RECEIVED-FPS(

STATE OF FLORIDA

COMMISSIONERS: GARY F. CLARK, CHAIRMAN ART GRAHAM ANDREW GILES FAY MIKE LA ROSA GABRIELLA PASSIDOMO



OFFICE OF THE GENERAL COUNSEL KEITH C. HETRICK GENERAL COUNSEL (850) 413-6199

Public Service Commission

November 18, 2021

Ms. Anya C. Owens
Florida Department of State
Administrative Code and Register Section
Room 701, the Capitol
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0250
RuleAdoptions@DOS.MyFlorida.com

Via E-Mail

DKI #: 30310133

Re: Rule Certification Packet for Rules 25-30.025, 25-30.446, 25-30.455, 25-30.456, and 25-30.565, F.A.C.

Dear Ms. Owens:

Enclosed for filing is a complete rule certification packet for Rules 25-30.025, 25-30.446, 25-30.455, 25-30.456, and 25-30.565, F.A.C., consisting of:

- (1) One copy of the coded text of the rule in Word version;
- (2) There are no new materials incorporated by reference into these rules.
- (3) One copy of the signed rule certification form;
- (4) One copy of the signed designation of minor violation rule certification form required by Rule 1-1.010, F.A.C.;
- (5) One copy of the coded text of the rules, including the legal citations and history notes;
- (6) One copy of the summary of the rules;
- (7) One copy of the detailed written statement of the facts and circumstances justifying the rules; and
- (8) One copy of the summary of any hearings held on the rules.

的 NOV 18 PM 2: 48

Ms. Anya C. Owens November 18, 2021 Page 2

Please let me know if you have any questions. The contact name and information for these rules are Kathryn G.W. Cowdery, Florida Public Service Commission, Office of General Counsel, 2540 Shumard Oak Blvd., Tallahassee, FL 32399-0250, (850) 413-6216, kcowdery@psc.state.fl.us.

Sincerely,

Kathryn G.W. Cowdery

Enclosures

cc: Office of the Commission Clerk (Docket No. 20210122-WS)

CERTIFICATION OF FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

ADMINISTRATIVE RULES FILED WITH THE DEPARTMENT OF STATE

I hereby certify:

- [X] (1) That all statutory rulemaking requirements of Chapter 120, F.S., and all rulemaking requirements of the Department of State have been complied with; and
 [X] (2) That there is no administrative determination under Section 120.56(2), F.S., pending on any rule covered by this certification; and
- [X] (3) All rules covered by this certification are filed within the prescribed time limitations of Section 120.54(3)(e), F.S. They are filed not less than 28 days after the notice required by Section 120.54(3)(a), F.S.; and
- [X] (a) Are filed not more than 90 days after the notice; or
- [] (b) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but not more than 60 days after the administrative law judge files the final order with the clerk or until 60 days after subsequent judicial review is complete; or
- [] (c) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but not less than 21 days nor more than 45 days from the date of publication of the notice of change; or
- [] (d) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but not less than 14 nor more than 45 days after the adjournment of the final public hearing on the rule; or
- [] (e) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but within 21 days after the date of receipt of all material authorized to be submitted at the hearing; or
- [] (f) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but within 21 days after the date the transcript was received by this agency; or
- [] (g) Are filed not more than 90 days after the notice, not including days the adoption of the rule was postponed following notification from the Joint Administrative Procedures Committee that an objection to the rule was being considered; or
- [] (h) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but within 21 days after a good faith written proposal for a lower cost regulatory alternative to a proposed rule is submitted which substantially accomplishes the objectives of the law being implemented; or
- [] (i) Are filed more than 90 days after the notice, but within 21 days after a regulatory alternative is offered by the ombudsman in the Executive Office of the Governor.

Rule Nos.	
25-30.025	
25-30.446	
25-30.455	
25-30.456	
25-30.565	
Under the provision of Section 120.54(3)(e)6., F.S., the	e rules take effect 20 days from the date filed with the
Department of State or a later date as set out below:	
Effective Date:	
(month) (day) (year)	
	Signature, Person Authorized to Certify Rules
	Commission Clerk
	Title
	Number of Pages Certified

The rules are hereby adopted by the undersigned agency by and upon their filing with the Department of State.

DESIGNATION OF RULE THE VIOLATION OF WHICH IS A MINOR VIOLATION CERTIFICATION

Pursuant to Section 120.695(2)(c)3, Florida Statutes, I certify as agency head, as defined by section 20.05(1)(b), Florida Statutes, that:

[] All rules covered by this certification are not rules the violation of which would be a minor violation pursuant to Section 120.695, F.S.

