: 
(1) reconsideration of the decision by filing a motion for reconsideration with the Office of 
Commission Clerk, within fifteen (15) days of the issuance of this order in the form prescribed 
by Rule 25-22.060, Florida Administrative Code; or (2) judicial review by the Florida Supreme 
Court in the case of an electric, gas or telephone utility or the First District Court of Appeal in 
the case of a water or wastewater utility by filing a notice of appeal with the Office of 
Commission Clerk and filing a copy of the notice of appeal and the filing fee with the 
appropriate court.  This filing must be completed within thirty (30) days after the issuance of this 
order, pursuant to Rule 9.110, Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure.  The notice of appeal must 
be in the form specified in Rule 9.900(a), Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure. 
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Orange Land Utilities, LLC 
Pasco County 

 
 

DESCRIPTION OF TERRITORY SERVED 
 

SECTION 35, TOWNSHIP 25 SOUTH, RANGE 16 EAST, PASCO COUNTY, FLORIDA 
 
THE NORTHEAST 1/4 OF THE SOUTHWEST 1/4 LESS AND EXCEPT THE NORTH 375 
FEET AND THE EAST 50 FEET OF THE SOUTH 945 FEET AND THE SOUTH 30 FEET OF 
THE WEST 1270 FEET 
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FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 

Authorizes 
Orange Land Utilities, LLC 

Pursuant to 
Certificate Number 288-W 

To provide water service in Pasco County in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 367, 
Florida Statutes, and the Rule, regulations, and Orders of this Commission in the territory 
described by the Orders of this Commission. This authorization shall remain in force and effect 
until superseded, suspended, cancelled or revoked by Order of this Commission. 

Order Number   Date Issued  Docket Number Filing Type 

Order No. 7790  10/26/1976  760763-W  Original Certificate 
 

PSC-17-0092-PAA-WU 03/13/2017  160169-WU  Transfer of Certificate 
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Orange Land Utilities, LLC 
Monthly Water Rates 

Residential and General Service 
Base Facility Charge by Meter Size 
5/8” x 3/4"  $14.70
3/4" $22.05
1" $36.75
1 1/2" $73.51
2" $117.62
3" $235.23
4" $367.55
6" $735.09
 
Charge per 1,000 gallons 
0-5,000 gallons $2.12
Over 5,000 gallons $3.13

Initial Customer Deposits 
 
                                                             Residential Service                General Service 
5/8” x 3/4” $42                            2x the average estimated bill 
All other meter sizes                        2x the average estimated bill      2x the average estimated bill 

 
Miscellaneous Service Charges 

 
 Normal Hours After Hours 
Initial Connection Charge $18.60 $21.60 
Normal Reconnection Charge $29.40 $33.90 
Violation Reconnection Charge $29.40 $33.90 
Premises Visit Charge (in lieu of disconnection) $18.60 $22.50 
Late Payment Charge  $5.25 
NSF Check Charge Pursuant to Statute 68.065, F.S. 
Convenience Charge  $3.43 
Meter Tampering Charge $50.00 
 

 
 

 

Service Availability Charges 
 
Customer Connection (Tap-in) Charge 
5/8 x 3/4” $100.00
1” $160.00
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Orangeland Water Supply  
Water System 

Schedule of Net Book Value as of May 1, 2016 

Description 
Balance Per 

Utility Adjustments 
Commission 
Approved 

Utility Plant in Service $0   $50,816  $50,816 
Land & Land Rights 0   1,000  1,000
Accumulated Depreciation 0  (45,625)  (45,625)
CIAC 0  (7,350)  (7,350)
Amortization of CIAC 0  6,117  6,117 

  
Total $0   $4,958 $4,958
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Explanation of Commission Approved 
Adjustments to Net Book Value as of May 1, 2016 

 
Explanation Amount 
  

A. Utility Plant in Service  
To reflect appropriate amount of utility plant in service. $50,816

B. Land & Land Rights 
To reflect appropriate amount of Land & Land Rights. $1,000

C. Accumulated Depreciation 
To reflect appropriate amount of accumulated depreciation. ($45,625)

D. Contributions-in-Aid-of-Construction (CIAC) 
To reflect appropriate CIAC. ($7,350)

E. Accumulated Amortization of CIAC 
To reflect appropriate amount of accumulated amortization of CIAC. $6,117
 
Total Adjustments to Net Book Value as of May 1, 2016. $4,958




