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RE: Docket No.: 20230123-WS; In Re: Proposed Rule 25-30.0372, Florida
Administrative Code, Alternative Procedure For Establishing Rate Base Value
Of Acquired Utility System

Dear Commission Clerk,

CSWR-Florida Utility Operating Company, LLC (“CSWR-Florida™)
appreciates the opportunity to have attended the November 14, 2023 rulemaking
workshop and Staff’s efforts in developing this proposed rule. CSWR-Florida
provides the following post-workshop comments to the draft rule circulated with the
Notice Of Development Of Rulemaking on October 31, 2023.

25-30.0372(2)(b) Selection of Appraisers

The draft rule requires the acquiring utility and utility being acquired to each
select one appraiser, and jointly select the third. The reason for this requirement is
not apparent. Section 367.0811(4)(a) requires only that the three appraisers be
chosen from the Commission’s approved list. The same paragraph of the statute
requires the buyer to pay for all the appraisals. The buyer would be required to pay
for the appraiser selected solely by the seller and it is unclear how it would be
resolved if the buyer and seller could not agree on the third appraiser, or the value
of this process. We would request that this selection process requirement be deleted.
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(3)(a) Engineering Assessment

The draft rule requires the initial engineering assessment to assess “the impact
on quality of service” and include “impacts to the quality of product.” The impact
of what is not identified. Section 367.0811(4)(b) requires “an assessment of the
tangible assets of the utility system being acquired.” The purpose of the engineering
assessment is to assess the system and precedes the appraisals and ultimately the
acquiring utility deciding whether to petition for an alternative valuation.

If the acquiring utility files such a petition, then pursuant to section
367.0811(5)(c), the petition must include a copy of the engineering assessment and
pursuant to section 367.0811(5)(d), the petition must include the utility’s 3-year plan
to address each deficiency identified by the assessment, including impacts of the
plan on quality of service and planned improvements to water quality. The statute
recognizes these as separate documents.

The rule draft seems to require the initial engineering assessment to include
the utility’s 3-year improvement plan and the engineer’s opinion on the impacts of
that plan on quality of service. As the statute recognizes, these are different
documents, and are likely developed at different stages of the process. The 3-year
improvement plan may or may not be developed with the involvement of the same
engineer and may not be developed at all if the acquiring utility does not proceed
with a petition. We would request that (3)(a) of the draft rule be deleted.

(3)(b) Limiting Engineer Roles

The draft rule prohibits the licensed engineer who performs the engineering
assessment required by section 367.0811(4)(b) from also serving as one of the three
appraisers. The reason for this prohibition is not clear as there is no apparent conflict
of interest in these roles. It would require the retention of an excessive fourth
engineer. Moreover, the engineer who performs the engineering assessment of the
system would likely be in the best position to then appraise it because of their
acquired personal knowledge of the system. We would request that this prohibition
be deleted.

(4)(a) Petition Timing

The rule should provide, or clarify, that a petition may also be filed at the time
the transfer application is filed as there may be instances where the materials
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required to be filed with the petition are available at the time of the transfer
application.

The date the petition is complete under section 367.0811(6), should be the
date the last document required by section 367.0811(5) is filed by the utility.
Providing for an additional undefined period for Staff notification would seem to be
beyond the language of section 367.0811(6)(a) which ties the 8 month final order
period to the date “the complete petition is filed.”

In addition, the petition filing deadline should be extended upon good cause
shown by the acquiring utility. There could be circumstances outside the acquiring
utility’s control that cause a delay, such as in obtaining the required engineering
assessment and appraisals.

(4)(b) CPVRR Worksheet

The rule should make the use of the CPVRR worksheet optional and provide
an alternative for the utility to provide their own analysis detailing the 5-year
projected rate impact, in which case all data and assumptions used in the analysis,
including the spreadsheet with formulas intact, must be provided by the acquiring
utility.

(4)(c) 5-year Rate Impact

The rule draft requires the S5-year rate impact required by section
367.0811(5)(e) to be further broken down by projected impacts to the base facility
charge, gallonage charge and billing determinants. As projecting a 5-year impact to
this level of detail may not be feasible in all cases and is not required by section
367.0811(5)(e), we would request this be revised to require the overall customer bill
impacts in all cases and the impacts to the specific billing components when they
can be reasonably calculated. We would suggest the following language:

(c) The 5-year rate impact required by Section 367.0811(5)(e), F.S., shall represent,
at a minimum, the overall average bill impacts to be expected as a result of this
application. If more detailed impacts can be reasonably calculated, the utility may
also include projections for the following:

1. Base facility charge,
2. Gallonage charge, and
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3. Billing determinants.

(4)(c) Rate Stabilization Plan

Section 367.0811(5)(h) requires the filing of a rate stabilization plan “if the
acquisition would result in a significant individual increase in rates” during the five
years following the acquisition. The draft rule defines any increase in rates in excess
of the Commission’s price index during any twelve month period over the course of
the 5-year projected rate impact period as a “significant individual increase in rates.”
This may not take into account that the selling utility’s last full rate case may have
been many years prior, or the overall affordability of the 5-year projected rate
impacts.

As an alternative to the pure price index comparison, we would suggest
evaluating the 5-year projected rate impact against the selling utility’s current rates
multiplied by an inflation factor since the selling utility’s last full rate case. An
increase above that during any twelve month period over the course of the 5-year
projected rate impact period would be viewed as a ““significant individual increase
in rates.” Another alternative would be to use an affordability index, such as
considering a rate increase causing annual water and wastewater service
expenditures to be in excess of 4.5% of annual average household income in the
service area to be a “significant individual increase in rates.”