[X] The following parts of the rules covered by this certification have been designated as rules the violation of which would be a minor violation pursuant to Section 120.695, F.S.:

Rule No(s).
25-30.025
25-30.446
25-30,455
25-30.456
25-30.565
covered by this certification:
Rule No(s).

25-30.025

Rules

25-30.446

25-30.455

25-30.456

25-30.565

Signature of Agency Head

Chairman, Florida Public Service Commission Title

25-30.025 Official Date of Filing.

- (1) The "official date of filing" is the date on which the <u>Director of the division that has been assigned the primary responsibility for the filing Deputy Executive Director, Technical determines the utility has filed completed sets of the minimum filing requirements (MFRs), including testimony that may be required by subsection 25-30.436(2), F.A.C., and payment of the appropriate filing fee to the Office of the Commission Clerk.</u>
- (2) The Director of the division that has been assigned the primary responsibility for the filing will Deputy

 Executive Director, Technical shall determine the official date of filing for any utility's application and advise the applicant. The Commission will shall resolve any dispute regarding the official date of filing.

 Rulemaking Authority 350.127(2), 367.121(1) FS. Law Implemented 367.083 FS. History-New 3-26-81, Formerly 25-10.12, 25-10.012, Amended 11-10-86, 11-30-93, _______.

25-30.446 Notice of and Public Information for Application for Limited Proceeding Rate Increase.

- This rule applies to all <u>applications</u> requests for limited proceeding rate increases made by a water or wastewater utility.
- (2) Upon filing an application a petition for limited proceeding rate increase, the utility must notify shall mail a copy of the petition to the chief executive officer of the governing body of each municipality and county within the service areas included in the rate request that the utility has applied for a limited proceeding rate increase. The notification must clearly identify the Commission-assigned docket number and include Each copy of the petition shall be accompanied by a statement that a copy of the application and Mminimum Ffiling Requirements (MFRs) set forth in Rule 25-30.445, F.A.C., when accepted by the Commission can be accessed on the Commission's website obtained from the petitioner upon request.
- (3) Within 30 days after the official date of the filing established by the Commission, the utility shall place a copy of the petition and the MFRs at its official headquarters and at all business offices it has in the service areas included in the rate request. Such copies shall be available for public inspection during the utility's regular business hours. If the utility does not have a business office in a service area included in its rate request, the utility shall place a copy of the petition and the MFRs at the main county library, the local community center or other appropriate location which is within or-most convenient to the service area and which is willing to accept and provide public access to the copies. If the Commission determines that these locations will not provide adequate access, the Commission will require that copies of the petition and MFRs be placed at other specified locations.

(3)(4) Upon filing an application a petition and MFRs for a limited proceeding, the utility <u>must shall</u> publish a notice of application in a newspaper of general circulation in the service areas included in the <u>application</u> petition.

(4)(5)(a) Within 50 days after the official date of filing established by the Commission, the utility <u>must-shall</u> provide, in writing, an initial customer notice to all customers within the service areas included in the rate request and to all persons in the same service areas who have filed a written request for service or who have been provided a written estimate for service within the 12 calendar months prior to the month the petition is filed.

- (b) The initial customer notice must be approved by Commission staff prior to distribution and <u>must shall</u> include the following:
 - 1. The date the notice is to be issued;
 - 2. A statement that the utility has filed a rate request with the Commission and a statement of the general

reasons for the request;

- A statement that of the locations where copies of the MFRs and application petition are available on the Commission's website for public inspection and the hours and days when inspection may be made;
 - 4. A comparison of current rates and charges and the proposed new rates and charges;
 - 5. The utility's address, telephone number, and business hours;
- 6. A statement that written comments regarding utility service or the proposed rates and charges should be addressed to the Office of Commission Clerk, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0870, and that such comments should identify the docket number assigned to the proceeding;
- A statement that complaints regarding service may be made to the Commission's Office of Consumer
 Assistance and Outreach at the following toll-free number: 1(800) 342-3552; and
 - 8. The docket number assigned by the Commission's Office of Commission Clerk.
- (c) The initial customer notice <u>must shall</u> be mailed to the out-of-town address of all customers who have provided the utility with an out-of-town address.
- (5)(6) No less than 14 days and no more than 30 days prior to the date of a customer meeting conducted by the Commission staff, the utility <u>must shall</u> provide written notice of the date, time, location, and purpose of the customer meeting to all customers within the service areas designated by the Commission staff. The notice must be approved by Commission staff prior to distribution. The notice <u>must shall</u> be mailed to the out-of-town address of all customers who have provided the utility with an out-of-town address.
- (6)(7) If a proposed agency action order issued in the case is protested and any hearings are subsequently held, the utility must give notice in accordance with subsection (5) of this rule shall give notice no less than 14 days and no more than 30 days prior to the date of each hearing held in or near a utility service area included in the rate request. The utility must shall also publish have published in a newspaper of general circulation in the area in which such hearing is to be held a display advertisement stating the date, time, location, and purpose of the hearing. The notice must be approved by Commission staff prior to publication.
- (7)(8) After the Commission issues an order granting or denying a rate change, the utility <u>must shall</u> notify its customers of the order and any revised rates. The customer notification must be first approved by Commission staff and <u>must shall</u> be distributed no later than with the first bill containing any revised rates.

