My Florida Florida Public Service Commission
Quick Search:   Advanced Search

Site Map
Interactive Site Map Close
Site Map | Site Index
Home Page > Florida Public Service Commission News Releases

Florida State Seal State of Florida
Public Service Commission


09/04/2018 Contact: 850-413-6482

Florida PSC Commissioner Brown Named to Blue Ribbon Task Force

TALLAHASSEE — Florida Public Service Commissioner (PSC) Julie Brown has been appointed to the Southern States Energy Board (SSEB) Blue Ribbon Task Force, a partnership project with the U.S. Department of Energy, to help strategize an electric energy policy and regulatory framework in Puerto Rico.

Commissioner Brown’s extensive work with Florida utilities’ pre- and post hurricanes and her experience on national energy committees made her an ideal candidate for the Task Force, comprised of members from a diverse group of organizations. Commissioner Brown was appointed by Puerto Rico Governor Ricardo Rosselló Nevares, Senate President Thomas Rivera Schatz, House Speaker Carlos “Johnny” Méndez Núñez, and SSEB.

“The PSC actively works with Florida’s electric utilities to continue improving storm preparation, restoration, and grid reliability,” said Commissioner Brown.  “I am  honored to share Florida’s experiences, including our utilities’ best practices, that will assist Puerto Rican officials as they develop their future energy plan.”

Task Force goals include: (1) work with Puerto Rico’s Governor and Legislature to establish a reliable, affordable, and sustainable electric grid for the Commonwealth; and (2) develop a policy and legal regulatory framework to possibly privatize Puerto Rico’s energy grid system.

Commissioner Brown serves on NARUC’s Committee on Gas, Subcommittee on Nuclear Issues–Waste Disposal, and its Presidential Natural Gas Access and Expansion Task Force to help expand natural gas service in neglected and rural areas.  She also serves on the NARUC-U.S. Department of Energy Natural Gas Infrastructure Modernization Partnership, facilitating investments in natural gas infrastructure modernization and repairs to natural gas distribution pipeline networks. She previously served on NARUC’s Committee on Energy Resources and the Environment.

About Southern States Energy Board
The Southern States Energy Board is a non-profit interstate compact organization created in 1960 and established under Public Laws 87-563 and 92-440. The Board’s mission is to enhance economic development and the quality of life in the South through innovations in energy and environmental policies, programs, and technologies. Sixteen southern states and two territories comprise its membership: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, U.S. Virgin Islands, Virginia, and West Virginia.

For additional information, visit

Follow the PSC on Twitter, @floridapsc.