Application for increase in water and wastewater rates in Charlotte, Highlands, Lake, Lee, Marion, Orange, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, and Seminole Counties by

Utilities, Inc. of Florida





Any email or other correspondence sent to a Florida Public Service Commissioner, or any other public official and/ or employee of the PSC, in the transaction of public business is considered a public record and is subject to Florida's Public Records Law. This means that Florida law generally requires the PSC to provide a copy of any such email or correspondence, upon request, for inspection and copying to any Florida citizen or to any member of the media.

5. Acoisio 2836 3py glass Cour Longwood, 62 32779

NERBOUT DE COM

2000 YOY 23 AN 7:08

ORLANDO FL 328 17 NOV 2020 PM 6 L



Alorida Public Service Cormission Office of Commission Clerk 2540 Shurrard Om Blud

32399-005000 Mcertan ARRS Friting 111, 32390 - 0850

STAMF

NOTICE OF CUSTOMER SERVICE HEARING AND TECHNICAL HEARING

ТО

UTILITIES, INC. OF FLORIDA

OFFICE OF PUBLIC COUNSEL

AND

ALL OTHER INTERESTED PERSONS

DOCKET NO. 20200139-WS

APPLICATION FOR INCREASE IN WATER AND WASTEWATER RATES IN CHARLOTTE, HIGHLANDS, LAKE, LEE, MARION, ORANGE, PASCO, PINELLAS, POLK AND SEMINOLE COUNTIES BY UTILITIES, INC. OF FLORIDA

ISSUED: November 19, 2020

NOTICE is hereby given that the Florida Public Service Commission ("Commission") will hold virtual customer service and technical hearings in the above docket on the application for increase in water and wastewater rates in Charlotte, Highlands, Lake, Lee, Marion, Orange, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk and Seminole Counties by Utilities, Inc. of Florida ("Utility"). The customer service hearings will commence at the times and dates shown below.

COMPANY OVERVIEW - UTILITIES, INC. OF FLORIDA

First, clean water service delivered to your home is critical to your family and we are happy to have been granted the license to serve your territory. - WHY ALL MY TOLLETS BLACK?

While we understand this is a challenging time, we are committed to delivering quality service to you, our customer. At this time, we are requesting an increase in rates to enable us to continue delivering safe, clean water to you.

We have filed a request (Docket No. 20200139-WS) with the Florida Public Service Commission (PSC) requesting a future increase in our water and wastewater rates that would likely take effect in mid-2021.

If approved as filed, the rate increase will vary by customer. We expect typical residential customers with monthly consumption of 5,000 gallons to see an increase of about \$3.49 on water and \$15.74 on wastewater on their monthly bills. ANOTHER $# \partial O/MO - 4$ time unchase We consolidated our rates in 2016 statewide. Since then, the company has invested significantly in infrastructure, technology, customer service, and operations to ensure safety and reliability. However,

since that time, the combination of necessary infrastructure investment, cost of construction, evolving customer expectations, advances in technology, changes in regulations, and increased operations, requirements now causes us to seek rate relief. They were uppered during, <u>CUSTOMER SERVICE HEARING - PURPOSE AND PROCEDURE</u> NUMERAL IAMA.

The purpose of the customer service hearings shall be to give customers and other interested persons an opportunity to offer comments regarding the quality of service the utility provides and the proposed rate increase. All witnesses shall be subject to cross examination at the conclusion of their testimony.

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, the PSC has scheduled the following virtual public hearings to provide customers an opportunity to express their views on quality of service and the impact of the requested rate increase:

December 3rd at 10:00 am December 10th at 2:00 pm and 6:00 pm January 6th at 10:00 am January 7th at 6:00 pm

If you would like to testify before the PSC by phone at one of the customer service hearings, you must sign up by contacting the PSC by emailing speakersignup@psc.state.fl.us or calling 1-850-413-7080.

You will need to provide your name, address, and the date and time of the hearing you want to attend.

Once you sign up, either by email or phone, you will be provided further instructions on how to participate, including the call-in number.

Please note: the order in which customers testify is based upon the order in which they sign up. Please sign up as soon as possible, preferably at least two business days prior to the service hearing in which you plan to participate. If you have questions about the sign-up process, please call 1-850-413-7080.

On February 2 - 4, 2021, the PSC will also conduct a technical hearing to allow UIF and other parties to the proceeding to present testimony and relevant evidence regarding the rate request. To watch either the customer service hearings or the technical hearing live, visit floridapsc.com and look for the "Watch Live Broadcast" icon on the left side of the webpage. If you do not have access to the internet, you may call 1-850-413-7999 to listen to the hearings. If you are hearing or speech impaired, you may contact the PSC by using the Florida Relay Service at 1-800-955-8771 (TDD).

TECHNICAL HEARING - PURPOSE AND PROCEDURE

The purpose of the technical hearing is to consider the petition of Utilities, Inc. of Florida for an increase in water and wastewater rates in Charlotte, Highlands, Lake, Lee, Marion, Orange, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, and Seminole Counties and any motions or other matters that may be pending at the time of the hearing. The Commission may rule on any such motions from the bench or may take the matters under advisement. At the hearing, all parties shall be given the opportunity to present testimony and other evidence on the issues that are identified at the Prehearing Conference to be held on January 19, 2021. All witnesses shall be subject to cross-examination at the conclusion of their testimony.

JURISDICTION

Jurisdiction over this Utility is vested in the Commission by Chapter 367, Florida Statutes. Authority to approve increased rates is governed by Sections 367.081, 367.082, 367.0816, 367.101, and 367.171, Florida Statutes. The provisions of Chapters 25-9, 25-22, 25-30, and 28-106, Florida Administrative Code, are also applicable.

RESOURCES

Any person requiring some accommodation at this hearing because of a physical impairment should call the Office of Commission Clerk at (850) 413-6770, at least 48 hours prior to the hearing. Any person who is hearing or speech impaired should contact the Florida Public Service Commission by using the Florida Relay Service, which can be reached at 1-800-955-8771 (TDD).