Rulemaking Authority 350.127(2), 367.121(1)(a) FS. Law Implemented 367.0822, 367.121(1)(a) FS. History-New

3-1-04

25-30.455 Staff Assistance in Rate Cases.

- (1) Water and wastewater utilities whose total gross annual operating revenues are \$300,000 or less for water service or \$300,000 or less for wastewater service, or \$600,000 or less on a combined basis, may file with the Office of Commission Clerk an application petition the Commission for staff assistance in rate applications by submitting a completed staff assisted rate case application. Reasonable and prudent rate case expense is shall be eligible for recovery through the rates developed by staff. Recovery of attorney fees and outside consultant fees related to the rate case is shall be determined based on the requirements set forth in Section 367.0814(3), F.S. To be eligible for staff assistance under this rule:
- (a) The applicant or utility owner must have at least one year of experience operating the utility for which the rate increase is being requested;
- (b) The utility must be in compliance with its annual report filing in accordance with subsection 25-30.110(3), F.A.C.; and
- (c) The utility must have paid all required regulatory assessment fees or must be current on any approved regulatory assessment fee payment plan.

A utility that chooses not to exercise the option of staff assistance may file for a rate increase under the provisions of rule 25-30.443, F.A.C.

- (2) The appropriate application form, Commission Form PSC/AFD 2-W (11/86) (Rev. 06/14), entitled "Application for a Staff Assisted Rate Case," is incorporated into this rule by reference and is available at: http://www.flrules.org/Gateway/reference.asp?No=Ref-04415. The form is also available on the Commission's website, www.floridapsc.com. may also be obtained from the Commission's Division of Accounting and Finance, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399 0850.
- (3) Upon completion of the form, the applicant shall file it with the Office of Commission Clerk, Florida Public Service Commission, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0870.
- (4)(a) Within 30 days of receipt of the completed application, the Commission will evaluate the application and determine the applicant's eligibility for staff assistance.
- (b)(a) If the Commission has received four or more applications in the previous 30 days; or, if the Commission has 20 or more docketed staff assisted rate cases in active status on the date the application is received, the Commission will deny initial evaluation of an application for staff assistance and close the docket. When an

application is denied under the provisions of this paragraph, the Commission staff will notify the applicant of the date on which the application may be resubmitted.

- (c)(b) Initially, determinations of eligibility will be conditional, pending an examination of the condition of the applicant's books and records.
- (5) Upon making its final determination of eligibility, the Commission staff will notify the applicant in writing as to whether the application is officially accepted or denied. If the application is accepted, a staff assisted rate case will be initiated. If the application is denied, the notification of application denial will state the deficiencies in the application with reference to the criteria set out in subsection (7) of this rule.
- (6) The date of Commission staff's written notification to the utility that the utility is eligible for staff assistance under this rule will be considered the date of official acceptance of the application by the Commission. The official date of filing is will be 30 days after the official acceptance of the application by the Commission staff. date of the written notification to the applicant of the Commission's official acceptance of the application.
- (7) In determining whether to grant or deny the application, the Commission will consider the following criteria:
 - (a) Whether the applicant qualifies for staff assistance pursuant to subsection (1) of this rule;
- (b) Whother the applicant's books and records are organized consistent with rule 25-30.110, F.A.C., so as to allow Commission personnel to verify costs and other relevant factors within the 30 day time frame set out in this rule:
 - (c) Whether the applicant has filed annual reports;
 - (d) Whether the applicant has paid applicable regulatory assessment fees;
 - (e) Whether the applicant has at least one year-of experience in utility operation;
- (f) Whether the applicant has filed additional relevant information in support of eligibility, together with reasons why the information should be considered; and,
- (g) Whether the utility was granted a rate case increase within the 2 year period prior to the receipt of the application under review.
- (7)(8) The Commission will dony the application is deemed denied if the utility does not remit the filing fee, as provided by paragraph 25-30.020(2)(f), F.A.C., within 30 days after official acceptance.
 - (8)(9) An aggrieved applicant may request reconsideration of the application denial within 15 days of receipt of

notification that the application is denied. The request, which will be decided by the full Commission.