Thank you again to Staff for your work in developing this rule and the
opportunity to submit these post-workshop comments for your consideration.

Sincerely,
/s/ Thomas A. Crabb

Thomas A. Crabb
Attorney for CSWR-Florida
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25-30.0372 Alternative Procedure for Establishing Rate Base Value of Acquired

Utility System.

(1) Definitions. For the purposes of this rule, the following definitions apply:

(a) “Licensed Appraiser,” as referenced in Section 367.0811(4)(a), F.S.., means a person

who meets all the following criteria:

1. Has certification as an Accredited Senior Appraiser by the American Society of

Appraisers, designation as a Certified Valuation Analyst by the National Association of

Certified Valuators and Analysts. or designation as a Member of the Appraisal Institute by the

Appraisal Institute; and

2. Has a current license in good standing from any state as an appraiser, engineer, or

certified public accountant.

(2) Appraisals.

(a) Each appraisal must assess the value of the utility system being acquired according to

its intended use.

(c) The list of licensed appraisers required by Section 367.0811(4)(a), F.S., can be found at

www.floridapsc.com/appraiserlist or obtained from the Office of the Commission Clerk,

Florida Public Service Commission, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida

32399-0850.

(d) A licensed appraiser will be included on the Commission’s list of approved licensed

CODING: Words underlined are additions; words in struek-threugh type are deletions from
existing law.
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appraisers by submitting all of the following to appaiserlist@psc.state.fl.us or the Office of the

Commission Clerk, Florida Public Service Commission, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard,

Tallahassee, FL 32399-0850:

1. The licensed appraiser’s name, mailing address, telephone number, and email address:

2. The name of any company with which the licensed appraiser is employed or associated;

and

3. Proof of the information required by paragraph (1)(a) above.

(e) It is the responsibility of the licensed appraiser to ensure that correct and updated

information remains on file with the Commission. The licensed appraiser must submit updated

information to appraiserlist@psc.state.fl.us within 30 days of any change of information. If the

Commission determines that a person no longer meets the requirements to be a licensed

appraiser on the Commission’s list, that person will be removed from the list. Upon request

and upon providing proof that the requirements listed in paragraph (1)(a) above are met, a

person will be added back to the list.

(f) The licensed appraiser can be removed from the list by submitting a request for

removal in writing to appraiserlist@psc.state.fl.us.

(4) Petition. Section 367.0811(5), F.S.. sets forth the filing requirements a petition to

establish the rate base value must contain.

CODING: Words underlined are additions; words in struek-threugh type are deletions from
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(a) The petition may be filed as early as with the transfer application and must be filed no

later thanwathin 6 months of the issuance of the final order approving the transfer of the

certificate(s) of authorization or the closing date of the sale, whichever is later. This deadline

may be extended upon good cause shown. Commission staff will review the petition and

within 30 days of receipt of the petition will notify the acquiring utility whether the petition is

complete or identify the information missing from the petition under the requirements of

Section 367.0811(5), F.S. The date the petition is complete under Section 367.0811(6), F.S., is

the date that Commissionstaffnotifies the acquirineutility that all documents requiredthe

petitionmeetsthe filine requirementsof by Section 367.0811(5), F.S. have been filed.

(b) Form PSC XXX (XX/23), entitled “Water and/or Wastewater Cumulative Present

Value of the Revenue Requirement for Alternate Rate Base Worksheet” (“CPVRR”). which is

incorporated by reference in this rule and may be obtained from [hyperlink], srustmay be

included in the petition to show the 5-year projected rate impact required by Section

367.0811(5)(e), F.S. The form can also be found at www.floridapsc.com, or obtained from the

Office of the Commission Clerk, Florida Public Service Commission, 2540 Shumard Oak

Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0850. Alternatively, a utility may elect to include its

own analysis detailing the 5-year projected rate impact in a fashion similar to the CPVRR, in

which case all data and assumptions utilized in such analysis, including the spreadsheet with

formulas intact, must be provided.

(c) The 5-year rate impact required by Section 367.0811(5)(e), F.S., shall represent, at a

minimum, the overall average bill impacts to be expected as a result of this application. If

more detailed impacts can reasonably be calculated, the utility may also include projections

for the following:m

1. Base facility charge,
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2. Gallonage charge, and

3. Billing determinants.

(d) The information filed under Section 367.0811(5)(e), F.S.. must include the acquiring

utility’s proposed journal entries anticipated to result from the acquisition, including tax

entries and account numbers in conformance with the 1996 NARUC Uniform System of

Accounts, which is incorporated by reference in Rule 25-30.115. F.A.C.

(e) For purposes of determining whether the petition must include a rate stabilization plan

under Section 367.0811(5)(h), F.S., “significant individual increase in rates’’ means a rate

increase during any twelve consecutive months of the 5-year projected rate impact period in

excess of the rate calculated by multiplying the rate derived in the utility being acquired’s

most recent base rate case by an inflationary factor equivalent to the number of years since

that base rate case: or a rate increase that would cause annual water and wastewater service

expenditures to be in excess of 4.5% of annual average household income in the service area.

Rulemaking Authority 367.0811(11), FS. Law Implemented 367.0811, FS., History—New
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WATER ANDVOR WASTERWATER CUMULATIVE PRESENT VALUE OF THE REVENUE REQUIREMENTS
FOR ALTERMATE RATE BASE WORKSHEET
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