BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

In re: Petition for waiver of DOCKET NO. 970360-GU
penalty for late payment of ORDER NO. PSC-97-0767-FOF-GU
regulatory assessment fees ISSUED: June 30, 1997

pursuant to Rule 25-7.0131,
F.A.C., by City Gas Company of
Florida.

The following Commissioners participated in the disposition of
this matter:

JULIA L. JOHNSON, Chairman
SUSAN F. CLARK
J. TERRY DEASON
JOE GARCIA
DIANE K. KIESLING

NOTICE OF PROPOSED AGENCY ACTION
ORDER DENYING PETITION FOR WAIVER OF PENALTY

BY THE COMMISSION:

NOTICE is hereby given by the Florida Public Service
Commission that the action discussed herein is preliminary in
nature and will become final unless a person whose interests are
substantially affected files a petition for a formal proceeding,
pursuant to Rule 25-22.029, Florida Administrative Code.

CASE BACKGROUND

Pursuant to Sections 350.113(3) and 366.14, Florida Statutes
and Rule 25-7.0131, Florida Administrative Code, City Gas Company
of Florida’s (City Gas or company) regulatory assessment fee for
the last six months of 1996 was due January 30, 1997. Fees are
considered timely paic if postmarked on the due date. Rule 25-
7.0131(3), Florida Administrative Code. However, City Gas did not
postmark its fee to the Commission until January 31, 1997, one day
late. According to City Gas, although a check in the amount of
$114,929.79 was ready on January 30, 1997, the fee was not
postmarked on that day due to a delay in receiving the data
necessary to complete the return on January 30. By letter dated
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February 20, 1997, the Bureau of Fiscal Services notified the
company that since its regulatory assessment fee was one day late,
penalty and interest in the amount of $6,895.80 was due in
accordance with Section 350.114(4), Florida Statutes.

On March 21, City Gas filed a Petition for Waiver of Penalty.
In support of its petition, City Gas asserts that the compater
software changeover caused an unusually heavy workload and that the
oversight was excusable neglect by personnel. “This late filing
represents an isolated incident, and City Gas has always been
prompt in its past filings of this fee....City Gas respectfully
submits that this (the amount of the penalty)is simply an
inequitable result under the circumstances in the filing of the
fee.” (Petition, para. 13)

The waiver petition was filed on March 21, 1997. No comments
were submitted during the comment period which ended May 2, 1997.

DECISION

We will not waive the regulatory assessment fee penalty
assessed against City Gas because the controlling statute contains
no provision for waiver. In addition, City Gas has not met the
statutory criteria for a rule waiver set forth in Chapter 120,
Florida Statutes.

In its Petition for waiver of the regulatory assessment fee
penalty, City Gas stated that the delay was caused by the company’s
ongoing changeover to year 2000 complaint, multi-functional
accounting and financial software. (Petition, para. ©6) The
Petition contains no 1legal citation that would authorize the

requested relief.

Section 350.113(3), Florida Statutes, provides that “[e]ach
regulated company under the jurisdiction of the commission...shall
pay to the commission within 30 days following the end of each 6-
month period...” a regulatory assessment fee. Section 364.336,
Florida Statutes, establishes the maximum fee the Commission may
charge and reiterates that it is due “within 30 days following the
end of each 6-month period....” Furthermore, Rule 25-7.0131(2),
Florida Administrative Code, and the regulatory assessment form
incorporated into the rule by reference state that the fee is due
each January 30 for the period July 1 through December 31 for the
preceding year. Finally, the Commission complied with the
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requirement in Section 350.113(4), Florida Statutes, by notifying
City Gas of the due date at least 45 days prior to the fee being
due.

In addition, Section 350.113(4), Florida Statutes, mandates
that if a regulatory assessment fee is paid late, the Commission
must cHarge a penalty plus interest:

If any regulated company fails to pay the required
fee by such date, the commission shall estimate the
amount of fee due from such information as it may
be able to obtain from any source and shall add 5
percent of such amount to the fee as a penalty if
the failure is for not more than 30 days, with an
additional 5 percent for each additional 30 days or
fraction thereof during the time in which the
failure continues, not to exceed a total penalty of
25 percent. The commission shall collect the fee
and penalty, plus interest and all costs of
collection, from the :regulated company. However,
no penalty shall be added to the fee if a return is
made and the fee is paid before the date fixed in
the notice given by the commission.

Section 350.113(4), Florida Statutes

The statute also provides that, for good cause shown by
written request, the Commission may extend the period for paying
the fee for up to 30 days. If an extension is granted, a charge 1is
levied against the utility based on a percentage of the fee to be
collected. Section 350.113(5), Florida Statutes.