(9)(10) A substantially affected person may file a petition to protest the Commission's proposed agency action in a staff assisted rate case within 21 days of issuance of the Notice of Proposed Agency Action Order, as set forth in Brule 28-106.111, F.A.C.

(10)(11) A petition to protest the Commission's proposed agency action <u>must shall</u> conform to <u>R</u>rule 28-106.201, F.A.C.

(11)(12) In the event of a protest of the Commission's Notice of Proposed Agency Action Order in a staff assisted rate case, the utility must shall:

- (a) Provide prefiled direct testimony in accordance with the Order Establishing Procedure issued in the case. At a minimum, that testimony must shall adopt the Commission's Proposed Agency Action Order;
- (b) Sponsor a witness to support source documentation provided to the Commission staff in its preparation of the staff audit, the staff engineering and accounting report and the staff proposed agency action recommendation in the case;
- (c) Include in its testimony the necessary factual information to support its position on any issue that it chooses to take a position different than that contained in the Commission's Proposed Agency Action Order; and,
 - (d) Meet all other requirements of the Order Establishing Procedure.
- (12)(13) Failure to comply with the dates established in the Order Establishing Procedure, or to timely file a request for extension of time for good cause shown, may result in dismissal of the staff assisted rate case and closure of the docket.
- (13)(14) In the event of a protest of the Commission's Proposed Agency Action Order in a staff assisted rate case, the Commission staff will shall:
- (a) File prefiled direct testimony to explain its analysis in the staff proposed agency action recommendation. In the event the staff wishes to alter its position on any issue, it will shall provide factual testimony to support its changed position;
 - (b) Meet all other requirements of the Order Establishing Procedure; and,
- (c) Provide to the utility materials to assist the utility in the preparation of its testimony and exhibits. This material will shall consist of an example of testimony filed by a utility in another case, an example of testimony that would support the Proposed Agency Action Order in this case, an example of an exhibit filed in another case, and

examples	of prehearing	g statements	and briefs	filed in ot	her cases.					
Rulemakir	ig Authority	350.127(2),	367.0814,	367.121	FS. Law In	nplemented	367.0814	FS. History	v–New 12-	-8-80
Formerly	25-10.180,	Amended	11-10-86,	8-26-91,	11-30-93,	1-31-00,	12-16-08,	8-10-14,	2-19-17,	7-1
18.										

25-30.456 Staff Assistance in Alternative Rate Setting.

- (1) As an alternative to a staff assisted rate case as described in Reule 25-30.455, F.A.C., water and wastewater utilities whose total gross annual operating revenues are \$300,000 or less for water service or \$300,000 or less for wastewater service, or \$600,000 or less on a combined basis, may file with the Office of Commission Clerk an application petition the Commission for staff assistance in alternative rate setting by submitting a completed staff assisted application for alternative rate setting. To be eligible for staff assistance under this rule:
- (a) The applicant or utility owner must have at least one year of experience operating the utility for which the rate increase is being requested;
- (b) The utility must be in compliance with its annual report filing in accordance with subsection 25-30.110(3), F.A.C.; and
- (c) The utility must have paid all required regulatory assessment fees or must be current on any approved regulatory assessment fee payment plan.
- (2) The appropriate application form, Commission Form PSC/AFD 25 (11/93) (Rev. 06/14), entitled "Application for Staff Assistance for Alternative Rate Setting," is incorporated into this rule by reference and is available at: http://www.flrules.org/Gateway/reference.asp?No=Ref-04414. The form is also available on the Commission's website, www.floridapsc.com, may also be obtained from the Commission's Division of Accounting and Finance, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399 0850.
- (3) Upon completion of the form, the applicant <u>must shall</u> file it with the Office of Commission Clerk, Florida Public Service Commission, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0870.
- (4)(a) Within 30 days of receipt of the completed application, the Commission will evaluate the application and determine the applicant's eligibility for staff assistance.
- (b)(a) If the Commission has received four or more alternative rate setting applications in the previous 30 days; or, if the Commission has 20 or more docketed staff assisted rate cases in active status on the date the application is received, the Commission will deny initial evaluation of an application for staff assistance and close the docket. When an application is denied under the provisions of this paragraph, the Commission staff will notify the applicant of the date on which the application may be resubmitted.
- (c)(b) Determinations of eligibility will be conditional, pending an examination of the condition of the applicant's books and records.

