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BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 

In Re: Request for waiver of 
penalty related to late payment 
of regulatory assessment fees, 
by Excel Telecommunications, 
Inc. 

DOCKET NO . 961143-TI 
ORDER NO. PSC-97-0522-FOF-TI 
ISSUED: May 7, 1997 

The following Commissioners participated in the disposition of 
this matter: 

JULIA L . JOHNSON, Chairman 
SUSAN F. CLARK 
J. TERRY DEASON 

JOE GARCIA 
DIANE K. KIESLING 

ORDER DISMISSING WAIVER REQUEST 

BY THE COMMISSION: 

On August 7, 1996, the Bureau of Fiscal Services advised Excel 
Telecommunications, Inc . , (Excel) that payment of its regulatory 
assessment fee for the period January 1, 1996, through June 30, 
1996, was received late. As a result, Excel was to remit penalty 
and interest charges in the total amount of $1,013.32, pursuant to 
Section 350.113(4), Florida Statutes, by August 21, 1996. Exce l 
responded by letter dated September 10, 1996, stating that the late 
payment was not due to willful neglect, but reasonable cause. It 
requested that we waive the penalty and associated interest. 

Excel acknowledged that payment of its regulatory assessment 
fee was due on July 30, 1996. It stated that its tax department 
was processing 324 returns due on July 30 and 86 returns due on 
July 31 , and that the return to this Commission was inadvertently 
placed in the stack of returns due on July 31. Excel noted that 
its payment history with us is excellent and that it has taken 
steps to avoid repetition of the error that led to the present late 
payment. 

Section 350.113(3), Florida Statutes, provides as follows: 

Each regulated company under the jurisdiction 
of the commission shall pay to the 
commission within 30 days following the end of 
each 6-month period ... a fee based upon ~he 
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gross operating revenues for such period 
subject to the limitations of this subsection. 

Section 350.113(4), Florida Statutes, moreover, provides as 
follows: 

The commission shall provide each regulated 
company with written notice of the date that 
payment of the fee is due at least 4 5 days 
prior to such date. If any regulated company 
fails to pay the required fee by such date, 
the commission shall estimate the amount of 
fee due from such information as it may be 
able to obtain from any source and shdll add 5 
percent of such amount to the fee as a penalty 
if the failure is for not more than 30 days 
. .. The commission shall collect the fee and 
penalty, plus interest and all costs of 
collect ion, from the regulated company. 

In addition, Rule 25-4 . 0161(2), Florida Administrative Code, 
provides as follows: 

Telecommunications companies that owed gross 
regulatory assessment fees of $10,000 or more 
for the preceding calendar year shall pay the 
fee and remit the appropriate form twice a 
year . The regulatory assessment fee and 
appropriate form shall be filed no later than 
July 30 for the preceding period of January 1 
through June 30. 

~ also, Section 364 . 336, Florida Statutes. Excel's regulatory 
assessment fee for the period January 1 through June 30, 1996, was 
$16,888 . 58 . 

We find it appropriate to dismiss Excel's request for waiver. 
We are not vested with the authority to waive fees or penalties and 
interest . In Order No. PSC-94-1464-FOF-WU, issued November 29, 
1994, in Dockets Nos . 940973-WU and 940974-WU, we said: 

Pursuant to Section[] 350 . 113(4) and Rule 
25-30.120(4), Florida Administrative Code, we 
are required to collect interest, penal ties 
and collection costs from a delinquent 
regulatory company. Neither the Florida 
Statutes nor the Commission Rules provide us 
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with discretion to waive fees, penalties and 
interest. 

Rule 25-30.120, Florida Administrative Code, contains provisions 
governing the remittance of regulatory assessment fees by regulated 
water and wastewater utilities that are substantially the same as 
the provisions of Rule 25-4.0161{2), Florida Administrative Code. 

Accordingly, we direct the company to make payment of the 
assessed penalty {$843) within 30 days of this Order , with interest 
accruing to the date of payment . 

This docket shall be closed administratively upon receipt of 
the required payment. 

Based on the foregoing, it is, therefore, 

ORDERED by the 
Telecommunications, 
associated interest 
further 

Florida Public Service Commission that Excel 
Inc.'s request for waiver of penalty and 
as herein described is dismissed. It is 

ORDERED that Excel Telecommunications, Inc., shall make 
payment of the penalty, together with interest accruing to t he date 
of payment , within 30 days of this Order. It is further 

ORDERED that this docket shall be closed upon receipt of 
payment. 

By ORDER of th~ Florida Public Service Commission, this 7th 
day of May, 1997. 

BLANCA S . BAY6, Directo 
Division of Records and Reporting 

(SEAL) 

CJP 



ORDER NO. PSC-97-0522-FOF-TI 
DOCKET NO. 961143-TI 
PAGE 4 

NOTICE OF FURTHER PROCEEDINGS OR JUDICIAL REVIEW 

The Florida Public Service Commission i s required by Section 
120.569{1), Florida Statutes, to notify parties of any 
administrative hearing or judicial review of Commission orders that 
is available under Sections 120.57 or 120.68, Florida Statutes, as 
well as the procedures and time limits that apply. This notice 
should not be construed to mean all requests for an administrative 
hearing or judicial review will be granted or result in the relief 
sought. 

Any party adversely affected by the Commission's final action 
in this matter may request: 1) reconsideration of the decision by 
filing a motion for reconsideration with the Director, Division of 
Records and Reporting, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, 
Florida 32399-0850, within fifteen {15) days of the 1ssuance of 
this order in the form prescribed by Rule 2S-22. 060, Florida 
Administrative Code; or 2) judicial review by the Florida Supreme 
Court in the case of an electric, gas or telephone utility or the 
First District Court of Appeal in the case of a water and/ or 
wastewater utility by filing a notice of appeal with the Director, 
Division of Records and Reporting and filing a copy of the notice 
of appeal and the filing fee with the appropriate court. This 
filing must be completed within thirty {30) days after the issuance 
of this order, pursuant to Rule 9.110, Florida Rules of Appellate 
Procedure. The notice of appeal must be in the form specified in 
Rule 9.900 {a), Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure. 
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