My Florida Florida Public Service Commission
Quick Search:   Advanced Search

Site Map
Interactive Site Map Close
Site Map | Site Index
Home Page > Florida Public Service Commission News Releases

Florida State Seal State of Florida
Public Service Commission


12/18/2014 Contact: 850-413-6482

PSC Approves Rules to Assist Water Utility Customers

TALLAHASSEE — The Florida Public Service Commission (PSC) today proposed rules to implement Senate Bill 272, which gave customers of Florida’s investor-owned water utilities a way to hold the utility accountable if they are not happy with their water service quality.

Under the law, when at least 65 percent of customers request it, a water utility's certificate of operation can be revoked, if the PSC finds it’s in the customers’ best interest.

This year’s Florida Legislature enacted the bill, creating two new Florida Statute Sections—367.072 and 367.0812—to revoke a certificate of authorization and to use water service quality as a criterion in evaluating a utility’s rate increase request.

To implement the new Florida Statute sections, the PSC proposed Rule 25-30.091, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.) and amended Rule 25-30.440, F.A.C. The changes allow the PSC to consider revoking a water utility’s certificate of authorization, if 65 percent of the utility’s customers file a petition for revocation. The rule amendments require the utility to include its water quality customer complaints over the past five years when it files a PSC rate case. The proposed new PSC rule is subject to an extensive review and public input process before adoption becomes final.
The new law includes water and service quality enforcement provisions recommended by the Study Committee on Investor-Owned Water and Wastewater Utilities, established by the 2012 Florida Legislature and chaired by PSC Commissioner Julie I. Brown.
For more information, visit the PSC website, at

Follow the PSC on Twitter, @floridapsc.