Rule 25-7.0131, Florida Administrative Code prescribes the
procedures for filing regqgulatory assessment fees. The rule is
mandatory and explicit. Subsection (1) provides that each
municipal and investor-owned gas utility shall pay a regulatory
assessment fee and sets forth the percentages of gross operating
revenue that shall be paid. Subsections (2)and (3) establish the
semi-annual filing dates, state that fees are considered timely
paid if properly addressed and postmarked on the due date and
provide alternative due dates in the event the filing date falls on
a weekend or holiday. Subsections (5) and (6) recognize that a
utility may not always be able to calculate the full amount of the
fee and provide for partial payment, with interest, and a 30 day
full compliance period. The rule also establishes procedures for
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a 30 day extension for good cause. Rule 25-7.0131(6)&(7), Florida
Administrative Code. Finally, the rule specifies that delinquency
“begins with the first calendar day after any date established as
the due date either by operation of this rule or by an extension
pursuant to this rule.” Rule 25-7.0131(8), Florida Administrative
Code. The regulatory assessment fee statute and rule have no
provisions for waiver of the penalty.

The penalty calculation section of the regulatory assessment
fee rule references the penalty section of the statute. The rule
states: “[a] penalty, as set out in s. 350.113, F.S. shall apply to
any such delinguent amounts.” Rule 25-7.0131(8) (a),Florida
Administrative Code. Therefore, any request for a waiver of the
penalty is a request for a waiver of the statute.

Constitutional law requires that cnly the legislature can
repeal, amend or modify an unambiguous statute. The principle of
separation of powers of government in the Florida Constitution,
which divides powers among the legislative, executive and judicial
branches, confines each branch to its own proper function and
prohibits encroachment by one branch of government upon another.
The right to pass statutes includes the power to repeal or modify
them, provided no right secured by constitutional provisions is
thereby violated. Ponder v. Graham, 4 Fla. 23 (Fla. 1851). It is
the function of the legislature and not the courts or
administrative agencies to change the law. 1 Fla. Jur. 2d,
Administrative Law, Section 32. The grant of a waiver of the
regulatory assessment fee penalty statute, in the absence of ary
waiver provisions, express or implied, contained in the statute,
would be a modification of the statute. This is a function
reserved solely for the legislature. In addition, there is no
basis for interpretation of Section 350.113(4), Florida Statutes.
The statute is clear and unambiguous on its face. If the terms and
provisions of a statute are plain, there is no room for
administrative interpretation. Southeastern Utilities Service Co.

v. Redding, 131 So. 2d 1 (Fla. 1950).

In addition to the foregoing, City Gas has not met the
statutory criteria for rule waivers set forth in Section 120.542,
Florida Statutes. Effective October 1, 1996, Florida’'s
Administrative Procedure Act has been substantially amended. Among
the amendments are new requirements for rule waivers.
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Section 120.542, Florida Statutes, mandates threshold proofs
and notice provisions for variances and waivers from agency rules.
Subsection (2) of the statute states:

Variances and waivers shall be granted when the
person subject to the rule demonstrates that the
purpose of the underlying statutes will be or has
been achieved by other means by the person and when
application of a rule would create a substantial
hardship or would violate principles of fairness.
For purposes of this section, “substantial
hardship” means a demonstrated economic,
technological, legal or other type of hardship to
the person requesting the variance or waiver. For
purposes of this section, “principles of fairness”
are violated when the literal application of a rule
affects a particular person in a manner
significantly different from the way it affects
other similarly situated persons who are subject to
the rule.

Section 120.542(2), Florida Statutes.

In addition to establishing "substantial hardship” and that
the "principles of fairness" would be violated, a petition for a
waiver must specify: (1)the rule from which a waiver is requested;
(2) the type of action requested; (3)the specific facts that would
justify a waiver; and (4)the reason why the waiver requested would
serve the purposes of the underlying statute. Section
120.542(5) (a)-(d), Florida Statutes.

The instant Petition addresses only a portion of the
requirements of Section 120.542, Florida Statutes. The Petition
identifies the rule from which the waiver is requested, the type of
action requested, and facts giving rise to the request for a
waiver. However, the Petition fails to allege a reason why the
waiver requested would serve the purposes of the underlying
statute. More significant, there is no showing in the Petition
that application of the regulatory assessment fee penalty
provisions will create a substantial hardship for City Gas.
“Substantial hardship” is defined in the statute as a demonstrated
economic, technological, legal or other tvpe of hardship. Section
120.542(2), Florida Statutes. In addition, there is no showing in
the Petition that application of the assessment fee penalty
provisions to City Gas will violate the principles of fairness. As
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set forth in the statute, the “principles of fairness” are violated
when the literal application of a rule affects a particular person
in a manner significantly different from the way it affects other
similarly situated persons who are subject to the rule. Id.
(emphasis added)

Section 120.542, Florida Statutes is the exclusive method by
which we can waive or grant a variance from a rule. “This section
does not authorize agencies to grant variances or waivers to
statutes. This section is supplemental to, and does not abrogate,
the variance or waiver provisions in any other statute.” Section
120.542(1), Florida Statutes. As stated, the regulatory assessment
fee penalty statutes do not contain any waiver or variance
provisions. Therefore, as previously stated, if the rule were
waived, the statute would effectively be waived.