- (5) Upon making its final determination of eligibility, the Commission staff will notify the applicant in writing as to whether the application is officially accepted or denied. If the application is accepted, staff assistance in alternative rate setting will be initiated. If the application is denied, the notification of application denial will state the deficiencies in the application with reference to the criteria set out in subsection (7) of this rule.
- (6) The date of Commission staff's written notification to the utility that the utility is eligible for staff assistance under this rule will be considered the date of official acceptance of the application by the Commission. The official date of filing is will be 30 days after the date of official acceptance of the application. the written notification to the applicant of the Commission's official acceptance of the application.
- (7) In determining whether to grant or deny the application, the Commission will consider the following criteria:
 - (a) Whether the applicant qualifies for staff assistance pursuant to subsection (1) of this rule;
- (b) Whether the applicant's books and records are organized consistent with rule 25-30.110, F.A.C., so as to allow Commission personnel to verify costs and other relevant factors within the 30 day time frame set out in this rule;
 - (c) Whether the applicant has filed annual reports;
 - (d) Whether the applicant has paid applicable regulatory assessment fees;
 - (e) Whether the applicant-has at least one year of experience in utility operation;
- (f) Whether the applicant has filed additional relevant information in support of eligibility, together with reasons why the information should be considered; and,
- (g) Whether the utility was granted a rate case increase within the 2 year period prior to the receipt of the application under review.
- (7)(8) The Commission will deny the application is deemed denied if the utility does not remit the filing fee, as provided by paragraph 25-30.020(2)(f), F.A.C., within 30 days after official acceptance.
- (8)(9) An aggrieved applicant may request reconsideration of the application denial within 15 days of receipt of notification that the application is denied. The request which will be decided by the full Commission.
- (2)(10) The Commission will, for the purposes of determining the amount of rate increase, if any, compare the operation and maintenance expenses (O & M) of the utility to test year operating revenues. The Commission will consider an allowance for return on working capital using the one-eighth of O & M formula approach.

- (10)(11) The Commission will limit the maximum increase in operating revenues to 50 percent of test year operating revenues.
- (11)(12) The Commission will vote on a proposed agency action recommendation establishing rates no later than 90 days from the official filing date as established in subsection (6) of this rule.
- (12)(13) A substantially affected person may file a petition to protest the Commission's Proposed Agency Action Order regarding a staff assisted alternative rate setting application within 21 days of issuance of the Notice of Proposed Agency Action Order as set forth in Repule 28-106.111, F.A.C.
- (13)(14) A petition to protest the Commission's proposed agency action <u>must shall</u> conform to <u>R</u>-rule 28-106.201, F.A.C.
- (14)(15) In the event of protest of the Proposed Agency Action Order by a substantially affected person, the rates established in the Proposed Agency Action Order may be implemented on a temporary basis, subject to refund with interest in accordance with Reule 25-30.360, F.A.C. At that time, the utility may elect to pursue rates set pursuant to the rate base determination provisions of Reule 25-30.455, F.A.C.
- (15)(16) In the event of a protest, the maximum increase established in subsection (10)(11) of this rule shall no longer applies apply.
- (16)(17) In the event of a protest of the Commission's Proposed Agency Action Order in a staff assisted alternative rate setting application, the utility must shall:
- (a) Provide prefiled direct testimony in accordance with the Order Establishing Procedure issued in the case. At a minimum, that testimony must shall adopt the Commission's Proposed Agency Action Order;
- (b) Sponsor a witness to support source documentation provided to the Commission staff in its preparation of the staff engineering and accounting analysis and the staff proposed agency action recommendation in the case;
- (c) Include in its testimony the necessary factual information to support its position on any issue that it chooses to take a position different than that contained in the Commission's Proposed Agency Action Order; and,
 - (d) Meet all other requirements of the Order Establishing Procedure.
- (17)(18) Failure to comply with the dates established in the Order Establishing Procedure, or to timely file a request for extension of time for good cause shown, may result in dismissal of the staff assisted alternative rate setting application and closure of the docket.
 - (18)(19) In the event of protest of the Commission's Proposed Agency Action Order in a staff assisted

alternative rate setting application, the Commission staff will shall:

- (a) File prefiled direct testimony to explain its analysis in the proposed agency action recommendation. In the event the staff wishes to alter its position on any issue, it will shall provide factual testimony to support its changed position;
 - (b) Meet all other requirements of the Order Establishing Procedure; and,
- (c) Provide to the utility materials to assist the utility in the preparation of its testimony and exhibits. This material will shall consist of an example of testimony filed by a utility in another case, a sample of testimony that would support the Proposed Agency Action Order in this case, an example of an exhibit filed in another case, and examples of prehearing statements and briefs filed in other cases.

