My Florida Florida Public Service Commission
Quick Search:   Advanced Search

Site Map
Interactive Site Map Close
Site Map | Site Index
Home Page > Florida Public Service Commission News Releases

Florida State Seal State of Florida
Public Service Commission


11/20/2018 Contact: 850-413-6482

FCC Waives Lifeline Rules for Customers Hit by Hurricane Michael

TALLAHASSEE — The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) has granted the Florida Public Service Commission’s (PSC) request to temporarily waive two Lifeline Assistance program rules for participants in 12 Florida counties affected by Hurricane Michael.  Offering a discount for phone or internet, Lifeline helps low-income consumers stay connected to family, work, and community and emergency services.

Four-month temporary waivers for Lifeline non-usage and recertification rules will run from October 10, 2018 to February 10, 2019. The PSC said that the non-usage rule waiver is justified because subscribers’ Lifeline-supported service may have been inoperable during the storm or may be inoperable due to extended power and cell site outages. 

In addition, a recertification rule waiver is justified because recertification packets sent prior to the hurricane might have been destroyed, or might not have been deliverable to residents needing to relocate. Lifeline customers must recertify their eligibility every year, and the rule waiver will help them retain access to communications services and allow companies to continue providing service.

“We don’t want to risk consumers being de-enrolled in the program because they need to replace mobile devices lost or destroyed during the hurricane, or to re-establish communications service,”  said PSC Chairman Art Graham.  “The FCC’s rule waiver will also allow companies providing Lifeline in those counties additional time to complete the recertification process.”

At the end of the waiver period, Lifeline subscribers will have 60 days to respond to their provider’s recertification efforts.  Subscribers whose anniversary date falls within the waiver period but who have already recertified their eligibility, or are recertified through an eligibility database, are not required to undergo an additional recertification at the end of the waiver period.

Affected counties include:  Bay, Calhoun, Franklin, Gadsden, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Leon, Liberty, Taylor, Wakulla, and Washington.

For additional information, visit

Follow the PSC on Twitter, @floridapsc.