We have previously granted waivers of regulatory assessment

fee penalties in certain situations. In In Re: Petition for
Declaratory Statement, or Alternatively, for Waiver of Penalty

Imposed for Late Payment of Regulatory Assessment Fees by BellSouth
Telecommunication, Inc., Order No. PSC-96-0569-FOF-TL, Docket No.

960191, May 1, 1996, BellSouth filed its regulatory assessment fee
one day late and requested a waiver of the penalty citing illnesses
that resulted in absences of office personnel and an unusually
heavy workload as the basis for the waiver request. We found that
those circumstances constituted excusable neglect and waived the
penalty. In addition, we ruled that GTE had substantially complied
with the requirements of the Florida Administrative Code when the
company filed its regulatory assessment fee one day late where the
filing date fell on a Saturday. In Re: Request for Ruling or In
The Alternative, Petition for Declaratory Statement or Other

Appropriate Action Regarding Penalty Imposed by Florida Public

Service Commission for Late Payment of Regulatory Assessment Fees
by GTE Florida Inc. Order No. PSC-95-0364-FOF-FL, Docket No.
941196-TL, March 14, 1995. See also In_Re: Petition for
Determination That Regulatory Assessment Fees were Timely Submitted
or, In the Alternative, Other Appropriate Relief, by Peoples Gas
System, Inc. Order No. PSC-95-0496-FOF-GU, Docket No. 941233-GU,
April 19, 1995. Fowever, all of the above-referenced waiver
decisions were rendered prior to the effective date of the amended
Administrative Procedure Act, October 1, 1996. Therefore, these
decisions are not precedent for the instant waiver request which is
controlled by the new statutory requirements.
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CONCLUSION

Because City Gas has failed to meet the statutorily mandated
threshold proofs set forth in Chapter 120, Florida Statutes: (1)the
reason the waiver requested would serve the purposes of the
underlying statute; (2)substantial hardship; and (3)violation of
principles of fairness, as well as the lack of waiver provisions in
the penalty statute, the Petition For Waiver of Penalty For Late
Payment of Regulatory Assessment Fees is denied.

Based on the foregoing, it is

ORDERED by the Florida Public Service Commissicn that City Gas
Company’s Petition For Waiver of Penalty For Late Payment of
Regulatory Assessment Fees is denied. It is further

ORDERED that the provisions of this Order, issued as proposed
agency action, shall become final and effective unless an
appropriate petition, in the form provided by Rule 25-22.036,
Florida Administrative Code, is received by the Director, Division
of Records and Reporting, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee,
Florida 32399-0850, by the close of business on the date set forth
in the “Notice of Further Proceedings or Judicial Review” attached
hereto. It is further

ORDERED that in the event this Order becomes final, this
Docket shall be closed.

By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission, this 30th

day of June, 1997.

BLANCA S. BAYO, Direcdor
Division of Records and Reporting

(SEAL)

LJP
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NOTICE OF FURTHER PROCEEDINGS OR JUDICIAL REVIEW

The Florida Public Service Commission is required by Section
120.5692(1); Florida Statutes, to notify parties of any
administrative hearing or judicial review of Commission orders that
is available under Sections 120.57 or 120.68, Florida Statutes, as
well as the procedures and time limits that apply. This notice
should not be construed to mean all requests for an administ.ative
hearing or judicial review will be granted or result in the relief
sought.

Mediation may be available on a case-by-case basis. If
mediation is conducted, it does not affect a substantially
interested person’s right to a hearing.

The action proposed herein is preliminary in nature and will
not become effective or final, except as provided by Rule 25-
22.029, Florida Administrative Code. Any person whose substantial
interests are affected by the action proposed by this order may
file a petition for a formal proceeding, as provided by Rule 25-
22.029(4), Florida Administrative Code, in the form provided by
Rule 25-22.036(7) (a) and (f), Florida Administrative Code. This
petition must be received by the Director, Division of Records and
Reporting, 2540 Shumard Oak Boulevard, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-
0850, by the close of business on July 21, 1997.

In the absence of such a petition, this order shall become
effective on the day subsequent to the above date as provided by
Rule 25-22.029(6), Florida Administrative Code.

Any objection or protest filed in this docket before the
issuance date of this order is considered abandoned unless it
satisfies the foregoing conditions and is renewed within the
specified protest period.

If this order becomes final and effective on the date
described above, any party substantially affected may request
judicial review by the Florida Supreme Court in the case of an
electric, gas or telephone utility or by the First District Court
of Appeal in the case of a water or wastewater utility by filing a
notice of appeal with the Director, Division of Records and
Reporting and filing a copy of the notice of appeal and the filing
fee with the appropriate court.
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This filing must be completed within thirty (30) days of the
effective date of this order, pursuant to Rule 9.110, Florida Rules
of Appellate Procedure. The notice of appeal must be in the form
specified in Rule 9.900(a), Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure.
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