Rulemaking Authority 350.127(2), 367.0814, 367.121 FS. Law Implemented 367.0814 FS. History-New 11-30-93, Amended 1-31-00, 12-16-08, 8-10-14, 7-1-18______

25-30.565 Application for Approval of New or Revised Service Availability Policy or Charges.

- (1) An original and one copy of an Each application for a service availability policy or charges <u>must shall</u> be filed with the Office of Commission Clerk. The copy must be clearly labeled "COPY." If the application is e-filed with the Commission Clerk, the utility must file one paper copy, clearly labeled "COPY." with the Commission Clerk within seven calendar days after e-filing, in-original and six copies.
- (2) Upon filing an application for a new or revised service availability charge or policy, the utility <u>must shall</u> provide notice pursuant to Rule 25-30.4345, F.A.C.
 - (3) A filing fee as required in Rule 25-30.020, F.A.C., must shall be submitted at the time of application.
 - (4) Each application must shall include the following, if applicable:
- (a) A statement describing how the notice provisions have been complied with, including a copy of the actual notice(s).
- (b) The name of the applicant, the applicant's principal place of business and each local office from which company operations are conducted. The applicant's name <u>must shall</u> be as it appears on the certificate issued by the Commission if one has been issued.
- (c) The number of the Commission order, if any, which previously considered the charges or service availability policy for the system involved.
 - (d) A statement explaining the basis for the requested changes in charges and conditions.
- (e) A schedule showing the original cost of any existing treatment plants, the water transmission and distribution system, and the sewage collection system, by Uniform System of Accounting account numbers as required by Rule 25-30.115, F.A.C., and the related capacity of each system as of 90 days prior to application.
- (f) A detailed statement of accumulated depreciation for the plant listed in paragraph (e) above as of 90 days prior to application.
- (g) A schedule showing the number of active customers on line 90 days prior to the time of application by meter size, by customer class, and the related equivalent residential connections (ERC) as defined in subsection 25-30.515(8), F.A.C. Describe the method by which an ERC is defined.
- (h) A detailed statement defining the capacity of the treatment facilities in terms of ERCs as used in developing the proposed service availability charges.
 - (i) A detailed statement defining the capacity of the distribution or collection system in terms of ERCs as used

in developing the proposed service availability charges.

- (j)-Provide Aa list of outstanding developer agreements.
- (k) For each developer agreement state whether the agreement is designed to result in contributed property, other than the approved system capacity charge, within the next 24 months; an estimate of the value of the contributed property to be added to the utility's books; and a description of the property.
- (I) A schedule showing total collections of contributions-in-aid-of-construction (CIAC) as of 90 days prior to the date of application. Detail any prepaid CIAC by amount, the related reserved ERCs, and the anticipated connection date. Reference any appropriate developer agreements.
- (m) A detailed statement of accumulated amortization of CIAC as listed in subsection (l) above as of 90 days prior to application.
 - (n) Copies of approvals or permits for construction and operation of treatment facilities.
- (o) A detailed statement by a registered professional engineer showing the cost, by Uniform System of Accounting account numbers, and capacity of proposed plant expansion, and a timetable showing projected construction time.
- (p) A detailed statement by a registered professional engineer showing how the proposed construction will affect the capacity of the existing systems.
- (q) If the expansion or plant upgrading is being undertaken to comply with the mandates of local, state or federal regulatory authorities, copies of the order(s) or correspondence directing the expansion or upgrading.
- (r) A schedule showing the projected growth rate for utilization of the existing plant and line capacity and future plant and line capacity.
 - (s) A summary schedule of how the proposed service availability charge was calculated.
- (t) A schedule showing, by meter size, the cost of meters, connecting fittings, meter boxes or enclosures and also showing sufficient data on labor and any other applicable costs to allow the determination of an average cost for meter installation by type.
 - (u) A statement of the existing and proposed on-site and off-site main installation charges or policy.
- (v) The company's present capital structure, including the cost of debt in the present capitalization. The availability and cost of other sources of financing the proposed expansion or upgrading of the system also shall be given.

- (w) An original and three copies of Tthe proposed tariff sheets.
- (5) Upon filing of the application and supporting exhibits, the utility shall place copies thereof at its local office of the utility serving the area affected by the charges and conditions, and such copies shall be made available for public inspection.

(5)(6) Each utility <u>must shall</u> demonstrate the appropriateness of the requested service availability charges and conditions.

Rulemaking Authority 350.127(2), 367.121(1), 367.101 FS. Law Implemented 367.101 FS. History-New 6-14-83, Amended 11-10-86, 11-30-93, 5-29-08______.

SUMMARY OF THE RULES

Rule 25-30.025, F.A.C., Official Date of Filing, is amended to change the person responsible for determining the date on which a water or wastewater utility has filed a complete application from the Deputy Executive Director, Technical, to the Director of the agency division that has been assigned the primary responsibility for the filing.

Rule 25-30.446, F.A.C., Notice of and Public Information for Application for Limited Proceeding Rate Increase, is amended to update and clarify rule language; eliminate the requirement to file paper copies of rate case documents at various locations; and require the utility to include a statement in its initial customer notice that the utility's application can be accessed on the Commission's website.

Rule 25-30.455, F.A.C., Staff Assistance in Rate Cases, and Rule 25-30.456, F.A.C., Staff Assistance in Alternative Rate Setting, are amended to update and clarify rule language; add specificity to the criteria making a utility eligible for staff assistance under each rule.

Rule 25-30.565, F.A.C., Application for Approval of New or Revised Service Availability Policy or Charges, is amended to update and clarify rule language; reduce the number of paper copies of applications filed at the Commission; and eliminate the requirement to file paper copies of the application at its local office.

WRITTEN STATEMENT OF THE FACTS AND CIRCUMSTANCES JUSTIFYING THE RULES

The amendment of Rule 25-30.025, F.A.C., Official Date of Filing, to change the person responsible for determining the date on which the utility has filed a complete application from the Deputy Executive Director, Technical, to the Director of the agency division that has been assigned the primary responsibility for the filing, increases administrative efficiency. Administrative efficiency results from changing to the Director of the division assigned primary responsibility for the filing because that division is responsible for analyzing the application for completeness.

Rule 25-30.446, F.A.C., Notice of and Public Information for Application for Limited Proceeding Rate Increase, is amended to eliminate the requirement to file paper copies of documents at various locations to save costs incurred in rate cases that have historically been passed on to customers in their rates. Further, Commission staff has found that public buildings, such as libraries and community centers, have indicated that they have limited space and prefer not to have the rate case filings in their facilities. The requirement that the utility include a statement in its notice that the utility's application can be accessed on the Commission's website should give interested persons

clear access to documents electronically. Updating and clarifying rule language will add clarity to the application process.

Rule 25-30.455, F.A.C., Staff Assistance in Rate Cases, and Rule 25-30.456, F.A.C., Staff Assistance in Alternative Rate Setting is amended to update and clarify rule language and add specificity to the criteria making a utility eligible for staff assistance under each rule. These changes will add clarity to the application process.

Rule 25-30.565, F.A.C., Application for Approval of New or Revised Service Availability Policy or Charges, is amended to reduce the number of paper copies of applications filed at the Commission and eliminate the requirement to file paper copies of the application at the water or wastewater utility's local office. This will save rate case costs that have historically been passed on to customers in their rates. Updating and clarifying the rule language will add clarity to the application process.

SUMMARY OF ANY HEARINGS HELD ON THE RULES

No timely request for a hearing was received by the agency, and no hearing was held.

WILTON SIMPSON President



THE FLORIDA LEGISLATURE JOINT ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES COMMITTEE

CHRIS SPROWLS Speaker



KENNETH J. PLANTE COORDINATOR Room 680, Pepper Building 111 W. Madison Street Tallahassee, Florida 32399-1400 Telephone (850) 488-9110 Fax (850) 922-6934 www.japc.state.fl.us japc@leg.state.fl.us

Senator Ben Albritton, Chair
Representative Rick Roth, Vice Chair
Senator Loranne Ausley
Senator Jason Brodeur
Senator Danny Burgess
Senator Shevrin D. "Shev" Jones
Representative Wyman Duggan
Representative Thomas Patterson "Patt" Maney
Representative Anthony Sabatini

CERTIFICATION

Department:

Public Service Commission

Agency:

Rule No(s):

25-30.025, .446, .455, 456, .565

File Control No:

185162

As required by subparagraph 120.54(3)(e)4 F.S., the Joint Administrative Procedures Committee hereby certify that:

hereb	by certify that:
\boxtimes	There were no material and timely written comments or written inquiries made on behalf of the committee regarding the above listed rule; or
	The adopting agency has responded in writing to all material and timely written comments or written inquiries made on behalf of the committee regarding the above listed rules; or
	The adopting agency has not responded in writing to all material and timely written comments or written inquiries made on behalf of the Committee regarding the above listed rules.
	Certification Date: 11/18/2021
	This certification expires after: 11/29/2021
	Certifying Attorney: <u>Jamie Jackson</u>
NOT	E:
	The above certified rules include materials incorporated by reference.
\boxtimes	The above certified rules do not include materials incorporated by reference.



RON DESANTIS Governor LAUREL M. LEE Secretary of State

November 18, 2021

Kathryn G. W. Cowdery, Senior Attorney Florida Public Service Commission Office of the General Counsel 2540 Shumard Oak Blvd. Tallahassee, FL 32399-0250

Attention: Julie Phillips

Dear Ms. Cowdery:

Your adoption package for Rules 25-30.025, .446, .455, 456, and .565, F.A.C. was received, electronically, by the Florida Department of State, Administrative Code and Register at 1:11 p.m. on November 18, 2021. After review, it appears that the package meets statutory requirements and those of Rule 1-1.010, F.A.C. and is deemed filed for adoption at the time received, as indicated above. The effective date is December 08, 2021.

Sincerely,

Anya C. Owens Program Administrator

ACO/mas

Julie Phillips

From:

Swain, Margaret A. < Margaret.Swain@dos.myflorida.com>

Sent:

Thursday, November 18, 2021 2:20 PM

To:

Julie Phillips; Owens, Anya C. (Grosenbaugh); Joint Administrative Procedures

Committee

Cc:

Kathryn Cowdery

Subject:

Adoption Packet for 25-30.025, .446, .455, 456, .565

Attachments:

25-30.025, .446, .455, 456, .565.pdf

Good afternoon,

The attached rule adoption packet for 25-30.025, .446, .455, 456, .565, F.A.C. was filed in our office today.

Please feel free to contact me via email or phone if you have any further questions.

Respectfully,

Margaret Swain Government Operations Consultant III Florida Administrative Code and Register Room 701 The Capitol | Tallahassee, Florida (850)245-6208

From: Julie Phillips < JPhillip@PSC.STATE.FL.US> Sent: Thursday, November 18, 2021 1:11 PM

To: Owens, Anya C. (Grosenbaugh) < Anya. Owens@dos.myflorida.com>

Cc: Swain, Margaret A. <Margaret.Swain@dos.myflorida.com>; Kathryn Cowdery <kcowdery@psc.state.fl.us>; Julie

Phillips < JPhillip@PSC.STATE.FL.US>

Subject: Rule Certification for Rules 25-30.025, 25-30.446, 25-30.455, 25-30.456 and and 25-30.565

EMAIL RECEIVED FROM EXTERNAL SOURCE

The attachments/links in this message have been scanned by Proofpoint.

The rule certification packet for Rules 25-30.025, 25-30.446, 25-30.455, 25-30.456 and 25-30.565, F.A.C. Attached you will find the entire PDF packet along with the Word version of the coded text of the rules.

We await verification of receipt by return email.

Thank you.

Julie Phillips
Office of the General Counsel
Florida Public Service Commission
850.413.6084

Swain, Margaret A.

From:

Julie Phillips <JPhillip@PSC.STATE.FL.US>

Sent:

Thursday, November 18, 2021 1:11 PM

To:

Owens, Anya C. (Grosenbaugh)

Cc:

Swain, Margaret A.; Kathryn Cowdery; Julie Phillips

Subject:

Rule Certification for Rules 25-30.025, 25-30.446, 25-30.455, 25-30.456 and and

25-30.565

Attachments:

20210122 adoption packet for DOS.pdf; 25-30.025 10 pt. for adoption.docx; 25-30.446

10 pt. for adoption.docx; 25-30.455 10 pt for adoption.docx; 25-30.456 10 pt for

adoption.docx; 25-30.565 10 pt for adoption.docx

EMAIL RECEIVED FROM EXTERNAL SOURCE

The attachments/links in this message have been scanned by Proofpoint.

The rule certification packet for Rules 25-30.025, 25-30.446, 25-30.455, 25-30.456 and 25-30.565, F.A.C. Attached you will find the entire PDF packet along with the Word version of the coded text of the rules.

We await verification of receipt by return email.

Thank you.

Julie Phillips
Office of the General Counsel
Florida Public Service Commission
850.413.6084